The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby S_2NR » December 4th, 2011, 4:48 pm

DTAC wrote:Question for the Apple pros here: So my ex wants to buy me an iPhone 4s for Christmas and she'll take my 3GS. Should I get it or wait for the iPhone 5 to come out to change phones and take an iPad 2 instead?

send she by me na.. :lol:

mojosodope

The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby mojosodope » December 4th, 2011, 7:15 pm

noticed that my carrier now says bmobile rather than bmobile TSTT like its always has shown, same carrier 11.0 tho, Just thought it was interesting.
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1323040539.032891.jpg

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » December 4th, 2011, 7:42 pm

S_2NR wrote:
DTAC wrote:Question for the Apple pros here: So my ex wants to buy me an iPhone 4s for Christmas and she'll take my 3GS. Should I get it or wait for the iPhone 5 to come out to change phones and take an iPad 2 instead?

send she by me na.. :lol:

X2 lol

Go with the 4s while u still good with her ,make sure it's factory unlocked etc and when is time for the i5 to be released , sell it and upgrade if you want

That reminded me of my ex but I declined her offer

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 4th, 2011, 7:43 pm

i remember a while back i read there were issues with the caller id....got none with my 4s...works perfectly

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » December 4th, 2011, 7:50 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:i remember a while back i read there were issues with the caller id....got none with my 4s...works perfectly

Yea I eventually got advice from the Facebook apple community that you have to carry in the iPhone into bmobile and they will fix it . So instead of carrying it in I just called them and they fixed it from their end on the system , apparently when you put a new sim from bmobile in an iPhone you have to get them to activate all the features including caller id

GTcruzer

Postby GTcruzer » December 4th, 2011, 8:43 pm

any one in areas between marabella and chaguanas have a sim cutter? i search for "sim cutter" but didn't see anyone mention if they have a sim cutter.

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 4th, 2011, 8:49 pm

check r&j in gulf...they cut mine for me

GTcruzer

Postby GTcruzer » December 4th, 2011, 8:51 pm

what price they call?

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » December 4th, 2011, 8:59 pm

GTcruzer wrote:any one in areas between marabella and chaguanas have a sim cutter? i search for "sim cutter" but didn't see anyone mention if they have a sim cutter.

I got one

Postby S_2NR » December 4th, 2011, 9:22 pm

GTcruzer wrote:any one in areas between marabella and chaguanas have a sim cutter? i search for "sim cutter" but didn't see anyone mention if they have a sim cutter.

cut it urself..there are youtube vids on it.
it easy

Postby M_2NR » December 4th, 2011, 9:37 pm

S_2NR wrote:

it easy

yuh not serious... :lol:

i rather pay 4usd w/ prime shipping than risk having to tell tstt a sad story and pay $x for a new sim and waste time.

Postby pete » December 4th, 2011, 9:52 pm

If my dad could cut his sim.. anyone can.

Postby S_2NR » December 4th, 2011, 10:13 pm

M_2NR wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

it easy

i rather pay 4usd w/ prime shipping than risk having to tell tstt a sad story and pay $x for a new sim and waste time.

dead serious.
alot of people i know use a scissors guided by youtube vids.

how hard could it be

Postby M_2NR » December 4th, 2011, 11:21 pm

ulyuh brave yes. I hope ulyuh never have to deal with tstt for a poorly cut sin yes..

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » December 5th, 2011, 12:49 am

nah, if anything goes wrong...jus go in bmobile and ask for ah sim swap, wudnt even ask to see your old one and then try again...

