Gas prices in Trinidad & Tobago

EmilioA

Re: Look Trouble Now: Gov't plans to remove gas subsidy

Postby EmilioA » March 22nd, 2016, 7:02 pm

De Dragon wrote:Subsidy reduction is warranted. The issue is every single Government made only token attempts when it should have been close to zero today. Now when we are in a bind, it will have to be cut hard, and kantish, greedy ,selfish Trinbagonians who can't seem to see past their facking noses will raise everything disproportionately.

The problem is that business people doh like to cut they profits. So they going to pass on that increase to the consumer the same way the use the VAT decrease to increase they prices. It go be the salaried class that paying for everybody else gasoline and diesel bills because they cant charge anybody else for anything.

pjfred

Postby pjfred » March 22nd, 2016, 8:15 pm

I think they should increase price on alcohol and smokes by 300%. To return some revenue. Stop cepep, waste ah time and bring back hanging. They stopped hanging cause the guilty was predominantly a particular race. Save tax payers money, bring back the noose! Stop carnival!

Postby Chimera » March 22nd, 2016, 8:23 pm

They should tax fast food very heavy.

Postby redmanjp » March 22nd, 2016, 8:32 pm

pjfred wrote:I think they should increase price on alcohol and smokes by 300%. To return some revenue. Stop cepep, waste ah time and bring back hanging. They stopped hanging cause the guilty was predominantly a particular race. Save tax payers money, bring back the noose! Stop carnival!

well carnival is still a source of revenue & forex

they need to subsidize CNG kits!

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » March 22nd, 2016, 9:01 pm

AYSN wrote:They should tax fast food very heavy.

A kfc tax will rake in millions

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » March 22nd, 2016, 10:26 pm

cherrypopper wrote:
AYSN wrote:They should tax fast food very heavy.

A kfc tax will rake in millions

What defines fast food in trinidad ?

Local fast food ( small food places , cornsoup vendors , fish fryers , local chicken n chips )

or international brands ?

Rem we have local fast food outlets eh .. which will not survive heavy taxation ..

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 22nd, 2016, 10:44 pm

Car sales industry gonna hurt also......foreign used already getting mash up....

Postby Chimera » March 22nd, 2016, 10:54 pm

Tax everybody mc

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 22nd, 2016, 11:56 pm

looks like the fun is over :(

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 23rd, 2016, 12:00 am

If they removing this they need to remove it all in 1 shot. Let people cuss and complain for 2 weeks and raise everything in 1 price hike.

In this country when you raise in small increments everybody raise in large increments totaling a massive increase because of how greedy people are in this place.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 23rd, 2016, 12:04 am

Its funny how they eh raise tax on cigarette and rum but taxing basic food, computers and books for kids.

I doh hear the red and ready people on facebook everybody gone red and hungry now.

Postby S_2NR » March 23rd, 2016, 12:21 am

It's troubling how every few weeks is some bad news from Pee oN eM
I wonder what April has in store. GATE cut perhaps...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 23rd, 2016, 12:48 am

S_2NR wrote:It's troubling how every few weeks is some bad news from Pee oN eM
I wonder what April has in store. GATE cut perhaps...

I mean I don't think I attacked this govt a single time since they won the election I believe I defended them on every single thing minus the computer tax.

But when I look at the picture now, how they are just leaving things like alcohol and cigarette prices the same, nonsense garbage that nobody needs to survive and instead attack school books and basic food trying to cut school feeding program.

Most of them red and ready people now red and hungry. People don't realize the kind of super poor people it has in this country I remember in high school there was this fella so malnourished he only came to school to get a box lunch because there was no food at home he ate one time a day. I used to take a box and give him so he can have a good meal to last him till the next day. He couldn't go home with it no fridge to put it in.

But PNM not studying these things, they don't get how poor people really are in this country. They raising prices of food, educational tools like computers and books. And not even a cent raise on cigarette and rum. Those are the first 2 things they supposed to be taxing.

You would think their supporters must be smokers and drunks. I really eh know in this place again nah boy. But sheit about to get real, real real. If you feel man red and hungry now you eh see nothing yet. The sh!t eh hit the fan yet pander but a big load coming when that hit we go be brown and ready.

Postby zoom rader » March 23rd, 2016, 2:21 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Its funny how they eh raise tax on cigarette and rum but taxing basic food, computers and books for kids.

