Giant African Snail

Re: Giant African Snail?

Postby j.o.e » July 13th, 2023, 12:34 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:It's better u put a little bit of bait every few days than a whole set one time

What works great for me is taking food scraps and soaking in beer and thiovin and putting in the abandon land next to me...cuz them thing does smell stink when rottening

Every now and then I gas and light up the pile of bodies

I understand the logic of putting a little everyday but it could be literally thousands of snails in that land. Bait stations will keep the pellets dry and feed the masses.
I don’t want to be responsible for making a stink on a piece of land that’s not mine using scraps and thiovin. It’s not really abandoned land just land that hasn’t been built on yet but maintained by the developer.

Postby Chimera » July 13th, 2023, 12:45 pm

its the same thing you with the bait u know

just the food scraps and thiovin cheaper.....

if u put a pile of bait and you watch what happens its just the outside line of bait does get touch and the snails die and then snails come to eat them and die and the big pile of bait in the middle is just a waste

i just talking from my experience

Postby j.o.e » July 13th, 2023, 3:22 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:its the same thing you with the bait u know

if u put a pile of bait and you watch what happens its just the outside line of bait does get touch and the snails die and then snails come to eat them and die and the big pile of bait in the middle is just a waste

The snails come to eat the dead snails ?!!! Gross

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 13th, 2023, 6:53 pm

Those pellets are the real deal . It's the last meal the buggers gonna eat

My girl is calling me The Mighty Snail Slayer now

I am sure I dispatched about 50 to snail heaven

Yard nice now

I spread some pellets on the border with the empty lot, and some died right there without coming into my land

Postby MG Man » July 18th, 2023, 8:38 am

yeah for small properties, pellets are the best line of defense. Gets expensive when acreage goes up
But it's a constant battle. My yard will be clean for weeks and weeks, and then BOOM, ten 2"-4" buggers will randomly show up outta nowhere

Postby pugboy » July 18th, 2023, 9:10 am

a farmer tell me the best thing was for bush fires around their area, it pegged them back significantly
of course they will return but at least will take some time for them to get full infestation nearby

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 19th, 2023, 10:53 am

So far so good with my infestation

Not seeing any even late at night after 1 month

I placed a line of pellets on the border with the neighbour just in case

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » July 21st, 2023, 2:13 pm

I put some whole red blocks as a make shift step platform last couple months… worst decision ever!!

I cut grass feeling good I ain’t see any… but ya boy clumsy and I spill some gas on the bricks…

ALLLL the mc snail living in there, and huge too they get wild up with the gas

Postby Rovin » July 21st, 2023, 2:43 pm

^^^ like u make some hdc house fuh dem

monday i bought a lb of snail bait as i seen few of them on d walls & around, i sprinkled half pack of d bait all over in d evening, next morning i saw about 20 of dem done eat it overnight & dead right there by d bait

i even see a few of dem after dey dead like they let go white eggs looking like styrofoam particles which i soaked with some lacquer thinners

snail season is def here ...

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 27th, 2023, 3:17 pm

j.o.e wrote:

actually , yes

It very disgusting hoss, especially when they turn over and collect water, and you seeing maggots squirming inside....

does feel to voms

Postby j.o.e » July 27th, 2023, 11:07 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

actually , yes

It very disgusting hoss, especially when they turn over and collect water, and you seeing maggots squirming inside....

does feel to voms

Gyad

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » July 30th, 2023, 11:17 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Heard about this on 95.1 this morning.
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/guinea- ... 7fc26ce2b5

Apparently there's a local hatchery selling the Guinea fowl for $25 each. Buy a couple and let them loose on your property. :)
They are edible too, so I mean you can cycle them out into a pot every once in a while

I thinking to run some fowl inno… anyone went this route Or raised guinea fowl for some advice?

Postby pugboy » July 30th, 2023, 11:38 am

would stray cats kill them guinea fowl?

Postby Chimera » July 30th, 2023, 12:00 pm

nick639v2 wrote:

Apparently there's a local hatchery selling the Guinea fowl for $25 each. Buy a couple and let them loose on your property. :)
They are edible too, so I mean you can cycle them out into a pot every once in a while

I thinking to run some fowl inno… anyone went this route Or raised guinea fowl for some advice?
Yea guinea fowl facking dem up

Check out st marys hatchery on fb for good prices.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 30th, 2023, 12:44 pm

Doh wanna start a new thread, but since we on pest control

Whats a good solution to deal with them house lizards?

