Kenjo wrote:We need lantus !
Good infor, I still do not trust drugs from India.pinkz wrote:As a government pharmacist i can confirm this is pure bullsheit..stop spread fake sheit man..and the generic drugs from india works fine(not as good as the original but real close) and that can be proven when the patient goes to clinic
The question is who brings in these cheap low quality drugs and sells them at premium cost?paid_influencer wrote:If many people agree, then it must be true. don't trust the people in authority, because they are protecting themselves.
/believes every conspiracy theory
/does not understand confirmation bias
pinkz wrote:They took it off the government formulary so you gotta buy it nowKenjo wrote:We need lantus !
Kenjo wrote:We are assuming he is talking about lantus insulin or I missed that in the conversation version insulin 70/30? When people say fake meds in terms of insulin do they mean it makes the blood sugar too low or too high ? He seems to be describing the insulin as working too well
maj. tom wrote:Anecdotal hearsay. No doctor's report. No evidence. And not understanding the costs and pharmacology of generic vs. patented brand name medicine. That's the whole point of CDAP. Yes Trinidad is poor. Why would the government pay for the highest brand name medication to give the public for free? People who can afford it don't use CDAP. If you don't have health insurance in USA, they give you generics. If you are not fully covered in Canada the MD prescribes generic. Get health insurance to cover the cost of brand name medication. They mostly work better because of tighter manufacturing processes (which costs more) to yield higher purity as well as they use different delivery methods and carriers (which costs big money for the research) to generic for better efficacy.
Another thing is side effects. All medicine has them, some serious. Infertility due to seizure meds should have been discussed by the doctor and making sure that the patient understands the risks. The doctor can't force anyone to do anything. If you choose to not take the medication because you understood the side effects, then you don't have to take what is prescribed. Ask about other medications or see another consultant if you can afford it.
The precise insulin dosage used by diabetics should be instructed by a doctor after a full workup with follow-ups q6mos to regulate the medication and dosage with close monitoring and instruction of the diet. If medication is not monitored by a doctor, a diabetic can die. If hypoglycemia occurs the patient should see a doctor immediately and adjust the dosage or medication.
ProtonPowder wrote:Health surcharge is literally just $429 a year and NIS doesnt pay healthcare, is basically just a pension and maternity benefits alone. What can $429 per person per year pay for?
Unless you actually have large scale testing to rule out placebo effects of using brand name vs generics and actual side effects, we cant say, is just talk for the man in the OP podcast.
In addition, by and large, people cant follow instructions. They stop their antibiotics halfway through and take their hypertension meds when they feel like it.
My point is that we cant go looking for a boogeyman in the health sector where there may or may not be one without even attempting to take a non anecdotal approach to finding out.
zoom rader wrote:Could be true, I would not trust meds from India.
These 1% pharmacies buy cheap chinese and Indian meds while charging or billing the goverment at Euro prices. These meds are often fake and low quality
Slartibartfast wrote:Is trinidad really poor though? According to Afra Raymond we had $24billion to bail out CL financial. We also got like what... a trillion dollars from oil and gas over the years? How is T&T poor?
Also, the medication is not free. We pay NIS and health surchage. You mean to tell me I need health insurance on top of that? Can I opt of paying it if I want to and just get regular health insurance that is cheaper and (according to you) offers better care?
Also, it's kind of messed up that medicine that can be fatal is ok to give to poor people. What kind of a message does that send? I guess we aren't all equal
Lastly, how is someone going to contact their doctor while they are in a diabetic coma? Remember what was implied is that this is throwing you into hypoglycemia while you are asleep.
Now I'm not a doctor so I can't make any authorative comments on this topic but I just find that things just not adding up. A lot of what you said appears to make sense until you really think about it.
In England, 81% of all drugs in primary care are already prescribed generically, generating significant savings for the NHS. https://www.nhsbsa.nhs.uk/epact2/dashbo ... rescribing
Which medicines should be considered for brand-name prescribing in primary care?
https://www.sps.nhs.uk/wp-content/uploa ... ov2017.pdf
(http://care.diabetesjournals.org/content/40/10/1302 under section "Dietary Manipulations" lots of physicians before 1920s had regimens of fasting and low carb diets. Bernhard Naunyn encouraged a strict carbohydrate-free diet (6,10). He locked patients in their rooms for 5 months when necessary for “sugar-freedom” (6). When sugar-freedom was not attained through the withdrawal of carbohydrate, protein was reduced as low as 40–50 g/day and the calories were also diminished. Occasional fast days were advised as necessary.
