the right to bear arms

Re: Right to bear arms

Postby sMASH » July 10th, 2019, 9:45 am

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/lo ... 6n5ZLkBy0M

what if the business man did not have a gun?

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/07/09/bandit ... e-robbery/

what if the security didnt have a gun?

Postby matr1x » July 10th, 2019, 9:51 am

We are an example where even with gun control, things aren't better

Postby 88sins » July 10th, 2019, 12:03 pm

matr1x wrote:We are an example where even with gun control, things aren't better

We don't have anything that even remotely resembles gun control in this place. Do not confuse extreme restrictive processes for gun control, they are not the same or even similar.
True gun control means that the ppl in general can actually have guns if they so wish and are qualified to, and the state sets limits as to who qualifies (& if you don't qualify you get an actual reason why not before a decade or two passes & without having to go to court to have a judge order that whoever says you don't qualify give you an answer before fowl grow incisors), how many they can keep, what types of firearms they can keep, how much ammo they can buy and/or keep, how they must be kept, where they can use them, etc

Here, this generally isn't the case.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » July 10th, 2019, 12:22 pm

Trinis head too hot.

Plenty of them will start to pull out/flash their legal firearm after a few Carib/Stag and bawl "Yuh ear no whois me oarrr?" at the slightest altercation.
And Trinis will always defy the "norms" so if certain levels of gun control works in however many countries, then it will NOT work for Trinidad.
Trinis will find a way to mess it up.

Postby 88sins » July 10th, 2019, 12:59 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:Trinis head too hot.

Plenty of them will start to pull out/flash their legal firearm after a few Carib/Stag and bawl "Yuh ear no whois me oarrr?" at the slightest altercation.
And Trinis will always defy the "norms" so if certain levels of gun control works in however many countries, then it will NOT work for Trinidad.
Trinis will find a way to mess it up.

St. Ann's on recess again?

IF potentially EVERYONE had a firearm, how often do you think that the average random idiot would drink and get drunk & threaten ppl with his legal firearm? It wouldn't be often, if ever, because of two reasons, one being that firearm possession would no longer be a "status" symbol for said idiots, and two being that said idiots would know that everyone is armed as well or even better than he is and that such dotishness would get him shot/killed very easily. So unless he want to commit assisted suicide, pulling a piece on someone would make almost no sense

Postby sMASH » July 10th, 2019, 1:00 pm

nope, not any and any body... but, more people, responsible people. like said business man. businessmen more than any one would be targets.

nobody saying that it will not happen. but it would not happen as often that u think.

Postby pugboy » July 10th, 2019, 1:07 pm

That is the problem
A lot of the ppl who looking for status are some of the most stupid and ignorant out there

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » July 10th, 2019, 1:16 pm

Yes but if every trini had a firearm, then the "pips" would be, who one "badder" than who one.

And if my gun "badder" than yours and could shoot 10 bullet at once, while you have to pull the trigger 10 times, then by extension, I am "badder" than you.

But no they won't point it at you.
Just pull up the shirt/merino a lil bit for you to see the butt.
Or just wave it about while talking (but not point it at you) and make sounds like "OAR" and "AWOH" and "EHHHH"

Postby 88sins » July 10th, 2019, 1:46 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:Yes but if every trini had a firearm, then the "pips" would be, who one "badder" than who one.

And if my gun "badder" than yours and could shoot 10 bullet at once, while you have to pull the trigger 10 times, then by extension, I am "badder" than you.

Or just wave it about while talking (but not point it at you) and make sounds like "OAR" and "AWOH" and "EHHHH"

only an idiot thinks about which gun "badder", shows off a weapon, or waves a weapon around like a gesturing ape. Because no matter how many shots you can get off in a second, it only takes one to end a life. Don't even have to be big, or loud, or some special alloy. And always remember, those that believe in showing off as well as spray & pray are cunnies & cowards. So while they busy waving, a next man aiming, when the ape start aiming, the next man done pull trigger & game done.

Postby zoom rader » July 10th, 2019, 1:48 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:Yes but if every trini had a firearm, then the "pips" would be, who one "badder" than who one.

only an idiot thinks about which gun "badder", shows off a weapon, or waves a weapon around like a gesturing ape. Because no matter how many shots you can get off in a second, it only takes one to end a life. Don't even have to be big, or loud, or some special alloy. And always remember, those that believe in showing off as well as spray & pray are cunnies & cowards. So while they busy waving, a next man aiming, when the ape start aiming, the next man done pull trigger & game done.
If every trini had a firearm then in every buju type noise concert shots will ring

Postby 88sins » July 10th, 2019, 6:01 pm

If every trini had a firearm then in every buju type noise concert shots will ring

Now, I not advocating for every idiot with a finger being allowed to possess firearms eh.
But what you saying there zr, not really likely to happen, and it'd be relatively easy enough to prevent and deter persons from such conduct.
metal detectors at admission points, not just wand scanners mind you, actual metal detectors as well, in addition to the usual police presence, in addition to making such actions punishable by several years in prison, would discourage that kind of nonsense.

but even though I don't promote mass ownership of small firearms, because as I mentioned previously, anything small enough to be concealed is easy enough to lose or abuse, I do believe that all business and property owners should be allowed to keep a shotgun on their property, provided they have been educated how and when and why to use them, insurance in case of accidental death or injury, proper storage facilities, etc.

