dread_2002 wrote:PPL all over the world have different rating systems... do not get the chain up that our gas already better than alot of other countries..that is false and propaganda
our gas is actually not that good
Customer Service Department wrote:Dear customer,
Fuel quality control tests results for the octane rating on petroleum fuels are kept by National Petroleum Marketing Company Ltd and as far as my knowledge affords me , is not for public disclosure. The fuels are received from Petrotrin with a COQ ( Certificate of Quality ) document clearly outlining the type of fuel and the octane or cetane rating accordingly. Samples are then sent to the Laboratory for further testing and approvals before the product is received by NP. If the fuel does not meet the specified requirement, the entire stock is sent back to Petrotrin and not sold to the public.
Customer Service Supervisor
National Petroleum Marketing Company Ltd.
Motorists who use super graded gasoline and diesel fuel are next on Finance Minister Larry Howai's list.
He is hoping that Government would be able to make another dent in the $4 billion fuel subsidy by as early as next year.
Speaking at the Energy Chamber's annual general meeting luncheon at the Hyatt Regency (Trinidad) hotel, Port of Spain, yesterday, Howai acknowledged that even with the removal of the subsidy on premium gas in Monday's national budget, other fuel prices remained "heavily subsidised".
Premium fuel prices were increased on Tuesday from $4 per litre to $5.75 (44 per cent higher) following Howai's budget presentation in Parliament.
Yesterday he compared the cost of the fuel subsidy to other projects, saying the annual subsidy could build "three hospitals and 25 schools".
"We left super and diesel untouched, but this must be addressed so we don't mortgage our future," he said.
The subsidy on super gas accounts for 41 per cent of the total volume of gasoline sold and 45 per cent of the subsidy, he said.
Premium users account for nine per cent of the volume of gasoline sold in the country.
Gradually, "we will see market forces playing a part in fuel prices", he added.
Howai's plan involves possibly removing the super gas subsidy and at least the marine fuel one as early as next year.
His aim is to replace drivers' dependence on premium, super and diesel and replace it with cheaper, cleaner compressed natural gas (CNG).
This will involve a CNG initiative, which will include 62 mobile and physical gas stations, construction of which will start next year, Howai told reporters following the luncheon.
He agreed with Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar that some vehicles that use premium gas could switch to the cheaper super fuel.
pete wrote:tr1ad wrote:diesel will increase no doubt, but not by much
this is because from inception of services, diesel has been utilized, transport and public transport on the whole
if it had been limited to government transport (buses) and strictly commercial vehicles then it would be a different story
if diesel raises by a mere 50cents, commuters and consumers would suffer none the less
Yes but it's something that has to be done.
If they make premium and super 4x the price of diesel then everyone will just buy diesel vehicles and you're back to square one. What would you say about all the other countries in the Caribbean that don't have their fuel subsidised? How do they get by? You make it seem like we won't be able to survive in Trinidad if that happens but that's not true.
I gave an example of how the price of goods would increase if diesel price doubled in an earlier thread. Even something like bread would not have to go up much ($0.15/loaf). Transport maybe 10-15%. Only people it'll hit hard is the ones who are using it in their private vehicles.
Thing is.. if diesel actually COSTS the government say $6/litre and you're buying it for $1.50 then every time you fill up for $80 you're taking $240 from the rest of the population.
It will be hard if they take it away but if they don't in a few years we're really going to be screwed.
pete wrote:tr1ad wrote:diesel will increase no doubt, but not by much
this is because from inception of services, diesel has been utilized, transport and public transport on the whole
if it had been limited to government transport (buses) and strictly commercial vehicles then it would be a different story
if diesel raises by a mere 50cents, commuters and consumers would suffer none the less
If they make premium and super 4x the price of diesel then everyone will just buy diesel vehicles and you're back to square one. What would you say about all the other countries in the Caribbean that don't have their fuel subsidised? How do they get by? You make it seem like we won't be able to survive in Trinidad if that happens but that's not true.
I gave an example of how the price of goods would increase if diesel price doubled in an earlier thread. Even something like bread would not have to go up much ($0.15/loaf). Transport maybe 10-15%. Only people it'll hit hard is the ones who are using it in their private vehicles.
Thing is.. if diesel actually COSTS the government say $6/litre and you're buying it for $1.50 then every time you fill up for $80 you're taking $240 from the rest of the population.
