Re: How Much Does A Root Canal Cost?

Postby goalpost » June 29th, 2019, 11:45 pm

So why not just do an extraction?

Postby maj. tom » June 30th, 2019, 6:27 am

An extraction can cost much, much more if you decide to fill it. There are dentures and deep drill screws to bridge the gap and stabilize the root, longer healing time and implant and crown materials to consider (porcelain/zirconia/titanium), which have to be custom molded and machined for the patient specifically. And would require specialist dentistry and specialist fees.

If you good with living with that gap, it's fine. The dentist would give the best advice, but it's better to arm yourself with every information you can find on the internet, then consult with the dentist to weigh your options. A good dentist would be happy to explain it with diagrams. Remember, no one can force you to accept a certain treatment.

Postby Slartibartfast » June 30th, 2019, 6:46 am

Did mine by Apex dental in Curepe.

I think it was 3500 for the procedure and 3500 for the crown. Been going by him for real years now. Never had any issues.

triniringo

Postby triniringo » June 30th, 2019, 11:12 am

Yep..Apex dental in st augustine is d way to go $1200 for incisor and 2
visit Dr Bhagan

Postby Dizzy28 » June 30th, 2019, 2:09 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Tbh, depends on the establishment...Caribbean Smiles in cunupia are probably the cheapest around and they do good work...I know a few of them very well...message me if you serious
Caribbean Smiles is Koonolal and siblings?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 30th, 2019, 2:40 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Tbh, depends on the establishment...Caribbean Smiles in cunupia are probably the cheapest around and they do good work...I know a few of them very well...message me if you serious
Caribbean Smiles is Koonolal and siblings?

Correct is right...he and his sister are the dentists

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2019, 2:44 pm

dentistry is big business, almost every street in woodbrook have at least one or two dentist

from the last two generation of folks in the junk food era and sweet drinks making business good

of course you want to go by a dentist who in the know with latest technology as it is a field with rapidly evolving tech

Postby maj. tom » June 30th, 2019, 2:49 pm

This is a good read if anyone actually wants to understand the costs of basic dentistry compared to other branches of medicine:

https://www.cbsnews.com/news/why-your-d ... s-so-much/

The bottom line was
Dentists wish patients would value their teeth more. Teeth are a crucial part of health and appearance. Untreated gum disease, for instance, is linked to heart disease.

The Colgate website gives such valuable basic information for everyone to freely access and easy to understand. I encourage everyone to take a read and learn how to take care of your teeth! Just keep clicking links there and you're bound to learn something new and useful every time.
https://www.colgate.com/en-us/oral-health

Oh, and one very useful info my dentist gave me last visit: ALWAYS use the soft toothbrush. You don't need to press hard anyway, and brush for at least 2 minutes at a time. Hard brushing/firm bristles can wear down the gumline over many years, something called gingival recession.

Postby hydroep » June 30th, 2019, 4:27 pm

Thread turning into one concerning general dental hygiene, which is a good thing IMO.

Cut down a lot on hard foods like nuts, chewing bones etc. They take a toll on regular teeth, much less fillings and other dental work.

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2019, 6:10 pm

Crab is a big damager too.

Not to mention pastelles from unknown sources
I chipped a molar with a bone fragment in a beef pastelle somebody gave us a Xmas present.
They bought them from one of them backyard home caterers. Never me again.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 30th, 2019, 6:34 pm

My highest dental cost was having to remove wisdom teeth...almost everyone has to do this at some point but some cases are more horrible than others...I had to take out all 4 one time and no ordinary dentist could do it..I was sent to a maxfax(dr scipio in woodbrook)...was a 2hr surgery that cost 22k with meds etc...as I said before just pray you dont end up by a maxfax..

neexis

Postby neexis » June 30th, 2019, 6:40 pm

Good discussion.

Also remember the fees that some dentists charge tend to be based on how much experience they have, equipment, material quality, technique and any additional training/specialist qualifications.

Basically, you get what you pay for (most of the time).

The best thing is not to need a root canal in the first place... Most dental issues can be prevented with proper care and maintenance anyway

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 30th, 2019, 6:44 pm

Most dentists seem to be recommending colgate total...shrugs shoulders...brush and floss regular...you good to go

Postby Ben_spanna » June 30th, 2019, 6:52 pm

Normal dentists will say root canal, and then if the crown fails, that you get an implant.
Did you, know that you can Re-do a root canal to try and save the tooth ?speak to your Endodontist... they believe in saving your original teeth first before implants.

matix

Postby matix » June 30th, 2019, 6:55 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:My highest dental cost was having to remove wisdom teeth...almost everyone has to do this at some point but some cases are more horrible than others...I had to take out all 4 one time and no ordinary dentist could do it..I was sent to a maxfax(dr scipio in woodbrook)...was a 2hr surgery that cost 22k with meds etc...as I said before just pray you dont end up by a maxfax..

