Kasey wrote:So the website says to input the name of a committee member in order to complete an application for tickets. Anyone know a committee member?
thelem-again wrote:Never understood this beg-to-spend-my-money-to-come-your party syndrome in Trinidad. All under the guise of exclusivity and social control.
pugboy wrote:Put Gerry Hadeed
eliteauto wrote:thelem-again wrote:Never understood this beg-to-spend-my-money-to-come-your party syndrome in Trinidad. All under the guise of exclusivity and social control.
not aimed at the OP, but I agree with this 100%
pugboy wrote:Put Gerry Hadeed
thelem-again wrote:Never understood this beg-to-spend-my-money-to-come-your party syndrome in Trinidad. All under the guise of exclusivity and social control.
share some your vast travel stories wit we nah DaranRedress10 wrote:eliteauto wrote:thelem-again wrote:Never understood this beg-to-spend-my-money-to-come-your party syndrome in Trinidad. All under the guise of exclusivity and social control.
Trinidad doesn't have natural segregtion so the people have to create it via imagined social status etc.
Think about all of those "prestigious" schools. They are all government funded and non fee paying so basically they are like any other government school. In the developed world in places such as England or USA their prestigious schools are fee paying costing upwards of 40/50 grand usd per year tuition.
Committee membership to access stuff etc is just a way to make ppl in tnt feel important abt themselves with their basic lives and jobs etc. Trinis need to really travel/live abroad to see what "high society" really looks and feels like. It's not determined by what "fetes" ya cud access.
eliteauto wrote:how yuh does storm an event 3 weeks before it?
A172 wrote:share some your vast travel stories wit we nah DaranRedress10 wrote:eliteauto wrote:thelem-again wrote:Never understood this beg-to-spend-my-money-to-come-your party syndrome in Trinidad. All under the guise of exclusivity and social control.
Trinidad doesn't have natural segregtion so the people have to create it via imagined social status etc.
Think about all of those "prestigious" schools. They are all government funded and non fee paying so basically they are like any other government school. In the developed world in places such as England or USA their prestigious schools are fee paying costing upwards of 40/50 grand usd per year tuition.
Committee membership to access stuff etc is just a way to make ppl in tnt feel important abt themselves with their basic lives and jobs etc. Trinis need to really travel/live abroad to see what "high society" really looks and feels like. It's not determined by what "fetes" ya cud access.
kRedress10 wrote:A172 wrote:share some your vast travel stories wit we nah DaranRedress10 wrote:eliteauto wrote:thelem-again wrote:Never understood this beg-to-spend-my-money-to-come-your party syndrome in Trinidad. All under the guise of exclusivity and social control.
No need for stories bro. Basic economics.
TT economy weak and tt currency depreciating by the second. The weaker they both get then the less things will be valued in TnT(houses etc). The more that happens the more difficult it would be for people in TT to attain them. Hence other things (fete exclusivity, costumes etc)would have to be held as status symbols to compensate for lack of actual assets.
Remember every country has its status symbols. Ours just happen to be things such as these. Anything purported to be "exclusive" is meant to be promoted as a status symbol.
rspann wrote:Wannabes. The kind of things that are important to some people. I guess when your life is not the way you like it to be, you just fill it with something else. What's the satisfaction? In your mind/imagination that you are somehow important in other people's eyes?
Kasey wrote:Sooooo......I guess this thread was a waste of time then?
No assistance whatsoever?
SMc wrote: worst case scenario just say you know Duane, cant get brace
maj. tom wrote:What is a jamishness? A breakthrough kind of procedure in medicine? Like Josie needs some kind of assistance for the hospital?
What going on?
5 seconds later on Google...wait... this man asking for assistance to attend a party?!!! wdmc does...