Venezuelan floating storage with 173K tons of oil is sinking in Gulf of Paria

Redress10

Re: Venezuelan floating storage with 173K tons of oil is sinking in Gulf of Paria

Postby Redress10 » October 16th, 2020, 11:02 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Although i get what Gary Aboud is trying to do and the passion behind it which is commendable... redress is correct.

At the end of the day, the Nabarima is a Venezuelan ship in Venezuelan waters and therefore the jurisdiction of the Venezuelan government who has been downplaying this issue. They already stating that the tilting photo is over a month old and the ship has been stabilized - which more than likely is untrue. Anybody that tries to expose what's happening especially visiting the location of the Nabarima might be met with harsh consequences from the Guardia Nacional or/and the venezuelan army.

Yes, the venezuelan government can claim sabotage and will be a perfect excuse if an oil spill occurs. The propaganda machine can accuse Gary Aboud for working with the US to sabotage a ship to make the maduro regime look bad.

We can make noise all we want, the T&T government can't do anything until they get authorization from the Venezuelan government to traverse Venezuelan waters to visit the ship. If that doesn't happen, all we can do is watch and hope nothing happens.

I am convinced that trinis don't live in the real world. This situation could have gone sideways really quickly. You don't "play" around a country's energy assets. You don't play around oil platforms, tankers etc. Those assets are usually constantly monitored by state security. So it was foolish of them to even get that close to this ship in the first place.

Like I said, we don't know if this was an act of sabotage and its an evolving situation on the venezuelan side. A simple mix up could have ended in deaths. Imagine if the venezuelan authorities got word that opposition forces were going to sabotage the ship and that boat was intercepted forcefully by mistake.

What would have been the situation then?

Re: Venezuelan floating storage with 173K tons of oil is sinking in Gulf of Paria

Postby eliteauto » October 16th, 2020, 11:02 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:redress, let's try another way to understand. What do you see as the worst case scenario for T&T in this situation, with the 173K tons of oil stored on that damaged ship?

How is that the issue? The ship is in Venezuelan waters and is owned by the Venezuelan state. What exactly do you expect the gov't of TT to do? Do you expect them to breach sovereignty and send the TTCG to go secure the ship and the oil?

I am truly at a lost as to what some of you all expect out of this situation.

Humor me, what do you think will happen if those 173K tons of oil spill into the gulf of Paria?

Are you being deliberately obtuse?

Postby paid_influencer » October 16th, 2020, 11:06 pm

eliteauto wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:redress, let's try another way to understand. What do you see as the worst case scenario for T&T in this situation, with the 173K tons of oil stored on that damaged ship?

How is that the issue? The ship is in Venezuelan waters and is owned by the Venezuelan state. What exactly do you expect the gov't of TT to do? Do you expect them to breach sovereignty and send the TTCG to go secure the ship and the oil?

Humor me, what do you think will happen if those 173K tons of oil spill into the gulf of Paria?

he's thinking in a box. I'm trying to pull him out of the box for some context

the urgency of the action we have to do is determined by the risk and the potential loss. Unless you put some thought into that potential loss, you're only halfway considering your position.

for reference, the little idiot over there thinks we shouldn't even look at the boat to see if it is sinking.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 16th, 2020, 11:28 pm

But no new information was gained from his "first hand" account. So he breached venezuelan sovereignty for basically no reason. We already knew that the ship was in a bad shape. We already knew that it contained oil. So what was the point of all of this?

He could have easily started a diplomatic row in the event that he was detained. All of this just seems unnecessary for a situation that is basically beyond out control at this point in time.

Postby Redman » October 17th, 2020, 7:20 am

sMASH wrote:
Redman wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Redman wrote:Allyuh realize that the vessel isn’t in our waters and that there is no legal mechanism that GORTT can unilaterally implement?

Let’s ignore sanctions for now, or the value of the oil.
No one is talking about about unilateral action.
What we are saying is, because it is important to both regimes, that they oepn communication lines, like the ones they had with Delco during the closed borders, and agree to put some off shore expertise team to come up with solutions.

Whether they ARE talking about the matter at this moment, no one knows, so it APEARS to be inaction.

Yep.

http://news.gov.tt/content/trinidad-and ... 4ogqi84ZvI

https://www.google.com/search?client=sa ... 1&bih=1526

dated the 16th of october... today.

till then they were 'monitoring'.

the US embassy was able to address the situation as far as their capacity allows, before GORTT. and this press release at this hour, seems to be 'spurred' on by the US address.

