UNC 2.0?!?!?!

Re: UNC 2.0?!?!?!

Postby Slartibartfast » May 28th, 2019, 3:18 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:Thanks for the feedback guys.
paid_influencer wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:Well I'm supposed to have a podcast with Nikoli Edwards soon (leader of Progressive Party). It would be cool to know what people really want to hear about so I can bring it up. Maybe if I get enough traction I could convince Mikela Panday to come on in the future and bring up sh!t that people really want to hear about instead of what is put forth as part of the PR facade (common with all politicians).

I want to hear his view on "Vox Populi, Vox Dei" doctrine.

"Vox Populi, Vox Dei" means that you should always support popular positions. Ideal for the opportunistic politician.

But what happens when the popular position is the wrong position? How will a "Vox Populi, Vox Dei" doctrine party handle it when oil and gas production goes into free fall, hard-currency income drops, and deeply unpopular decisions have to be made?
Hmmm, interesting stuff. I'll definitely bring this up.

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I want to hear about paving existing roads instead of trying to build new ones that won't be finished(ideally for a contractor to eat ah food)

I want to hear how farmers should benefit the most
I want to hear when "community leaders" would stop getting gov't contracts
I want to hear something different about crime plans
I want to hear about when a minister would actually make ah jail

then I may think about voting

Well remember he is starting a new party so he currently has little real power. But I will ask him about what his plans are to tackle these issues.

I think the major concern with newcomers is that they say a lot of what people want to hear but you can't be sure if they thought through a plan on how to achieve it. Then the concern with a lot of the political veterans is the perceived corruption and in some cases it seems like they label some issues as unsolvable or continue to tackle issues using methods that have been proven useless.

I just want to get a better understanding of their approach. I'm not gong to endorse anybody but I encourage everyone to vote. If you don't like anybody then cast a spoiled ballot to let them know they on sh!t but don't just give up your voting right.

I don't mind voting for new faces who could possibly fool me with their manifesto...BUT the harsh reality in Trinidad (and you know this) only the UNC and PNM exist....A third party jumping in now not really going to do anything...However, if the 3rd party sticks around until 2025 and gathers enough support to make a difference by that time, then we going some where...

Look at COP.....started strong in 2007......what happened to them in 2015? and well now???

Yeah I totally agree. But when will a new party jumping in do anything at all?

Long read ahead. TL:DR Version. All 3rd parties need to be given serious consideration even if it is just so you can be sure that they are a waste of time. It's the only thing that will give us a chance to notice a good change when it comes.

The thing is, we all know what is wrong with our system and we all know it needs to change. In many cases most people even know what it needs to change to. The problem is that we know the changes are not going to come with this current two party system we have which means a third party will need to come in to change things or at least force the other two parties to change.

Now COP seemed like the 3rd party to do that but after the way they allowed themselves to be absorbed into the two party system without bringing around any real change everyone (undersy) got turned off the idea of supporting a 3rd party party. This ended up benefiting both PNM and UNC because it made most of the swing voters distrusting of new political parties which ended up keeping the political power consolidated between UNC and PNM.

My question now is, what will the change we want to see look like and will we recognise it when it comes? I still think a good 3rd party is needed or mass protests/ revolution, but we know the mass protests/ revolution not coming until it's way too late. This leaves a good 3rd party as our best bet and many people know this.

But, with this being no secret, it is expected that you will find some scam artists coming out of the woodwork hoping to use this to their advantage. So it's good to be distrusting of new political parties. In fact, until things change drastically I would say you need to be distrusting of all political parties.

At the same time, we don't want to be so distrusting that we kill a opportunity for positive change before it gets off of the ground. So you have to walk a fine line between distrusting politicians while still giving them a chance (sounds stupid right).