Frederick M. Allen of the hospital of The Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research was one of the first to appreciate that diabetes involves total metabolism rather than carbohydrate metabolism alone (6,11). He studied a detailed regimen that involved fasting 2–10 days to clear glycosuria, followed by a restricted-calorie diet that provided mainly fat and protein (especially eggs) with the smallest amount of carbohydrates (mostly vegetables) necessary to sustain life. If glycosuria appeared, fasting was resumed for 1–2 days. The regimen essentially starved people with severe diabetes in order to control the disease.)
maj. tom wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:Is trinidad really poor though? According to Afra Raymond we had $24billion to bail out CL financial. We also got like what... a trillion dollars from oil and gas over the years? How is T&T poor?
Also, the medication is not free. We pay NIS and health surchage. You mean to tell me I need health insurance on top of that? Can I opt of paying it if I want to and just get regular health insurance that is cheaper and (according to you) offers better care?
Also, it's kind of messed up that medicine that can be fatal is ok to give to poor people. What kind of a message does that send? I guess we aren't all equal
Lastly, how is someone going to contact their doctor while they are in a diabetic coma? Remember what was implied is that this is throwing you into hypoglycemia while you are asleep.
Now I'm not a doctor so I can't make any authorative comments on this topic but I just find that things just not adding up. A lot of what you said appears to make sense until you really think about it.
Yes Trinidad is really poor. That money is not allocated in the Health budget. Lay people like to think they can manage money like they manage their household. But National Budget is quite different and it's a monumental task for every government to allocate and correctly use funds to forward the country. Ministry of Health works with what they have and this is what we can afford. There is a drug list and schedule that is created by a team of pharmacists and doctors which is used to prescribe accordingly. It is found here http://www.health.gov.tt/sitepages/default.aspx?id=130 though it is outdated. So why they are using certain medications would need to be addressed to the creators of that list. Here is the NHS list for comparison https://www.england.nhs.uk/publication/ ... rugs-list/ . Remember that the lists are going to be different, where we would rely mostly on the United States Pharmacopeia and suppliers while the NHS would use BP. Why they use generic in CDAP is not a mystery, it's a standard practice in all socialized health care programmes, but let's use the UK NHS as the example.In England, 81% of all drugs in primary care are already prescribed generically, generating significant savings for the NHS. https://www.nhsbsa.nhs.uk/epact2/dashbo ... rescribing
Which medicines should be considered for brand-name prescribing in primary care?
Money is the largest factor. The debt burdened by future taxpayers in Health Care is great. Our current taxes do not pay for it. When you're managing a financial system like that it's important to save money where you can, and that is the whole point of generic medicine. I already addressed that fatal medicine part. Why don't you interview a doctor with these questions to get the correct answers? Your interviewee is just reporting hearsay and anecdotal evidence. A doctor will address why "outdated" medications are prescribed. But it has to do with that list. Every patient is different and side effect are a real thing, etc... i explained it above.
The issue about diabetic coma, that does not happen in diabetics in one dose the first time you take insulin, unless it's a large misdosage, intentional or accidental. This is why insulin is closely monitored by a doctor or nurse. They start low and find a dosage that works. When you experience dropping blood glucose levels in the night you actually wake up and know to immediately get some sugar in your system with a pack of juice. Every diabetic knows this. You don't just slip into a coma unless it was a megadose of insulin. If someone experiences this in the night, they must go by the doctor the next day. And moreover, diabetics are supposed to be prescribed a low carb diet to discourage the body's insulin resistance and rely mainly on dietary ketosis for energy. Quite a difficult task for both the doctor and the patient. Easier to just give them a pack of tablets. How they used to treat and manage Type 1 before the 1920s when insulin was discovered?(http://care.diabetesjournals.org/content/40/10/1302 under section "Dietary Manipulations" lots of physicians before 1920s had regimens of fasting and low carb diets. Bernhard Naunyn encouraged a strict carbohydrate-free diet (6,10). He locked patients in their rooms for 5 months when necessary for “sugar-freedom” (6). When sugar-freedom was not attained through the withdrawal of carbohydrate, protein was reduced as low as 40–50 g/day and the calories were also diminished. Occasional fast days were advised as necessary.
Frederick M. Allen of the hospital of The Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research was one of the first to appreciate that diabetes involves total metabolism rather than carbohydrate metabolism alone (6,11). He studied a detailed regimen that involved fasting 2–10 days to clear glycosuria, followed by a restricted-calorie diet that provided mainly fat and protein (especially eggs) with the smallest amount of carbohydrates (mostly vegetables) necessary to sustain life. If glycosuria appeared, fasting was resumed for 1–2 days. The regimen essentially starved people with severe diabetes in order to control the disease.)