I doh hear the red and ready people on facebook everybody gone red and hungry now.

Those are the very same ppl that fund the PNM. You don't bite the hands that feeds you

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 23rd, 2016, 2:47 am

^ So now look where we stand, I don't fault the government on doing what everyother country has to do in a time like this. But its unforgivable what they are doing they are purposely encouraging the wine fete and jam mentality by keeping the rum and cigarette prices low while attacking the children.

The minister of finance has a sort of repulsive grin on his face as if he is proud of what he is doing. He takes pleasure in torturing the poor you can see it in his face, he is very happy that he can bring down as much as he can now those who had it too easy under the PP.

But the truth be told he only spiting he own PNM people, not me, I plant my own food luckily.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » March 23rd, 2016, 4:47 am

redmanjp wrote:
racedriverpro wrote:So what is the unsubsidized price for fuel?

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

right now ave gas price in the US is US$1.80/gallon which is 1.80 /3.78541178 = 0.4755/litre

http://www.gasbuddy.com/GasPriceMap?z=4

US$0.4755 *6.6 = TT$3.14 :mrgreen:

so if they removing the subsidy they better link it to the actual gas price (well while it low). However it go be trouble when it eventually goes back up so it should be temporary

they should also subsidize CNG conversion and ramp up deployment of CNG stations before

my $0.02

The honda city intentions are evident.

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » March 23rd, 2016, 5:04 am

So if and when they remove fuel subsidies, a taxi from POS to sando will be like $50 or even $100 ?
People who travel will have to rely on bus if bus tickets don't rise as well.
Cost of transportation for goods will rise also resulting in we the cun#sumer paying more again

Anyone knows what is the current subsidy percent, because if the cost of oil and gas down the subsidies should not be high but when it goes back up , the price of oil and gas that is, we will dead!!

Also if we paying full price we should get top quality fuel not this low grade diesel n gas we get at the pumps too!

Remove subsidy will cause price to go up regardless even if fuel stays the same just like VAT because of greed

We go dead or kill we self trying

Postby janfar » March 23rd, 2016, 7:35 am

Remove the subsidy and allow other companies to supply the market with fuel. That should keep the market honest.

Postby janfar » March 23rd, 2016, 7:39 am

Read and hush allyuh kant

Without subsidies, gas prices are likely to rise 40 to 64 per cent.
While Finance Minister Colm Imbert’s plan is to remove the fuel subsidy but only gradually, without said subsidy, the prices of super and diesel fuel would rise between 40 and 64 per cent, according to Express Business calcula­tions using the latest available ex-refinery versus at-the-pump prices.
“I intend to commence a national discussion on fuel prices in my statement to
Par­liament on April 8, with a view to gradually removing the subsidy,” Imbert clarified in response to an SMS text query on Monday.
As the price of crude oil, Petrotrin refinery’s rising operating costs, distribution and market­ing all factor into the prices of gasoline and diesel, the subsidy varies with international prices and local demand.
Premium upped by 44%.

However, speeches and
presentations by former finance minister Larry Howai in Parliament in 2012 and former Petrotrin vice-president for refining Mado Bachan in 2014 show that ex-refinery prices for premium gasoline have varied between $2.53 per litre, when oil was trading for around US$44 per barrel in 2009, and $5.84 per litre, when oil was trading for around US$86 per barrel in 2012.
When the price of premium gasoline was hiked and the nation was told it was no longer subsidised, it was raised by about 44 per cent, from $4 per litre to 5.75 per litre.
Another presenta­­tion, from The Univer­sity of the West Indies’ (The UWI) Revenue Ma­nage­ment in Hydrocarbon Eco­nomies Conference in 2012 showed premium gasoline was subsidised by about 15 per cent; super by about 40 per cent; and diesel by about 64 per cent. When the subsidy is removed, assuming oil prices and Petrotrin refining costs stay within the range it has been between 2012 and now, the price of super, now $3.11 per litre, could increase by 40 per cent, or $1.36, meaning a cost to the consumer of $4.47 per litre.
Diesel, meanwhile, could increase from $1.72 per litre now to $2.82 after the subsidy is removed.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160322 ... ut-subsidy

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 23rd, 2016, 7:42 am

janfar wrote:Read and hush allyuh kant

Without subsidies, gas prices are likely to rise 40 to 64 per cent.
While Finance Minister Colm Imbert’s plan is to remove the fuel subsidy but only gradually, without said subsidy, the prices of super and diesel fuel would rise between 40 and 64 per cent, according to Express Business calcula­tions using the latest available ex-refinery versus at-the-pump prices.
Par­liament on April 8, with a view to gradually removing the subsidy,” Imbert clarified in response to an SMS text query on Monday.
As the price of crude oil, Petrotrin refinery’s rising operating costs, distribution and market­ing all factor into the prices of gasoline and diesel, the subsidy varies with international prices and local demand.
Premium upped by 44%.

