Premchand1976

Re: UNC 2.0?!?!?!

Postby Premchand1976 » August 29th, 2019, 11:35 pm

randolphinshan wrote:
Premchand1976 wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:UNC getting desperate and have no ideas on how to run a country.They are jokers
I think there's a typo here with the first three letters , everything else is grammatically and literally correct.

He wont reply to you, hes too big of a coward and a PNM kant

You are a joker and I ignore your stupidity on purpose. Now go light the deya for your Goddess Drunkard Kams and queer Barrie and leave me alone sick man, I do not associate with low life’s like you
Actually, most of us here just LAUGH at you........

Postby hydroep » August 30th, 2019, 5:56 am

Young: We fired mostly Africans from SSA
Sean Douglas

MINISTER of National Security Stuart Young denied Carlton Dennie’s claims of the Government purging of East Indians from the Strategic Services Agencies (SSA) by saying three-quarters of those fired were Africans.

Young then turned the tables by alleging that of those officers fired from the SSA by the former People’s Partnership Government, some 92 per cent were Africans.

At yesterday’s post Cabinet briefing at the Diplomatic Centre, St Ann’s, he said it pained him to have to cite statistics based on race.

He said the Government in 2015 had terminated staff or opted to not renew their contracts based on merit, performance or the SSA’s needs. Young said of 79 such staff, some 57 people (or 72 per cent) were Africans, while 22 individuals were East Indians.

He alleged a “cleansing” of the SSA in 2010 by the PP government, saying 25 out of 27 individuals terminated were Africans, with just one East Indian and one Chinese being let go. Young said no terminations in 2015 were due to race but the listed factors. “The SSA was thought to be over populated. It needed restructuring and strategising.” Told that Dennie had earlier yesterday said an alleged directive to fire East Indians had been given to him by one Mr Matthews, Young said this contrasted with Dennie’s previous claim that the Prime Minister had issued such an order and it now suggested that Dennie had originally told a lie. “He is changing his story. He is moving the goal posts.”

Young blamed Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar for Dennie’s address at a recent UNC rally where he made his claims. It was a planned occasion, he said, which threatened the fabric of this society.

“It was premeditated by the leader of the Opposition to introduce racial tensions into the society.”

Saying Dennie had not headed the SSA but only been director of intelligence, Young said he had no authority to fire anyone, whether based on race or not.

He said the recent online posting of the names of African and East Indian staff fired from the SSA was irresponsible and was taken from the Opposition’s alleged “Cambridge Analytica play book.” “Intelligence officers and their identities should never be revealed. It puts them and their families in danger.” Young said no FBI or CIA head who was fired ever ran to the media nor had former SAUTT head Brig Peter Joseph nor former SSA head Nigel Clement when fired by the PP government. By contrast Young alleged Dennie was persuaded by the Opposition to tell “unfounded lies” and to attack the PM’s reputation based on race. “At the press conference today we see the truth. Mr Dennie said he has political ambitions and would like to enter Parliament.” Young said neither he nor the PM had ever heard of Dennie before now. Young replied to Opposition concerns about the Government’s access to the SSA’s human resource file on Dennie by saying that if Dennie is making allegations against Dr Rowley, the PM is entitled to ask who this person was.

In the question session, Young reckoned Rowley would seek legal advice on Dennie’s words. “I think it’s defamatory.” Young said for his part he would see if Dennie by his words had now violated his SSA employment contract.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/08/30/young-we-fired-mostly-africans-from-ssa/

Postby hydroep » August 30th, 2019, 5:58 am

Dennie: ‘I don't know’
Who gave instructions to fire East Indians from SSA?
Shane Superville

FORMER director of intelligence for the Strategic Services Agency (SSA) Carlton Dennie claims he does not know where the alleged instructions to fire East Indian staff members originated from. He said they were directed to him by the agency's former director of criminal intelligence Matthew Andrews.

Responding to questions from reporters yesterday at a press conference at the Chancellor Hotel, St Ann's, Dennie said while he was unsure where the directive came from, he could confirm it was passed on to him via Andrews and maintained such instructions would have to come from a top-tier official at the National Security Council, on which the Prime Minister sits as head.

"The 'them' I am referring to was the same 'them' who gave Matthew Andrews the instructions (to fire the Indians). I can only allege by what he told me. He told me it was members (of the National Security Council). I told him to go back and tell them I would not be doing that, but I did not inquire who they were.

