Kiosks concern - investigation launched into contract costing taxpayers $300M

Re: Kiosks concern - investigation launched into contract costing taxpayers $300M

Postby De Dragon » May 12th, 2019, 10:19 am

pugboy wrote:Novo sounding confident bout their contract
A la life sport Daniel maths lessons $34m contract

Heck I would make sure and have a tight piece of paper if I going for the whole hog

Like the LifeSport Daniel fackery, Novo knows their money is safe. Even if the contract was awarded improperly, the GORTT have to either still honour it, or pay to extricate themselves from it and possibly get sued.

Re: Kiosks concern - investigation launched into contract costing taxpayers $300M

Postby zoom rader » May 12th, 2019, 11:06 am

Heck I would make sure and have a tight piece of paper if I going for the whole hog

Like the LifeSport Daniel fackery, Novo knows their money is safe. Even if the contract was awarded improperly, the GORTT have to either still honour it, or pay to extricate themselves from it and possibly get sued.
PNM ppl silent on this one

Postby pugboy » May 12th, 2019, 11:27 am

look like they learnt well from Mr. Daniel and the other chap whom Ramesh representing for another big contract that he gonna likely win

Postby rspann » May 12th, 2019, 11:30 am

We have to wait to get the facts before we make a pronouncement.

#becausekamlateefoutallthemoney

Postby De Dragon » May 12th, 2019, 12:03 pm

Redman " is it value for money though?"
Two Plate "iz value for de morneyyy"
JUHN Scarfy/Arse Wari/Goebbels Young "Ok"

Postby pugboy » May 12th, 2019, 12:38 pm

I find kamala and dem quiet about this
like the mouth machine gone for repairs

Postby rspann » May 12th, 2019, 12:42 pm

When allegations of wrongdoing surface : We wait for facts if it's done by the PNM

We come to a verdict immediately if done by the UNC.

Postby Redman » May 12th, 2019, 12:42 pm

If I don't know ...I don't know.
Im not interested in babbling like you about stuff that we have no facts on.
You and ZR do enough of that for 10 forums.

Let's see crops up

Postby De Dragon » May 12th, 2019, 12:56 pm

Redman wrote:If I don't know ...I don't know.

Let's see crops up

I like to imagine you typing that with a straight face, but I can't. Even you cannot be so obstinate. You jumped in feet first in the Ramlogan/Ramdeen thread with your guilty pronouncements, yet here you are all of a sudden when it is alleged PNM corruption, citing due process and ignorance.
Last edited by De Dragon on May 12th, 2019, 3:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby paid_influencer » May 12th, 2019, 1:39 pm

it is not pnm corruption. pnm ministers are painting the contract as AATT's doing.

I have a feeling that Young blew his trigger without all the information. Novo talking... RLM is their lawyer.. PNM shoot themselve in the foot.

Postby pugboy » May 12th, 2019, 2:35 pm

Agree he like to run he mouth and don’t think he too acquainted with tiefing procedures

Postby The_Honourable » May 12th, 2019, 3:51 pm

Outside parliament too so privilege absent. Either Young sure what he is saying or he get a royal set up where Novo ready to collect damages (taxpayers money).

Postby zoom rader » May 12th, 2019, 4:00 pm

Let's see crops up
So in your books non PNM guilty cause PNM say so and they raid some injun houses to build support.

But in PNM case you need to wait and see the facts?

How long the right minded public waiting on email gate

Postby Redman » May 12th, 2019, 4:10 pm

Let's see crops up

I like to imagine you typing that with a straight face, but I can't. Even you cannot be so obstinate. You jumped in feet first in the Ramlogan/Ramdeen thread with your guilty pronouncements, yet here you are all of a sudden when it is alleged PNM corruption, citing due process and ignorance.

You should cite your ignorance instead of so clearly demonstrating it.
Ad nauseam

Postby Dizzy28 » May 12th, 2019, 4:35 pm

Post Cabinet briefings are not considered as part of Parliament??
The_Honourable wrote:Outside parliament too so privilege absent. Either Young sure what he is saying or he get a royal set up where Novo ready to collect damages (taxpayers money).

Postby zoom rader » May 12th, 2019, 4:46 pm

Redman wrote:

Let's see crops up

Ad nauseam
So Redman, && and Ram guilty as PNM say?

Postby De Dragon » May 12th, 2019, 4:52 pm

Redman wrote:

Let's see crops up

Ad nauseam

What the hell did you type there? Cite my ignorance? Not everybody like to blow their own, and PNM power brokers horns like you :wink:
Yes, you're correct, you are nauseating.

