Re: RIP Republic VTM Card

Postby screwbash » January 8th, 2020, 3:04 pm

everyday you see people bring US $ for the chinee to buy in the chinee grocery

Postby zoom rader » January 8th, 2020, 3:29 pm

screwbash wrote:everyday you see people bring US $ for the chinee to buy in the chinee grocery
Chinese laundry

death365

Postby death365 » January 9th, 2020, 7:02 am

Let meh tell u why....

Recently I had to go Canada so ah freind up there tell me to buy some local goods--curry snacks etc. an bring it up for them... The suit case was 3 kg over weight going up.

I was reimbursed generously. When in trini ah went by a local person to sell it. He say he will take approx 1/4 ah what I had @ 8 so I bring the money for he... U know when ah reach he crying down is too much yada yada yada. I eventually went by the Chinese who took all, no fuss no isuues.
screwbash wrote:everyday you see people bring US $ for the chinee to buy in the chinee grocery

Postby Chimera » January 10th, 2020, 8:15 am

are we allowed to accept us currency for goods? Like as a store? I see plenty stores does have up signs saying what they paying for us. I studying if I could put up prices in us as well.

Postby zoom rader » January 10th, 2020, 9:51 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:are we allowed to accept us currency for goods? Like as a store? I see plenty stores does have up signs saying what they paying for us. I studying if I could put up prices in us as well.

No you cant , the TT dollar is the only legal tender

as i far as I know its illegal to sell US or buy US for us plebs

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 10th, 2020, 9:58 am

Other countries with tourism-based economies accept USD, is that also illegal there?

Just curious

Postby zoom rader » January 10th, 2020, 10:05 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Other countries with tourism-based economies accept USD, is that also illegal there?

Just curious
As far as I know the only legal currency in TT is the TT dollar

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 10th, 2020, 10:26 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Other countries with tourism-based economies accept USD, is that also illegal there?

Just curious

I know it's prohibited in TT, but I'm wondering if the other caribbean neighbours also have it officially, or if it's just a black-market practice that is ignored

Postby maj. tom » January 10th, 2020, 10:50 am

Postby pete » January 10th, 2020, 11:07 am

Can't buy or sell it but you can use it for trade.

Postby Chimera » January 10th, 2020, 11:09 am

in massy in guyana they use to have signs that they accepting USD at 200 to 1 or 210 to one

last time i went, all the cashiers had notices up saying how it illegal to accept US currency and their only currency is GYD
i guess they get warned

but can i legally put up prices in USD?

and if it illegal and i do it anyway, what they gonna do?

Postby redmanjp » January 10th, 2020, 11:44 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Just curious

I know it's prohibited in TT, but I'm wondering if the other caribbean neighbours also have it officially, or if it's just a black-market practice that is ignored

think it's silly to not accept US currency especially when it come to Carnival and other tourism based events- everyone knows we need the forex

Postby hydroep » January 10th, 2020, 12:43 pm

The 'banking cartel' and other forex traders would lose big time if this were legal. Imagine people like the pastor hoarding boxes of US$ instead of TT$...:|

Postby Chimera » January 10th, 2020, 3:46 pm

Confirmed this to be true. You can accept it for goods and list prices in usd. I put out a list of prices with discounts if you pay in usd. The banks swing and limit all my cards for using too much usd.
pete wrote:Can't buy or sell it but you can use it for trade.

Postby redmanjp » September 27th, 2021, 11:38 am

does RBL have another visa debit card? my vtm card expiring next month- possibly in the next week and i am looking to see what replacement i can get if they are not going to renew it.

abbow

Postby abbow » September 27th, 2021, 11:44 am

same situation with me...i need to call them on this.
Will let you know.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 27th, 2021, 12:06 pm

Nope
No card to replace the VTM
I inquired when mine was expiring

I have $1.63us on it still tho
:(

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » September 27th, 2021, 12:10 pm

RBL not renewing nor issuing new cards. I just used my balance to buy myself an Amazon gift card, so I could keep the US value.

Postby redmanjp » September 27th, 2021, 12:39 pm

trinigamer wrote:RBL not renewing nor issuing new cards. I just used my balance to buy myself an Amazon gift card, so I could keep the US value.

i better do the same oui

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 27th, 2021, 4:17 pm

I went into the bank and let them withdraw the money on my VTM and deposited it into my account. It ain't hard and it doesn't take long either. Now the problem comes down to replacing the card with another VISA debit card. Had to sign up for a credit card with a maximum limit of $250 USD.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 27th, 2021, 5:33 pm

DMan7 wrote:I went into the bank and let them withdraw the money on my VTM and deposited it into my account. It ain't hard and it doesn't take long either. Now the problem comes down to replacing the card with another VISA debit card. Had to sign up for a credit card with a maximum limit of $250 USD.
Widddy

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » September 27th, 2021, 10:35 pm

wtf $250

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 27th, 2021, 10:39 pm

DMan7 wrote:I went into the bank and let them withdraw the money on my VTM and deposited it into my account. It ain't hard and it doesn't take long either. Now the problem comes down to replacing the card with another VISA debit card. Had to sign up for a credit card with a maximum limit of $250 USD.

You were able to withdraw as USD?
Did you deposit it into a US or TTD account?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 27th, 2021, 11:04 pm

You were able to withdraw as USD?
Did you deposit it into a US or TTD account?

Nah didn't withdraw it, they converted the money to TTD and deposited straight into my TTD account.

Postby redmanjp » September 27th, 2021, 11:58 pm

so do u at least have the option of temporarily raising it to buy e.g. a laptop or something online?

Postby S_2NR » September 28th, 2021, 4:29 am

250usd!?
I never letting go of my credit card at all

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 28th, 2021, 3:25 pm

redmanjp wrote:

so do u at least have the option of temporarily raising it to buy e.g. a laptop or something online?

They said you have to wait at least 6 months to consider a change in limit. Can't remember if he said it was 6 months or a year. :?

Postby hover11 » September 28th, 2021, 3:38 pm

DMan7 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

They said you have to wait at least 6 months to consider a change in limit. Can't remember if he said it was 6 months or a year. :?
For them to grant 250 limit seems you have little relations with the bank as they give credit to who they know and also your financial background

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 28th, 2021, 3:40 pm

hover11 wrote:
DMan7 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

For them to grant 250 limit seems you have little relations with the bank as they give credit to who they know and also your financial background

Maybe because I wasn't vaccinated at the time. Vaccinated folks gets a higher limit.