People are bad at following medical instructions. Or just dismiss them thinking everything will be ok. Again, you should interview a doctor who specialises and has more than 20 years experience in treating DM (since it's quite a crisis in the country too, it would make a good topic) and he will go through all these questions you have. I can't answer them because they're beyond my scope, but I am encouraging you to take a scientific stand on these issues rather than rile up stupid people on the internet like Trevor Sayers and radio talk hosts with he say, she say, doctors bad, etc, etc. You know what I mean, especially the facebook sharing crowd. Heh, don't even get started with anti-vaccination know-it-all idiots.
maj. tom wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:Is trinidad really poor though? According to Afra Raymond we had $24billion to bail out CL financial. We also got like what... a trillion dollars from oil and gas over the years? How is T&T poor?
Yes Trinidad is really poor. That money is not allocated in the Health budget. Lay people like to think they can manage money like they manage their household. But National Budget is quite different and it's a monumental task for every government to allocate and correctly use funds to forward the country. Ministry of Health works with what they have and this is what we can afford. There is a drug list and schedule that is created by a team of pharmacists and doctors which is used to prescribe accordingly. It is found here http://www.health.gov.tt/sitepages/default.aspx?id=130 though it is outdated. So why they are using certain medications would need to be addressed to the creators of that list. Here is the NHS list for comparison https://www.england.nhs.uk/publication/ ... rugs-list/ . Remember that the lists are going to be different, where we would rely mostly on the United States Pharmacopeia and suppliers while the NHS would use BP. Why they use generic in CDAP is not a mystery, it's a standard practice in all socialized health care programmes, but let's use the UK NHS as the example.In England, 81% of all drugs in primary care are already prescribed generically, generating significant savings for the NHS. https://www.nhsbsa.nhs.uk/epact2/dashbo ... rescribing
Money is the largest factor. The debt burdened by future taxpayers in Health Care is great. Our current taxes do not pay for it. When you're managing a financial system like that it's important to save money where you can, and that is the whole point of generic medicine. I already addressed that fatal medicine part. Why don't you interview a doctor with these questions to get the correct answers? Your interviewee is just reporting hearsay and anecdotal evidence. A doctor will address why "outdated" medications are prescribed. But it has to do with that list. Every patient is different and side effect are a real thing, etc... i explained it above.
The issue about diabetic coma, that does not happen in diabetics in one dose the first time you take insulin, unless it's a large misdosage, intentional or accidental. This is why insulin is closely monitored by a doctor or nurse. They start low and find a dosage that works. When you experience dropping blood glucose levels in the night you actually wake up and know to immediately get some sugar in your system with a pack of juice. Every diabetic knows this. You don't just slip into a coma unless it was a megadose of insulin. If someone experiences this in the night, they must go by the doctor the next day. And moreover, diabetics are supposed to be prescribed a low carb diet to discourage the body's insulin resistance and rely mainly on dietary ketosis for energy. Quite a difficult task for both the doctor and the patient. Easier to just give them a pack of tablets. How they used to treat and manage Type 1 before the 1920s when insulin was discovered?(http://care.diabetesjournals.org/content/40/10/1302 under section "Dietary Manipulations" lots of physicians before 1920s had regimens of fasting and low carb diets. Bernhard Naunyn encouraged a strict carbohydrate-free diet (6,10). He locked patients in their rooms for 5 months when necessary for “sugar-freedom” (6). When sugar-freedom was not attained through the withdrawal of carbohydrate, protein was reduced as low as 40–50 g/day and the calories were also diminished. Occasional fast days were advised as necessary.
People are bad at following medical instructions. Or just dismiss them thinking everything will be ok. Again, you should interview a doctor who specialises and has more than 20 years experience in treating DM (since it's quite a crisis in the country too, it would make a good topic) and he will go through all these questions you have. I can't answer them because they're beyond my scope, but I am encouraging you to take a scientific stand on these issues rather than rile up stupid people on the internet like Trevor Sayers and radio talk hosts with he say, she say, doctors bad, etc, etc. You know what I mean, especially the facebook sharing crowd. Heh, don't even get started with anti-vaccination know-it-all idiots.
innocent criminal wrote:How many times did deaths happen? Are the cases confirmed
Phone Surgeon wrote:doctors/staff/clerks/storekeepers...anyone who works in mt hope or the hospitals arent allowed to talk about anything that happens in the hospital...otherwise you get fired very fast
now and then a doctor will get fedup and talk on social media about how much patients die because current gone and generator wasnt working or they didnt have medicine or etc etc
then within a day they will quickly disappear from social media for a few months when their bosses brace them and remind them whats in their contract.
right now anyone who working mt hope will tell you to make sure and take out health insurance so you can go private, because if you end up in the hospital you in for some dred suffering.
they arent paying their suppliers so they have stopped supplying them.
nurses and doctors are stealing what little supplies it have to resell and use for their private practices
it have situations where they forced to use adult sized needles on children because....somehow all the children sized needles missing
real bacchanal in those hospitals these days