Postby bluefete » May 12th, 2019, 7:13 pm

Ah tell allyuh Stuartie and Shortman and dem miss out.

ttps://newsday.co.tt/2019/05/12/novo-go ... -baseless/

Novo: Govt attack baseless
Probe of US$43m airport kiosks contract

Novo Technologies, the firm at the heart of a Cabinet-sanctioned investigation into the process and execution of a contract awarded by the Airports Authority for passport scanning kiosks, has hit back at the Government, denying all claims of impropriety.

“This ill-founded, misguided and baseless attack has cast a shadow on Novo’s otherwise unblemished record gained from years of innovation in the technology sphere. In our view the minister’s comments and insinuations were clearly uninformed and made without a full appreciation of all the facts surrounding the award of this contract,” the company said in a statement yesterday.

On Thursday, during the post-Cabinet media briefing, Communications Minister Stuart Young announced that the Government had appointed retired Justice Rolston Nelson to investigate just how Novo won the contract, which was awarded in December 2017, and amended in March 2018. Young alleged the contract was awarded without following the proper tendering process and the amended terms meant the AATT had to pay Novo a minimum of US$510,000 per month. If the contract is terminated before its seven-year duration, the AATT would have to pay the full amount to Novo, approximately US$43 million (TT$300 million). Cabinet had no idea about the contract, nor the terms attached to it. It was only discovered when the AATT, not being able to pay its fees to Novo, asked its line ministry, Works and Transport for money. Works and Transport forwarded the request to the Ministry of Finance who queried the request.

Former AATT chairman, Nigel Ferguson, under whose tenure the contract was awarded, told Sunday Newsday there was nothing more for him to say. “I hope that after the investigator has investigated and his findings are made public then we can have discussions,” he said.

Novo, however, contended that throughout the negotiation and implementation of the project, it “acted with integrity, transparency and accountability.”

“(Novo) categorically refutes the allegations by (Young) the Minister of National Security, Stuart Young ... that there are ‘red flags’ with respect (to the contract),” it said.

The company has been in existence for over ten years, and operates through the region.

It specialises in e-payments processing, identity management and border control solutions. Aside from the AATT, the company, according to its website, has built digital platforms WASA, the TT food card programme, and the Central Bank.

The company said the AATT “engaged” them in 2017 for a border control solution.

This system included passenger kiosks, departure e-gates and boarding gates for both the Piarco International Airport and ANR Robinson International Airport.

But even though the system was supposed to help with processing passengers arriving at ports of entry, Young noted the software was not actually linked to the Immigration Division’s system, so all the machines really did was enable the people who used them to go through the shorter line in immigration, but still had to check in with an immigration officer.

The kiosks were officially unveiled in July, last year. The Works and Transport Ministry is seeking legal advice on whether or not it can terminate the contract, Young said in the post-Cabinet briefing.

Novo said it found the Government’s timing “curious.”

“We find it curious that at this stage, the Government having launched this project, is now attempting to impeach the process after we have fully performed all of our contractual obligations to date at a significant cost to the company. Novo will not be intimidated by these oppressive actions and will defend its contractual rights and reputation vigorously.”

The company said because of confidentiality it could not reveal more about the contract but will continue to service it under the terms. It has also referred the matter to its attorney, former AG Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj. 17 Hrs Ago Carla Bridglal

Postby The_Honourable » May 12th, 2019, 11:20 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Post Cabinet briefings are not considered as part of Parliament??
The_Honourable wrote:Outside parliament too so privilege absent. Either Young sure what he is saying or he get a royal set up where Novo ready to collect damages (taxpayers money).

Don't think so, stand to be corrected.

In the chamber itself, you safe. Outside of that you're in trouble.

Postby Redman » May 13th, 2019, 4:11 am

It's in the confines of Parliament

Postby Redman » May 13th, 2019, 5:06 am

Redman wrote:

Let's see crops up

Ad nauseam

As PNM say?
You eh easy at all.

I think that for them to pull the trigger and move on Ramlogan and Ramdeen they would have evidence that is hard to deny.
Simply due to the fact that these guys are senior attorneys, and heavy hitters in the industry and politics.
So I definitely think the state has the upper hand and should win.

This is Trinidad....so guilty is a long way off-they might cop pleas as well

Postby zoom rader » May 13th, 2019, 7:49 am

Redman wrote:

Let's see crops up

Ad nauseam

As PNM say?
You eh easy at all.

I think that for them to pull the trigger and move on Ramlogan and Ramdeen they would have evidence that is hard to deny.
Simply due to the fact that these guys are senior attorneys, and heavy hitters in the industry and politics.

