Top 3 S.E.A. Performers in South Schools

Redress10

Re: Top 3 S.E.A. Performers in South Schools

Postby Redress10 » June 30th, 2019, 1:12 pm

My problem with SEA is that it seems to be a circus with no real developmental plan.

We love a circus but that doesn't change the fact that 10 years from now when they are leaving university the country wouldn't have much to offer them via opportunity.

At 15/16 they still gonna be sitting CXC so there's nothing special about them in terms of shortening their achievement timelines. So jump high or low they still behind their peers in the developed world.

We keep doing the same things expecting bew results.

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2019, 1:14 pm

How much extra private lessons do kids at grant memorial and tml etc take ?
Reason I ask is that a large number of kids in the bigshot private schools in pos, west do.

These kids do tend to place at the 'prestige" schools but don't top the lists like their sada eating peers

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2019, 1:15 pm

The circus did change its name from common entrance to sea sometime ago.

Redress10 wrote:My problem with SEA is that it seems to be a circus with no real developmental plan.

We love a circus but that doesn't change the fact that 10 years from now when they are leaving university the country wouldn't have much to offer them via opportunity.

At 15/16 they still gonna be sitting CXC so there's nothing special about them in terms of shortening their achievement timelines. So jump high or low they still behind their peers in the developed world.

We keep doing the same things expecting bew results.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 30th, 2019, 1:53 pm

pugboy wrote:How much extra private lessons do kids at grant memorial and tml etc take ?
Reason I ask is that a large number of kids in the bigshot private schools in pos, west do.

These kids do tend to place at the 'prestige" schools but don't top the lists like their sada eating peers

Exactly, we keep educating people just to sit an exam so people are not learning to become more intelligent or knowledgeable. That is why when the time comes we still can't seem to solve basic problems. It's a society that places emphasis on paper certification. Everyone in TnT looks good on paper.

The reason that "bigshot"schools not placing is that the parents/teachers don't push their students that much. Their life already "fixed"so it more about going through the stages. After o'levels all of them go to International School etc anyway so is not like they need the prestigious school to get into University.

This prestigious thing is nothing more than a farce and it's keeping our country back. Our students are not competing against each other. They are competing against the Americans, brits, Canadians, Indians, Chinese, Japanese, Singaporeans etc. We need to seriously give them a change to be on equal footing with those people and dinosaurs such as a Sat Maraj and Anthony Garcia are not helping the cause.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 30th, 2019, 2:39 pm

My cuz prepping his youth for exams next year...for the summer vaca he has lessons mon-fri (8-12)...when school reopens in sept, he has lessons 3 days during the week and well on saturdays....

Postby zoom rader » June 30th, 2019, 6:53 pm

Redress10 wrote:
pugboy wrote:How much extra private lessons do kids at grant memorial and tml etc take ?

Exactly, we keep educating people just to sit an exam so people are not learning to become more intelligent or knowledgeable. That is why when the time comes we still can't seem to solve basic problems. It's a society that places emphasis on paper certification. Everyone in TnT looks good on paper.

The reason that "bigshot"schools not placing is that the parents/teachers don't push their students that much. Their life already "fixed"so it more about going through the stages. After o'levels all of them go to International School etc anyway so is not like they need the prestigious school to get into University.

This prestigious thing is nothing more than a farce and it's keeping our country back. Our students are not competing against each other. They are competing against the Americans, brits, Canadians, Indians, Chinese, Japanese, Singaporeans etc. We need to seriously give them a change to be on equal footing with those people and dinosaurs such as a Sat Maraj and Anthony Garcia are not helping the cause.
That old dianasor Sat made sure and provided education for his Hindu ppl. PNM called his schools cow sheds .

rebound

Postby rebound » June 30th, 2019, 7:02 pm

Yup I know how it is, I just finished my first one going through that. One year rest and then the same story with my last child.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:My cuz prepping his youth for exams next year...for the summer vaca he has lessons mon-fri (8-12)...when school reopens in sept, he has lessons 3 days during the week and well on saturdays....

Postby alfa » June 30th, 2019, 10:19 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
l33t2 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Redress10 wrote:All good and well but I think that we can agree that none of these children are "gifted" or even demonstrate high functioning intelligence.

Can any of them build a computer from scratch or even a circuit board? Can they conversate in a foreign language or maybe even 2.

