44%
never
33%

Total votes: 36

Coppershot

Re: 5G network upgrade in (sweet) T&T

Postby Coppershot » December 13th, 2019, 8:18 pm

5G seems like BS marketing from the reviews so far. Also 5G on a limited data plan does make sense since you can max out you plan in a few minutes such as streaming content in 4k etc.

Postby adnj » December 14th, 2019, 8:50 am

Coppershot wrote:5G seems like BS marketing from the reviews so far. Also 5G on a limited data plan does make sense since you can max out you plan in a few minutes such as streaming content in 4k etc.

The reviewer is speaking about mm wave 5G only. Full implementation has not been been rolled out. The current advantage of partial implementation is that micro-cells are being rolled out in highly congested areas and eliminate many congestion problems. If you get a chance to use it, you will see your connection fall back to 4G while you're driving - hardly much of a limitation in real life IMHO.

At it's slowest, 5G should be 5 times faster and offer 10 times the number of connections per tower.

Postby redmanjp » December 16th, 2019, 10:36 am

with a 5G gigibit speed connection we will need terabyte plans!

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » December 16th, 2019, 11:11 am

adnj wrote:
Coppershot wrote:5G seems like BS marketing from the reviews so far. Also 5G on a limited data plan does make sense since you can max out you plan in a few minutes such as streaming content in 4k etc.

The reviewer is speaking about mm wave 5G only. Full implementation has not been been rolled out. The current advantage of partial implementation is that micro-cells are being rolled out in highly congested areas and eliminate many congestion problems. If you get a chance to use it, you will see your connection fall back to 4G while you're driving - hardly much of a limitation in real life IMHO.

At it's slowest, 5G should be 5 times faster and offer 10 times the number of connections per tower.

There are lots of micro cells in Trinidad already. And

Postby adnj » December 16th, 2019, 2:17 pm

redmanjp wrote:with a 5G gigibit speed connection we will need terabyte plans!
5G is about switching towers and frequencies for a mobile with more users connected per tower. You will note ableto see large speed increases at LTE tower frequencies.

5G is also about eliminating coaxial and glass fiber for homes and businesses. 5G includes all of the existing cellular frequencies and more bands that are of higher frequency.

The advantage is the capability of connecting to a femtocell and eliminating the need for Wifi inside of structures, crowded areas or remote locations -- and being billed by the Telecom for the use.

Postby redmanjp » December 16th, 2019, 7:53 pm

I don't think it will eliminate wifi as there is now wifi 6 which will work with it while keeping your devices on a private network instead of being exposed on the net

Postby adnj » December 17th, 2019, 5:40 am

redmanjp wrote:I don't think it will eliminate wifi as there is now wifi 6 which will work with it while keeping your devices on a private network instead of being exposed on the net
Hmmm. That's really not the performance objective of Wifi 6. I don't understand how you tie Wifi 6 together with 5G either, but...

The point is that Wifi requires a network connection to an ISP to provide web access. That connection is separate from a user's cellular provider connection and list of user's must be managed a lá the Xfinity/Flow hotspoint scenario or similar unless the Wifi connection is public and potentially not secure from other network users.

On the other hand, a femtocell is simply a daughter tower that is made even more effective by using the 5G implementation. In an occluded, congested or dead area, a femtocell could quickly and easily be installed. And the user/subscriber pays for their own connection with no consideration or further effort on the part of the building owner. The user also enjoys the same security from nearby users that they at any other time using their network connection.

This is a very desirable solution for public spaces that have limited need for private networking such as stadiums, arenas, malls, airports, etc. -- especially so if you are concerned about security.

death365

Postby death365 » August 31st, 2022, 6:59 am

3 years ago and nothing happened since (Tatt taking doesn't count)

Postby gastly369 » August 31st, 2022, 8:21 am

We barely have a good 4G structure....

death365

Postby death365 » August 31st, 2022, 9:33 am

Digi network wrt lte and lte+ is greatly dependent upon ur phone ...

Flagship Qualcom and exynos chips work well on both, huawei hi silicon and lessor Qualcom are usually lte only and don't get any lte+. Apple gets both with no issues.

