Jury duty

Re: Exemptions from Jury duty?

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 11th, 2010, 9:16 pm

]one of the residents, Kumbaya, who is probably over fifty years old, made the trip with us. He proved that we youth were no match for his strength. While we had to make several stops to breathe, drink water and rest, Kumbaya trod easily as if he was just taking a casual stroll! When we reached back to the maxi located by Kumbaya's house, he offered us some cooked fish, seasoned with his own produce. I was a bit skeptical to taste food without salt but that meal was absolutely the best I have ever tasted!

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » October 11th, 2010, 9:20 pm

redmanjp wrote:but seriously i can understand if its a small case that last a few weeks but if is like 5 months or more that is going to cut into my time for coursework projects which have to be done each month and perhaps studying for exams if it last until April

AlliDr

Postby AlliDr » October 11th, 2010, 9:39 pm

ibanez wrote:names are not taken out of the list for the next ten years as stated by AlliDr

I stand corrected, but if you are part of a strenuous and lengthy trial the judge may exempt you from duty for no more than four years.

The following is a list of people exempt from jury duty,

5. Every person shall be disqualified for being a juror who—
(a) has been convicted of an arrestable offence or
any indictable offence not being an arrestable
offence involving dishonesty in respect of
which indictable offence such person has been
sentenced to imprisonment;
(b) is of unsound mind, or imbecile or deaf, or blind
or afflicted with any other permanent infirmity
of body or mind; or
(c) is a bankrupt, or has entered into a deed of
arrangement with his creditors.
6. The name of a person disqualified under section 5
shall not be inserted in any list under section 10 and the Reviser
shall exclude from such list the name of any person so
disqualified and also the name of any person who, to his
knowledge, is of the age of sixty-five years and over; and any
Judge of the High Court may at any time, on being satisfied that
any person has attained the age of sixty-five years and over, order
the name of such person to be removed from the list for the time
being and not to be inserted in any subsequent list, and the name
of any person so ordered to be removed shall be erased by the
Marshal from the Jurors Book for the year and not inserted in any
Jurors Book for any subsequent year.
7. The exceptions shall be as follows, that is to say:
Members of Parliament;
The Judges of the Supreme Court;
Magistrates and their clerks;
Justices of the Peace;
Ministers of Religion;
Mayors and Deputy Mayors;
Consuls and Vice-Consuls;
Members of the Medical Board in actual practice;
Licensed Druggists in actual practice as such;
Persons (other than licensed shopkeepers) registered under
the Medical Board Act;
Attorneys-at-law in actual practice and their clerks;
Officers of Courts of Justice;
Schoolteachers;
Jailors and persons employed as deputies under them;
Members of the Defence Force;
Members of the Police Service and constables;
Members of the Fire Service;
Officers and servants of the Post Office or the Customs and
Excise Department;
Pilots who are licensed under the provisions of section 5 of
the Pilotage Act;
Members of the air crew of any company, firm or other
organisation operating an airline service under an
agreement with the Government who hold licences
issued by the Director of Civil Aviation.
The spouses of the following persons:
Judges of the Supreme Court;
Members of Parliament;
Mayors and Deputy Mayors;
Magistrates and their clerks;
Justices of the Peace;
Attorneys-at-law and their clerks;
Officers of the Courts of Justice;
Members of the Police Service and constables.
Such other persons or classes of persons as may from time to time
be excepted by the President by Order.

LAWS OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO
MINISTRY OF LEGAL AFFAIRS www.legalaffairs.gov.tt
UPDATED TO DECEMBER 31ST 2007

Postby foss » October 11th, 2010, 10:05 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
bushwakka wrote:dat judge judy pic movin or is jes me?

You smoke the plum branch too??

jah youth yuh bad!

how it smoke?? i haz duh hookup! 0X

Postby SUPAstarr » October 11th, 2010, 10:54 pm

i haz a sumons to jury duty on the same date.....

anybody know if estate constables are covered under "Members of the Police Service and constables. "

Postby rollingstock » October 12th, 2010, 11:41 am

SUPAstarr wrote:i haz a sumons to jury duty on the same date.....

anybody know if estate constables are covered under "Members of the Police Service and constables. "

nope

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 12th, 2010, 11:54 am

mitsu4life wrote:i going an eat eggs and beans and all kinda stink fart creating foods the night before and deal with that court room, searchingone and redmanjp you have been warned!

thanks for d heads up :|

Postby redmanjp » October 26th, 2010, 9:41 am

if im applying for an exemption do i have to bring the letter with me on the day the judge is hearing exemptions or should i bring it before that date (which is 2mrow actually-Oct. 27)

DRAGULA

Postby DRAGULA » October 26th, 2010, 11:37 am

so when yuh on jury duty, do you still collect your full salary from your regular job? If so, do they reduce it after a while if the trial is long?

Postby SUPAstarr » October 26th, 2010, 11:39 am

good question, will be there Monday morn.

Postby Greypatch » October 26th, 2010, 12:03 pm

have not served in 10+ years sigh

good times..

ppl it is an experience all should go through.