The only way to do this is to pay attention to the politicians and what they do/ say. We need to be critical of our politicians now more than ever which begins by hearing what they have to say, then looking at their history and track record, paying attention to the actions they take and understanding their plans for the future. I'm making this up as I go along so I'm sure I'll come up with more requirements later but here is what I know for sure

1. Automatically dismissing new political parties will not help
2. No voting will not help (at least cast a spoiled ballot)
3. Memes and sarcastic jokes will not help
4. Racism and social profiling will not help
5. Complaining about problems for complaining sake will not help

1. We need to have a clear idea of what we want and ideas on how to get there
2. We need to come up with solutions to problems for ourselves (with social media good ideas can spread from obscurity like wildfire)
3. We need to start thinking critically for ourselves and never stop questioning the politicians that we support
4. We need to stop profiling and generalising large groups of people just because they don't agree with us
5. We need to be honest with the shortcomings of the politicians that we support and our own biases

Most importantly, don't do nothing just because everybody else is doing nothing. Just do the best you can and encourage those around you to do the same. Be consistent so that once other people decide to step up the numbers will increase and we will inevitably end up creating a bandwagon for everybody to jump on. We all complain that things won't change because trinis are a bunch of bandwagonists but we waiting on a better bandwagon to arrive before we jump on but not willing to help create it. That making any sense?

Postby Rovin » May 29th, 2019, 11:10 am

not that long ago was ILP with rel hype - uncle jack is we hero blah blah , they split d LE vote & ppl quickly realize , after they disappear like a ice block in d hot sun ...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 20th, 2019, 8:05 am

I find they quiet...wah is the latest with them...

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » June 23rd, 2019, 5:12 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I find they quiet...wah is the latest with them...

Jack vex he bring back PNM. He say 'we was better off under dat b*tch.' True words dey. :drinking: :drinking:

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 23rd, 2019, 6:39 pm

There are elements far greater than party politics we should be concerned about. There are several agendas but few key ones. It doesn’t matter if it’s red, yellow, white, orange or green, our democracy is a sham. Party politics divides us by design so agendas can continue. The ingredients of an impending failed state is already in the bowl and a master chef is about to cook something up.

linton

Postby linton » June 23rd, 2019, 6:43 pm

D Diesel Report wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I find they quiet...wah is the latest with them...

Jack vex he bring back PNM. He say 'we was better off under dat b*tch.' True words dey. :drinking: :drinking:

So instead of Karma is a beyotch he's saying Kamla is a beyotch?

Postby The_Honourable » June 23rd, 2019, 9:42 pm

Ent? All i'm seeing is Vasant circulating on whatsapp

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 24th, 2019, 5:10 am

why Vasant sounding like he wants to form his own party

Postby Slartibartfast » June 24th, 2019, 9:06 am

agent007 wrote:There are elements far greater than party politics we should be concerned about. There are several agendas but few key ones. It doesn’t matter if it’s red, yellow, white, orange or green, our democracy is a sham. Party politics divides us by design so agendas can continue. The ingredients of an impending failed state is already in the bowl and a master chef is about to cook something up.

Posted this in the PNM corruption thread already. UNC and PNM serve each other more than anyone else. It's like playing good cop/ bad cop. It doesn't matter who you like more, they still both working together and against you.

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » June 24th, 2019, 2:46 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
agent007 wrote:There are elements far greater than party politics we should be concerned about. There are several agendas but few key ones. It doesn’t matter if it’s red, yellow, white, orange or green, our democracy is a sham. Party politics divides us by design so agendas can continue. The ingredients of an impending failed state is already in the bowl and a master chef is about to cook something up.

Posted this in the PNM corruption thread already. UNC and PNM serve each other more than anyone else. It's like playing good cop/ bad cop. It doesn't matter who you like more, they still both working together and against you.

But dis man looking like he want to collect real money. How he bussin the mark and trying to make people tink so? Pay no mind, its quite 2016 he do this and the majority of voters is still idiots!

Vote PNM and get a contract eh, is d key to success in dis place. :drinking: :drinking:

Postby Slartibartfast » June 24th, 2019, 3:17 pm

D Diesel Report wrote:But dis man looking like he want to collect real money. How he bussin the mark and trying to make people tink so? Pay no mind, its quite 2016 he do this and the majority of voters is still idiots!