They said the same about emailgate and look where that is today.

Remember voter padding before elections , PNM said it was injuns voter padding . It was a big hype at the time when in fact it was PNM ppl that was convicted years later. All cases against injuns was dropped but the damage was already done

As you said two senior attorneys, and heavy hitters in the industry and politics, they have to be real dumb to get caught up in this perceived mess. This looks like an emailgate to build support and confidence for the guidable public. The timings and raiding of Injun businessmen home again appears tobe propaganda as PNM wants to show that injuns cannot be trusted in politics and are involved in crime . PNM keeps repeating the same formula.

Drag peoples names through the mud build cases against them make them spend money while PNM spends nothing cause they have state to fight cases. Time it for elections so the not so bright public will think twice about voting for a perceived injun party .

As we all know the not so bright public tend tobe the folk that support PNM and sit on the fence

Postby pugboy » May 13th, 2019, 8:01 am

to be fair(?lol)

this might be the first true bobol scandal under this govt apart from ferris rentals which is more private deal
and a&v which prob been going on donkey years

Postby Ben_spanna » May 13th, 2019, 8:11 am

Kiosks
Fake Oil
Extravagant rent for empty Woodbrook tower
Petrotrin

these will all be forgotten in the next month and all the $$BILLIONS of our money will also be forgotten.

it really does pay to be in politics in Trinidad

Postby pugboy » May 13th, 2019, 8:22 am

its actually two properties
one on the corner which they collecting rent long time even from pp days
and the one north next to it which is the more recent news

Ben_spanna wrote:Kiosks
Fake Oil
Extravagant rent for empty Woodbrook tower
Petrotrin

these will all be forgotten in the next month and all the $$BILLIONS of our money will also be forgotten.

it really does pay to be in politics in Trinidad

Postby maj. tom » May 13th, 2019, 8:23 am

But everyone still remembers how the Treasury empty, Kamla teef it out.

Postby pugboy » May 13th, 2019, 8:32 am

well if you came to take and find out all taken
you wouldnt be vex too ?

maj. tom wrote:But everyone still remembers how the Treasury empty, Kamla teef it out.

Postby Redman » May 13th, 2019, 8:33 am

Redman wrote:

Let's see crops up

Ad nauseam

As PNM say?
You eh easy at all.

Remember voter padding before elections , PNM said it was injuns voter padding . It was a big hype at the time when in fact it was PNM ppl that was convicted years later. All cases against injuns was dropped but the damage was already done

As you said two senior attorneys, and heavy hitters in the industry and politics, they have to be real dumb to get caught up in this perceived mess. This looks like an emailgate to build support and confidence for the guidable public. The timings and raiding of Injun businessmen home again appears tobe propaganda as PNM wants to show that injuns cannot be trusted in politics and are involved in crime . PNM keeps repeating the same formula.

Drag peoples names through the mud build cases against them make them spend money while PNM spends nothing cause they have state to fight cases. Time it for elections so the not so bright public will think twice about voting for a perceived injun party .

As we all know the not so bright public tend tobe the folk that support PNM and sit on the fence

Well if senior people didnt get caught doing dotishness-what would you post about? :D

I really dont care who run the country-ONCE IT IS RUN WELL.

I dont care what the verdict is-ONCE IT IS REAL TRUTHFUL JUSTICE..(in this context)

I dont care who teif....ONCE WE CATCH,PROSECUTE, and JUDGE them FAIRLY.

Everything else is just old talk.

Postby Ben_spanna » May 13th, 2019, 8:45 am

Redman wrote:

Let's see crops up

Ad nauseam

As PNM say?
You eh easy at all.

Well if senior people didnt get caught doing dotishness-what would you post about? :D

I really dont care who run the country-ONCE IT IS RUN WELL.

I dont care what the verdict is-ONCE IT IS REAL TRUTHFUL JUSTICE..(in this context)

I dont care who teif....ONCE WE CATCH,PROSECUTE, and JUDGE them FAIRLY.

Everything else is just old talk.

AGREED- but history and this board in general has shown that Racism and Blind tribal stupidity will always trump Politics in Trinidad. Far too many people throw their support behind their favorite PArty for no good reason other than "they dont want the opposition to win" attitude and look where its taken this country. ...straight down the gutters.

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » May 13th, 2019, 8:56 am

maj. tom wrote:But everyone still remembers how the Treasury empty, Kamla teef it out.

That's cause PNM marketing more on point. UNC hadda get more sticky messages out dey. Learn from de PNM. :drinking: :drinking: