Postby Rudman » September 29th, 2010, 4:37 pm
Alright, lets see here. I ain't no CS expert, ah set ah dem go fall in this thread just now. All Lancer maintenance go follow the same general guidelines, more or less.
Seeing this is virgin territory and nothing has been interfered with on this car, its all about setting priorities and sticking to it, no matter how overwhelming the other problems may seem at times. With limited funds,this would be my priority list if I had to tackle this maintenance/restoration project.
1). Change Timing belt. You have no choice but to do this first, because this is way overdue and it makes no sense tackling other things on the car, only to have the timing belt buss on you, major headache. Of course, this means changing all other associated timing belt things like cam and crankshaft seals, tensioner and maybe the water pump depending on its current condition and your funds. You might as well change the other belts while you are at it.
For godness sakes, inspect the main crankshaft pulley while its off and make sure the harmonic damper and keyway isn't damaged. If there are signs that the pulley is on its way out, make note and source one to change in the future. Yes, I know it's the most expensive thing to tackle first on the car, but timing belt buss, game over.
2). Brakes. Very important, I don't want you to die on us. Flush out that black fluid ASAP, bleeding all four corners and topping back with clean, fresh fluid, DOT 3 or 4. Castrol has a nice Low moisture Activity (LMA) fluid for small money. About 500ml of brake fluid will flush out most systems, use fluid from a sealed container.
Check and change your brake pads/shoes as required and adjust your handbrake to 3-5 clicks. Make sure none of the calipers and pistons are leaking any fluid.
3). Cooling system. This shouldn't cost much to drain, flush out all dat nice rusty paste and refill. The Prestone premix or the Shell concentrate diluted with distilled water should do you nicely.
4). The basics. This is where you will change your oil and oil filter, spark plugs, that yucky air and fuel filter.
5). CVT Fluid change. This should be next when the money is avaliable. Don't skimp, get the Mitsubishi Dia Queen (or whatever de hell it is for dem retarded CVTs). It will cost some dollars, so plan for this.
6). Suspension. By now, if yuh ent give up on the car and set fire to it, then tackle whatever suspension issues you will discover on the car. Check for the usual, leaking shocks, worn cradle bushings, worn tie rods and steering end links. Check the lower ball joint. You should check all the rubber bushings in the back of the car as well and replace as necessary.
7). Engine mounts. By now, one or two of the engine mounts would have given way, so inspect all 4 and see which ones need changing.
Addressing these 7 areas should take care of most of the mechanical integrity issues that this car should have. The CS fellas will fine tune this list, but doing this list should restore the car to some measure of respectibility.
My 2 cents.