I think we keep misunderstanding what intelligence really is. If these kids were to be exposed to their peers from the developed world they would be enturely embarrassed. Always remember that the smartest ppl in the US and UK etc are too intelligent for university. They are identified early on and pulled from formal education.

So after all this stress to perform at SEA, CXC and CAPE and possibly university where do these people end up? Where do they work? Trinidad doesn't have a space program or even a silicon valley that gires the "best and brightest".

I know ppl who had open scholarships who couldn't even get proper employment. So what's the point?

Totally agree....where do they end up?? All that studying and Trinidad is a sheithole when it comes to jobs for certain skills...

My brother has a 3.9 GPA finishing a masters program in cyber security at FIU and people here watch his resume like is madarin they reading..His next best step is to do a PHD and stay up there

Rel confused about the points two of you trying to make.

Top SEA students are gifted - it's not just rote learning, they need to disciplined, mature under pressure and I know many who have moved on to great things in life. I don't see why you need to bash them, SEA isn't perfect, no standardized exam especially when given at such a young age, is perfect.

There are many other gifted students who would not have had success in SEA. It's just the way it is, doesn't mean the top ones aren't.

The issue with T&T, which I alluded too in the other Vene thread concerning work ethic, is that we don't have the environment to push ppl to greater things.

We don't have top researchers pushing the envelope in their fields. We have a few people who are good and it goes to their heads. Instead of building up potential great students they put them down and denegrate them (not all but happened to me).

We have lots of potentially extremely smart and ambitious ppl in Trinidad who end up getting ruined in UWI or in the work place. In the US or UK they'd blossom.

You answered your own question wrt to what I was trying to say...we have lots of smart people and only a handful get the opportunity to really make it...and the ones that make it, do so abroad...My brother went to uwi to seek advice regarding pursuing a phd and they told him they dont have the expertise in his field here...so where he end up...back in florida

Doing a PhD in anything in Trinidad means you have to end up teaching, just the reality of it. Have a friend who's daughter was a brilliant student, won national scholarship and went on to do a PhD in anthropology. Was lecturing part time in UWI and working in a jewel store in between. Trinidad may not have opportunities for higher level graduates but seriously what yoi gonna do with a BSc in anthropology much less a PhD :roll:

Postby De Dragon » June 30th, 2019, 10:38 pm

rebound wrote:Yup I know how it is, I just finished my first one going through that. One year rest and then the same story with my last child.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:My cuz prepping his youth for exams next year...for the summer vaca he has lessons mon-fri (8-12)...when school reopens in sept, he has lessons 3 days during the week and well on saturdays....

Same boat here. Eldest just collected SEA results, youngest to write next year.

Postby De Dragon » June 30th, 2019, 10:41 pm

Your cousin has the right to do what he thinks is necessary for his child, but I respectfully submit that that is too much. My child who just wrote SEA was doing 3 times a week lessons for 2 hours, 1 day dance, 1 day karate. Lessons ends when the term ends so no lessons during school vacation

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 1st, 2019, 5:10 am

Your cousin has the right to do what he thinks is necessary for his child, but I respectfully submit that that is too much. My child who just wrote SEA was doing 3 times a week lessons for 2 hours, 1 day dance, 1 day karate. Lessons ends when the term ends so no lessons during school vacation

firstly, congrats to your youth....and well yuh know yuh does cyah tell parents how to coach their children...so I does just listen :|

rebound

Postby rebound » July 1st, 2019, 6:07 am

Congrats to your child bro....mine had Archery on Monday, Creative Writing Wednesday and Math on Saturday. There were other parents telling me I was not doing enough and literally watching us like we were hippies or something.....A child must be well rounded.

Postby De Dragon » July 1st, 2019, 6:23 am

rebound wrote:Congrats to your child bro....mine had Archery on Monday, Creative Writing Wednesday and Math on Saturday. There were other parents telling me I was not doing enough and literally watching us like we were hippies or something.....A child must be well rounded.

I hear that! It's almost like they're deliberately attempting to burn out children :?
Congratulations for making sure that there was balance in your child's life.

Postby Rovin » July 2nd, 2019, 7:30 pm

this making d rounds on FB right now so i surprised 1 of u eh post it yet , but hear what this backside stamina man posted :roll: .... https://www.facebook.com/tntxposed/vide ... =2&theater

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » July 2nd, 2019, 8:00 pm

coulda swear it was anthony garcia voice yes

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 2nd, 2019, 8:06 pm

If an injun made those comments...they woda light up he mc....nobody not telling trevor nothing