Postby pete » December 5th, 2011, 5:35 am

I think a scissors may put stress on the sim card, he used a box cutter to cut his own. Digicel sim tho.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 5th, 2011, 6:07 am

I used a scissors on my old sim that I have in my iPhone 4 now. No issues since then over a year ago now

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » December 5th, 2011, 7:15 am

Bought a sim cutter on ebay for around 10us, works great.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » December 5th, 2011, 11:18 am

any remedy for this? Never had a problem with it on my Gevey unlocked iPhone 4 but I just noticed this on my factory unlocked 4S
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1323098262.897111.jpg

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 5th, 2011, 11:27 am

S_2NR wrote:
M_2NR wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

it easy

dead serious.

how hard could it be

I did this...with a scissors

Pretty simple...

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 5th, 2011, 11:29 am

mojosodope wrote:any remedy for this? Never had a problem with it on my Gevey unlocked iPhone 4 but I just noticed this on my factory unlocked 4S

getting it on digi as well

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 5th, 2011, 4:11 pm

A group of iOS hackers have managed to successfully port Apple’s virtual assistant software Siri to the iPhone 4 and fourth-generation iPod touch, and the software needed to perform the port is now available to the public. Tech blog InTech-BB posted the necessary links on Sunday along with a how-to guide, and a number of users have reported successfully installing Siri on their devices using the tools and steps provided within the guide. Several users note problems with their cameras after installing the ported Siri software, but a fix is apparently now available. IPhone 4 and fourth-generation iPod touch owners who understand the risks involved with jailbreaking and installing unauthorized software can follow the read link below for a step-by-step tutorial along with a video of Siri in action on an iPhone 4.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » December 5th, 2011, 4:44 pm

src1983 wrote:
S_2NR wrote:
M_2NR wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

it easy

dead serious.

how hard could it be

I did this...with a scissors

Pretty simple...

I usually cut all my sims with scissors also , simple , quick + effective

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » December 5th, 2011, 5:05 pm

SRASC wrote:A group of iOS hackers have managed to successfully port Apple’s virtual assistant software Siri to the iPhone 4 and fourth-generation iPod touch, and the software needed to perform the port is now available to the public. Tech blog InTech-BB posted the necessary links on Sunday along with a how-to guide, and a number of users have reported successfully installing Siri on their devices using the tools and steps provided within the guide. Several users note problems with their cameras after installing the ported Siri software, but a fix is apparently now available. IPhone 4 and fourth-generation iPod touch owners who understand the risks involved with jailbreaking and installing unauthorized software can follow the read link below for a step-by-step tutorial along with a video of Siri in action on an iPhone 4.

u tried it yet?

Postby M_2NR » December 5th, 2011, 6:54 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:
mojosodope wrote:any remedy for this? Never had a problem with it on my Gevey unlocked iPhone 4 but I just noticed this on my factory unlocked 4S

getting it on digi as well

Tried this?

http://support.apple.com/kb/ht2417

I feel however that you can reset your voicemail number. I'm only finding the way to change it but there was a way to check what it currently is. To change it use this:
http://natch3z.blogspot.com/2009/01/cha ... phone.html

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 5th, 2011, 7:40 pm

ryan99tt wrote:
SRASC wrote:A group of iOS hackers have managed to successfully port Apple’s virtual assistant software Siri to the iPhone 4 and fourth-generation iPod touch, and the software needed to perform the port is now available to the public. Tech blog InTech-BB posted the necessary links on Sunday along with a how-to guide, and a number of users have reported successfully installing Siri on their devices using the tools and steps provided within the guide. Several users note problems with their cameras after installing the ported Siri software, but a fix is apparently now available. IPhone 4 and fourth-generation iPod touch owners who understand the risks involved with jailbreaking and installing unauthorized software can follow the read link below for a step-by-step tutorial along with a video of Siri in action on an iPhone 4.

u tried it yet?

Thinking about it.