It will be hard if they take it away but if they don't in a few years we're really going to be screwed.
tr1ad wrote:pete wrote:tr1ad wrote:diesel will increase no doubt, but not by much
pete,
not speaking of lifelong suffering, but it would be an adjustment
just like 4 years ago when fuel costs went up, what was the outcome?
nothing changed, granted diesel wasn't touched but everything reverted to normal
i am all for the subsidy removal on fuel (across the board) for the benefit of the country, but at the time of such a change, even the smallest consumer would suffer in the initial stages of such a change.... if it were to be a quarterly increase, might have a better effect on those types of consumers
would you have agreed to a 44% increase in diesel, considering the quality of what we now pay $1.50 for?
tr1ad wrote:you sure that doubles went up 4 years ago because super and premium prices were increased or it was because flour went up at the same time?
djcarbon wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I not buying no damn electric vehicle. I not buying no damn cng conversion kit. I not buying no damn cng vehicle either.
Conrad wrote:djcarbon wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I not buying no damn electric vehicle. I not buying no damn cng conversion kit. I not buying no damn cng vehicle either.
Hahahahahahaahaaaaaa I laugh with tears in mih eye.
Seriously though and politics aside I have some questions and the convo here could produce answers from the collective.
Raising diesel is political suicide. These are politicians. Lewwe dun that there. If the premise is that they raised premium to cut into the gas subsidy I can't understand how if they are asking people to switch to super. Premium was subsidized less than super by ALOT!!!
So on average, premium was $0.73/liter to subsidize, super is $1.83
/quote]
Where'd you get that graph? It suggests that we're paying waaaaaay over the average price for premium.
Stephon. wrote:. . . .forth night . . . .
rfari wrote:Stephon u does gesticulate plenty when u making a point?
De Dragon wrote:Conrad wrote:djcarbon wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I not buying no damn electric vehicle. I not buying no damn cng conversion kit. I not buying no damn cng vehicle either.
Seriously though and politics aside I have some questions and the convo here could produce answers from the collective.
Raising diesel is political suicide. These are politicians. Lewwe dun that there. If the premise is that they raised premium to cut into the gas subsidy I can't understand how if they are asking people to switch to super. Premium was subsidized less than super by ALOT!!!
Where'd you get that graph? It suggests that we're paying waaaaaay over the average price for premium.
Nah, let's wait another few years or so when we have to cut it in a very short time because it starts to be an even bigger strain on the economy. Let's not raise it by a few cents here and there...
Conrad wrote:De Dragon wrote:Conrad wrote:djcarbon wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I not buying no damn electric vehicle. I not buying no damn cng conversion kit. I not buying no damn cng vehicle either.
Nah, let's wait another few years or so when we have to cut it in a very short time because it starts to be an even bigger strain on the economy. Let's not raise it by a few cents here and there...
Whut?![]()
Rory Phoulorie wrote:Stephon. wrote:. . . .forth night . . . .
What's a "forth night"?
Fortnight?
Fourth night?
Fourth knight?
Stephon. wrote:Rory Phoulorie wrote:Stephon. wrote:. . . .forth night . . . .
What's a "forth night"?
Fortnight?
Fourth night?
Fourth knight?
fcuk off!
Stephon. wrote:fcuk off!
De Dragon wrote:Conrad wrote:De Dragon wrote:Conrad wrote:djcarbon wrote:
Whut?![]()
Let's trap and pass from Gov't to Gov't until some unfortunate arse has to cut the subsidy hard, instead of removing it a few cents per Budget to decrease the fallout.
De Dragon wrote:Stephon. wrote:Rory Phoulorie wrote:Stephon. wrote:. . . .forth night . . . .
What's a "forth night"?
Fortnight?
Fourth night?
Fourth knight?
fcuk off!
Ah man x fuh a lil clarification is all
tr1ad wrote:pete,
not speaking of lifelong suffering, but it would be an adjustment
just like 4 years ago when fuel costs went up, what was the outcome?
nothing changed, granted diesel wasn't touched but everything reverted to normal
i am all for the subsidy removal on fuel (across the board) for the benefit of the country, but at the time of such a change, even the smallest consumer would suffer in the initial stages of such a change.... if it were to be a quarterly increase, might have a better effect on those types of consumers
would you have agreed to a 44% increase in diesel, considering the quality of what we now pay $1.50 for?
Conrad wrote:djcarbon wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I not buying no damn electric vehicle. I not buying no damn cng conversion kit. I not buying no damn cng vehicle either.
/quote]
silent_riot wrote:Conrad wrote:djcarbon wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I not buying no damn electric vehicle. I not buying no damn cng conversion kit. I not buying no damn cng vehicle either.
/quote]
Found it while googling..
http://sta.uwi.edu/conferences/12/revenue/documents/TDriverforwebsiteposting.pdf