Local Government Elections 2019 Thread

Re: Local Govt Elections Date Announced : 2nd December 2019 ...

Postby hydroep » November 1st, 2019, 6:06 pm

Tobagorexit
BC Pires

THANK GOD IT’S FRIDAY

ONLY ONE week ago, last Friday, in this space, I wrote this first paragraph: Trinidadians, Nepalese, Bolivians – anybody in the world – who think Brexit isn’t hugely relevant to them is making the mistake of the man weed-whacking, without a face mask, a patch of grass where people walk their dogs. He’ll be swallowing faecal matter before the job gets done.

Who tell me push fire? Did I know I’d just opened a Pandora’s box? Which jumbie answered my unintentional call? Which demon possessed me to tempt Providence and the PDP?

On Tuesday, Boris Johnson finally got the general election he wanted, but that Brexit news was buried by far more momentous events in Port of Spain, when Watson Duke, leader of a group called the Progressive Democratic Patriots – I don’t know how they resisted the temptation to call themselves the Progressive Democratic Action Congress & Robbie Woulda Love We Patriots – promised to lead Tobago out of the bondage of Trinidad and into full political independence.

Forget Brexit: all you Trini take ’Bagorexit in yuh rooka-ker-kung-tung; or, perhaps, in your bene balls.

Newsday reported – and, no, it was not the Onion – that Duke said Tobago was fed up of being mistreated by and tired of begging Trinidad for money. Tobago could generate revenue and feed itself without importing from Trinidad – don’t mind Trinidad itself imports almost everything it sends on to Tobago.

Duke – not to be confused with the calypsonian of the same sobriquet, Kelvin Pope, although his song How Many More Must Die does kind of come to mind – was the same man who, as a protest against the undependable sea and air links between the small island and the slightly less small island, promised to swim from Tobago to Trinidad in August 2017 and actually did manage that stupendous feat by employing the devices of a water-skier’s life vest and a water-skier’s boat: he swam, reportedly (LoopTT), 500 metres before tiring and having to be towed for another unreported number of metres before climbing into the boat and staying there until the boat reached Toco, where he swam, one hopes, at least a few more metres.

It was a symbolic protest, of course, and it did make sense to have more symbolic than actual protesting swimming.

After he wins the two Tobago seats in the TT House of Representatives – or, in his own words, “after those two seats are given to me,” Duke promises to “out-vote” the Government in Parliament and prevent it from passing a single bill “unless they sit, discuss and agree on Tobago independence.”

He did not say, “Tobago’s independence” or “Tobagonian independence” – and why should he? After secession, Tobago will expressly have its own constitution, judicial system, commissioner of police, prime minister, chief justice, treasury and currency, so why shouldn’t it have, impliedly, its own rule of law and rules of grammar? Tobago syntax dissolves along with Trinidad tax and the TT Constitution.

How, you might ask, could a man who did not have the constitution to swim 30km defeat a 44-year-old republican constitution?

“It’s the will of the people that will triumph over the will of the Government,” replies Duke, from his press conference – held, it must be noted, in Port of Spain, not in Scarborough.

No one who loves Tobago (and it’s hard not to, though it’s often easy not to love some Tobagonians) would deny that, for most of the 120 years since Tobago became a ward of TT in 1899, Tobago has been neglected, give or take an airport, a mile or two of highway and a few Filipinos.

But even Watson Duke himself must see how elementary a connection Tobago has with Trinidad – so much so that Duke’s own declaration of his intention to make a declaration of independence of Tobago is itself an entirely Trinidadian gesture. He does not so much set out a case for Tobago’s independence (or even Tobago independence) as make as eef he could make it so.

Unless, of course, the declaration of Tobago independence is merely symbolic, like the 30km swim from Tobago to Toco that was more like three lengths of the (Trinidad) Hilton pool and half-a-Store Bay; it’s not so much self-determination as self-delusion, the Trini trait that makes life on both islands bearable.

But, even if the old Watson “Son of What” Duke could, somehow, spin winning the two Tobago seats into the Republic of Tobago, he fails to consider the real petrodollar question: how could Tobago hope to make it on its own when Trinidad and Tobago, together, cannot make it on their own, together?

