The_Honourable wrote:Although i get what Gary Aboud is trying to do and the passion behind it which is commendable... redress is correct.
At the end of the day, the Nabarima is a Venezuelan ship in Venezuelan waters and therefore the jurisdiction of the Venezuelan government who has been downplaying this issue. They already stating that the tilting photo is over a month old and the ship has been stabilized - which more than likely is untrue. Anybody that tries to expose what's happening especially visiting the location of the Nabarima might be met with harsh consequences from the Guardia Nacional or/and the venezuelan army.
Yes, the venezuelan government can claim sabotage and will be a perfect excuse if an oil spill occurs. The propaganda machine can accuse Gary Aboud for working with the US to sabotage a ship to make the maduro regime look bad.
We can make noise all we want, the T&T government can't do anything until they get authorization from the Venezuelan government to traverse Venezuelan waters to visit the ship. If that doesn't happen, all we can do is watch and hope nothing happens.
paid_influencer wrote:Redress10 wrote:paid_influencer wrote:redress, let's try another way to understand. What do you see as the worst case scenario for T&T in this situation, with the 173K tons of oil stored on that damaged ship?
How is that the issue? The ship is in Venezuelan waters and is owned by the Venezuelan state. What exactly do you expect the gov't of TT to do? Do you expect them to breach sovereignty and send the TTCG to go secure the ship and the oil?
I am truly at a lost as to what some of you all expect out of this situation.
Humor me, what do you think will happen if those 173K tons of oil spill into the gulf of Paria?
eliteauto wrote:paid_influencer wrote:Redress10 wrote:paid_influencer wrote:redress, let's try another way to understand. What do you see as the worst case scenario for T&T in this situation, with the 173K tons of oil stored on that damaged ship?
How is that the issue? The ship is in Venezuelan waters and is owned by the Venezuelan state. What exactly do you expect the gov't of TT to do? Do you expect them to breach sovereignty and send the TTCG to go secure the ship and the oil?
Humor me, what do you think will happen if those 173K tons of oil spill into the gulf of Paria?
Are you being deliberately obtuse?
sMASH wrote:Redman wrote:sMASH wrote:No one is talking about about unilateral action.Redman wrote:Allyuh realize that the vessel isn’t in our waters and that there is no legal mechanism that GORTT can unilaterally implement?
Let’s ignore sanctions for now, or the value of the oil.
What we are saying is, because it is important to both regimes, that they oepn communication lines, like the ones they had with Delco during the closed borders, and agree to put some off shore expertise team to come up with solutions.
Whether they ARE talking about the matter at this moment, no one knows, so it APEARS to be inaction.
Yep.
http://news.gov.tt/content/trinidad-and ... 4ogqi84ZvI
https://www.google.com/search?client=sa ... 1&bih=1526
dated the 16th of october... today.
till then they were 'monitoring'.
the US embassy was able to address the situation as far as their capacity allows, before GORTT. and this press release at this hour, seems to be 'spurred' on by the US address.
paid_influencer wrote:eliteauto wrote:paid_influencer wrote:Redress10 wrote:paid_influencer wrote:redress, let's try another way to understand. What do you see as the worst case scenario for T&T in this situation, with the 173K tons of oil stored on that damaged ship?
Are you being deliberately obtuse?
he's thinking in a box. I'm trying to pull him out of the box for some context
the urgency of the action we have to do is determined by the risk and the potential loss. Unless you put some thought into that potential loss, you're only halfway considering your position.
for reference, the little idiot over there thinks we shouldn't even look at the boat to see if it is sinking.
Rovin wrote:so WTF they waiting on to remedy this situation , they waiting til disaster that can even affect d world's marine life to happen then they go react
if they dont have d resources to fix it why not ask OPEC or d UN so that other countries can volunteer their equipment & services to prevent this thing .....
Redress10 wrote:Aboud says that the "Gov't has done nothing". Has he communicated exactly what he wants the gov't to do?
Are trinis really this daft?
Redress10 wrote:Aboud says that the "Gov't has done nothing". Has he communicated exactly what he wants the gov't to do?
teems1 wrote:Bring it to the forefront of the world news the way Mauritius did with the Japanese tanker?Redress10 wrote:Aboud says that the "Gov't has done nothing". Has he communicated exactly what he wants the gov't to do?
Redress10 wrote:But isn't this a simple transfer of oil between ships? From one tanker to the other. Doesn't seem like something that should be expensive or restrictive. I am sure Venezuela even in its current state is quite capable of doing such an operation.
We are assuming that they are doing nothing or plan on doing nothing.
If we believe that we are really threatened by this ship maybe we need more action on this side. Maybe Aboud and his businessmen friends need to come together and hire a tanker etc to secure the oil. What's the point of "noise". Maybe that is the solution.
The situation in Mauritius is different because that wreck happened within Mauritius waters. This ship is in Venezuelan waters making it solely their responsibility.
bluefete wrote:Redress10 wrote:But isn't this a simple transfer of oil between ships? From one tanker to the other. Doesn't seem like something that should be expensive or restrictive. I am sure Venezuela even in its current state is quite capable of doing such an operation.
We are assuming that they are doing nothing or plan on doing nothing.
If we believe that we are really threatened by this ship maybe we need more action on this side. Maybe Aboud and his businessmen friends need to come together and hire a tanker etc to secure the oil. What's the point of "noise". Maybe that is the solution.
The situation in Mauritius is different because that wreck happened within Mauritius waters. This ship is in Venezuelan waters making it solely their responsibility.
What other tanker? Venezuela is a pariah because of US sanctions. Only Iran or Russia or China might send a tanker to transfer the oil. That would only happen if Venezuela asks. Right now Maduro looks like he don't gaf.
Redman wrote:Transfer the oil and then what?
It eh 2 bag of hops.
Day rate for tanker pre and post transfer?...and then what to do with the oil.?
Who has responsibility for clean up or spills?
Where it going.?
Whose problem will it be then?
Redress10 wrote:Redman wrote:Transfer the oil and then what?
It eh 2 bag of hops.
Day rate for tanker pre and post transfer?...and then what to do with the oil.?
Who has responsibility for clean up or spills?
Where it going.?
Whose problem will it be then?
"The gov't must do something" bro
Redress10 wrote:teems1 wrote:Bring it to the forefront of the world news the way Mauritius did with the Japanese tanker?Redress10 wrote:Aboud says that the "Gov't has done nothing". Has he communicated exactly what he wants the gov't to do?
What exactly is the world going to do now? The majority of the western world has no ties with Venezuela so what pressure are they going to apply to Venezuela? Are we stupid to believe that an incident such as this will somehow "shame" Venezuelan authorities to act? Can you shame a dictatorship?
redmanjp wrote:have we alerted the UN and other international agencies about this? international media?
quite a loaded question there. that response would be quite interesting.Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Any reason it was it anchored in that location?
sMASH wrote:redmanjp wrote:have we alerted the UN and other international agencies about this? international media?
u only need to escalate if its not being addressed. the official press release from GORTT means they acknowledge it, and they getting to send their own engineers to assess. these things take some time for sufficient paper work to get generated. give them till mid week and end of week for latest to give some sort of follow up.