Vote PNM and get a contract eh, is d key to success in dis place. :drinking: :drinking:

Nah he already living comfortable. He is a chartered quantity surveyor and his business is doing fine. I think he is probably the only person to carry the GORTT to court and sue them for no money. He did real plenty work with the FOIA though. This is a drop in the bucket of the things he has done. Check out his website. afraraymond.net. He have real info up there.

Postby Rovin » August 14th, 2019, 12:04 pm

yea i know it was posted in d other thread

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... bqaWTzNJjo

Kamla weeps as Suruj bows out of politics

Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar said she was moved to tears over Tabaquite MP Suruj Rambachan's decision to bow out of electoral politics.

Persad-Bissessar paid tribute to Rambachan saying he willingly cleared the way for new leaders as she hinted that she will be dropping the axe on those in the United National Congress (UNC) to breathe new life into the party.

The Express understands that Persad-Bissessar is aiming to present a new team to the electorate, of young as well as experienced politicians to battle the 2020 general election.

Speaking at the Gasparillo Government secondary school on Tuesday, Persad-Bissessar said the party cannot go forward with the "same old".

"Sometimes it hurts and I know I will have to make some choices that will be very painful to me and to many others and that's why i honour, respect that Suruj has created that opportunity to open the space to allow me to do what I know I must do. But i remind you in the UNC there is space for everyone," she said.

She praised Rambachan for taking a decision which supports her vision.

"Suruj I thank you, he understands well my vision, my philosophy to take our nation forward which is we must marry the experience of the elder with the youth of our nation to bring about a new generation of leaders in Trindad and Tobago," she said.

The former Prime Minister also paid tribute to Rambachan's wife Nandini and children Ranjana and Adi.

She said Rambachan has dedicated his life to public service and has spent close to 50 years serving the people making his mark in several fields- in Local Government as chairman of the St Patrick county council, Chaguanas mayor and former Local Government Minister.

She boasted he was also one of the best Works Minister this country has ever seen.

"And so whilst I heard you speaking and I'm watching Nandini and Ranjana, i felt sad, with some tears, we must feel sad when a brother says look I give you the leeway, i give you the room and the space to create the future generations but I will continue to work with all of you, so tears and sadness," she said.

Rambachan, who was elected Tabaquite MP since 2010 and re-elected in 2015 announced that he will not seek another term.

He said his new role will be to mentor the youth and serve as an elder.

"There those who will say good riddance to Rambachan. There are those who will say don't leave but I will be an elder statesman I am giving rebirth to my political party and the wisdom of my experience in public life will be given to the new generation of leaders," he said

He admitted he had differences with Persad-Bissessar but he continues to support her.

"I have had my battles with the leadership, with our Political Leader, with colleagues but I have always tried to fight inside not in the public. I believe that conversations lead to conversion and that politics is still about the art of compromise without relinquishing with your essential life values, " Rambachan revealed.

"You must also be prepared to move on if the disagreements are beyond compromise. I want to assure you that my decision to redefine my role in the politics of my country and more particularly in the future of my party has nothing to do with disaffection or disappointments in my leader nor of any fundamental differences with my colleagues," be added.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 14th, 2019, 12:08 pm

interested in seeing the "new" faces

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » August 14th, 2019, 12:48 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:interested in seeing the "new" faces

Kamla, Moonilal, Glen Ramadharsingh, Rudy Indarsingh should be the other bandits that are next in line to leave

Postby zoom rader » August 14th, 2019, 12:53 pm

randolphinshan wrote:

Kamla, Moonilal, Glen Ramadharsingh, Rudy Indarsingh should be the other bandits that are next in line to leave
You mean like Marlene and Max Cuffe

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » August 14th, 2019, 12:56 pm

He only left because he has gotten ill. Otherwise he really wasn't going anywhere...

Postby Rovin » August 14th, 2019, 6:08 pm

man turned 70yrs old so at least he know when to go

shud be mandatory for ALL dem damn politicians to retire dey ole ass at age 60 for d most ...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 14th, 2019, 6:59 pm

randolphinshan wrote:

Only time I agree with u...but for me it should be moonilal, kams, totisingh and bhoe...