Postby redmanjp » October 26th, 2010, 1:46 pm

Greypatch wrote:have not served in 10+ years sigh

good times..

ppl it is an experience all should go through.

i doh mind the experience just after my semester- too much studies/assignments to do

if it was July-Oct I all for it

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » October 26th, 2010, 3:49 pm

who living in the east pass for me....i gots no ride and i dont kno P.o.S too well lol

Postby redmanjp » October 26th, 2010, 11:50 pm

DRAGULA wrote:so when yuh on jury duty, do you still collect your full salary from your regular job? If so, do they reduce it after a while if the trial is long?

AFAIK the law mandates that u get paid in full for the whole case :roll:

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » October 27th, 2010, 12:16 am

What if your are out of the country on work buisness, not vacation?

Postby redmanjp » October 27th, 2010, 7:20 am

Mudboy wrote:What if your are out of the country on work buisness, not vacation?

i doh think they expect yuh to have to come back home just so- yuh might not even know yuh get a summons unless they mailing it abroad

fozzy2010

Postby fozzy2010 » October 27th, 2010, 8:19 am

I am the ONLY I.T personnel for company who happens to also be the only person doing receivables and November is dead smack in the middle of our peak season, so the system is bound to get a few stuck transactions and there will be heaps of crap to process on the accounts side of my job

is that good enough?[/quote

Got called up for jury duty last year, I am in a similar situation^. My company got their lawyers to apply for exemption based on the above and the judge accepted it.

Postby redmanjp » October 27th, 2010, 11:49 am

went for exemption today because of my B.Sc. studies, got deferred till 1st working day in June next yr- hope ah remember it!

Postby redmanjp » October 27th, 2010, 12:35 pm

mitsu4life wrote:who living in the east pass for me....i gots no ride and i dont kno P.o.S too well lol

check this map- the red icon marked A in particular

http://maps.google.com/maps?hl=en&q=Hall%20of%20Justice%20Port-of-Spain

Postby SUPAstarr » November 1st, 2010, 9:32 am

im already out of court, an hr now, my name wasnt on the master list, apparently the marshal failed to submit proper paper work, so was given the option to leave.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » November 1st, 2010, 10:30 am

i'm out as well........returning next week..

one of the lawyers was smokin hot boy :oops:
Last edited by searchingone on November 5th, 2010, 6:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » November 1st, 2010, 10:37 am

if they do choose u, when the case start and and the accused is brought into the court room, just stand up all excited and say "SAMMY(or insert name her) DAZ YOU BAI! WHEYYY THE WORLD REAL SMALL DRED.,...DSI I ON THE INSIDE, i guh handle d scene"

instant removal from jury duty

searchingone

Postby searchingone » November 1st, 2010, 10:44 am

^instant removal and LEVEL sheit up from the judge!....na boy i good oui lol

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 7th, 2011, 11:05 pm

So how did this turn out?

Did you guys got your exemptions?

A family member got summoned for the 1st March and they really dont want to go.

Are there any valid reasons to get exempted?

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » February 9th, 2011, 8:38 am

I went, it was enlightening experience. It really showed how inefficient our justice system is. The case i was on had maybe a total of 7 sitting days in court....it took the whole month of November and a week in December with all the witness didn't come and new evidence blah blah come back next week stuff.

You can get exempted from the case you are called for but you will just get put on another case a month or two down the road, there were about 6 people who got exempted out of 75....a woman get brace though :shock:

There were several days when you go for 8:00 am, the judge comes in at 10:30 and the defense or state isn't ready, and he he says go home and come back tomorrow...this pissed me off!.....however PoS have plenty eye candy, i change my mind now i totally don't mind getting a job in PoS :oops: .

The judge who was overseeing the case i was on was very cool, he good bawl up the defense attorney for some sheit he was trying lol. Another juror had exams soon, after a week on the case he release her and pulled in an alternate juror

I would tell anyone go and do it, i bitched at first but it wasn't too bad. You get fed and don't have to see sour puss faces in your office :lol:

DRAGULA

Postby DRAGULA » February 9th, 2011, 11:55 am

so yuh collect yuh normel salary from your regular job?

Postby redmanjp » February 9th, 2011, 2:23 pm

DRAGULA wrote:so yuh collect yuh normel salary from your regular job?

boos suppose to pay yuh normel normel- otherwise tell d judge

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » February 9th, 2011, 2:43 pm

There's a catch, for example the days that lawyers weren't ready and they send you home your supposed to go back to work the judge says this.....some bosses don't mind an won't make a fuss if you come back or not, another juror said his company basically considers his absent for the month. On the days that you actually sit in court on the case then you are not required to go back work.

My bosses asked what time they finished, and if i coming back n the office an all kinda crap.

The court marshals told us the judge can fine the company up to $100,000 if they attempt to stop you from coming to court

Postby redmanjp » May 31st, 2011, 2:10 pm

so its June already i have to go back 2mrw- i got deferred from last yr to June but d judge didn't give me any letter stating this (just told me to come back 1st June) so i hope my boss doh expect meh 2mrw- on vacation now left a msg telling them i have jury duty

mitsu4life wrote:
There were several days when you go for 8:00 am, the judge comes in at 10:30 and the defense or state isn't ready, and he he says go home and come back tomorrow...this :

my letter states 8:45am though

Wizard

Re: Jury duty

Postby Wizard » May 31st, 2011, 4:13 pm

i thought work was not an excuse as you have a civic duty and your employer is supposed to honour that

then again i never get pick so i dunno for sure