redmanjp wrote:but seriously i can understand if its a small case that last a few weeks but if is like 5 months or more that is going to cut into my time for coursework projects which have to be done each month and perhaps studying for exams if it last until April
ibanez wrote:names are not taken out of the list for the next ten years as stated by AlliDr
5. Every person shall be disqualified for being a juror who—
(a) has been convicted of an arrestable offence or
any indictable offence not being an arrestable
offence involving dishonesty in respect of
which indictable offence such person has been
sentenced to imprisonment;
(b) is of unsound mind, or imbecile or deaf, or blind
or afflicted with any other permanent infirmity
of body or mind; or
(c) is a bankrupt, or has entered into a deed of
arrangement with his creditors.
6. The name of a person disqualified under section 5
shall not be inserted in any list under section 10 and the Reviser
shall exclude from such list the name of any person so
disqualified and also the name of any person who, to his
knowledge, is of the age of sixty-five years and over; and any
Judge of the High Court may at any time, on being satisfied that
any person has attained the age of sixty-five years and over, order
the name of such person to be removed from the list for the time
being and not to be inserted in any subsequent list, and the name
of any person so ordered to be removed shall be erased by the
Marshal from the Jurors Book for the year and not inserted in any
Jurors Book for any subsequent year.
7. The exceptions shall be as follows, that is to say:
Members of Parliament;
The Judges of the Supreme Court;
Magistrates and their clerks;
Justices of the Peace;
Ministers of Religion;
Mayors and Deputy Mayors;
Consuls and Vice-Consuls;
Members of the Medical Board in actual practice;
Licensed Druggists in actual practice as such;
Persons (other than licensed shopkeepers) registered under
the Medical Board Act;
Attorneys-at-law in actual practice and their clerks;
Officers of Courts of Justice;
Schoolteachers;
Jailors and persons employed as deputies under them;
Members of the Defence Force;
Members of the Police Service and constables;
Members of the Fire Service;
Officers and servants of the Post Office or the Customs and
Excise Department;
Pilots who are licensed under the provisions of section 5 of
the Pilotage Act;
Members of the air crew of any company, firm or other
organisation operating an airline service under an
agreement with the Government who hold licences
issued by the Director of Civil Aviation.
The spouses of the following persons:
Judges of the Supreme Court;
Members of Parliament;
Mayors and Deputy Mayors;
Magistrates and their clerks;
Justices of the Peace;
Attorneys-at-law and their clerks;
Officers of the Courts of Justice;
Members of the Police Service and constables.
Such other persons or classes of persons as may from time to time
be excepted by the President by Order.
LAWS OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO
MINISTRY OF LEGAL AFFAIRS www.legalaffairs.gov.tt
UPDATED TO DECEMBER 31ST 2007
kurpal_v2 wrote:bushwakka wrote:dat judge judy pic movin or is jes me?
You smoke the plum branch too??
jah youth yuh bad!
SUPAstarr wrote:i haz a sumons to jury duty on the same date.....
anybody know if estate constables are covered under "Members of the Police Service and constables. "
mitsu4life wrote:i going an eat eggs and beans and all kinda stink fart creating foods the night before and deal with that court room, searchingone and redmanjp you have been warned!
Greypatch wrote:have not served in 10+ years sigh
good times..
ppl it is an experience all should go through.
DRAGULA wrote:so when yuh on jury duty, do you still collect your full salary from your regular job? If so, do they reduce it after a while if the trial is long?
Mudboy wrote:What if your are out of the country on work buisness, not vacation?
mitsu4life wrote:who living in the east pass for me....i gots no ride and i dont kno P.o.S too well lol
DRAGULA wrote:so yuh collect yuh normel salary from your regular job?
mitsu4life wrote:
There were several days when you go for 8:00 am, the judge comes in at 10:30 and the defense or state isn't ready, and he he says go home and come back tomorrow...this :