Postby M_2NR » December 5th, 2011, 8:15 pm

SRASC, see my post on the apple group ;)

ProgressiveTT

Postby ProgressiveTT » December 5th, 2011, 8:53 pm

iDynamic wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:i remember a while back i read there were issues with the caller id....got none with my 4s...works perfectly

Yea I eventually got advice from the Facebook apple community that you have to carry in the iPhone into bmobile and they will fix it . So instead of carrying it in I just called them and they fixed it from their end on the system , apparently when you put a new sim from bmobile in an iPhone you have to get them to activate all the features including caller id

iOS 5 (I think) fixed mine.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » December 6th, 2011, 10:19 am

SRASC wrote:
ryan99tt wrote:

u tried it yet?

Thinking about it.

only prob with this is that all your data is passed through a chinese server... not that really bothers me personally, cause i dont keep any kind of sensitive data on my phone (not that i really have sensitive data :lol:) - but it also uses copyrighted apple code etc to make it work..

lots of people are claiming that the chinese dev's are taking control of their phones and doing random resets/retarts and messages etc :lol:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 6th, 2011, 2:05 pm

If you’re a platform-agnostic smartphone enthusiast who has had extensive playtime with the iPhone, Windows Phones and Android smartphones, you’ll probably have noticed how the former two mobile operating systems offer a much more “smoother” user-experience compared to the latter’s general “choppiness”. Well, it appears that Android will never be as smooth as iOS or Windows Phone 7 because of the way its very foundations were laid down back in 2005-2006.

The news comes straight in the form of two posts over on Google’s struggling social network Google+: one by a Google engineer who talks about how graphics work on Android and the other by a 3rd year software engineering student in reply to the first post. Both are pretty lengthy and can get pretty technical, so we’ll try simplifying it as much as we can.

We’ll start off with Google engineer Dianne Hackborn’s post. She states that hardware acceleration – i.e. using the GPU, instead of CPU alone, to render the user-interface – has existed on Android since version 1.0 for things such as sliding the notification bar, pop-up dialogues etc. Full hardware acceleration only came with Android 3.0 Honeycomb and, unsurprisingly, Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich actually has the same kind of hardware acceleration and this won’t necessarily sweeten things up.

Hackborn states that hardware acceleration “is not all full of win” since it takes away a lot of RAM when used for devices like Nexus S, Galaxy Nexus with OpenGL. Each process takes about 8MB of RAM and “isn’t worth it” considering the minimal effect it has on how “smooth” the UI looks after implementing it. So yes, hardware acceleration certainly helps, but it takes far too much processing power for it to be implemented to all parts of the UI.

She ends her post on how full, complete, A-to-Z hardware acceleration that results in 60 frames-per-second graphics is simply not possible, even with powerful chips like the Tegra 2.

Now, the question arises: why is it that even seemingly outdated phones like the iPhone 3GS offer a smoother UI than the latest Android smartphones? iOS uses hardware acceleration and that too on weaker hardware. How does Apple’s engineers manage to pull it off, then? Why can’t Google do the same?

That has been answered by Andrew Munn – software engineering student, ex-intern at Google and future intern with Windows Phone 7 team at Microsoft – who states that UI rendering processes in iOS occur with dedicated threads with real-time priority whereas on Android, UI rendering processes occur along with the main thread with normal priority. Whenever an iOS devices detects touch, it stops other processes and focuses all attention to rendering the UI. Android devices don’t do this, instead general processing and UI rendering occurs concurrently which results in choppy UI.

To see this in choppiness in action, check out the following video. Notice the choppiness around 1:50:

------

On Friday, Google opened a new Android store with Androidland in Melbourne, a place to hawk Android tablets and phones made by various manufacturers. So how’s it stand up against the Apple Store? Let’s see! (click to enlarge)

Apple Store (left) — Brightly lit, thronged with customers, tastefully designed with the finest materials and well-staffed with bright, enthusiastic employees at the top of their field who are constantly moving to help people with questions.

Androidland (right) — Dark and dimly lit, with a design more evocative of an early 90s Chuck E. Cheese arcade pit than a high-end retail store. Staffed by two disengaged lunkheads, who expertly manage not only to ignore the only customer on the floor, but to be at least fifty feet away from him.

Amazing