axe wrote:Scorpions are known to give up to three 'dry' stings before giving one with venom. This is why all over the world there are local 'remedies' that 'seem' to work.
For example in Trinidad people would claim eating it, or tamarind seed, or sugar water worked.
Usually was just a dry sting.
Once no early onset of symptoms its usually a dry sting. You are fortunate.
maj. tom wrote:well snakes aren't poisonous, or else yes, eating them would be a problem. They're venomous. Venom is nature's cocktail of enzymes (which are proteins) that are deadly if they enter the bloodstream before they're denatured. You can even eat/drink snake venom once you have no cuts in your mouth and stomach lining, but injecting it is bad. It really is a bit complicated if you go into deeper details about the structure and role of enzymes compared to poisons which are enzyme inhibitors (but can actually also be proteins!) And then a poison-arrow frog is poison, not venom, but if you touch it you still die.
I looked for some explanation, and I hope this video can help you understand:
pugboy wrote:Scorpions actually don’t sting so willingly
At least the ones I found and poked with a stick etc and tried to catch.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Post the veejo from the zoo deh...always taught that snake was tamed...lol
Gem_in_i wrote:Is tht Mustard?
matix wrote:IMG_3040.JPG
matix wrote:Didn’t wanna take the chance to hold him because first time I saw this color variation.
maj. tom wrote:Oxyrhopus petolarius Calico snake.
O. petolarius is found in central and northern South America, including Trinidad and Tobago.
https://www.google.com/search?q=Oxyrhop ... e&tbm=isch
https://sta.uwi.edu/fst/lifesciences/si ... 0Snake.pdf
VII wrote:maj. tom wrote:Oxyrhopus petolarius Calico snake.
O. petolarius is found in central and northern South America, including Trinidad and Tobago.
https://www.google.com/search?q=Oxyrhop ... e&tbm=isch
https://sta.uwi.edu/fst/lifesciences/si ... 0Snake.pdf
Nah..thought so at first myself..compare them closer..not a match..