WTK UWI apartments

netsket

WTK UWI apartments

Postby netsket » September 1st, 2010, 2:21 am

What is the cheapest you can pay for an apartment close to UWI??

Lucian-2nr

Re: WTK UWI apartments

Postby Lucian-2nr » September 1st, 2010, 3:00 am

pioneer wrote:Tuition is free yet u chinksin on spendin ah morney fuh rent?

Is scrunt yuh scruntin?

geez

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 1st, 2010, 12:05 pm

pioneer wrote:Tuition is free yet u chinksin on spendin ah morney fuh rent?

Is scrunt yuh scruntin?

geez

not everybody have money fallin out they backside yuno.

I know quite a few families who found it financially difficult to send their children to secondary school, yet through hard work, the children managed to get thru to UWI. Transport/crime is a problem for some areas, so a lot pf persons are forced to seek places to rent. Not everyone is on the UWI/gateboys/zen joyride (even though that number is ridiculously high)

OP -Try here: http://sta.uwi.edu/oasis/login.asp

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » September 1st, 2010, 9:21 pm

pioneer wrote:If yuh cya afford rent then prolly life caught you a bad one and it's jus not your destiny to move forward

Don't be hard on the guy, not everyone is born into a home with money, education is the key to get out of poverty, do what you must to further your education. Those who have money at their finger tips don't appreciate the opportunities they have received.

Postby foss » September 1st, 2010, 9:25 pm

:lol: @ listening to pios

Postby Damien » September 1st, 2010, 9:32 pm

Oh lord

Postby Trini Hookah » September 1st, 2010, 9:36 pm

IBTLAB

Postby bluesteel29 » September 1st, 2010, 9:53 pm

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 2nd, 2010, 8:16 am

pios look where you gone...laaaawd

ArMouR

Postby ArMouR » July 5th, 2011, 9:36 pm

I could not help but comment on the amount of foolish people that post absolute none sense in this topic. Thanks for those who kept it real.

Today I looked for apartments and it was pretty high. Firstly, not all programmes are free and only tuition is free which is believe it or not the least of your worries according to the UWI fee booklet.

Anyways, in general circumstances, non-air conditions studio (all-in-one rooms) range from 1800-2200 TT. I found a few places with AC all-in-ones starting at about 2400 - 2800 per month.

Don't talk about 2 bedrooms with A/C. That costs for the cheapest 3600. Goes straight up to a whopping $5500.

I saw one ALL girls place that was charging $900 per person in which 3 girls had to share. If you're a guy... you are seriously out of luck.

I hope this was a positive enough post to help someone out there who genuinely needs to get an idea on the cost.

Clearly as you can see, it costs a lot to stay in UWI (imagine if it didn't have GATE - more pressure).

Postby Bizzare » July 5th, 2011, 9:42 pm

Could give yuh ah space if yuh doh mind takin it up d batty.

Postby foss » July 5th, 2011, 9:43 pm

ArMouR wrote:
I saw one ALL girls place that was charging $900 per person in which 3 girls had to share. If you're a guy... you are seriously out of luck.

Postby Bizzare » July 5th, 2011, 9:44 pm

Seriously though, one of the firms I'm with operates in this field. There aren't much better costs when it comes to renting near UWI unless you're subletting / sharing.

Postby Bizzare » July 5th, 2011, 9:45 pm

And most ah dem UWI gyul doz pass nookie for a better deal. Doh get it twisted.

Postby Trini Hookah » July 5th, 2011, 9:47 pm

Did you check around Spec? They have rooms around there for $1350 up. Single bedrooms, but you have to share fridge & bath.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 5th, 2011, 9:55 pm

ArMouR wrote:I could not help but comment on the amount of foolish people that post absolute none sense in this topic. Thanks for those who kept it real.

Today I looked for apartments and it was pretty high. Firstly, not all programmes are free and only tuition is free which is believe it or not the least of your worries according to the UWI fee booklet.

Anyways, in general circumstances, non-air conditions studio (all-in-one rooms) range from 1800-2200 TT. I found a few places with AC all-in-ones starting at about 2400 - 2800 per month.

Don't talk about 2 bedrooms with A/C. That costs for the cheapest 3600. Goes straight up to a whopping $5500.

I hope this was a positive enough post to help someone out there who genuinely needs to get an idea on the cost.

Clearly as you can see, it costs a lot to stay in UWI (imagine if it didn't have GATE - more pressure).

Yeah but without GATE UWI standard would be higher, now every dog and cyat have degree making it almost impossible to get a job

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 5th, 2011, 10:19 pm

it's amazing to see how stupid some tuners can be,op just ask for some info on apartments men jump on if he poor extra studies is not fuh he and all kinda sheit,op depending on how much u can spend here is a run down;

across the road by the grocery the apartments go from 2000 go up,round by gate boys they go for around 1000 go up,I have some friends staying in ole tim street to be exact and the facilities rather good for the price,also if you check out by the TGR car park on those side streets they usually go for round $1500 and up,but you have to share those,unless you're in a group try and stay away from apartments round the spec area,ud get ur arse robbed down there,any more info you need just ask,

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 5th, 2011, 10:21 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
ArMouR wrote:I could not help but comment on the amount of foolish people that post absolute none sense in this topic. Thanks for those who kept it real.