"I am saying that persons at the bottom cannot give Matthew Andrews those type of instructions."

In a 2016 Newsday report, Dennie was quoted as saying he was approached by Andrews, who at the time served as the interim director of the SSA, to assist him in "weeding out" Indians at the agency.

"I didn't point fingers at anyone. I am a budding politician, I said what I had to say and let the chips fall where they may," Dennie said.

Asked if he would be willing to apologise to Rowley for his remarks on a UNC platform on Monday night, Dennie said he wished to apologise to anyone he offended by his remarks.

"My intention is not to offend anyone, but usually the truth offends."

Dennie said while he had political aspirations, his first priority was to ensure that everyone was treated fairly by their government. He described himself as a politician who cares, or a "caretician."

Dennie appeared at the UNC Monday Night Forum in Debe this week as a guest speaker, and said while he was not coaxed into attending by Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar, he would be open to other appearances as part of the UNC.

He told the audience on Monday, “I am the person they asked to fire all the East Indians from the SSA, and I told them ‘no, I am not doing that.’ This made the daily newspapers.

“I re­mind­ed Kei­th Row­ley and the then min­is­ter of na­tion­al se­cu­ri­ty (Ed­mund) Dil­lon that in this coun­try, every creed and race must find an equal place. I told them ‘no I am not fir­ing East In­di­ans.’

“When we vote in the next gen­er­al elec­tions, we must vote for eq­ui­ty, we must vote for Kam­la Per­sad-Bisses­sar.”

Dennie joined the SSA in 1997 after being transferred from the Defence Force, which he joined in 1981, and was fired from the agency on December 14, 2015.

He has since filed a lawsuit challenging his dismissal.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/08/30/dennie-i-dont-know/

Postby eliteauto » August 30th, 2019, 6:33 am

Definitely UNC 1.0

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 30th, 2019, 6:40 am

ent^^...what ever stripes they taught they had, dennie fork it up....I selling my vote this year and next year.....vote for who??? allyuh tell meh nah

Postby Redman » August 30th, 2019, 6:42 am

Not even good theatre.

Postby zoom rader » August 30th, 2019, 8:02 am

eliteauto wrote:Definitely UNC 1.0

Yep and PNM 2020 for elections.

Postby hydroep » August 30th, 2019, 8:06 am

Puh Growlers back dey please, leh him finish what he start. Best crime mini-star evah...:|

Postby zoom rader » August 30th, 2019, 8:21 am

hydroep wrote:Puh Growlers back dey please, leh him finish what he start. Best crime mini-star evah...:|

Yup I agree.

Trinis need to learn the hard way

Postby Rovin » August 30th, 2019, 11:33 am

when i see this last night on tv i like wtf , man sounding like he rel confuse ... as though somebody used he identity kinda ting , like when he hear lawyer in he ass he get dotish 1 time

Postby rspann » August 30th, 2019, 4:29 pm

Is like somebody hack he brain and say all them thing and he come now to say he ain't know nutten bout dat.

Postby pugboy » August 30th, 2019, 5:06 pm

He supposed to be a soldier, doesn't inspire any confidence at all
Dunno who would want to go to battle with him

Postby Rovin » August 30th, 2019, 6:02 pm

e move like al fairy dey , come out like a lion & back peddle like a lamb .....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 31st, 2019, 7:59 am

Clearly he was coached for that press conference

Postby The_Honourable » February 16th, 2020, 3:38 pm

Panday back in general election fray

With sev­en months to term's end and gen­er­al elec­tion ahead, there'll be a Pan­day in­volved in up­com­ing polls—maybe even two.

For­mer prime min­is­ter and UNC founder Bas­deo Pan­day said he has been speak­ing to sev­er­al peo­ple from small­er par­ties about pre­sent­ing a unit­ed po­lit­i­cal force as an al­ter­na­tive for vot­ers dis­en­chant­ed with the PNM and UNC.

Sev­er­al po­lit­i­cal per­son­al­i­ties are at­tend­ing a meet­ing on Wednes­day, which he has called re­gard­ing the plan.

Pan­day, 86, spoke to Guardian Me­dia last Thurs­day, a cou­ple of days af­ter re­turn­ing from the UK. He said he had a med­ical check-up and as­sured he was al­right.

