Mobil 1 ...why so expensive

Chemical

Mobil 1 ...why so expensive

Postby Chemical » January 26th, 2009, 11:17 am

If the oil prices went down so low, why haven't these importers lower their prices. 10W 30 is selling @$70.00 / quart ? :shock:

Postby MG Man » January 26th, 2009, 11:34 am

synthetic?

Cooper

Postby Cooper » January 26th, 2009, 11:39 am

...because they like to dig out people eye. You lucky, some dealers selling it for up to $90 a quart.

aR&D

Postby aR&D » January 26th, 2009, 12:24 pm

Mobil 1 has always been one of the more pricier Synthetic blends offering a 10K between oil changes. a reduction in prices seems feasible though

TK!

Postby TK! » January 26th, 2009, 2:07 pm

and de hard part.. mobil is sh-t

amsoil syn .. or castrol syn if u can't afford amsoil

air wick

Postby air wick » January 26th, 2009, 2:16 pm

i use royal purple... cheaper too if you buy wholesale

12000 miles or 1 year changes or which ever comes first recommended in clean engines

I don't wait that long but it works great

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 26th, 2009, 2:22 pm

I use shell

Postby MG Man » January 26th, 2009, 2:36 pm

Kendall FTW

aR&D

Postby aR&D » January 26th, 2009, 2:41 pm

If it isnt used in Formula 1 it eh worth %^$#@ ....... :mrgreen:

avinashr

Postby avinashr » January 26th, 2009, 2:41 pm

havoline sythentic 5w 30 (i cyar remember) thaz de sheit..... next to quaker state (too hard to find in trini) :wink: :P :mrgreen:

Postby 16 cycles » January 26th, 2009, 2:44 pm

i pay 50 a quart for the mobil synthec...

Postby teems1 » January 26th, 2009, 3:06 pm

aR&D wrote:If it isnt used in Formula 1 it eh worth %^$#@ ....... :mrgreen:

I'm pretty sure the Mobil-1 lubricants which they use in the MP4-24 is not what you can you use in your daily driver.

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » January 26th, 2009, 3:25 pm

Amsoil Full Synth = Win.

Postby AllTrac » January 26th, 2009, 3:28 pm

TK! wrote:and de hard part.. mobil is sh-t

this is based on??

W2J

Postby W2J » January 26th, 2009, 3:53 pm

AllTrac wrote:
TK! wrote:and de hard part.. mobil is sh-t

this is based on??

maybe on this

WTF

Postby WTF » January 26th, 2009, 5:55 pm

mobil 1 is USD $6.50/quart..

larafan

Postby larafan » January 26th, 2009, 6:05 pm

NP ultra FTW.... :|

ztune

Re: Mobil 1 ...why so expensive

Postby ztune » January 26th, 2009, 6:22 pm

Chemical Darryl wrote:If the oil prices went down so low, why haven't these importers lower their prices. 10W 30 is selling @$70.00 / quart ? :shock:

yeh, i pay dat 2

Postby 16 cycles » January 26th, 2009, 6:26 pm

I've been using Mobil 1 15W-50 in my race car. How are these new oils better/different?

Mobil 1 15W-50 is a higher viscosity oil that delivers a thick oil film for protection of high performance engines. While Mobil 1 15W-50 can be used and is recommended for both street and track use, the new Mobil 1 Racing oils are only recommended for use in race engines at the track. Mobil 1 Racing 0W-30 and 0W-20 are lower viscosity oils designed to increase power output versus higher viscosity oils. Most importantly, Mobil 1 Racing oils are formulated with anti-wear (Zinc/Phosphorus) chemistries at twice the level of automotive street oils to protect race engines including high loaded flat tappet designs used in the NASCAR series.

Are Mobil 1 Racing oils the exact formulation used by the Formula 1, NASCAR, and Le Mans race teams?

Mobil 1 Racing oils are formulated with the same race-proven, fully synthetic technology used in racing applications around the world. However, typically, Mobil 1 tailors our racing oil technology based on the specifications required by specific teams and/or race applications.

You say the new Mobil 1 Racing oils are not for street use. Why is that? Does that mean I can't use these oils if my race car is also my daily driver?

Automotive street use oils that meet the latest industry standards are required to have a lower level of Zinc and Phosphorus anti-wear chemistries than oils formulated years ago. The latest automotive street use engine oils are designed to be compatible with emission control equipment. Mobil 1 Racing oils are formulated with anti-wear (Zinc/Phosphorus) chemistries at twice the level of automotive street oils to provide enhanced protection of highly loaded valve train systems found in some race engines. Based on the high level of anti-wear chemistries, Mobil 1 Racing oils are not recommended for street use.

