Jumbo claims Sunshine Snacks blocked him from selling nuts in the Oval

Re: Jumbo claims Sunshine Snacks blocked him from selling nuts in the Oval

Postby Slartibartfast » September 9th, 2019, 12:41 pm

Hmmmm... if only there was a way that they could somehow come together and help eachother out. If Sunshine was smart they wudda realise the potential to help use someone with 50 years of nuts selling history to promote their brand. Well idk Jumbo on a personal level so I can't commentate on his opportunities or success.

What bothers me here is the continued thinking of everybody acting as though you have to pick sides and you can only win if your competitor loses.

Postby zoom rader » September 9th, 2019, 1:36 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Hmmmm... if only there was a way that they could somehow come together and help eachother out. If Sunshine was smart they wudda realise the potential to help use someone with 50 years of nuts selling history to promote their brand. Well idk Jumbo on a personal level so I can't commentate on his opportunities or success.

What bothers me here is the continued thinking of everybody acting as though you have to pick sides and you can only win if your competitor loses.
If two guys starting off at the same level field looking to expand their brand, who are jumbo and lock jack goes into the bank for a loan to expand.

Who do you think will get the loan?

Men on here saying jumbo should have expanded but they don't know what hoops he has jump though or how many times he has been blanked.

Meanwhile lock Jack only needs to phone a loan and a personal banker will be at his home ready to sign in the hour.

Bussines is racist as hell especially if you look like Morgan job.

Support local nuts men.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 9th, 2019, 1:41 pm

The Oval can't be Jumbo bread and butter as there is only 5 CPL matches over 1 month. And inlcuding the semi and final at the BLA that's 7 matches.

Surely Jumbo can compensate for 7 days out of 365 days in the year??

Postby sMASH » September 9th, 2019, 6:49 pm

i see jombo GT
jumbo time now!!!

Postby zoom rader » September 9th, 2019, 6:59 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:The Oval can't be Jumbo bread and butter as there is only 5 CPL matches over 1 month. And inlcuding the semi and final at the BLA that's 7 matches.

Does not matter,

Fresh nuts better than any sunshine plastic nuts.

Support true local content.

Ryan197912

Postby Ryan197912 » September 9th, 2019, 8:01 pm

Sunshine snacks capitulated and will allow jumbo to sell inside during CPL

Postby Slartibartfast » September 9th, 2019, 8:26 pm

Ryan197912 wrote:Sunshine snacks capitulated and will allow jumbo to sell inside during CPL

That's nice of them. I know they are only paying attention to public sentiment because they don't want the bad publicity but they could have easily let this die down after a couple weeks like everything else. Good to see people working together.

Postby zoom rader » September 10th, 2019, 9:14 am

Ryan197912 wrote:Sunshine snacks capitulated and will allow jumbo to sell inside during CPL

Jah Bless Jumbo and the public for standing firm.

Postby eliteauto » September 10th, 2019, 10:20 am

Sunshine snacks won. Most won't get it

Postby zoom rader » September 10th, 2019, 10:31 am

eliteauto wrote:Sunshine snacks won. Most won't get it

Exposure works.

Was a win win for them on all sides

But they not seeing my money

Postby Rovin » September 10th, 2019, 11:04 am

Dizzy28 wrote:The Oval can't be Jumbo bread and butter as there is only 5 CPL matches over 1 month. And inlcuding the semi and final at the BLA that's 7 matches.

Does not matter,

i agree with fresh better than packaged saltness but what if d supplier jumbo buying from is owned by a 1% dat means they still win right ... like i said numerous times b4 it hardly have anything in this country u buy that didnt come directly or indirectly from d 1%

Postby pugboy » September 10th, 2019, 11:06 am

So the jumbo precedent applying to other things now?

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » September 10th, 2019, 11:12 am

eliteauto wrote:Jumbo selling nuts since 1971 and hasn't grown his brand and business to the level where he could compete with ABL, and somehow that's ABL's fault? Could Jumbo sponsor the CPL? How many of you would invest hundreds of thousands in an event and tell a competitor to fall in cause it go look good? Look good to who? A handful of nostalgic people on social media who most likely not going and look for Jumbo when they feeling for nuts but he's 30 mins away, this "support" for de small man not going past this evening, one setta ole talk because the internet is "free"

Hahahaha....