Yeah but without GATE UWI standard would be higher, now every dog and cyat have degree making it almost impossible to get a job

a normal BSC comes like regular cxc now,so you have to step up to either a second degree or go straight to masters,etc etc.

Postby nervewrecker » July 5th, 2011, 10:22 pm

you dont need a degree to get a job, once you have connections you could get the job with basic CXC.

devrat

Postby devrat » July 5th, 2011, 10:25 pm

shaneelal wrote:
pioneer wrote:If yuh cya afford rent then prolly life caught you a bad one and it's jus not your destiny to move forward

Don't be hard on the guy, not everyone is born into a home with money, education is the key to get out of poverty, do what you must to further your education. Those who have money at their finger tips don't appreciate the opportunities they have received.

Nobody said anything about being born into money

Most of us our parents and grandparents worked hard, saved, ban their bellies many a night jus to ensure "we" went to school and maximized it.

Then there are parents who do trivial sh1t with their money like buy big rims, big body kits and ridiculous paint jobs, excessive jewelery, alcohol and gambling...now bawlin cuz rent high.

If life simply dealt you a bad hand, then you can either tough it out and make do with what u got or take the easy way out like maserati and stephanweaver.

:lol: maximized your education or time spent????

Postby Trini Hookah » July 5th, 2011, 10:25 pm

you dont need a degree to get a job, once you have connections you could get the job with basic CXC.

Carry on, carry on..

Postby Bizzare » July 5th, 2011, 10:26 pm

nerver, stay in school eh. Doh tek da chain up dan.

ArMouR

Postby ArMouR » July 5th, 2011, 10:26 pm

Bizarre... thank you for your more serious posts but I beg to differ a little on the opinion related to sex. Not all the girls into sex. I think people have a stereotype a lot of the times to believe that girls are more responsible tenants - which is is of course not always true. But you never know how they getting cheaper prices - I'll try not to think about that one :)

Foss - word... lol

vrampersad14 - That actually sounds like a good deal but unfortunately, my brother is the picky one at the moment and he "claims" that "that side not safe". I actually found one place with a 2 bedroom (sharing 1 AC) unfurnished for 3000 but due to my mother and brother's "pickyness" they didn't like it. So what do you think though? You think that side "relatively" safe (since I know anywhere could be dangerous these days)?

hustla_ambition101 - I feel you pain when you say this. If I were to average the validity of this statement, I would say that you pretty much 60% correct - the next 40% is some individual with less qualifications and more political strings that gets the job. But it is true, degrees is like water and just now it seems you'll have to have Masters as your min. requirements. But we have plenty issues in this country. We don't decentralize, nearly every important place to get a decent IT job is in POS. People from POS find jobs in south and south people go to POS. HR cares about qualifications but doesn't generally test you on practical skills and the list goes on... I tired and me alone venting does not change T & T. I plan to shut down all my trini sites and blog in the near future. Ah tired padna.. ah tired.

Postby Stephon. » July 5th, 2011, 10:28 pm

Come on, wanting to live by UWI and not expecting to spend some money is a stretch, it's like going into the Audi store and asking for the cheapest car. :?

Postby nervewrecker » July 5th, 2011, 10:29 pm

Bizzare wrote:nerver, stay in school eh. Doh tek da chain up dan.

sch is fun for me, I dont intend to leave it. I like to keep myself occupied & learn new stuff.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 5th, 2011, 10:32 pm

Op, as a guild member come the new semester or even before orientation we are trying to make new students get accommodated easy,so you would see a bunch of us around giving out the info on campus as soon as summer classes finish,so just be on the look out.

ArMouR

Postby ArMouR » July 5th, 2011, 10:35 pm

shake d livin wake d dead - Thanks for the response, those prices don't sound to bad if you willing to share. Glad to know at least some lower income people will be able to afford uwi. Totally agree with what you said about the Masters.

nervewrecker - Thanks for the input. I agree with you about 65%. The 35% is more on the lines of if you will get a really great paying job with CXC only... I haven't seen much job offers crossing $4000 dollars for people with CXC only but again, I don't know all the jobs etc. Maybe you can tell us what are the good paying jobs with CXC min. requirements? The thing is, just to be fair, I know some mechanics making real money and I'm guessing you don't need to even do CXC to be a mechanic, the experience counts way more - and NO, I AM NOT MAKING FUN OF MECHANICS. I AM SERIOUS!

Postby Stephon. » July 5th, 2011, 10:35 pm

Some of the prices I'm seeing here are really high though, I now checking them out. Used to live by a girl in UWI, we paid 3200 per month for the time we stayed there, A/C, 2 bedroom.

Postby nervewrecker » July 5th, 2011, 10:36 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Op, as a guild member come the new semester or even before orientation we are trying to make new students get accommodated easy,so you would see a bunch of us around giving out the info on campus as soon as summer classes finish,so just be on the look out.

link ah safe park fuh ah bruther wen he come to visit he female friends nah?

ArMouR

Postby ArMouR » July 5th, 2011, 10:40 pm

Stephon. - You really have me thinking on this one for real and I thank you for that comment. The next side of my brain thinking - But the thing is, St. Augustine ain't no posh area - if you see at the amount of run down buildings there... the key to prices being high is not the "poshness" but the lack of enough adequate, decent accomodation. Was that the same analogy you were trying to make?