Zero weight oils are thinner. Will using a 0W oil cause excessive engine wear while racing or qualifying?

Mobil 1 Racing 0W-30 and 0W-20 oils are formulated with anti-wear (Zinc/Phosphorus) chemistries at twice the level of automotive street oils to protect race engines including highly loaded flat tappet designs used in the NASCAR series.

Where will I be able to buy the Mobil 1 Racing oils? And in what size containers?

Mobil 1 Racing oils will be available at a new online store in spring 2009. Package sizes will include quarts (6 quarts per case), 5-gallon pails and 55-gallon drums.

Our race team would like to buy Mobil 1 Racing oil in bulk. Is that possible? How do we go about arranging it?

Mobil 1 Racing oils will be available in 55-gallon drums at the new online store, which may meet the volume/usage requirements of race teams.

Mobil 1 has launched special racing oils before only to remove them from the market later on. Why are you returning to this area, and can we rest assured these products will remain available?

Mobil 1 Racing oils are being launched primarily to address the needs of today's professional and grass roots racers for fully synthetic, latest generation, low viscosity, racing technology. The new online store will provide access to our new products, which was not available several years ago.

FYI^ (PR)
http://www.mobiloil.com/USA-English/Mot ... _FAQs.aspx

i've seen the racing oil for sale here

same goes for motul used in the BMW M5 race cars...different oil between race car and public use

Re: Mobil 1 ...why so expensive

Postby Damien » January 26th, 2009, 7:17 pm

Mobil or Castrol FTW

Postby Cjruckus » January 26th, 2009, 9:04 pm

If you want to complain about the price of synthetic oil, go buy conventional.

Complaining about how much the price of oil is isnt going to do you any good. Synthetic oil prices have not changed at all during the high price period, so why do you expect them to drop?

Mobil has always been $58 +vat and will stay that way until suppliers say differently.

pyromaniak

Postby pyromaniak » January 26th, 2009, 9:06 pm

Buy Royal Purple, same price and it's better :mrgreen:

Amsoil ain't bad either :D

gilla

Postby gilla » January 27th, 2009, 8:59 am

Last edited by gilla on April 25th, 2010, 10:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

blackcivic

Postby blackcivic » January 27th, 2009, 9:39 am

Very interesting....

OK, maybe someone can assist with this question, between Castrol, Royal Purple, Amsoil and Mobil 1, which gives the everyday driver the best value for $, or is it a subjective thing?

And which is readily available?, I've heard that Amsoil is hard to get :)

pyromaniak

Postby pyromaniak » January 27th, 2009, 6:21 pm

All the oils you've metioned there gives the everyday driver good value.

Amsoil and Royal purple give better protection under extreme conditions because of the stronger base oils used in their production.

Don't know about Amsoil but Royal Purple is available by me :mrgreen:

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » January 27th, 2009, 7:12 pm

Cjruckus wrote:Mobil has always been $58 +vat and will stay that way until suppliers say differently.

U is a kina ars or wah? dat was a year ago buddy now the price is $70+. An by the way just up to a year and a half ago it was $50 dollars a quart.

Postby Damien » January 27th, 2009, 7:16 pm

By teach in couva mobil is $58

Postby Cjruckus » January 27th, 2009, 10:41 pm

TriniVdub wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:Mobil has always been $58 +vat and will stay that way until suppliers say differently.

U is a kina ars or wah? dat was a year ago buddy now the price is $70+. An by the way just up to a year and a half ago it was $50 dollars a quart.

TriniVdub are you a kind of cnut or a cnut of a kind?

You are looking for love in all the wrong places.
If you pay 70+ for Mobil, i am so sorry, and Ill sponsor some gauze and maybe preparation H to sooth your ass recent pounding.

Up to today the price of Mobil was 58+vat. Castrol Syntec 200+vat a gallon.

PM Duane, illumin@ti, pyromaniak, pioneer, reixman, or even Raptor on where you can get oil at that price.

Postby Cjruckus » January 27th, 2009, 10:43 pm

blackcivic wrote:Very interesting....

OK, maybe someone can assist with this question, between Castrol, Royal Purple, Amsoil and Mobil 1, which gives the everyday driver the best value for $, or is it a subjective thing?

And which is readily available?, I've heard that Amsoil is hard to get :)

best value for money would have to be the Castrol Synthetic. It is available in gallons unlike the other synthetic oils so you can save some dollars there. Comes in both 5w-50 and 10w30, but the best thing is, the price is fairly consistent, plus you can find it in practically any parts place that sells Castrol. May not be as good as the others, but for the price you really cant go wrong.