Massy Stores to charge 50 cents for plastic bags from July 4...

Re: Massy Stores to charge 50 cents for plastic bags from July 4...

Postby pugboy » April 1st, 2019, 9:16 pm

I don't think anybody is buying the bags except the odd one off customer
The bag charging was meant as a deterrent.
So I don't think sale of bags is any profit item on their books.

maj. tom wrote:But here's a question...have they done anything at all actually besides make you pay more for plastic bags? They announced any plans to phase out the garbage they're producing in stages? They even made an attempt 6 months or a year later and said that they're cutting out styrofoam from their in-house packaging and introducing better eco-friendly alternatives? And then they'll announce plastic wrapping in another 6 months?

lolz.

Postby adnj » April 2nd, 2019, 5:59 am

pugboy wrote:I don't think anybody is buying the bags except the odd one off customer

I buy the bags. I don't mind the extra $2 because I typically repurpose the bags. The bags that are sold are much more durable than others that I've seen locally.

Postby MaxPower » April 2nd, 2019, 6:28 am

Well duhhh they dont care about the environment.

But its ok for allyuh to continue with allyuh stink self littering and spitting all over and not okay for Massy to hit allyuh a little shot?

Postby sMASH » April 2nd, 2019, 7:16 am

pugboy wrote:I don't think anybody is buying the bags except the odd one off customer

maj. tom wrote:But here's a question...have they done anything at all actually besides make you pay more for plastic bags? They announced any plans to phase out the garbage they're producing in stages? They even made an attempt 6 months or a year later and said that they're cutting out styrofoam from their in-house packaging and introducing better eco-friendly alternatives? And then they'll announce plastic wrapping in another 6 months?

lolz.
It wast 'meant' as a deterrent. It was MARKETED as a derrant.

Pricemart still has the best ecologically bass method fir reducing plastic bags... NONE AT ALL, come with ur bag, use the card bod boxes, or drop it in ur car directly.

If ur really concerned about the envirnminst, u would not pre peel zaboca and kiwi. U will stand ur bonx and discard the fruit when it turns.

Or do it like France. Where u give away the fruits that are passed the sell by.

Massy just like pnm, pissing on ur foot and telling u is rain.

At least food basket honest. The plastic bags get reused cause the mindset of their shoppers is sufferer, and the fruits spoiling, buy it if u want, at reduced.
Dont repackage and remarket spoiling foods as Parkinson friendly products.

Postby zoom rader » April 2nd, 2019, 7:22 am

A boycott is needed at massy.
They getting more greedy

Postby pugboy » April 2nd, 2019, 7:58 am

this is and has always been an option to any and everybody, toters and haters included

Pricesmart at least provides you the option to take their used cardboard boxes
If massy had done that it might have helped this pr faux pas

zoom rader wrote:A boycott is needed at massy.
They getting more greedy

Postby zoom rader » April 2nd, 2019, 9:38 am

I don't shop at massy and never will.
I will take the beat up at the normal outdoor markets. Way cheaper than and plus real local folk get my money.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » April 2nd, 2019, 10:50 am

zoom rader wrote:I don't shop at massy and never will.
I will take the beat up at the normal outdoor markets. Way cheaper than and plus real local folk get my money.

Rather stop on the side of the road and give people like that my money instead of waking into massy.

Postby Rovin » April 2nd, 2019, 10:56 am

i buy bread by them here in chaguanas once maybe twice a wk & imho this bag thing has hurt them more than they benefited from saving " a few $$$" from not providing bag , yes i have seen some ppl walking with their bags but u rarely see ppl with carts & most carts dont have much in it .... but then again price club has earned majority of chaguanas shoppers

Postby zoom rader » April 2nd, 2019, 11:08 am

Soul Collector wrote:
zoom rader wrote:I don't shop at massy and never will.

Rather stop on the side of the road and give people like that my money instead of waking into massy.
I support small bussiness than these companies. Plus most of these companies have 1% as the major share holders.

Postby hydroep » April 2nd, 2019, 11:27 am

Rovin wrote:i buy bread by them here in chaguanas once maybe twice a wk & imho this bag thing has hurt them more than they benefited from saving " a few $$$" from not providing bag , yes i have seen some ppl walking with their bags but u rarely see ppl with carts & most carts dont have much in it .... but then again price club has earned majority of chaguanas shoppers

Massy Gulf View does be dead like a nit, people using it more like the corner parlour than to "make groceries". Men does either be walking in with their other branded plastic bags or walk with members of their family and each of them does grab up some items and walk out instead of paying the extra 'fiddy' cents.

Of the major chains in South, Southern Food Basket appears to be the most patronized, followed by JTA then Massy. The quality of their meats does be top notch though.

Postby paid_influencer » April 2nd, 2019, 8:27 pm

i cyar believe men still beating up about plastic bags.

just keep a few re-usable bags in your trunk. story done.

it more comfortable to hold two strong re-usable bags than 10 weak plastic bags. Think of it as a life hack.

Postby paid_influencer » April 2nd, 2019, 8:44 pm

maj. tom wrote:And trust me, they're really not catering for the very tiny percentage of the population that has Parkinson's and arthritis.

this is off-topic, but the population with arthritis is not a "very tiny percentage." From the CDC (link)

Prevalence by Age

Of people aged 18 to 44 years, 7.1% ever reported doctor-diagnosed arthritis.
Of people aged 45 to 64 years, 29.3% ever reported doctor-diagnosed arthritis.
Of people aged 65 years or older, 49.6% ever reported doctor-diagnosed arthritis.