All Jumbo have to do is wear a lil sunshine snacks tee shirt and sell their nuts and humble he self.

But NO, he feel he around long time and thinks its his right to plant himself in any event he feels like?

He could be how “iconic” and all this “cultural” sheit but its the ignorance, attitude and complacency that gets people no where.

You always talking about Trinis lazy etc...

here you have a man plying his trade for longer than you may have been born and your suggestion is for him to simply stop his entrepreneurial vybz and just throw on a t-shirt and sell for someone else..... ppl acting like Jumbo fighting for his place is wrong, when these huge companies do the exact thing whenever they smell competition they lobby behind doors and get the government to implement laws to stifle competition ( take for example the online shopping tax) .

So is only because Jumbo a "small" man, his plight coming across a kinda way, but its well understood that even the biggest companies start to beg and cry when things not going their way, its the same thing.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 10th, 2019, 11:18 am

Jumbo is back...as Sunshine Snacks has change of heart

After an outcry from cricket fans, the company will again allow local nuts vendors, including the popular Keith “Jumbo” Martin, to continue selling nuts at the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) T20 cricket tournament at the Queen’s Park Oval.

Cricket supporters became outraged over the weekend after learning that Martin, who has been selling nuts at the Oval for decades, was longer being allowed to do so for the CPL games.

In a Facebook video, which has since gone viral, an irate Martin expressed disappointment at the decision.

“This is Jumbo the original nuts man. I have been selling nuts at the Oval since 1971 when (Sunil) Gavaskar made 200 runs, back–to-back, and beat the West Indies. I’ve been selling at CPL for the first four years. They telling me that Sunshine Snacks, who is not 40 years…they telling me I can’t sell nuts. Trinidad allyuh take that, and allyuh want jumbo nuts?”

Sunshine Snacks, the official sponsor of CPL and the Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR), also produces peanut snacks.

In a press release today, the company announced that following public outcry, it has taken an executive decision to open the gates of the Oval to local nuts vendors to sell homemade roasted peanuts.

Sunshine Snacks general manager Kristine Thompson stated:

“As an official sponsor of TKR, who actually own the rights to selling at the Queen’s Park Oval- their home grounds, Sunshine Snacks purchased the exclusive right to sell snacks and nuts during the games and we structured our promotions and events along those lines. But the people have spoken and we have listened.”

“The company will now partially waive their paid exclusive rights and allow local nuts vendors to ply their trade at the games.”

Thompson said since July 2017, Sunshine Snack has been in communication with the local nuts vendors.

“In fact, one of the nuts vendors is already selling our products at the games. But when the cricket fans spoke out in favour of all nuts sellers being there as a critical part of the Oval cricket culture and the game experience, we simply decided to put our hearts ahead of our strict sponsorship rights,” she stated.

Postby zoom rader » September 10th, 2019, 11:36 am

Rovin wrote:

Does not matter,

i agree with fresh better than packaged saltness but what if d supplier jumbo buying from is owned by a 1% dat means they still win right ... like i said numerous times b4 it hardly have anything in this country u buy that didnt come directly or indirectly from d 1%
Lock Jack is not a 1% , I think hes a local Caucasian.

Not sure who imports groundnuts but as far as I know its imported from India. Groundnuts and Channa was introduced to Trinidad by Indian immigrants. It was them that was the original sellers of nuts and Channa in brown paper coned rolls.

On other points Sunshine packaging are printed and imported from India.

Postby zoom rader » September 10th, 2019, 11:40 am

moses_boss12 wrote:
eliteauto wrote:Jumbo selling nuts since 1971 and hasn't grown his brand and business to the level where he could compete with ABL, and somehow that's ABL's fault? Could Jumbo sponsor the CPL? How many of you would invest hundreds of thousands in an event and tell a competitor to fall in cause it go look good? Look good to who? A handful of nostalgic people on social media who most likely not going and look for Jumbo when they feeling for nuts but he's 30 mins away, this "support" for de small man not going past this evening, one setta ole talk because the internet is "free"

Hahahaha....

