Part of Charlotte Street to be designated Chinatown

rebound

Re: Part of Charlotte Street to be designated Chinatown

Postby rebound » October 29th, 2019, 4:22 pm

But how did they get permission from City Corp to put the beams in the drain tho?

Postby pugboy » October 29th, 2019, 4:30 pm

The mayor is the boss of the city corp

rebound wrote:But how did they get permission from City Corp to put the beams in the drain tho?

Postby adnj » October 29th, 2019, 4:31 pm

Those columns seem to be contrary to Trinidad's laws on minimum safe width of a carriageway. I've seen Chinatown signage in many places but that's the first time that I've seen one in the middle of the block AND the middle of a drain.
[IMG]https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn%3AANd9GcTyYVNRawVIWTAbAoedWdxBpO681B25NBnT8YpcbTTzHaA17LFO
[/IMG]

rspann wrote:
adnj wrote:What gets my attention is the two steel columns mounted in the roadway.

Or yuh mean in the middle of the drain?
rebound wrote:But how did they get permission from City Corp to put the beams in the drain tho?

Postby Slartibartfast » October 29th, 2019, 5:01 pm

Les Bain wrote:^^^That is a valid wall of text though...

Imagine Trinidadians weren't as vocal about the yellow menace when construction projects were going up full tilt.
It took a friggin sign for a government LED bulb to go off over the heads of lazy voiced xenophobes with YouTube accounts.

I'm still young so I only started paying attention to politics when COP came out. Back then when PNM lost the election I remember the big scandal was some church being built up in the east with the initials P.M. used to sign of the documents. Some said it stood for Patrick Manning, others said it stood for Project Manager (which is standard in exactly zero countries in the world). Then UNC came and, well, we know how that went with all of the alleged corruption like the sporTT scandal. Now we entering into the last year with the PNM and the country just seems to be in an uncontrolled dive with no competent leadership.

I can't speak for people older than me but judging by my experience and those around my age on facebook and social media, the reason for all the talk now is that it is becoming clear beyond a shadow of a doubt that both parties are self-serving and unfit to lead the country. I'm only 30 and have already experience leadership under both seasoned political parties (this was neither UNC or PNM's first terms so the thinking was that they should be in the best position to lead given their prior experience). Many people my age now fully realise that PNM and UNC are definitely not the best we have to offer in terms of running the country. We were young an naive before I guess.

On a related note. I think over the past 8 years social media has gotten a lot more serious. People didn't really used to share political opinions that much back then. I think now is just the time that the inevitable happened. I doesn't seem to be due to any specific event because people complaining about everything.

Postby pugboy » October 29th, 2019, 5:08 pm

Yeah somebody gonna bounce the steel column for sure
Esp when them wetman driving 3 lanes

Postby redmanjp » October 30th, 2019, 8:47 pm

so they spell it China Town but it supposed to be one word- how much it cost to correct it?

Postby zoom rader » October 30th, 2019, 10:15 pm

Once you funding PNM you good to go

Postby Ben_spanna » January 31st, 2020, 1:07 pm

didnt realise that there are so many ignorant stupid racists in this country... someone suggested postponing carnival and the comments... one idiot said that rather than postpone they should do away with chinatown.... and sadly there are idiots that agreeing with this a55......

Postby eliteauto » January 31st, 2020, 4:27 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:didnt realise that there are so many ignorant stupid racists in this country... someone suggested postponing carnival and the comments... one idiot said that rather than postpone they should do away with chinatown.... and sadly there are idiots that agreeing with this a55......
You didn't realise? First day on tuner huh?

Postby Ben_spanna » February 3rd, 2020, 7:49 am

eliteauto wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:didnt realise that there are so many ignorant stupid racists in this country... someone suggested postponing carnival and the comments... one idiot said that rather than postpone they should do away with chinatown.... and sadly there are idiots that agreeing with this a55......
You didn't realise? First day on tuner huh?

Realized this a looong time ago... growing up in Trinidad as a minority... alot of ignorant people believe that its only blacks are discriminated against, they have no idea what its like to be discriminated against by the 2 major ethnic groups that constantly feel its acceptable to make fun of you and you are supposed to sit back and accept it because you are out numbered.

Postby The_Honourable » February 22nd, 2020, 11:09 pm

This song causing some heartburn...

Postby matr1x » February 23rd, 2020, 12:05 am

That song will make chang go ching!

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » February 23rd, 2020, 12:43 am

Folks were saying it is racist and generally insensitive.

Postby Gladiator » February 23rd, 2020, 1:17 am

Just like how it racist to put in black face and mock black people it is racist to do that to Chinese people.

Or is because is carnival black people could mock and ridicule everybody. Then again they doing it to Indians for decades...
Numb3r4 wrote:Folks were saying it is racist and generally insensitive.

Postby MaxPower » February 23rd, 2020, 2:13 am

That is a very racist video...

But panty man Mods only ban things about black ppl.

Any discrimination towards whites, indians, chinese, syrians and venezuelans etc is not deemed racist....why?

But if i were to talk about her disgruntled, jealous, racist mc with a skin colour allyuh panty man mods quick to ban ent??

Respond.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » February 23rd, 2020, 5:57 am

I stopped going to tents years now. These tents are racist and it's no wonder why they are loosing money. What is amazing is that these tents are partly funded by goverment.

Postby rspann » February 23rd, 2020, 6:53 am

If zoom was here he woulda say she is ah PNM and he woulda get a month ban.

Remember the controversy about blackface ? PNM woman’s group and others condemned a chutney singer , but let’s see

if they will condemn this one for whiteface and blatant racism.

She is voicing her own opinion because during and after the erection of the sign ,I never hear Bath st , Piccadilly , vendors

,Harpe Place , none of them criticize it or say it coming down. So she is making it into social commentary to win a crown

but misrepresenting the facts.

She’s getting on like if Chinese now come here and asking what they bring to Trinidad, but she’s so dunce she doesn’t even

know how long they here and their contribution to TnT . In the past they made significant contributions and for the last

decade, even more so. Right now everything that needs to be completed without hassle is built by them, sometimes with

their money too.

You won’t hear any complaints about her or cro croak though .

Postby Gladiator » February 23rd, 2020, 8:50 am

And tax payers money pays them to express "we culture".... And none of them have any singing talent. Just saying out words with music playing in the background. How pathetic
rspann wrote:If zoom was here he woulda say she is ah PNM and he woulda get a month ban.

Remember the controversy about blackface ? PNM woman’s group and others condemned a chutney singer , but let’s see

if they will condemn this one for whiteface and blatant racism.

She is voicing her own opinion because during and after the erection of the sign ,I never hear Bath st , Piccadilly , vendors

,Harpe Place , none of them criticize it or say it coming down. So she is making it into social commentary to win a crown

but misrepresenting the facts.

She’s getting on like if Chinese now come here and asking what they bring to Trinidad, but she’s so dunce she doesn’t even

know how long they here and their contribution to TnT . In the past they made significant contributions and for the last

decade, even more so. Right now everything that needs to be completed without hassle is built by them, sometimes with

their money too.

You won’t hear any complaints about her or cro croak though .

Postby rspann » February 23rd, 2020, 8:59 am

Gone were the days of good kaiso. The older bards will soon be gone and that is the end of it.

King Radio , Norman Spann, was my grandfather . He was Calypso King in the late 30's . Those days to the 80's had good lyrics , music and double entendre for so .

Now is like nobody practice before they sing and ask opinions. They like they hearing they own song for the first time because they not comfortable singing it, no Melody nothing.

Postby The_Honourable » February 23rd, 2020, 12:36 pm

Only saw one chinese group talk about it on social media but not to a degree that is noticeable. Chinese in T&T are passive by nature so jokes about them will continue since we like picong.

Postby Country_Bookie » February 23rd, 2020, 3:53 pm

The_Honourable wrote:This song causing some heartburn...

Let's all report this video to YouTube for hateful content. We have enough racism in Trinidad.... don't need this idiot spreading more.

Postby Les Bain » February 23rd, 2020, 11:04 pm

That Sonia character spend the last 15 years in a cave?

Not even quarter way into that piece of toots intro and it would have gotten her cancelled in a first world country. But then again, Chinee Parang was still playing on the radio as of Christmas 2019.

She and her kind should enjoy their kyakking until China ready to pull them puppet strings they weaving with these loans and projects.

Postby sMASH » February 23rd, 2020, 11:55 pm

if chinese was indian, that sonia would be cro cro.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » February 23rd, 2020, 11:58 pm

Rex west and Rex east need a come back for this

Postby MaxPower » February 24th, 2020, 4:52 am

Zoom like he get a permanent banners

Postby Gladiator » February 24th, 2020, 8:18 am

Yeah... The PNM people in here fraid him too bad!!!
MaxPower wrote:Zoom like he get a permanent banners

Postby De Dragon » February 24th, 2020, 9:41 am

Les Bain wrote:That Sonia character spend the last 15 years in a cave?

Not even quarter way into that piece of toots intro and it would have gotten her cancelled in a first world country. But then again, Chinee Parang was still playing on the radio as of Christmas 2019.

She and her kind should enjoy their kyakking until China ready to pull them puppet strings they weaving with these loans and projects.

Wang wang wang!