Postby MaxPower » April 2nd, 2019, 9:53 pm

I like Massy and it is very comfortable to shop.

Postby zoom rader » April 3rd, 2019, 6:18 am

MaxPower wrote:I like Massy and it is very comfortable to shop.
Good spend your money there

Postby De Dragon » April 3rd, 2019, 1:11 pm

People buy veggies from Massy? Even well to do people don't, except if they have to buy "exotic" like romaine lettuce, brussel sprouts etc.

Postby zoom rader » April 3rd, 2019, 4:17 pm

De Dragon wrote:People buy veggies from Massy? Even well to do people don't, except if they have to buy "exotic" like romaine lettuce, brussel sprouts etc.
You see alot of trinis are not free thinkers. They will see other folk shop at certain places and think they have to do the same.

They see their neighbours buying certain name cars and they want to join the flow.

They see carnival costumes for 6k and they want that too.

This supermarket is nothing but a con job.

As I said trinis are dumb as fvck

Postby maj. tom » April 3rd, 2019, 6:31 pm

I honestly only use Massy if I can't find a product somewhere else, and today that's hardly likely with JTA, Xtra Foods and Price Club combined. Because you're definitely not making monthly grocery at Massy to save money! I choose to spend the money at small family owned grocery stores like Royal Foods in Pasea, Tunapuna instead.

Postby Rovin » May 16th, 2019, 9:08 pm

apart from creating more plastic waste [d irony] u mean to say ting so hard out here man does buy 1 hops bread .......

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » May 16th, 2019, 9:32 pm

Rovin wrote:apart from creating more plastic waste [d irony] u mean to say ting so hard out here man does buy 1 hops bread .......

#singlelife

Postby hydroep » July 25th, 2019, 5:53 pm

Free bag sharing today...50 cent coupon on bill. White, plastic - nice and thick too, reusable quality. Get 'em while they're hot..:lol:

Postby bluefete » August 14th, 2019, 10:34 am

Well boy, I almost collapse today when I saw them pull out a plastic bag to put my goods in.

I quickly had to ask the girl if they were charging me because I get used to walking out of Massy with my groceries in my hands.

She said "no". My bill did show a 0.50c free plastic bag promo.

When the promo done, I going back to walking out with meh groceries in meh hands!

hydroep wrote:Free bag sharing today...50 cent coupon on bill. White, plastic - nice and thick too, reusable quality. Get 'em while they're hot..:lol:

Postby zoom rader » August 14th, 2019, 10:36 am

bluefete wrote:Well boy, I almost collapse today when I saw them pull out a plastic bag to put my goods in.

I quickly had to ask the girl if they were charging me because I get used to walking out of Massy with my groceries in my hands.

When the promo done, I going back to walking out with meh groceries in meh hands!

hydroep wrote:Free bag sharing today...50 cent coupon on bill. White, plastic - nice and thick too, reusable quality. Get 'em while they're hot..:lol:

Why are you spending your money at 1% establishments?

Postby bluefete » August 14th, 2019, 10:38 am

bluefete wrote:Well boy, I almost collapse today when I saw them pull out a plastic bag to put my goods in.

Ah duz buy hops bread from dem!! :oops: :oops: :oops:

Postby zoom rader » August 14th, 2019, 10:41 am

bluefete wrote:

Ah duz buy hops bread from dem!! :oops: :oops: :oops:

Please support local people nah. These 1% do not deserve your money

Postby hydroep » August 14th, 2019, 11:04 am

LOL…I keeping mine in the car. Even if I eh go back Massy ah could still use it for rubbish...:lol:

But seriously, it seems that no-bag thing hit them harder than they’d care to admit.

And to show people how much of a sham that "saving the environment" pitch was, why give out bags as a promo? Ent they still going to cause "damage the environment?" But nah, better that than some Ben & Jerry's samples.

Bottom line is: bags CHEAP. Environment be dammed when it eating into yuh profit margin… :|

Postby Rovin » August 14th, 2019, 11:11 am

yep they wont admit d whole environment ting didnt work out in a banana republic like ours

i too buy their bread because of location & convenience here in chaguanas , its within walking distance from me & i rather it than kiss airfill bread ....

Postby maj. tom » August 14th, 2019, 11:31 am

nah boy support a local bakery and their workers. I found a place in Felicity that makes the softest, most amazing bread. Was just passing one day and saw the place and decided to try it. Can't really tell you where exactly, but it's going north on Cacandee Rd right near a grocery, on the right side. Close to the primary school.

Postby Dave » August 14th, 2019, 1:09 pm

And is those places self I support. Always get a better fresher product!

Postby Ben_spanna » August 14th, 2019, 1:11 pm

Rovin wrote:yep they wont admit d whole environment ting didnt work out in a banana republic like ours

i too buy their bread because of location & convenience here in chaguanas , its within walking distance from me & i rather it than kiss airfill bread ....

hoss, buy ah breakmaker- they not that expensive, easy to use and you know exactly whats going into your own bread, much less preservatives and it fresh all the time.

Seriously!