Dangerous Dogs Act - Trinidad and Tobago

Sheriff

Re: Dangerous Dogs Act goes into effect August 1, 2012

Postby Sheriff » June 18th, 2013, 11:22 am

Wel is jus bullet Fuh dem now, no bite!

Look how gun sales gonna raise now, sure the sellers stocking up and reviewing prices. They gonna make ah killing when/if this law is put into effect.

Postby Spitfir3 » June 18th, 2013, 12:08 pm

Wel is jus bullet Fuh dem now, no bite!

Postby pioneer » June 18th, 2013, 12:12 pm

Soul Collector wrote:You does really wonder if the ppl who sitting drafting these laws does really think things through yes, or think at all. Is nothing they could get right so? This country yes....I does know to expect the worse know, but geez, I dohtish to have a glimmer of hope once in a while that at least common sense would prevail.

These people have post grad qualifications in law, many of them have big time law firms and been practicing for years.

They clearly didn't think of the fallout.

Postby pioneer » June 18th, 2013, 4:08 pm

Rx

Postby Rx » June 18th, 2013, 4:18 pm

So any "Class C " Dogs?

referring to pothound

Postby pioneer » June 18th, 2013, 5:11 pm

So what about the parents of criminals who kill/rob/rape people etc, are they liable?

Because they have also bred a dangerous animal...

Rx

Postby Rx » June 18th, 2013, 6:00 pm

"Punish the deed NOT the breed"

Postby wagonrunner » June 18th, 2013, 6:04 pm

TTSPCA is swamped right now with people giving away their "dangerous" dogs.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 18th, 2013, 6:39 pm

It is proven that German Shepherds are smarter, more honest and safer to be around than most humans.

Yet I have a neighbor who disagrees he keeps saying he supports this new bill because you cannot trust an animal how you don't know what in the animal mind.

Then when he wife and daughter come home he pulling the gramaxone and cutlass for them.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » June 18th, 2013, 8:48 pm

lol the bill passed

Stupid this government is stupid as well as the people in it :lol:
idk y it does have so much dotish people running this country nah
I support no parties btw

Trinis again

RedTiger

Postby RedTiger » June 19th, 2013, 7:45 am

" Now it is sad that for me to post on this forum as the Attorney General goes in Parliament and talk about passing or fixing the Dangerous Dog Bill. How many of us in TNT have owned these dogs for over 10yrs or more with out anyone anyone being hurt in any way ?
But unfortunately I have come to believe that politicians of both sides Government and Opposition leave a lot to to be desired and one can probably say TNT is yet to meet a Politician TNT citizens can trust.
Where was the "Public Consultations" ? Where was the public information or in the formation of this legislation. But a promise is a comfort to only a fool. Promise to fix crime etc. Then lash and beat up law abiding citizens with family & business with TNT Gun control and now Dog "Owner" control.
Conclusion: Based on what was reported last few days nothing has changed ! Class A dog owners are considered more dangerous than the Trini criminal. " PPKMAr.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » June 19th, 2013, 8:25 am

watch how dog pricing going and raise 10 fold. Cant bring them in OR reproduce them here.... so in other words after the bill has passed its a extinct species here.....

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » June 19th, 2013, 8:56 am

J+ust check out TTSPCA fb page, dogs have already been abandoned, and not only in rural areas, many seen roaming the 'burbs.
one example of this making things worst some small percentage of those roaming dogs gonna breed with a pot-hound and create a pit-mix (which in itself is a foolish term since by nature all pits a mongrels) anyway, so all these pothound/pit hybrids gonna be roaming the streets now.

Second example is who is going to tell me my dog is a pit? She has not birth papers, is Occifer Browne gonna hold up a pic next to her and say ummmm yea is a pit.

Third example, whats stopping irresponsible owners from gravitating towards another unnamed dog and create another menace?

Forth example, who is going to insure my dogs? Up to now no company has come forth and offered this service, who ever minister family opens this service gonna be rich fast.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » June 19th, 2013, 8:58 am

shaq090 wrote:watch how dog pricing going and raise 10 fold. Cant bring them in OR reproduce them here.... so in other words after the bill has passed its a extinct species here.....