Postby zoom rader » July 10th, 2019, 6:53 pm

Now, I not advocating for every idiot with a finger being allowed to possess firearms eh.
But what you saying there zr, not really likely to happen, and it'd be relatively easy enough to prevent and deter persons from such conduct.
metal detectors at admission points, not just wand scanners mind you, actual metal detectors as well, in addition to the usual police presence, in addition to making such actions punishable by several years in prison, would discourage that kind of nonsense.

but even though I don't promote mass ownership of small firearms, because as I mentioned previously, anything small enough to be concealed is easy enough to lose or abuse, I do believe that all business and property owners should be allowed to keep a shotgun on their property, provided they have been educated how and when and why to use them, insurance in case of accidental death or injury, proper storage facilities, etc.
Only two ways to get a FUL .

Buy it or Heavy strings. Last I hear was $50k to pass the bullchit .

Shotgun a lil easier to get provided you have farmland

Postby sMASH » July 10th, 2019, 8:53 pm

how many persons have been wrongfully killed by legal fire arms?

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » July 10th, 2019, 9:08 pm

Ask de popo dat. How many rightfully killed?

Postby sMASH » July 10th, 2019, 10:26 pm

thats a different kettle of fish. i just concerned about prepping citizens to deal with miscreants. that ttps issue has to be solved within the blue boy ranks.

Postby sMASH » September 11th, 2019, 1:32 pm

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/ban ... o--pEdJBw4

cnc3 wrote:Bandit killed during bar robbery

Wednesday, September 11, 2019 - 13:15

Po­lice are the scene of a shoot­ing where a ban­dit was shot dead.

So far, po­lice were told that two gun­men walked in­to Mar­shall's Bar at the cor­ner of Cipero and Sut­ton Streets, San Fer­nan­do some­time this morn­ing and an­nounced a hold-up.

As the armed men at­tempt­ed to rob pa­trons in the bar, one of them, said to be a for­mer po­lice of­fi­cer, drew his li­censed firearm and opened fire on the gun­men.

A shootout took place and one of the ban­dits was shot dead.

The oth­er es­caped.

None of the pa­trons were in­jured.

Of­fi­cers re­cov­ered a firearm from the dead ban­dit who is yet to be iden­ti­fied.

In­ves­ti­ga­tions are on­go­ing.

- Kevon Felmine

Postby sMASH » September 12th, 2019, 9:24 pm

Postby alfa » September 12th, 2019, 9:57 pm

sMASH wrote:^^

That's a tac reload pops do at the end? :D Nice job, we need more responsible armed citizens, with emphasis on the 'responsible' part :roll: not every Tom Dick and Harrilal

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » September 13th, 2019, 1:16 pm

what ah stating though can anyone explain how this legal? What is the recourse if an innocent person or vehicle was shot by this retired old man.
I know at least two people who defend deyself without a gun (one in their own home) and still face manslaughter charges when their attacker ended up dead. They thenn spent about 5 years on remand and 4 in jail each. Is it that only when you from a poor area the law applies? Or is it that once your a policeman retired or not you could come out guns blazing and just shoot anyone anywhere anytime once you think is the correct thing?

Postby sMASH » September 13th, 2019, 2:00 pm

Valid questions. That remand thing is a whole mess.

Postby Redman » September 13th, 2019, 4:09 pm

Daxt0r
Spot on.

Postby rspann » September 13th, 2019, 7:24 pm

Plus the man was running away from him. The first one was good, but I feel he went wrong after that.

Postby sMASH » September 13th, 2019, 7:38 pm

and then they say retired police officer too, so they will back him up

Postby Redman » September 13th, 2019, 7:55 pm

Was he.sober at the time?

I think it's time to clearly define a legal shoot is.

If he missed in the last couple shots...where he seems to be pursuing them....and hits someone else...what's their recourse?

We need to have some frameworks in place.

Postby sMASH » September 13th, 2019, 8:01 pm

^^ probably we can pattern those mechanisms, on the ones that the police have in place for their gun play.

Postby eliteauto » September 13th, 2019, 8:08 pm

this page reminds me of a saying I learned in the Barracks " it's better to be judged by 12 than carried by 6"

Postby alfa » September 13th, 2019, 8:26 pm

These topics should be standardized and taught to FUL users before they are given their permit similar to what is done when applying for a concealed weapons permit in the states. Things like when it's ok to draw your firearm and escalation of force protocol. Problem is that I'm not sure if there are even definite laws for these things in Trinidad. Any lawyers can correct me if wrong. In the US there's something called the defending your castle law where you can shoot someone breaking into your home. Plus they have insurance policies specifically for ccw holders where if you do shoot someone they'll handle all your legal fees. These things don't exist here so I guess it comes down to how good a lawyer you can afford if your are ever charged with using your firearm

Postby Redman » September 13th, 2019, 8:29 pm

sMASH wrote:^^ probably we can pattern those mechanisms, on the ones that the police have in place for their gun play.

Maybe.
The law is an arse.

Let's say you in the ole police situation
And you hit a youth.......lawyers get involved.

Yuh want clarity...or what we have now?

Postby sMASH » September 13th, 2019, 8:38 pm

i agree with u. not just clarity, but also laws that encourage self defense. so that in the moment, a citizen doesnt have to be distracted by what the law will or will not like, and just defend them selves and families

Postby Redman » September 14th, 2019, 6:49 am

Well if you have the weapon, then it's your responsibility to be fully aware of your rights and responsibilities.
To a point I want people concerned about whether they legal or not.

I want us to have a vibrant dynamic sector geared toward training, information,modernization and accountability for any one that decides they want to carry.

If this to be done...it can't be half arsed