BC Pires is pushing for independence for Kim Kardashian’s bottom, which has a more substantial claim than Tobago to be big enough to make it on its own. :lol:

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/11/01/tobagorexit/

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 2nd, 2019, 4:26 pm

Unc keeps striking at sheit yo...new gossip on the ground in grande...another person going for councillor has a darrel smith shadow over his head...this time with young ones

And yuh know in politics, you are bound to rub some1 the wrong way and they will buss your files...I hope they know what they for..

Postby sMASH » November 2nd, 2019, 10:36 pm

randolphinshan wrote:
hydroep wrote:I just download the list of electors for my area, thing giving you address and all the souls who registered there. I know that list available long time eh, is just that any tom, dick and ol' teef could download it now...it could be dangerous in the wrong hands.

Additionally, you can really see how easy it is to manipulate boundaries to get a particular result. But dais only if the EBC was involved in that sort of thing and everybody knows dem independent and above board and does never do anything to favour one party over another...ent?...:|
You should know by now that the EBC is pro PNM and they takes orders from Bailiser house

PNM yet to win an election free and fair

Proof or you talking out your a$# again and as usual ?
Rowley dies talk out his ass ad u lap it up.

Postby zoom rader » November 3rd, 2019, 12:28 am

sMASH wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:
hydroep wrote:I just download the list of electors for my area, thing giving you address and all the souls who registered there. I know that list available long time eh, is just that any tom, dick and ol' teef could download it now...it could be dangerous in the wrong hands.

Additionally, you can really see how easy it is to manipulate boundaries to get a particular result. But dais only if the EBC was involved in that sort of thing and everybody knows dem independent and above board and does never do anything to favour one party over another...ent?...:|
You should know by now that the EBC is pro PNM and they takes orders from Bailiser house

PNM yet to win an election free and fair

Proof or you talking out your a$# again and as usual ?
Rowley dies talk out his ass ad u lap it up.
Not only him there are a good few on tuner.

Postby rspann » November 3rd, 2019, 6:24 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Unc keeps striking at sheit yo...new gossip on the ground in grande...another person going for councillor has a darrel smith shadow over his head...this time with young ones

And yuh know in politics, you are bound to rub some1 the wrong way and they will buss your files...I hope they know what they for..

The young ones over the age of consent ,but a letter a husband sent will do some damage. Also , the pics taken by another girl who was eventually beaten and left out, will feature in the locals. You know what they say about a woman scorned.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 3rd, 2019, 8:27 am

rspann wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Unc keeps striking at sheit yo...new gossip on the ground in grande...another person going for councillor has a darrel smith shadow over his head...this time with young ones

The young ones over the age of consent ,but a letter a husband sent will do some damage. Also , the pics taken by another girl who was eventually beaten and left out, will feature in the locals. You know what they say about a woman scorned.

Under the age and money pass

Postby Rovin » November 3rd, 2019, 7:13 pm

MSJ launches for LGE

......... :roll: :roll: :roll:

Postby rspann » November 3rd, 2019, 8:33 pm

How much seats MSJ getting ? 10? 12? 14?

That man sounds so confident that he has some sort of relevance.

Postby pugboy » November 3rd, 2019, 8:45 pm

I going and vote for Louis

He know he can’t win anything big but going out to mash up the mix.

Postby zoom rader » November 4th, 2019, 7:26 am

rspann wrote:How much VOTES MSJ getting ? 10? 12? 14?

That man sounds so confident that he has some sort of relevance.

Fixed

Postby rspann » November 4th, 2019, 7:33 am

Anybody see the advertisement Kamla put out? Two Afro women in a car get a flat. Some Indian eating doubles help them change the tyre. The Indians give a rasta vagrant doubles. The rasta finds a wallet belonging to an Indian and carries it home for him. It shows how UNC and PNM shuld depend on and get along with each other. So, Indians represent UNC and Afros represent PNM?

Postby hydroep » November 4th, 2019, 7:38 am

The (alleged) bobol involving the refinery's sale to their patriotic friends put an end to whatever chances the MSJ may have had at the polls (not that they ever had much to begin with eh)...:|

Postby zoom rader » November 4th, 2019, 7:57 am

rspann wrote:Anybody see the advertisement Kamla put out? Two Afro women in a car get a flat. Some Indian eating doubles help them change the tyre. The Indians give a rasta vagrant doubles. The rasta finds a wallet belonging to an Indian and carries it home for him. It shows how UNC and PNM shuld depend on and get along with each other. So, Indians represent UNC and Afros represent PNM?

wey dat add

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 4th, 2019, 10:31 am

rspann wrote:Anybody see the advertisement Kamla put out? Two Afro women in a car get a flat. Some Indian eating doubles help them change the tyre. The Indians give a rasta vagrant doubles. The rasta finds a wallet belonging to an Indian and carries it home for him. It shows how UNC and PNM shuld depend on and get along with each other. So, Indians represent UNC and Afros represent PNM?

post d veejo nah bai

Postby rspann » November 4th, 2019, 12:29 pm

I see it on Synergy this morning.