Yep.
And the google search shows the responses from Amery Browne over the last week....so the appearance of inaction is more a lack of attention
Last edited by Redman on October 17th, 2020, 7:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Redman » October 17th, 2020, 7:30 am

paid_influencer wrote:
eliteauto wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

he's thinking in a box. I'm trying to pull him out of the box for some context

the urgency of the action we have to do is determined by the risk and the potential loss. Unless you put some thought into that potential loss, you're only halfway considering your position.

for reference, the little idiot over there thinks we shouldn't even look at the boat to see if it is sinking.

Unilateral action isn’t possible.

What’s the liability in $ if we take action....without authorization from Vene.

If we touch the boat we assume full responsibility for any results.
And full liability for losses....of the oil, the barge and clean up.

You guys act as if the consequences of that boat sinking are not known to the gortt.

Postby K74T » October 17th, 2020, 10:56 am

FB_IMG_1602946314859.jpeg
FB_IMG_1602946317082.jpeg
FB_IMG_1602946319170.jpeg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 17th, 2020, 11:16 am

Any reason it was it anchored in that location?

Postby Rovin » October 17th, 2020, 11:34 am

so WTF they waiting on to remedy this situation , they waiting til disaster that can even affect d world's marine life to happen then they go react

if they dont have d resources to fix it why not ask OPEC or d UN so that other countries can volunteer their equipment & services to prevent this thing .....

dogg

Postby dogg » October 17th, 2020, 11:53 am

wow, Gary Aboud's post is #1 on Reddit's front page!!
reddit.png

sauce

Postby teems1 » October 17th, 2020, 11:54 am

US sanctions.
Rovin wrote:so WTF they waiting on to remedy this situation , they waiting til disaster that can even affect d world's marine life to happen then they go react

if they dont have d resources to fix it why not ask OPEC or d UN so that other countries can volunteer their equipment & services to prevent this thing .....

Postby maj. tom » October 17th, 2020, 12:15 pm

https://reddit.com/r/videos/comments/jctitw/oil_tanker_with_60000000_gallons_of_oil_aboard_is/g93f6q8/

oh goarrrr well look trouble now. Kamla teef out Reddit with Cambridge Analytica and plotting against the PNM to make Rowley look bad. Why these UNC people so? They eh love we country? Emergency Townhall meeting tonight with the Balisier waving to denounce this new UNC plot?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 17th, 2020, 12:48 pm

Aboud says that the "Gov't has done nothing". Has he communicated exactly what he wants the gov't to do?

Are trinis really this daft?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 17th, 2020, 12:55 pm

Redress10 wrote:Aboud says that the "Gov't has done nothing". Has he communicated exactly what he wants the gov't to do?

Bring really obtuse now. Give it a rest.

Postby teems1 » October 17th, 2020, 12:58 pm

Bring it to the forefront of the world news the way Mauritius did with the Japanese tanker?
Redress10 wrote:Aboud says that the "Gov't has done nothing". Has he communicated exactly what he wants the gov't to do?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 17th, 2020, 1:17 pm

teems1 wrote:Bring it to the forefront of the world news the way Mauritius did with the Japanese tanker?

What exactly is the world going to do now? The majority of the western world has no ties with Venezuela so what pressure are they going to apply to Venezuela? Are we stupid to believe that an incident such as this will somehow "shame" Venezuelan authorities to act? Can you shame a dictatorship?

Postby toyolink » October 17th, 2020, 1:19 pm

This solutions to this impending disaster falls squarely on the shoulders of the Venezuelan Gov't, and based on what we know about the state of that countries finances, its almost impossible to see this matter being resolved to avoid environmental mayhem.
External intervention is the only way to avoid what is to happen and its up to Venezuela to voluntarily seek same, and stop denial of this real threat.
T&T is really just a sitting duck at this time and our real options are only about making 'noise'.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 17th, 2020, 1:31 pm

But isn't this a simple transfer of oil between ships? From one tanker to the other. Doesn't seem like something that should be expensive or restrictive. I am sure Venezuela even in its current state is quite capable of doing such an operation.

We are assuming that they are doing nothing or plan on doing nothing.

If we believe that we are really threatened by this ship maybe we need more action on this side. Maybe Aboud and his businessmen friends need to come together and hire a tanker etc to secure the oil. What's the point of "noise". Maybe that is the solution.