That made no sense, people gonna have to give away dogs now, why would you want one with the added expense? Most dog men dont like their dogs more than their money fam

Postby Ronaldo95163 » June 19th, 2013, 9:21 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:J+ust check out TTSPCA fb page, dogs have already been abandoned, and not only in rural areas, many seen roaming the 'burbs.
one example of this making things worst some small percentage of those roaming dogs gonna breed with a pot-hound and create a pit-mix (which in itself is a foolish term since by nature all pits a mongrels) anyway, so all these pothound/pit hybrids gonna be roaming the streets now.

Second example is who is going to tell me my dog is a pit? She has not birth papers, is Occifer Browne gonna hold up a pic next to her and say ummmm yea is a pit.

Third example, whats stopping irresponsible owners from gravitating towards another unnamed dog and create another menace?

Forth example, who is going to insure my dogs? Up to now no company has come forth and offered this service, who ever minister family opens this service gonna be rich fast.

Like I said...this country is run by a bunch of idiots.

Dotish these people are dotish.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » June 19th, 2013, 11:19 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:
shaq090 wrote:watch how dog pricing going and raise 10 fold. Cant bring them in OR reproduce them here.... so in other words after the bill has passed its a extinct species here.....

That made no sense, people gonna have to give away dogs now, why would you want one with the added expense? Most dog men dont like their dogs more than their money fam

i made alot of sense, u think if drugs was legal it would be the same price as it is now?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » June 19th, 2013, 12:40 pm

shaq090 wrote:
Halfbreed07 wrote:

i made alot of sense, u think if drugs was legal it would be the same price as it is now?

Horrible comparison, for one dogs are not illegal to own, just it may cost you more to own one now, hence why it will be less desirable, therefore less demand, prices will go down. This is a fact locally, pits that used to be 5k are now being virtually given away for a bag of chow. Bullies are another story as they are still of some value, people seem to forget that they are a pit derivative and are subject to the same laws
Secondly, unlike drugs a dog is not a consumable, neither can it be hidden, so taking a chance to own one without the proper paper work is silly.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » June 19th, 2013, 1:07 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:
shaq090 wrote:
Halfbreed07 wrote:

Horrible comparison, for one dogs are not illegal to own, just it may cost you more to own one now, hence why it will be less desirable, therefore less demand, prices will go down. This is a fact locally, pits that used to be 5k are now being virtually given away for a bag of chow. Bullies are another story as they are still of some value, people seem to forget that they are a pit derivative and are subject to the same laws
Secondly, unlike drugs a dog is not a consumable, neither can it be hidden, so taking a chance to own one without the proper paper work is silly.

well answer me this,
they said that you cant import *bad dogs* right?
they said that if u have a *bad dog* you have to strip them of their reproductive organs right?
if these 2 statements are true then how will you get offspring?

Postby pioneer » June 19th, 2013, 1:12 pm

I don't think the bill was passed it is still to be debated...maybe their are some smart cabinet members out there

Apart from people abandoning their dogs, look out for trickidadians that gonna jump in your yard to purposely be attacked, or even stick their hand tru your gate so they get bitten, then run to the police in hope of making ah easy morney. Cuz of course they gonna think this fine is gonna go to them.

A piper tried that many years ago home by me, tried to climb over the fence, dog split the skin on his finger then he told the police we have to compensate him and we owe him morney. Police hit he two slap and throw him in de back of ah cherokee lol.

I'm reading this part here -

Ramlogan said a person who incites a dog to attack without cause is liable to a $25,000 fine in addition to other penalties already cited, if the person is injured or killed.

If someone provokes a "dangerous dogs" can that be classified as inciting? Therefore if THEY are injured or killed, they have to pay the fine?

Postby pioneer » June 19th, 2013, 1:14 pm

shaq090 wrote:
Halfbreed07 wrote:
shaq090 wrote:
Halfbreed07 wrote:

well answer me this,
they said that if u have a *bad dog* you have to strip them of their reproductive organs right?