Postby pugboy » November 4th, 2019, 12:38 pm

that must be a reverse reverse psychology ad

you aint know who the owners of synergy tv is or wha ?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 4th, 2019, 12:47 pm

I seeing people beating up about Phillip Alexander and his abuse of the word "ni$$a"...what's that about??

Postby Rovin » November 4th, 2019, 1:07 pm

i see d unc ad on tv wk end gone , if it didnt have ppl with unc on it it wuda been a nice unity ad for d country ... politricks cheapen everything

Postby The_Honourable » November 4th, 2019, 5:09 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

post d veejo nah bai

come come spann... you don't stick with these things

Postby rspann » November 4th, 2019, 5:35 pm

Real stereotypes in that veejo.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 4th, 2019, 5:42 pm

Kpb gonna get fcked to the cross for that...all kinda implications...I could see questions like

Only africans are beggers?
Only injun sell doubles?
Only african does shut down?
Why an african didnt help d injun?
Only an injun must help the african?

List goes on

Postby Rovin » November 4th, 2019, 6:22 pm

Postby rspann » November 4th, 2019, 7:15 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Kpb gonna get fcked to the cross for that...all kinda implications...I could see questions like

Only africans are beggers?
Only injun sell doubles?
Only african does shut down?
Why an african didnt help d injun?
Only an injun must help the african?

List goes on

All PNM is afro but UNC is a mix?
PNM people have to depend on UNC people for help and handouts?
So many subliminal messages. Up to the rims on the car.

Postby maj. tom » November 4th, 2019, 7:23 pm

These ads were created for a specific set of people who have a specific type of mentality and thinking. It's targeted that way. They don't expect you to vote in local government elections, or else you would not be here and able to type a full sentence in Queen's English.

Only Rowley's or Kamla's (mc) English.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 4th, 2019, 7:56 pm

Rovin, I now coming to post that fat mc....lol...the lengths people does go eh

Postby The_Honourable » November 5th, 2019, 12:48 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I seeing people beating up about Phillip Alexander and his abuse of the word "ni$$a"...what's that about??

A low blow... and then you have the issue that yuh vex with him saying the word but at the same time, forced to acknowledge some truth behind the statement.

Another issue is that a "non-afro" said it. If an afro said it especially some type of leader or scholar in the black community, zero problems.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » November 5th, 2019, 2:39 pm

rspann wrote:Real stereotypes in that veejo.

If Kams and she bunch of bandits ever want to help this country, they can start by returning the BILLIONS they stole during 2010-2015. This money could be used to finish the incomplete Couva Hospital and the San Fernando General hospital, which UNC allowed to deteriorate to the extent that some portions are now uninhabitable.

Postby MaxPower » November 5th, 2019, 2:43 pm

Wait na allyuh still toting over this “N” word?

Deal with it.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 5th, 2019, 2:46 pm

randolphinshan wrote:

If Kams and she bunch of bandits ever want to help this country, they can start by returning the BILLIONS they stole during 2010-2015. This money could be used to finish the incomplete Couva Hospital and the San Fernando General hospital, which UNC allowed to deteriorate to the extent that some portions are now uninhabitable.

if shitlcikers wand his crew want to save Trinidad they could start by

1: giving back the 100milli from av drilling
2: let ferris wheel give back the 70milli in rent $
3: take back the 90milli from the lara park
4: take back ronnani $$ from Kaydonna

but again we still waiting on you to say something good about the PEE ON THEM...it has been 4 years and nothing to talk about

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » November 5th, 2019, 2:48 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:

if shitlcikers wand his crew want to save Trinidad they could start by

1: giving back the 100milli from av drilling
2: let ferris wheel give back the 70milli in rent $
3: take back the 90milli from the lara park
4: take back ronnani $$ from Kaydonna

but again we still waiting on you to say something good about the PEE ON THEM...it has been 4 years and nothing to talk about

As Zoomie says, proof or you just regurgitating vomit like your leader ?