Pan­day has re­cent­ly been lob­by­ing on so­cial me­dia for change and the com­ing to­geth­er of small par­ties. Among his mes­sages, Pan­day had said, "It must be pel­lu­cid­ly clear to all the 'small­er' po­lit­i­cal par­ties in T&T that un­der the present po­lit­i­cal sys­tem there is no way they are go­ing to win any seats in Par­lia­ment. If they are se­ri­ous in any mean­ing­ful par­tic­i­pa­tion in the po­lit­i­cal process then they must unite in a strug­gle to change the sys­tem. That means chang­ing the Con­sti­tu­tion. To do so they must get to­geth­er and con­test the next gen­er­al elec­tions un­der a sin­gle ban­ner. Per­sist­ing in the blame game will not solve any­thing. What do you think?"

He al­so post­ed, "Hav­ing re­gard to the de­te­ri­o­rat­ing state of af­fairs in our coun­try I think the time has come when those of us who seek mean­ing­ful change must come to­geth­er and work on a plan to do some­thing about it."

Pan­day had sought feed­back on whether peo­ple would at­tend a meet­ing to dis­cuss his idea.

On Thurs­day, he said that if there was noth­ing new on the po­lit­i­cal hori­zon for vot­ers, the sit­u­a­tion with the PNM and UNC would con­tin­ue, the Con­sti­tu­tion would re­main un­changed, and T&T will con­tin­ue as it has been go­ing.

"There are many who are dis­en­chant­ed with both par­ties. At this point, they out­num­ber the oth­ers. If we can unite the peo­ple who are dis­en­chant­ed with these mono­lith­ic par­ties—these peo­ple who are the elec­toral ma­jor­i­ty in T&T—that may be the on­ly hope for T&T," he added. "So I've been talk­ing to many peo­ple about pre­sent­ing a unit­ed force in elec­tions, bring­ing to­geth­er all the small par­ties on a joint ba­sis. "

He said he ex­pects his daugh­ter Mick­ela's Pa­tri­ot­ic Front par­ty—which is con­test­ing the elec­tion—will be part of such a force.

Pan­day de­clined to iden­ti­fy who he had been talk­ing to. "But there's been some good re­spons­es," he added.

He said the first meet­ing was planned for Wednes­day at 6 pm at Gas­ton Court, Ch­agua­nas. This would ex­am­ine com­ing to­geth­er and the way for­ward.

"...Any par­ty which I haven't been able to con­tact yet can al­so at­tend," he said.

Pan­day said he had no in­ten­tion of con­test­ing a seat in elec­toral pol­i­tics but, "One doesn't know what the fu­ture holds. My task, how­ev­er, is sim­ply aimed at get­ting to­geth­er the peo­ple who are out­side of the two big par­ties, so small­er par­ties with­in a unit­ed ef­fort can have a voice in Par­lia­ment and we can try to change the Con­sti­tu­tion."

We are com­ing—par­ty lead­ers

Checks con­firmed sev­er­al ac­tive po­lit­i­cal per­son­al­i­ties—in­clud­ing for­mer PP ad­min­is­tra­tion mem­bers—have spo­ken with Pan­day and are at­tend­ing his meet­ing. He has al­so raised the idea with some cur­rent UNC mem­bers in the last two weeks.

Con­gress of the Peo­ple leader Car­olyn Seep­er­sad-Bachan said on Thurs­day, "Yes, I've been talk­ing with Mr Pan­day. I've al­ways ad­vo­cat­ed the prin­ci­ple of com­ing to­geth­er as coali­tion pol­i­tics is still very rel­e­vant—es­pe­cial­ly in T&T's cir­cum­stances where every­one needs rep­re­sen­ta­tion. We'll see how it goes."

Move­ment for So­cial Jus­tice leader David Ab­du­lah said, "Mr Pan­day spoke to me be­fore he went over­seas. We're sched­uled to meet short­ly."

Move­ment for Na­tion­al De­vel­op­ment leader Garvin Nicholas said, "I'll at­tend Wednes­day's meet­ing. Mr Pan­day's a for­mer prime min­is­ter and I'm go­ing out of re­spect. If Prime Min­is­ter Kei­th Row­ley called me to dis­cuss any ideas, I'd do too. I agree there must be some oth­er force to ex­ert in­flu­ence on the pol­i­tics or else the sit­u­a­tion will re­main the same. But my main fo­cus is the three Diego Mar­tin seats."

Last Fri­day, New Na­tion­al Vi­sion leader Fuad Abu Bakr said he echoed Pan­day's sen­ti­ments on the need for some­thing dif­fer­ent apart from the two ma­jor par­ties, "His move is a step in the right di­rec­tion and we'll at­tend to see what de­vel­ops from the meet­ing and how en­ti­ties might come to­geth­er to take T&T for­ward the right way. He's made an ef­fort to start, it's not the first or last, but we're open-mind­ed."

Flu-bur­dened ex-UNC min­is­ter Fin­bar Gan­ga, who said he had missed an ear­li­er call from Pan­day, said he woulld "see" if he would at­tend Wednes­day's meet­ing.

De­mo­c­ra­t­ic Par­ty of T&T (DPTT) leader Steve Al­varez said, "I'm at­tend­ing Mr Pan­day's meet­ing. It's what's re­quired. This is the on­ly chance third par­ties can have to be tak­en se­ri­ous­ly and it's the best op­tion to con­test all 41 seats if every­one comes to­geth­er."

POS Peo­ple's Move­ment leader Louis Lee Sing said the is­sue was broached with him late last year (not by Pan­day) but he wasn't con­tact­ed re­cent­ly. "But any­thing that'll bring re­lief to T&T is worth ex­plor­ing at this time," he said.

Ex-PP min­is­ter Vas­ant Bharath had no com­ment.

Sev­er­al UNC MPs said they had not heard from Pan­day.

UNC's Gan­ga Singh was un­avail­able. He had launched a uni­ty call at a 2018 func­tion at­tend­ed by Pan­day, De­vant Ma­haraj, UNC's Fuad Khan, Bharath, Jack Warn­er and oth­ers. They all sup­port­ed the call. Khan said last Fri­day he had not heard from Pan­day.

In the last Lo­cal Gov­ern­ment elec­tions, Elec­tions and Bound­aries Com­mis­sion's pre­lim­i­nary re­sults showed MSJ, PPM, COP and MND with re­spec­tive votes rang­ing from a high of 2,635 (MSJ) to 404 (MND). MSJ, COP, MND and PPM had a com­bined to­tal of ap­prox­i­mate­ly 5,325 votes. PNM polled 161,962 and UNC had the pop­u­lar vote with 202,584.

Just over a hand­ful of the 84 plus par­ties reg­is­tered with EBC are ac­tive full-time or par­tial­ly. The ma­jor­i­ty list­ed are dor­mant or de­funct.

Mick­ela: Pa­trotric Front open to talks

Mick­ela Pan­day says her Pa­tri­ot­ic Front (PF) par­ty which is con­test­ing the elec­tion is open to talks “with every­one who shares the same be­liefs, prin­ci­ples and val­ues as PF.”

That was her re­ply on whether PF will join oth­er par­ties, whom, and the sta­tus of any talks.

The PF was formed in 2019 but did not par­tic­i­pate in Lo­cal Gov­ern­ment elec­tions.

She ex­plained, “We were im­ple­ment­ing struc­tures and ma­chin­ery nec­es­sary to fight the 2020 elec­tion.”

Asked about the num­ber of mem­bers PF has ac­quired since then, she said, “We’ll know the ex­act num­ber (of mem­bers) af­ter the elec­tion re­sults.”

On where she may con­test, Pan­day said, “As things stand to­day, I do in­tend to con­test, which con­stituen­cy I chose to sub­mit my nom­i­na­tion pa­pers for will de­pend on where I be­lieve I can make a re­al im­pact on the lives of the peo­ple who live there.

“We’re pre­pared for elec­tion. Can­di­dates will be cho­sen dur­ing a screen­ing process which will be trans­par­ent and based on mer­i­toc­ra­cy, we’ll start cam­paign­ing and be­com­ing more high pro­file in due course.”

She did not re­ply on how many UNC mem­bers/per­son­al­i­ties have come to PF such as Adesh Nanan, John Humphrey or oth­ers who at­tend­ed her par­ty’s launch. She re­peat­ed that the par­ty was open to talks with all who share PF’s be­liefs. That was al­so her an­swer when asked whether she had talks with ex-PP min­is­ter Vas­ant Bharath.

She was sim­i­lar­ly non-com­mit­tal re­gard­ing her views of oth­er par­ties and in­de­pen­dent can­di­dates and whether she would be link­ing with them for elec­tion. “We live in a de­mo­c­ra­t­ic so­ci­ety where every­one’s al­lowed to ex­press their views and con­test any elec­tion,” she said.