The situation in Mauritius is different because that wreck happened within Mauritius waters. This ship is in Venezuelan waters making it solely their responsibility.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » October 17th, 2020, 3:18 pm

Thought Gary Aboud was hardcore PNM.

Surprised he criticize the government there.

Postby bluefete » October 17th, 2020, 3:28 pm

Redress10 wrote:But isn't this a simple transfer of oil between ships? From one tanker to the other. Doesn't seem like something that should be expensive or restrictive. I am sure Venezuela even in its current state is quite capable of doing such an operation.

If we believe that we are really threatened by this ship maybe we need more action on this side. Maybe Aboud and his businessmen friends need to come together and hire a tanker etc to secure the oil. What's the point of "noise". Maybe that is the solution.

The situation in Mauritius is different because that wreck happened within Mauritius waters. This ship is in Venezuelan waters making it solely their responsibility.

What other tanker? Venezuela is a pariah because of US sanctions. Only Iran or Russia or China might send a tanker to transfer the oil. That would only happen if Venezuela asks. Right now Maduro looks like he don't gaf.

Postby Redman » October 17th, 2020, 3:46 pm

Transfer the oil and then what?

It eh 2 bag of hops.

Day rate for tanker pre and post transfer?...and then what to do with the oil.?

Who has responsibility for clean up or spills?
Where it going.?

Whose problem will it be then?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 17th, 2020, 3:54 pm

bluefete wrote:
Redress10 wrote:But isn't this a simple transfer of oil between ships? From one tanker to the other. Doesn't seem like something that should be expensive or restrictive. I am sure Venezuela even in its current state is quite capable of doing such an operation.

What other tanker? Venezuela is a pariah because of US sanctions. Only Iran or Russia or China might send a tanker to transfer the oil. That would only happen if Venezuela asks. Right now Maduro looks like he don't gaf.

So you honestly believe that Venezuela don't have access to another tanker that can assist in relieving this vessel of all this oil?

Steups

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 17th, 2020, 3:55 pm

Redman wrote:Transfer the oil and then what?

It eh 2 bag of hops.

Where it going.?

"The gov't must do something" bro

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 17th, 2020, 3:58 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Redman wrote:Transfer the oil and then what?

It eh 2 bag of hops.

Where it going.?

"The gov't must do something" bro

Typical government union worker attitude right here.

Postby teems1 » October 17th, 2020, 7:04 pm

If your only options are to make noise or do nothing, making noise is the one you choose.

It doesn't cost anything to ask for updates on the situation.
Redress10 wrote:
teems1 wrote:Bring it to the forefront of the world news the way Mauritius did with the Japanese tanker?

What exactly is the world going to do now? The majority of the western world has no ties with Venezuela so what pressure are they going to apply to Venezuela? Are we stupid to believe that an incident such as this will somehow "shame" Venezuelan authorities to act? Can you shame a dictatorship?

VII

Postby VII » October 17th, 2020, 8:22 pm

Lol y'all heating yourselves? Of course Venezuela has the know how and capabilities to handle that is dem fill that thing ffs ,they know about big oil movements,they just can't coordinate shitt right now and relevant assets probably needs repairs servicing etc..

It's no great big task to empty that into a couple smaller tankers,its not rocket science,it's more geopolitical red tape and limitations than anything else .

For this to happen fast T&T or some other nation or organization may have to offer to do it with their resources through diplomatic channels..

Postby redmanjp » October 17th, 2020, 8:46 pm

have we alerted the UN and other international agencies about this? international media?

Postby sMASH » October 17th, 2020, 8:51 pm

redmanjp wrote:have we alerted the UN and other international agencies about this? international media?

u only need to escalate if its not being addressed. the official press release from GORTT means they acknowledge it, and they getting to send their own engineers to assess. these things take some time for sufficient paper work to get generated. give them till mid week and end of week for latest to give some sort of follow up.

Postby sMASH » October 17th, 2020, 8:54 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Any reason it was it anchored in that location?
quite a loaded question there. that response would be quite interesting.

Postby redmanjp » October 17th, 2020, 9:02 pm

sMASH wrote:
redmanjp wrote:have we alerted the UN and other international agencies about this? international media?

u only need to escalate if its not being addressed. the official press release from GORTT means they acknowledge it, and they getting to send their own engineers to assess. these things take some time for sufficient paper work to get generated. give them till mid week and end of week for latest to give some sort of follow up.

we can't afford too much red tape now nuh- that thing looking like it cud start emptying oil next week