I am speaking from experience having all these socs before.
gastly369 wrote:We barely have a good 4G structure....

death365

Postby death365 » October 10th, 2022, 4:51 am

I was watching the Malaysian 5G model, I think its a great approach and might work best in we situation.

the primary purpose of the new shared 5G network infrastructure is to serve the nation’s interests. The expectation is that “the move away from competing on coverage to service-based competition … should drive the price [for end-customers] down,

You can read about it here:
https://inform.tmforum.org/features-and-opinion/is-malaysias-5g-wholesale-network-business-model-a-blueprint-for-success/

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 10th, 2022, 8:08 am

2008 was the best era in human history, internet speeds were just enough to have entertainment but slow enough that we still had active social lives outside of the internet.

We need to return. Progress is a false idol.

"ohhh look how fast I can stream movies"
Look how fast I can steal ur 3/10 girl because you're too busy catching up on Netflix shows.

Go outside, touch grass.

Postby redmanjp » October 10th, 2022, 5:04 pm

as i said b4 we will need terabyte plans to avoid maxxing out these super speed connections- how much that will cost? they cant be giving u the same amt of data and price as a 4G or 3G - the cost of transferring a byte of data should come down with each generation - otherwise u telling me u gonna give me 10X more data - but for 10 times the cost?

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » October 10th, 2022, 5:34 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:2008 was the best era in human history, internet speeds were just enough to have entertainment but slow enough that we still had active social lives outside of the internet.

We need to return. Progress is a false idol.

"ohhh look how fast I can stream movies"
Look how fast I can steal ur 3/10 girl because you're too busy catching up on Netflix shows.

Go outside, touch grass.

Maybe we'll need 5G/6G speeds when other devices besides our phones need super-fast, uninterrupted connectivity, like maybe when the cars,buses,trucks on the roads start needing super-low-latency connectivity for self-driving.

When it comes to technology, you have to be careful about saying "we'll never need that all that in the future". https://gizmodo.com/the-internet-bah-1995-512627689

I hear you with the grass though.

death365

Postby death365 » October 11th, 2022, 4:13 am

I old yuh kno .... mid 40s ... its just I like technology, it makes my life easier.

I'm not ah live on social media... post everything I do.... self worth is determined by how many likes I get online guy.

PERSONAL HISTORY-

In 2000 OR 2001 or so. I bought a refurbished Nokia 3650 that a smart phone with symbian os before apple invented "smart phones". Once I saw now awesome it is I have been a phone guy.

Postby adnj » October 11th, 2022, 5:30 pm

death365 wrote:Digi network wrt lte and lte+ is greatly dependent upon ur phone ...

Flagship Qualcom and exynos chips work well on both, huawei hi silicon and lessor Qualcom are usually lte only and don't get any lte+. Apple gets both with no issues.

I am speaking from experience having all these socs before.
gastly369 wrote:We barely have a good 4G structure....

What is likely most noticeable to every subscriber is that 5G offers about 100x the simultaneous connection capacity of LTE or LTE+.

Postby redmanjp » October 11th, 2022, 7:55 pm

we will never have even 1gbps speed here in T&T except in major places like POS.

Postby adnj » October 11th, 2022, 8:06 pm

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 11th, 2022, 8:07 pm

adnj wrote:......

Postby redmanjp » October 11th, 2022, 8:09 pm

have there been studies on the effects of 5G specific frequencies on human health? not talking about previous ones that deals with the lower frequencies.

death365

Postby death365 » July 12th, 2023, 11:42 am

ARG!!!! firetrucking digicel .... Page #10 number 16

The Authority acknowledges the appreciation expressed by Digicel (Trinidad & Tobago) Limited (Digicel) for the opportunity to comment on the Framework, and its position that there is no sustainable business case for investment in 5G technology in the foreseeable future.

https://tatt.org.tt/DesktopModules/Bring2mind/DMX/API/Entries/DownloadCommand=Core_Download&EntryId=1742&PortalId=0&TabId=222

not sure whats going on with it but when u opne the Current consuktations page , scrool down till the 4th box and click on the "Appendix I: Decisions on Recommendations (DORs) Matrix from the First Round of Public Consultation (July 2022)" link

https://tatt.org.tt/CurrentConsultations.aspx
Last edited by death365 on July 12th, 2023, 12:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » July 12th, 2023, 12:35 pm