Asked whether she was speak­ing to UNC MPs and whom, she replied, “I speak to every­one.”

On views that the elec­tion is main­ly a PNM/UNC fight, she said, “Now that PF is a vi­able op­tion, that may no longer be the case.”

On her view of the PNM’s per­for­mance, she said, “We in­tend to fo­cus on so­lu­tions and not waste time mud­sling­ing. It’s for the peo­ple to de­cide.”

And her views of UNC? “The peo­ple will de­cide.”

Source: https://guardian.co.tt/news/panday-back ... ef71ab2fe3

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 16th, 2020, 6:39 pm

PNM until 2025

Postby sMASH » February 16th, 2020, 7:02 pm

NO KAMALA, NO CARE!!!!

Postby hydroep » February 16th, 2020, 8:17 pm

UNC obviously wouldn't be involved in dat.

Trying to visualize Bas, PEA, Carolyn, Abdullah et al trying to make a go of this and can only come to one conclusion: 4 Bo Rat cyar live in one hole...:|

Postby bluefete » February 16th, 2020, 8:40 pm

Tusty men and women would never learn.

Postby De Dragon » February 17th, 2020, 12:49 pm

The comments from Moonilal, Suruj, Fuad in the newspapers today were foolish though. Not even the typical "we go talk with anybody" spiel. They basically dismissed Panday and Mickela out of hand almost to a man, even though Fuad did allow for a rejoinder and for her to work in the party. Panday still has support among the older Caroni set, and to dismiss them seems counterproductive. Now he said some sheit about Kamla, but we all know Bas toting since his ouster.

Postby Kenjo » February 17th, 2020, 2:10 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Panday back in general election fray

With sev­en months to term's end and gen­er­al elec­tion ahead, there'll be a Pan­day in­volved in up­com­ing polls—maybe even two.

For­mer prime min­is­ter and UNC founder Bas­deo Pan­day said he has been speak­ing to sev­er­al peo­ple from small­er par­ties about pre­sent­ing a unit­ed po­lit­i­cal force as an al­ter­na­tive for vot­ers dis­en­chant­ed with the PNM and UNC.

Sev­er­al po­lit­i­cal per­son­al­i­ties are at­tend­ing a meet­ing on Wednes­day, which he has called re­gard­ing the plan.

Pan­day, 86, spoke to Guardian Me­dia last Thurs­day, a cou­ple of days af­ter re­turn­ing from the UK. He said he had a med­ical check-up and as­sured he was al­right.

Pan­day has re­cent­ly been lob­by­ing on so­cial me­dia for change and the com­ing to­geth­er of small par­ties. Among his mes­sages, Pan­day had said, "It must be pel­lu­cid­ly clear to all the 'small­er' po­lit­i­cal par­ties in T&T that un­der the present po­lit­i­cal sys­tem there is no way they are go­ing to win any seats in Par­lia­ment. If they are se­ri­ous in any mean­ing­ful par­tic­i­pa­tion in the po­lit­i­cal process then they must unite in a strug­gle to change the sys­tem. That means chang­ing the Con­sti­tu­tion. To do so they must get to­geth­er and con­test the next gen­er­al elec­tions un­der a sin­gle ban­ner. Per­sist­ing in the blame game will not solve any­thing. What do you think?"

He al­so post­ed, "Hav­ing re­gard to the de­te­ri­o­rat­ing state of af­fairs in our coun­try I think the time has come when those of us who seek mean­ing­ful change must come to­geth­er and work on a plan to do some­thing about it."

Pan­day had sought feed­back on whether peo­ple would at­tend a meet­ing to dis­cuss his idea.

On Thurs­day, he said that if there was noth­ing new on the po­lit­i­cal hori­zon for vot­ers, the sit­u­a­tion with the PNM and UNC would con­tin­ue, the Con­sti­tu­tion would re­main un­changed, and T&T will con­tin­ue as it has been go­ing.

"There are many who are dis­en­chant­ed with both par­ties. At this point, they out­num­ber the oth­ers. If we can unite the peo­ple who are dis­en­chant­ed with these mono­lith­ic par­ties—these peo­ple who are the elec­toral ma­jor­i­ty in T&T—that may be the on­ly hope for T&T," he added. "So I've been talk­ing to many peo­ple about pre­sent­ing a unit­ed force in elec­tions, bring­ing to­geth­er all the small par­ties on a joint ba­sis. "

He said he ex­pects his daugh­ter Mick­ela's Pa­tri­ot­ic Front par­ty—which is con­test­ing the elec­tion—will be part of such a force.

Pan­day de­clined to iden­ti­fy who he had been talk­ing to. "But there's been some good re­spons­es," he added.

He said the first meet­ing was planned for Wednes­day at 6 pm at Gas­ton Court, Ch­agua­nas. This would ex­am­ine com­ing to­geth­er and the way for­ward.

"...Any par­ty which I haven't been able to con­tact yet can al­so at­tend," he said.

Pan­day said he had no in­ten­tion of con­test­ing a seat in elec­toral pol­i­tics but, "One doesn't know what the fu­ture holds. My task, how­ev­er, is sim­ply aimed at get­ting to­geth­er the peo­ple who are out­side of the two big par­ties, so small­er par­ties with­in a unit­ed ef­fort can have a voice in Par­lia­ment and we can try to change the Con­sti­tu­tion."

We are com­ing—par­ty lead­ers

Checks con­firmed sev­er­al ac­tive po­lit­i­cal per­son­al­i­ties—in­clud­ing for­mer PP ad­min­is­tra­tion mem­bers—have spo­ken with Pan­day and are at­tend­ing his meet­ing. He has al­so raised the idea with some cur­rent UNC mem­bers in the last two weeks.

Con­gress of the Peo­ple leader Car­olyn Seep­er­sad-Bachan said on Thurs­day, "Yes, I've been talk­ing with Mr Pan­day. I've al­ways ad­vo­cat­ed the prin­ci­ple of com­ing to­geth­er as coali­tion pol­i­tics is still very rel­e­vant—es­pe­cial­ly in T&T's cir­cum­stances where every­one needs rep­re­sen­ta­tion. We'll see how it goes."

Move­ment for So­cial Jus­tice leader David Ab­du­lah said, "Mr Pan­day spoke to me be­fore he went over­seas. We're sched­uled to meet short­ly."

Move­ment for Na­tion­al De­vel­op­ment leader Garvin Nicholas said, "I'll at­tend Wednes­day's meet­ing. Mr Pan­day's a for­mer prime min­is­ter and I'm go­ing out of re­spect. If Prime Min­is­ter Kei­th Row­ley called me to dis­cuss any ideas, I'd do too. I agree there must be some oth­er force to ex­ert in­flu­ence on the pol­i­tics or else the sit­u­a­tion will re­main the same. But my main fo­cus is the three Diego Mar­tin seats."

Last Fri­day, New Na­tion­al Vi­sion leader Fuad Abu Bakr said he echoed Pan­day's sen­ti­ments on the need for some­thing dif­fer­ent apart from the two ma­jor par­ties, "His move is a step in the right di­rec­tion and we'll at­tend to see what de­vel­ops from the meet­ing and how en­ti­ties might come to­geth­er to take T&T for­ward the right way. He's made an ef­fort to start, it's not the first or last, but we're open-mind­ed."

Flu-bur­dened ex-UNC min­is­ter Fin­bar Gan­ga, who said he had missed an ear­li­er call from Pan­day, said he woulld "see" if he would at­tend Wednes­day's meet­ing.

De­mo­c­ra­t­ic Par­ty of T&T (DPTT) leader Steve Al­varez said, "I'm at­tend­ing Mr Pan­day's meet­ing. It's what's re­quired. This is the on­ly chance third par­ties can have to be tak­en se­ri­ous­ly and it's the best op­tion to con­test all 41 seats if every­one comes to­geth­er."

POS Peo­ple's Move­ment leader Louis Lee Sing said the is­sue was broached with him late last year (not by Pan­day) but he wasn't con­tact­ed re­cent­ly. "But any­thing that'll bring re­lief to T&T is worth ex­plor­ing at this time," he said.

Ex-PP min­is­ter Vas­ant Bharath had no com­ment.

Sev­er­al UNC MPs said they had not heard from Pan­day.

UNC's Gan­ga Singh was un­avail­able. He had launched a uni­ty call at a 2018 func­tion at­tend­ed by Pan­day, De­vant Ma­haraj, UNC's Fuad Khan, Bharath, Jack Warn­er and oth­ers. They all sup­port­ed the call. Khan said last Fri­day he had not heard from Pan­day.