And well we still waiting on you to post something in the achievement ched eh...so carry on

Postby rspann » August 14th, 2019, 7:02 pm

We lock up ah big thief, dat is an achievement.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 14th, 2019, 7:06 pm

So kams looking for the help from labour leaders....sure right...roget et al aint doing that

Postby zoom rader » August 14th, 2019, 9:09 pm

rspann wrote:We lock up ah big thief, dat is an achievement.
Not we,

PNM lock them up

You know they saying its a UNC police man that lock she up
Last edited by zoom rader on August 14th, 2019, 9:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rspann » August 14th, 2019, 9:27 pm

Ent allyuh want PNm achievements? Look one.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 14th, 2019, 9:47 pm

She talking about constitutional reform again?
Wasn't that promised before?
DO SO AND ROCK SO LADY

Postby hydroep » August 25th, 2019, 3:24 pm

NACTA poll: UNC struggling in corridor marginals
Keino Swamber

THE UNC is struggling against the PNM in key marginal seats in the East-West corridor critical for government formation. This is one finding of an ongoing opinion tracking poll being done by the North American Caribbean Teachers Association (NACTA). Voters were polled in face-to-face interviews this month to represent the demographics of the population. The poll was overseen by Dr Vishnu Bisram.

He said the PNM leads the UNC 23-18. In order for the UNC to form the government after elections, due in September 2020, it must retain its 18 seats and wrest three seats from the PNM. The poll concludes it is an uphill task for the UNC.

A poll done in June showed the UNC trailing the PNM in San Fernando West, Moruga, St Joseph, and Tunapuna. The UNC was also struggling, though leading, in Barataria – which it holds, and faced a stiff challenge in Chaguanas East. The current poll shows a similar trend with over half the nation turned off from both major parties. But Bisram said, given the trend in the poll’s findings, the PNM is likely to retain government because it is leading in all the marginal seats it won in 2015 and could make pick-ups.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/08/25/nacta-poll-unc-struggling-in-corridor-marginals/

Postby zoom rader » August 25th, 2019, 3:45 pm

hydroep wrote:
NACTA poll: UNC struggling in corridor marginals
Keino Swamber

THE UNC is struggling against the PNM in key marginal seats in the East-West corridor critical for government formation. This is one finding of an ongoing opinion tracking poll being done by the North American Caribbean Teachers Association (NACTA). Voters were polled in face-to-face interviews this month to represent the demographics of the population. The poll was overseen by Dr Vishnu Bisram.

He said the PNM leads the UNC 23-18. In order for the UNC to form the government after elections, due in September 2020, it must retain its 18 seats and wrest three seats from the PNM. The poll concludes it is an uphill task for the UNC.

A poll done in June showed the UNC trailing the PNM in San Fernando West, Moruga, St Joseph, and Tunapuna. The UNC was also struggling, though leading, in Barataria – which it holds, and faced a stiff challenge in Chaguanas East. The current poll shows a similar trend with over half the nation turned off from both major parties. But Bisram said, given the trend in the poll’s findings, the PNM is likely to retain government because it is leading in all the marginal seats it won in 2015 and could make pick-ups.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/08/25/nacta-poll-unc-struggling-in-corridor-marginals/
Yup PNM winning hands down.

Marlene made the PNM stronger, her pay day will be hugh

Postby Rovin » August 25th, 2019, 4:14 pm

dat pole rel lie !

d ppl dem fed up of ketching dmc unda d pee en em & they voting aunty kamla now , unc winning next elecshun wit eeze .......

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 25th, 2019, 4:36 pm

We didn't need NACTA to tell we that

Postby zoom rader » August 25th, 2019, 4:50 pm

Rovin wrote:dat pole rel lie !

d ppl dem fed up of ketching dmc unda d pee en em & they voting aunty kamla now , unc winning next elecshun wit eeze .......
Bro PNM winning upcoming elections

UNC ppl are a bunch of crab in barrels and cowards

Postby zoom rader » August 25th, 2019, 4:50 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:We didn't need NACTA to tell we that
But PNM ppl do

Postby Rovin » August 25th, 2019, 4:55 pm