However, speeches and
presentations by former finance minister Larry Howai in Parliament in 2012 and former Petrotrin vice-president for refining Mado Bachan in 2014 show that ex-refinery prices for premium gasoline have varied between $2.53 per litre, when oil was trading for around US$44 per barrel in 2009, and $5.84 per litre, when oil was trading for around US$86 per barrel in 2012.
When the price of premium gasoline was hiked and the nation was told it was no longer subsidised, it was raised by about 44 per cent, from $4 per litre to 5.75 per litre.
Another presenta­­tion, from The Univer­sity of the West Indies’ (The UWI) Revenue Ma­nage­ment in Hydrocarbon Eco­nomies Conference in 2012 showed premium gasoline was subsidised by about 15 per cent; super by about 40 per cent; and diesel by about 64 per cent. When the subsidy is removed, assuming oil prices and Petrotrin refining costs stay within the range it has been between 2012 and now, the price of super, now $3.11 per litre, could increase by 40 per cent, or $1.36, meaning a cost to the consumer of $4.47 per litre.
Diesel, meanwhile, could increase from $1.72 per litre now to $2.82 after the subsidy is removed.

The idea behind the article is good but the figures are wrong. There is no way diesel is cheaper than super and premium when it is unsubsidized.

Postby janfar » March 23rd, 2016, 7:46 am

I thought we were trading diesel for toilet paper with Vene make it cheap as... well as cheap as toilet paper.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » March 23rd, 2016, 7:58 am

NOW dey looking to fack around- leave we diesel alone nah.

Why dont they just Increase the FINES for road violations by 400% and actually ENFORCE them? I'm sure it will bring in more funding.
There should be Parking meters installed ALL ALONG woodbrooke streets and in all Dtown POS, Chaguanas and San Fernando.

And ill say it AGAIN... go after all those who OWN Multiple PROPERTIES that generate INCOME.......... tax them HEAVILY, even if they are in HOLDING COMPANIES...

Also Make it $ 3000.00 if you get wrecked! talk done , if you don't park illegally you cant vex.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 23rd, 2016, 8:07 am

janfar wrote:I thought we were trading diesel for toilet paper with Vene make it cheap as... well as cheap as toilet paper.

chillaxing

Postby chillaxing » March 23rd, 2016, 9:02 am

Well its going to be fun owning a sports car or any gas gozzlers in the near future.

BoostJunkieXL

Postby BoostJunkieXL » March 23rd, 2016, 9:12 am

GREAT IS THE PNM !!!!

Postby RBphoto » March 23rd, 2016, 9:13 am

Oil prices low... so remove subsidy.. makes sense.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » March 23rd, 2016, 9:15 am

janfar wrote:Without subsidies, gas prices are likely to rise 40 to 64 per cent.
Premium upped by 44%.

However, speeches and presentations by former finance minister Larry Howai in Parliament in 2012 and former Petrotrin vice-president for refining Mado Bachan in 2014 show that ex-refinery prices for premium gasoline have varied between $2.53 per litre, when oil was trading for around US$44 per barrel in 2009, and $5.84 per litre, when oil was trading for around US$86 per barrel in 2012.

So has the subsidy on premium been removed or not? That Express article saying both :?

Or was the UWI study done in 2012 before the budget?

Postby sMASH » March 23rd, 2016, 9:19 am

Don't use them as daily drivers.

All this is just pretext to save us with a rapid rail. Rapid rail is pretext to take $55bn loan.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » March 23rd, 2016, 9:23 am

Exactly.. the rapid rail will save us.. we are being buttered before toasted.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » March 23rd, 2016, 9:38 am

Yup everything is to raise money for the rapid rail. And all the savings accrued will be gone after...
:cry: