expedia

Amit

expedia

Postby Amit » November 28th, 2012, 9:15 pm

tuners you all ever use expedia to book hotel, flight and transport , orlando area?

jeevdude199

Re: expedia

Postby jeevdude199 » November 28th, 2012, 9:18 pm

.commmmm....sry couldn't resist

Postby brams112 » November 28th, 2012, 9:28 pm

OP check the airlines yourself it cost cheaper,expedia is not for us,plus the fine print says ur not guaranteed to get anything they advertise,last year i was checking on them and i got a better deal with caribbean airlines with fares.Hotels are tricky ,you need a us address to book some hotel yourself i believe,but don't go that way sometimes it can be painfull because the airline gives their clients who book directly with them first prefrence,web check inn is a breeze.

Postby equipped2ripp » November 28th, 2012, 10:26 pm

^ who says? I use Expedia all the time for hotels and sometimes flights. Their flight prices are the same as the airline websites 90% of the time... and you can web check-in on CAL website if you booked on Expedia.

Expedia has hotel deals which are cheaper than the hotel website itself, especially on Wednesdays. These hotel sale prices are not only in the US, I got sale prices for hotels right here in the Caribbean.

Postby X2 » November 28th, 2012, 10:28 pm

brams112 wrote:OP check the airlines yourself it cost cheaper,expedia is not for us,plus the fine print says ur not guaranteed to get anything they advertise,last year i was checking on them and i got a better deal with caribbean airlines with fares.Hotels are tricky ,you need a us address to book some hotel yourself i believe,but don't go that way sometimes it can be painfull because the airline gives their clients who book directly with them first prefrence,web check inn is a breeze.

I have consistently gotten exactly the opposite results.

Expedia.com deals on hotel/flight and/or car rental almost always comes out cheaper than straight thru the airlines. FOr example, I booked a flight thur the airline directly and got the 'best deal'. Total cost of trip was around $800USD. When I went to expedia, I got the SAME flight, plus a hotel and car for the 5 day stay for $750USD. Expedia books bulk rates with airlines and hotels so they are just about guaranteed to be cheaper than directly booking thru the airline and / or hotels.

Just about any travel I do now is thru expedia or similar sites. Main downsides are cancellation is sometimes a little more involved. I would highly recommend using the site...but are welcome to compare with direct bookings.

Postby DFC » November 28th, 2012, 10:33 pm

Hi guy, i went orlando recently and i booked everything through Expedia.

I got great deals on Flights and Hotels.

There are tons of Cheap but really nice hotels in orlando, especially in the International Drive area.

Postby X2 » November 28th, 2012, 10:46 pm

yep... most difficult part is chosing the hotel since it's hard to know what hotel is decent, what is cheesy... but choosing a hotel with a higher than 3 star rating that also advertises all the amenities you want... you should be safe... try to avoid the cheapest hotel deal unless you know the place personally.... with the flights... you can't go wrong... just choose the fastest route and make sure you know it shows you pricing PER PERSON.

Postby equipped2ripp » November 28th, 2012, 11:05 pm

^ that's where TripAdvisor comes in :D

Postby X2 » November 28th, 2012, 11:09 pm

Ahhh... haven't used that one !

Good lookin out.

Postby DFC » November 28th, 2012, 11:19 pm

yeah , when i find a good hotel deal, i look up the hotel on Tripadvisor to see the comments and ratings.
If they're good then yeah, i'll book it.

If u travelling alone, and looking for a cheap place to bunk, get a hostel.
They go from $20 USD a day up to $100.

And there are some really good ones too.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » November 28th, 2012, 11:29 pm

Amit wrote:tuners you all ever use expedia to book hotel, flight and transport , orlando area?

Amit,

This is all I use for traveling and hotel. They have some really good deals. I have never had a negative experience with them.

Amit

Postby Amit » November 29th, 2012, 6:28 am

thank you all

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » November 29th, 2012, 2:45 pm

brams112 wrote:OP check the airlines yourself it cost cheaper,expedia is not for us,plus the fine print says ur not guaranteed to get anything they advertise,last year i was checking on them and i got a better deal with caribbean airlines with fares.Hotels are tricky ,you need a us address to book some hotel yourself i believe,but don't go that way sometimes it can be painfull because the airline gives their clients who book directly with them first prefrence,web check inn is a breeze.

Looks like yuh on yuh own there buddy...

Postby M_2NR » November 29th, 2012, 3:27 pm

Ohh. if you're looking for just flights, check out momondo or kayak.
Expedia Customer Care is great also if you have to contact them.

macd

Postby macd » September 30th, 2019, 10:19 am

Hey anyone ever used expedia to book rental car in tobago?

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 30th, 2019, 10:42 am

macd wrote:Hey anyone ever used expedia to book rental car in tobago?

No self respecting trini would do that

macd

Postby macd » October 2nd, 2019, 9:02 am

Well you play patriotic and dont get value for your money cause a fellow trini wants to over charge you.
Strugglerzinc wrote:
macd wrote:Hey anyone ever used expedia to book rental car in tobago?

No self respecting trini would do that

originalbling

Postby originalbling » October 2nd, 2019, 9:22 am

Never used expedia but used alamo.com to book from National/Alamo - thats a Massy company

or just call one of the local rental companies and do it over the phone. They tend to give a better rate to locals
Sheppy's Rental and KCNN are highly recommended.

Postby goalpost » October 2nd, 2019, 5:14 pm

For hotels, yes expedia for sure.

For flights, straight from the airlines works out better, at least to me.

The bundle on expedia limits your choices. A lot of times I know the hotel I want to stay but can't get a deal with the bundle.

macd

Postby macd » October 8th, 2019, 10:12 am

Thanks bro
originalbling wrote:Never used expedia but used alamo.com to book from National/Alamo - thats a Massy company

or just call one of the local rental companies and do it over the phone. They tend to give a better rate to locals
Sheppy's Rental and KCNN are highly recommended.

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » October 8th, 2019, 1:45 pm

I used Expedia to book my flights and used Airbnb to book my hotel, when i compared the 2 side by side for the same hotel, Expedia was charging like $100 us more and with Airbnb it was really simple as well.