Link is broken

death365

Postby death365 » July 12th, 2023, 12:44 pm

updated the links

joshuarshah

Postby joshuarshah » July 17th, 2023, 8:20 pm

death365 wrote:ARG!!!! firetrucking digicel .... Page #10 number 16

The Authority acknowledges the appreciation expressed by Digicel (Trinidad & Tobago) Limited (Digicel) for the opportunity to comment on the Framework, and its position that there is no sustainable business case for investment in 5G technology in the foreseeable future.

https://tatt.org.tt/DesktopModules/Bring2mind/DMX/API/Entries/DownloadCommand=Core_Download&EntryId=1742&PortalId=0&TabId=222

not sure whats going on with it but when u opne the Current consuktations page , scrool down till the 4th box and click on the "Appendix I: Decisions on Recommendations (DORs) Matrix from the First Round of Public Consultation (July 2022)" link

Both Digicel and bmobile need to make a ROI on their LTE investments before they can consider upgrading to 5G. Plus most citizens don't have 5G devices (and a good amount don't even have LTE handsets) as yet and the spectrum plan is far from being in place for it as yet. TATT is looking to allocate band 25, 66, 41 and n78 for mobile use but I think that they'll use the first 2 for LTE until it makes sense for them to upgrade to 5G which would probably be when LTE slows and they can't do anything else to boost the speeds (like upgrading to 4x4 MIMO on LTE) or if competition drives them to implement it.

Considering the fact that they both have been dragging their feet to implement IMS services on LTE (such as VoLTE and VoWiFi) it may be a long time before we start to see mobile 5G here.

New draft PMTS spectrum plan: https://tatt.org.tt/DesktopModules/Brin ... &TabId=222

Postby redmanjp » July 18th, 2023, 7:54 pm

if they still going and charge $2 per mb after my plan expire and have my phone money finish in .01 seconds instead of 10 seconds due to the high speed of 5G eating up data then it eh make sense. if plans going to increase in price in order to get 5G speed then it eh make sense.

Postby paid_influencer » July 18th, 2023, 8:35 pm

is it worth upgrading to LTE sim? I do not use data (can't afford)

joshuarshah

Postby joshuarshah » July 19th, 2023, 7:38 am

paid_influencer wrote:is it worth upgrading to LTE sim? I do not use data (can't afford)

You probably should if it's free. If it's not wait until they absolutely need to migrate users onto the LTE network then they should change it out for free. If you want to get calls while you're roaming you should upgrade regardless since a lot of countries are shutting down or have already shut down 2G and 3G and are 4G and 5G only.

death365

Postby death365 » October 7th, 2023, 4:50 pm

Ok so ah friend tell me that after all the ole talk about no 5g in the Caribbean digicel will be rolling out 5G with Huawei hardware tech in Jamaica 1st then Trinidad. Something like 3500 or 3800 band, latin America flavor not US version.

Now take this with a bit ah salt cause this was the guy who said last time that tatt was considering a 3rd provider but then - on Instructions from the Minister they drop it and literally deleted all mentions of it from the minutes of that board meeting.

Postby bluefete » October 7th, 2023, 7:51 pm

Phoenix Park is the only place in T&T where you might get 5G right now.

The Chinese "own" there and they have demanded 5G connection.

Postby redmanjp » October 9th, 2023, 12:47 pm

joshuarshah wrote:
death365 wrote:ARG!!!! firetrucking digicel .... Page #10 number 16

Both Digicel and bmobile need to make a ROI on their LTE investments before they can consider upgrading to 5G. Plus most citizens don't have 5G devices (and a good amount don't even have LTE handsets) as yet and the spectrum plan is far from being in place for it as yet. TATT is looking to allocate band 25, 66, 41 and n78 for mobile use but I think that they'll use the first 2 for LTE until it makes sense for them to upgrade to 5G which would probably be when LTE slows and they can't do anything else to boost the speeds (like upgrading to 4x4 MIMO on LTE) or if competition drives them to implement it.

Considering the fact that they both have been dragging their feet to implement IMS services on LTE (such as VoLTE and VoWiFi) it may be a long time before we start to see mobile 5G here.

New draft PMTS spectrum plan: https://tatt.org.tt/DesktopModules/Brin ... &TabId=222

i wonder if analog tv spectrum would have to be used? in another countries they migrated to digital and freed spectrum which could be used for cellular or other data. so the move to ATSC 3 broadcast may be necessary due to this.