In the last Lo­cal Gov­ern­ment elec­tions, Elec­tions and Bound­aries Com­mis­sion's pre­lim­i­nary re­sults showed MSJ, PPM, COP and MND with re­spec­tive votes rang­ing from a high of 2,635 (MSJ) to 404 (MND). MSJ, COP, MND and PPM had a com­bined to­tal of ap­prox­i­mate­ly 5,325 votes. PNM polled 161,962 and UNC had the pop­u­lar vote with 202,584.

Just over a hand­ful of the 84 plus par­ties reg­is­tered with EBC are ac­tive full-time or par­tial­ly. The ma­jor­i­ty list­ed are dor­mant or de­funct.

Mick­ela: Pa­trotric Front open to talks

Mick­ela Pan­day says her Pa­tri­ot­ic Front (PF) par­ty which is con­test­ing the elec­tion is open to talks “with every­one who shares the same be­liefs, prin­ci­ples and val­ues as PF.”

That was her re­ply on whether PF will join oth­er par­ties, whom, and the sta­tus of any talks.

The PF was formed in 2019 but did not par­tic­i­pate in Lo­cal Gov­ern­ment elec­tions.

She ex­plained, “We were im­ple­ment­ing struc­tures and ma­chin­ery nec­es­sary to fight the 2020 elec­tion.”

Asked about the num­ber of mem­bers PF has ac­quired since then, she said, “We’ll know the ex­act num­ber (of mem­bers) af­ter the elec­tion re­sults.”

On where she may con­test, Pan­day said, “As things stand to­day, I do in­tend to con­test, which con­stituen­cy I chose to sub­mit my nom­i­na­tion pa­pers for will de­pend on where I be­lieve I can make a re­al im­pact on the lives of the peo­ple who live there.

“We’re pre­pared for elec­tion. Can­di­dates will be cho­sen dur­ing a screen­ing process which will be trans­par­ent and based on mer­i­toc­ra­cy, we’ll start cam­paign­ing and be­com­ing more high pro­file in due course.”

She did not re­ply on how many UNC mem­bers/per­son­al­i­ties have come to PF such as Adesh Nanan, John Humphrey or oth­ers who at­tend­ed her par­ty’s launch. She re­peat­ed that the par­ty was open to talks with all who share PF’s be­liefs. That was al­so her an­swer when asked whether she had talks with ex-PP min­is­ter Vas­ant Bharath.

She was sim­i­lar­ly non-com­mit­tal re­gard­ing her views of oth­er par­ties and in­de­pen­dent can­di­dates and whether she would be link­ing with them for elec­tion. “We live in a de­mo­c­ra­t­ic so­ci­ety where every­one’s al­lowed to ex­press their views and con­test any elec­tion,” she said.

Asked whether she was speak­ing to UNC MPs and whom, she replied, “I speak to every­one.”

On views that the elec­tion is main­ly a PNM/UNC fight, she said, “Now that PF is a vi­able op­tion, that may no longer be the case.”

On her view of the PNM’s per­for­mance, she said, “We in­tend to fo­cus on so­lu­tions and not waste time mud­sling­ing. It’s for the peo­ple to de­cide.”

And her views of UNC? “The peo­ple will de­cide.”

Source: https://guardian.co.tt/news/panday-back ... ef71ab2fe3

Did I miss PEP being mentioned in this article ?

Postby rspann » February 17th, 2020, 3:05 pm

Doh mind how they shuffle that pack, is the same bunch of shithongs.

eitech

Postby eitech » February 17th, 2020, 6:00 pm

rspann wrote:Doh mind how they shuffle that pack, is the same bunch of shithongs.

Lol

Postby hydroep » February 18th, 2020, 1:17 pm

Panday: Why UNC MPs so riled up about my meeting?
Gail Alexander

For­mer Prime Min­is­ter Bas­deo Pan­day is cu­ri­ous why some UNC MPs are “so riled” up about his moves to unite small­er par­ties to seek con­sti­tu­tion­al re­form and con­test gen­er­al elec­tions.

He was com­ment­ing af­ter UNC MP Fuad Khan, Roodal Mooni­lal, Rudy In­dars­ingh and Su­ruj Ram­bachan frowned on his plan.

He has is­sued a call for a meet­ing with small par­ties in Ch­agua­nas to­mor­row (Wednes­day).

Pan­day said, “Re­spons­es (to the meet­ing) have been very good. But I can’t un­der­stand (UNC MPs) views. They may feel threat­ened they may no longer dom­i­nate the Par­lia­ment if a third force suc­ceeds in­clud­ing in seek­ing pro­por­tion­al rep­re­sen­ta­tion. That wouldn’t al­low vot­ing along racial lines the way it is now.”

He said to­mor­row’s meet­ing was open and wasn’t a “se­cret” meet­ing.

One per­son whom Pan­day in­vit­ed who won’t at­tend is Na­tion­al Coali­tion for Trans­for­ma­tion head Nali­ni Di­al.

“I thought it was a pri­vate meet­ing. That would have been bet­ter for views to be voiced prop­er­ly, then lat­er go pub­lic,” Di­al said, adding Pan­day’s meet­ing seemed to be a front to gain sup­port/mem­bers for his daugh­ter’s par­ty.

She said Pan­day con­tact­ed her last week and she at first agreed to at­tend. But she isn’t, af­ter not­ing Pan­day’s so­cial me­dia posts invit­ing oth­ers. Di­al said she and oth­ers were hav­ing uni­ty talks since May 2019, aim­ing to launch a unit­ed front af­ter Car­ni­val.

“I ac­tu­al­ly made the first call on so­cial me­dia last year, for all these small par­ties to unite and fight the next elec­tions. DPTT’s Steve Al­varez sought talks last May and we agreed we need­ed to come to­geth­er to be a stronger force.”

She said a group, “To­geth­er We Achieve was formed “ in­clud­ing Al­varez, Clyde Weath­er­head, Ken­neth Munro Brown, Philip Fran­co, Sub­haraj Sar­wan who met in June 2019, “We agreed uni­ty was the on­ly way for­ward, but we should try to get oth­ers in­volved. I gave the group about 16 names. In­clud­ed were, (Con­gress of the Peo­ple) COP, (Move­ment for So­cial Jus­tice )MSJ, (In­de­pen­dent Lib­er­al Par­ty) ILP, (Na­tion­al Sol­i­dar­i­ty As­sem­bly) NSA, (Pro­gres­sive Par­ty) PP, (Pa­tri­ot­ic Front) PF, (Peo­ple’s Em­pow­er­ment Par­ty) PEP, (De­mo­c­ra­t­ic Na­tion­al As­sem­bly) DNA, TTDF, and oth­ers. We left out PNM and UNC; and Vas­ant Bharath and Louis Lee Sing, be­cause they weren’t lead­ers of any par­ty.”

Af­fir­ma­tive re­spons­es on­ly came from the PP, PF, and ILP, she said. PP’s Nikoli Ed­wards agreed to at­tend and PF’s Mick­ela Pan­day agreed but nev­er at­tend­ed. She said the group con­tin­ued meet­ing and agreed to launch their unit­ed front af­ter Car­ni­val and make a pub­lic ap­peal to oth­ers.

“It’s, there­fore, very sur­pris­ing to see Mr Pan­day’s uni­ty call now es­pe­cial­ly since he nev­er con­tact­ed me since last year when I was mak­ing this same uni­ty call.”

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/panday-why-unc-mps-so-riled-up-about-my-meeting-6.2.1058250.678cc05699

Postby Rovin » February 18th, 2020, 7:05 pm

:shock: mikela come back out all ah sudden

wtf , wey she was all d time from since d lange park meeting :?

i tort she realised it eh make no sense fighting up & done with dat idea

look like all ah dem small parties really want pnm to stay for ah next 5 yrs ...... :roll:

Postby rspann » February 18th, 2020, 7:11 pm

Meeting ain't even take place yet but kuchoor done start. These Indians eh. Panday wondering why the UNC MPs riled up? He too smart not to know. PNM till 2030.

eitech

Postby eitech » February 18th, 2020, 8:24 pm

rspann wrote:Meeting ain't even take place yet but kuchoor done start. These Indians eh. Panday wondering why the UNC MPs riled up? He too smart not to know. PNM till 2030.

Take care yuh get ban eh. Lol

Postby rspann » February 18th, 2020, 8:31 pm

Nah , is only when yuh bad talk PNM yuh does get ban.

Postby rspann » February 18th, 2020, 8:33 pm

I don’t know which one worse, Rowlee or Pandemonium.

Postby pugboy » February 18th, 2020, 8:43 pm

when zoom ban ending ?