I don't think many of you read the "new" bill. It says nothing about import, spaying or banning any dog.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/JAI ... 19141.html

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » June 19th, 2013, 1:31 pm

Thanks Pios, was now gonna ask which bill he is refering too, as far as I kno it was only in the original bill.

Postby toyolink » June 19th, 2013, 1:35 pm

I will make best efforts as I have always done to lawfully continue to own the dogs under my care.
Passing a bill ,proclaiming same into law and policing same has always proven to be a real difficulty in T&T.
Bill or no bill,law or no law owners who do the right things and truly care for their pets will with some pain and confusion 'step up' to the ownership challenge.

Postby De Dragon » June 19th, 2013, 1:37 pm

shaq090 wrote:
Halfbreed07 wrote:
shaq090 wrote:
Halfbreed07 wrote:

well answer me this,

I don't think many of you read the "new" bill. It says nothing about import, spaying or banning any dog.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/JAI ... 19141.html

Meh boy tek orf like ah RX7 before he read yes! :lol: :lol:

marlener

Postby marlener » June 19th, 2013, 1:38 pm

So question where do you get your dog microchipped,who is insuring the dogs,which body is responsible for inspecting the properties?

Postby pioneer » June 19th, 2013, 1:45 pm

Who is gonna verify the lineage of a dog? How?

police?
untrained public servants? (lol)
will people be victimized at the hands of these public servants? (as it is with every other system now)

This will only create an even bigger system of bribery, corruption and biasness. Pay the bribe or else I label your dog as pitbull or bred from one (lol). Just like licensing officers telling you your tint is "too dark" yet they used no device to measure or determine it.

Who is gonna supply these microchips? Which party financier gonna get a big contract?

This law remains stupid and still very unclear. There is nothing that protects the owner from would-be bandits, tricksters and unruly children/adults who constantly provoke animals.

Come on Anand you can do better and I know you're reading this.

Postby pioneer » June 19th, 2013, 1:49 pm

marlener wrote:So question where do you get your dog microchipped,who is insuring the dogs,which body is responsible for inspecting the properties?

Most likely Ministry of Health/Agriculture or which ever unit the veterinary crap unit falls under.

Having frequently interacted with that unit, I can tell you they are VERY corrupt and if you think police and licensing bad you eh see nothing yet. Bribery is their modus operandi.

Dog owners nationwide will have to pepper their angus.

Even sparky the pothong would not be safe.

Wuss yet if you living in an "upscale" neighbourhood they gonna assume you have money to pay bribe to them.

marlener

Postby marlener » June 19th, 2013, 1:56 pm

Nah me ent living in no upscale neighbourhood,sometime back I was having some construction work done,three days.Rain fell the second day no work could be done.I had the dog moved from the premises.Second day no work,no dog,no avacado on my tree when I came home.Police say people getting kill you reporting piper thiefing zaboca? When the dog is there I could forget my front door open no problem. Where do I apply for a FUL. Time to buy a 9mm.

Postby nemisis » June 19th, 2013, 1:59 pm

marlener wrote:Nah me ent living in no upscale neighbourhood,sometime back I was having some construction work done,three days.Rain fell the second day no work could be done.I had the dog moved from the premises.Second day no work,no dog,no avacado on my tree when I came home.Police say people getting kill you reporting piper thiefing zaboca? When the dog is there I could forget my front door open no problem. Where do I apply for a FUL. Time to buy a 9mm.
you apply at the bank....

Postby pioneer » June 19th, 2013, 6:24 pm

I think if they want to strip citizens of their freedoms like this then they need to free up the gun laws and allow law-biding citizens the right to bear arms. The developed world already hasthese things in place.

Stop this crap restriction of having to pay a big bribe to top brass to get a gun permit.

Watch how the crime rate is gonna spike. Criminals if attacked, will make claims based on this "law" and you the citizen gonna be screwed because talknah society will be ready with pitchforks and torches to make you do the "right" thing.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » June 19th, 2013, 6:32 pm

Ah trading meh dogs for two more guns...