Chemical Darryl wrote:If the oil prices went down so low, why haven't these importers lower their prices. 10W 30 is selling @$70.00 / quart ?
I've been using Mobil 1 15W-50 in my race car. How are these new oils better/different?
Mobil 1 15W-50 is a higher viscosity oil that delivers a thick oil film for protection of high performance engines. While Mobil 1 15W-50 can be used and is recommended for both street and track use, the new Mobil 1 Racing oils are only recommended for use in race engines at the track. Mobil 1 Racing 0W-30 and 0W-20 are lower viscosity oils designed to increase power output versus higher viscosity oils. Most importantly, Mobil 1 Racing oils are formulated with anti-wear (Zinc/Phosphorus) chemistries at twice the level of automotive street oils to protect race engines including high loaded flat tappet designs used in the NASCAR series.
Are Mobil 1 Racing oils the exact formulation used by the Formula 1, NASCAR, and Le Mans race teams?
Mobil 1 Racing oils are formulated with the same race-proven, fully synthetic technology used in racing applications around the world. However, typically, Mobil 1 tailors our racing oil technology based on the specifications required by specific teams and/or race applications.
You say the new Mobil 1 Racing oils are not for street use. Why is that? Does that mean I can't use these oils if my race car is also my daily driver?
Automotive street use oils that meet the latest industry standards are required to have a lower level of Zinc and Phosphorus anti-wear chemistries than oils formulated years ago. The latest automotive street use engine oils are designed to be compatible with emission control equipment. Mobil 1 Racing oils are formulated with anti-wear (Zinc/Phosphorus) chemistries at twice the level of automotive street oils to provide enhanced protection of highly loaded valve train systems found in some race engines. Based on the high level of anti-wear chemistries, Mobil 1 Racing oils are not recommended for street use.
Zero weight oils are thinner. Will using a 0W oil cause excessive engine wear while racing or qualifying?
Mobil 1 Racing 0W-30 and 0W-20 oils are formulated with anti-wear (Zinc/Phosphorus) chemistries at twice the level of automotive street oils to protect race engines including highly loaded flat tappet designs used in the NASCAR series.
Where will I be able to buy the Mobil 1 Racing oils? And in what size containers?
Mobil 1 Racing oils will be available at a new online store in spring 2009. Package sizes will include quarts (6 quarts per case), 5-gallon pails and 55-gallon drums.
Our race team would like to buy Mobil 1 Racing oil in bulk. Is that possible? How do we go about arranging it?
Mobil 1 Racing oils will be available in 55-gallon drums at the new online store, which may meet the volume/usage requirements of race teams.
Mobil 1 has launched special racing oils before only to remove them from the market later on. Why are you returning to this area, and can we rest assured these products will remain available?
Mobil 1 Racing oils are being launched primarily to address the needs of today's professional and grass roots racers for fully synthetic, latest generation, low viscosity, racing technology. The new online store will provide access to our new products, which was not available several years ago.
TriniVdub wrote:Cjruckus wrote:Mobil has always been $58 +vat and will stay that way until suppliers say differently.
U is a kina ars or wah? dat was a year ago buddy now the price is $70+. An by the way just up to a year and a half ago it was $50 dollars a quart.
blackcivic wrote:Very interesting....
OK, maybe someone can assist with this question, between Castrol, Royal Purple, Amsoil and Mobil 1, which gives the everyday driver the best value for $, or is it a subjective thing?
And which is readily available?, I've heard that Amsoil is hard to get