Had to remove my 4 too. Did mines by
Dr. Marcus Daniell, around the same price too.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » June 30th, 2019, 10:18 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:My highest dental cost was having to remove wisdom teeth...almost everyone has to do this at some point but some cases are more horrible than others...I had to take out all 4 one time and no ordinary dentist could do it..I was sent to a maxfax(dr scipio in woodbrook)...was a 2hr surgery that cost 22k with meds etc...as I said before just pray you dont end up by a maxfax..

Nahhh I have all my 4 wisdom teeth it doesn't bother me I only go to the dentist to clean them up annually

krazykidzkrew

Postby krazykidzkrew » June 30th, 2019, 11:13 pm

$3000

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » July 1st, 2019, 12:38 am

Try to avoid metal fillings as they remove too much tooth material causing the tooth to become weak overtime.

Also avoid chewing hard stuff such as ice and chicken bones as they can fracture teeth overtime.

Flossing is also important.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 1st, 2019, 5:06 am

Zetski wrote:

Nahhh I have all my 4 wisdom teeth it doesn't bother me I only go to the dentist to clean them up annually

count yah blessings

Postby pugboy » July 1st, 2019, 6:32 am

Yeah I took out two of mine too late and they cause a shift
Front incisors don’t mesh well but no biggie

Postby bluefete » July 1st, 2019, 12:06 pm

Just wanted to say Thank You to everyone for sharing their experiences and for proposed / possible alternatives.

The dentist is trying to save the tooth which is why he recommended a root canal. But some of what I have read certainly gives me pause. My relative wants to get it done asap. I will pass this on to her and let her decide.

Unfortunately, I doubt if she will be willing to give another dentist a chance (even if he might be cheaper) because she says she is comfortable with the one she has.

BTW - It is the root canal plus the crown / cap that will cost $5,000.00.

Postby supercharged turbo » July 1st, 2019, 12:34 pm

What are some of the reasons why allyuh end up having to do a root canal...bad genetics,poor tooth maintenance,poor eating habits etc?

eitech

Postby eitech » July 1st, 2019, 1:48 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:What are some of the reasons why allyuh end up having to do a root canal...bad genetics,poor tooth maintenance,poor eating habits etc?

When i was younger i fell and broke my teeth. Root canal done to save them and i was advised when i get older i could crown them. Before reaching that stage, a dentist messed up my root canals and gave me and infection at the teeth roots. So i had to spend one setta ah money to sort out that. Did the surgery by marcus daniel who did a good job. So i 6 yrs no tooth problems so far. Knock on wood

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 1st, 2019, 6:13 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Most dentists seem to be recommending colgate total...shrugs shoulders...brush and floss regular...you good to go

So what about those mouthwashes? My dentist recommended that I use ACT after brushing since that has fluoride in it.

Postby maj. tom » July 1st, 2019, 6:17 pm

Oh you too? My dentist insists on never using alcohol mouthwash because it irritates and damages the cell lining in the mouth and also kills the good bacteria.
Why Use Alcohol Free Mouthwash?

Most marketed mouthrinses contain an alcohol – specifically ethanol – which can cause an initial burning sensation, unpleasant taste and bouts of dryness in the mouth. If you suffer from burning mouth syndrome or other oral irritations, you may want to select an alcohol free mouthwash to keep from aggravating your condition, which can occur with the use of an alcohol-containing mouthwash.

People who are experiencing xerostomia (dry mouth), an otherwise low saliva flow due to certain medicinal side effects, radiation therapies or systemic diseases such as Sjogren's syndrome or diabetes, can all benefit from using alcohol free mouthwashes. The alcohol free mouthwash is particularly beneficial for people who have a history of alcohol abuse as well.

Beyond these conditions, studies by BioMed Research International suggest alcohol free mouthwashes have a better effect on the gloss, color, hardness and wear of tooth composite restorations compared to mouthwashes that contain alcohol.
https://www.colgate.com/en-us/oral-heal ... hwash-1214

Postby pugboy » July 1st, 2019, 6:17 pm

Yeah the experts claim fluoride is beneficial, so a rinse which leaving a fluoride coating supposed to be ideal.

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Most dentists seem to be recommending colgate total...shrugs shoulders...brush and floss regular...you good to go

So what about those mouthwashes? My dentist recommended that I use ACT after brushing since that has fluoride in it.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » July 1st, 2019, 7:35 pm

pugboy wrote:Crab is a big damager too.

Not to mention pastelles from unknown sources
I chipped a molar with a bone fragment in a beef pastelle somebody gave us a Xmas present.
They bought them from one of them backyard home caterers. Never me again.

you look for this tho.. :lol: i dont understand why allyuh does hadda eat like d food running away.. take yuh time, chew and enjoy your meal

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 1st, 2019, 8:10 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Ditto on ACT

Postby shogun » July 2nd, 2019, 12:57 am

VII wrote:What about gum grafting for receeding gums ? anyone does that?

Yeah, it's done locally.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 2nd, 2019, 11:32 am

maj. tom wrote:Oh you too? My dentist insists on never using alcohol mouthwash because it irritates and damages the cell lining in the mouth and also kills the good bacteria.

So why is Listerine still rated as one of the top mouthwashes?