I noticed all over the country, ppl are complaining about an increase in the population

But, they so crafty and hard to catch/kill

Last night i ketch 2 bullin'
I blast them with some break & parts cleaner
They lived to tell the story

Postby maj. tom » July 30th, 2023, 12:55 pm

I don't consider my house geckos as pests. They keep real hidden pests in your house in check, from cockroach eggs, mosquitoes, termite rain flies, etc. And ever so often in the night they kek kek kek kek very loudly to assure me that they taking care of business. Sure it have a little clean up, no big deal though.

The reported increase in house gecko populations only means that they getting enough food to expand like that. Which means that there is an increase of insects in your house that you don't know about and they are the ones keeping it in check.

Geckos are considered good luck in some places, especially tropical regions.

Postby gastly369 » July 30th, 2023, 1:00 pm

Wassss imagine getting some action and boom yuh get spray down with throttle body cleaner outa no where...

Postby *KRONIK* » July 30th, 2023, 1:47 pm

gastly369 wrote:Wassss imagine getting some action and boom yuh get spray down with throttle body cleaner outa no where...
This is exactly what happened

Postby *KRONIK* » July 30th, 2023, 1:47 pm

maj. tom wrote:I don't consider my house geckos as pests. They keep real hidden pests in your house in check, from cockroach eggs, mosquitoes, termite rain flies, etc. And ever so often in the night they kek kek kek kek very loudly to assure me that they taking care of business. Sure it have a little clean up, no big deal though.

The reported increase in house gecko populations only means that they getting enough food to expand like that. Which means that there is an increase of insects in your house that you don't know about and they are the ones keeping it in check.

Well...to me

Is a fleckin pest

I aint want them by me

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » July 30th, 2023, 1:55 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:

Yea guinea fowl facking dem up

Check out st marys hatchery on fb for good prices.

I have 8ft fencing around the backyard and no worrying about stray cats or dogs but from what I reading they do indeed fly

Postby pugboy » July 30th, 2023, 2:19 pm

clip they feathers like a parrot

matix

Postby matix » July 30th, 2023, 2:22 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Doh wanna start a new thread, but since we on pest control

I noticed all over the country, ppl are complaining about an increase in the population

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » July 30th, 2023, 4:03 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
maj. tom wrote:I don't consider my house geckos as pests. They keep real hidden pests in your house in check, from cockroach eggs, mosquitoes, termite rain flies, etc. And ever so often in the night they kek kek kek kek very loudly to assure me that they taking care of business. Sure it have a little clean up, no big deal though.

Well...to me

Is a fleckin pest

I aint want them by me
Wow... thought was only me... they sheitting in every corner of the house...

Postby nervewrecker » July 30th, 2023, 6:48 pm

Cats does deal with them.

Postby pugboy » July 30th, 2023, 7:01 pm

sticky mouse traps does ketch them
usually lil insects get caught on the traps and eventually the geckos show up
the poop does be everywhere
i have a clock one was living behind and it leggo some diarrhea poop dripping down the wall

Postby alfa » July 30th, 2023, 7:06 pm

There's a huge increase in lizards by me to and thought was me alone. Not to mention those disgusting frogs, spraying with diaznion tends to keep frogs away. Still haven't found a remedy for lizards

Postby *KRONIK* » July 30th, 2023, 7:28 pm

Not that lazy one i had, she used to pretend she didnt see or hear

Postby *KRONIK* » July 30th, 2023, 7:29 pm

pugboy wrote:sticky mouse traps does ketch them
usually lil insects get caught on the traps and eventually the geckos show up
the poop does be everywhere
i have a clock one was living behind and it leggo some diarrhea poop dripping down the wall
I tried the sticky trap, failure

And.....oh geeeeeeeeeed

Postby sMASH » July 30th, 2023, 9:33 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:

Too much food.

Postby nervewrecker » July 30th, 2023, 10:16 pm

sMASH wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

Too much food.
Fatcat is well fed and just last night he hunting a butterfly. Still hunts birds.

Orange dragon still don't make joke. Random snake crawling came up by the fence, saw cat, made an about turn, cat casually walk down the driveway, jump over the gate and gone for he mc. Orange dragon don't care, all is fair game.