All Jumbo have to do is wear a lil sunshine snacks tee shirt and sell their nuts and humble he self.

But NO, he feel he around long time and thinks its his right to plant himself in any event he feels like?

He could be how “iconic” and all this “cultural” sheit but its the ignorance, attitude and complacency that gets people no where.

here you have a man plying his trade for longer than you may have been born and your suggestion is for him to simply stop his entrepreneurial vybz and just throw on a t-shirt and sell for someone else..... ppl acting like Jumbo fighting for his place is wrong, when these huge companies do the exact thing whenever they smell competition they lobby behind doors and get the government to implement laws to stifle competition ( take for example the online shopping tax) .

So is only because Jumbo a "small" man, his plight coming across a kinda way, but its well understood that even the biggest companies start to beg and cry when things not going their way, its the same thing.
As I said if jumbo and lock jack go for a loan to expand their bussiness, who do you think will get the loan?

Postby Dizzy28 » September 10th, 2019, 12:14 pm

moses_boss12 wrote:

Hahahaha....

Jumbo gonna sponsor CPL??

These events we like to see happen in our country cost a lot of money. Advertisers and sponsors are critical to them happening. Remember how vex people were to see Carifesta cost the Trini taxpayers 43m?

But yea lets only bother with how rich the sponsors are.

Postby Redman » September 10th, 2019, 2:07 pm

Jumbo paying tax?

Postby zoom rader » September 10th, 2019, 2:22 pm

Redman wrote:Jumbo paying tax?
If he earns under 72k hes does not have to pay just like you.

Are Sunshine paying their fare share of taxes and paying a fair wage to their employees ?

Hope you know they get a tax break for sponsorship to sports.

These big companies evade more taxes than the small man

Postby pugboy » September 10th, 2019, 3:55 pm

Does sunshine bring back all the forex they earning as they claim to be a net exporter?

Postby rspann » September 10th, 2019, 4:17 pm

eliteauto wrote:Sunshine snacks won. Most won't get it

...and men saying they capitulated.

Postby hydroep » September 10th, 2019, 4:21 pm

Men still fighting over which businessman nuts they should eat yes...:|

Postby rspann » September 10th, 2019, 4:22 pm

KFC could sell Coca Cola now!

Postby Redman » September 10th, 2019, 4:40 pm

rspann wrote:KFC could sell Coca Cola now!

Now a chruncher special is perfect.

Postby De Dragon » September 10th, 2019, 4:47 pm

Ask elitecorolla, He always advocating for doubles man/pie man/oyster man etc. not to pay PAYE.

Postby eliteauto » September 10th, 2019, 9:30 pm

Ask elitecorolla, He always advocating for doubles man/pie man/oyster man etc. not to pay PAYE.

8-) 8-) 8-) 8-)

Postby rspann » September 10th, 2019, 9:40 pm

Just now powersellers wouldn't want to pay to advertise on Trinituner. They go say Duane fighting down the small man. Waiting to see what duane go do.

Postby MaxPower » September 10th, 2019, 11:28 pm

moses_boss12 wrote:

Hahahaha....

Ahh boi, spoken like a true Trini.

The small man always feel that people owe them something.

The small man around for many years with little/slow growth or expansion for what ever reason. But come someone who showing initiative and progressing....small man vex.

This is allyuh mentality.

Postby zoom rader » September 11th, 2019, 12:30 am

moses_boss12 wrote:

Hahahaha....

Ahh boi, spoken like a true Trini.

The small man always feel that people owe them something.

The small man around for many years with little/slow growth or expansion for what ever reason. But come someone who showing initiative and progressing....small man vex.

This is allyuh mentality.
Jumbo have to crawl and beg for a loan to expand.

Lock jack only have to show his Caucasian skin and loan granted with no bussiness plan.

Postby eliteauto » September 11th, 2019, 5:29 am

Lok Jack is caucasian? Zoom you're correct Jumbo would start at a disadvantage but if you have the entrepreneurial spirit you'll work your way up, I remember trying to get myself off the ground and had many disappointments and eventually I accepted that the world only loves winners and I continued hammering away until it started to happen and then doors that were shut started opening. Success isn't sexy and it's never short term it's hard work and long hours, crying victim doesn't help.