Fiddy wrote:Hi everyone,
My wife, son and I are going for our Visas soon. My wife and I are both 31 and we are owners of a registered business. What are our chances of being successful? TIA.
xtech wrote:Fiddy wrote:Hi everyone,
My wife, son and I are going for our Visas soon. My wife and I are both 31 and we are owners of a registered business. What are our chances of being successful? TIA.
Slim... already looking suspect to me.
But if you tell them you are doing this to meet with and source new suppliers to expand your business as it’s your main source of income. Your chances will increase.
Don’t talk about vacation as main reason. They will say go Tobago. Since to them where we live is the ideal place for vacation.
Fiddy wrote:Thanks for the tips.
Just inquiring as to why you said 'Slim... already looking suspect'?
SMc wrote:Fiddy wrote:Thanks for the tips.
Just inquiring as to why you said 'Slim... already looking suspect'?
Agreed, why would going on vacation be suspect? 80% of my travel is for vacation and I dont get any issues
xtech wrote:SMc wrote:Fiddy wrote:
Once you have the visa You can do whatever you like with it as long as they let you use it at the border.
So as a young family with no really strong ties keeping them in Trinidad in order to increase your chances of getting the visa since you got your own buisness stress you want to travel primarily for biz purposes.
christopherwilliams2 wrote:ah GT allyuh
Fiddy wrote:Understood. I went searching and found a trade convention that we will actually like to attend and luckily it's happening around the time that we want to travel. I'll mention it during the interview. Thanks again.
Kenjo wrote:christopherwilliams2 wrote:ah GT allyuh
How was the process since it should still be fresh in your mind ?
vaiostation wrote:Having a sponsor makes the process a whole lot easier...
rspann wrote:Christopher, if I get you right, this was a first time application and not a renewal?
vaiostation wrote:Having a sponsor makes the process a whole lot easier...
U mean someone who is living in the USA legally and has a job and house etc?christopherwilliams2 wrote:vaiostation wrote:Having a sponsor makes the process a whole lot easier...
Someone who can validly support you in the USA.
Once they've sent you all their documents and finance proof...
Fiddy wrote:We GT!!!!!
As business owners, we mentioned that we wanted to attend a trade convention and do a little vacation on the side. My wife did extensive research on the convention so we were able to answer questions like the date of the convention, location, what the convention is about and the reason why we want to attend. She asked if we had any evidence of the convention, my wife then handed her a flyer which I assumed she checked to ensure that it is in fact a real event.
christopherwilliams2, I think we got the same interviewer as you. She was indeed loud and we could hear everything she asked people. Every applicant before us was told "I'm sorry but due to immigration law I cannot approve your visa". I started to cold sweat and pray that we don't go to her then BAM she calls us. She was pleasant though. She focused on why I stayed 5 months during my teens and the purpose for our trip, she kept going back and forth between these 2 topics to make sure that we were telling the truth. She asked us for our marriage certificate, son's birth certificate, business incorporation documents, bank statements (personal and business) and the purpose of our trip. When she said "Your visas have been approved, do enjoy your trip", I couldn't stop smiling.
Jade_Inc. wrote:U mean someone who is living in the USA legally and has a job and house etc?christopherwilliams2 wrote:vaiostation wrote:Having a sponsor makes the process a whole lot easier...
Someone who can validly support you in the USA.
Once they've sent you all their documents and finance proof...
zoom rader wrote:Never had a problem for a US visa , cause I never applied nor will I ever.
Europe visa free
Fiddy wrote:We GT!!!!!
As business owners, we mentioned that we wanted to attend a trade convention and do a little vacation on the side. My wife did extensive research on the convention so we were able to answer questions like the date of the convention, location, what the convention is about and the reason why we want to attend. She asked if we had any evidence of the convention, my wife then handed her a flyer which I assumed she checked to ensure that it is in fact a real event.
christopherwilliams2, I think we got the same interviewer as you. She was indeed loud and we could hear everything she asked people. Every applicant before us was told "I'm sorry but due to immigration law I cannot approve your visa". I started to cold sweat and pray that we don't go to her then BAM she calls us. She was pleasant though. She focused on why I stayed 5 months during my teens and the purpose for our trip, she kept going back and forth between these 2 topics to make sure that we were telling the truth. She asked us for our marriage certificate, son's birth certificate, business incorporation documents, bank statements (personal and business) and the purpose of our trip. When she said "Your visas have been approved, do enjoy your trip", I couldn't stop smiling.
Bro ditch the US, Europe is far better and better mannered folk. More culture and way much more to learn and see.Nexus wrote:Congrats.
The next step is travelling and the chance of being pulled aside by immigration for further questioning. It is quite a nerve wracking experience and a bit embarrassing as everyone in the line see's you being pulled aside.
From my own experience having been pulled aside almost anytime I travel, what can I say:
- BE CALM!!! When approaching the immigration desk, listen carefully and answer directly, do not look fidgety. Last time thru MIA the guy had like a haitian accent and I had to keep asking him to repeat, maybe this flagged me.
- Have all your documents easily accessible on hand, this being passport for you and the family, reservations (hotel, car, theme parks), know the addresses as well. I always prepare and carry an Itinerary showing where I will be with contact information and a rough daily schedule.
- If you do get pulled over by Immigration, doh panic! You go be sh!ting bricks inside, but remember, you aint do nothing wrong! You will be escorted (along with your family) to a very glum looking room filed with armed officers and lots of other brown people that have also been pulled aside. The wait in there could vary, usually around 1/2 hr. Sometimes they will call you into a room, ask you a few questions (varies, but from my experience it has been things on my travel plans, travel history, job, whether I've been to the mid eat/ africa). After that you might either be sent to wait again and undergo a more extensive interview or be released (yes it is jail in some form or fashion). Now the Officers I found are just like public servants/ police here; some hog some very respectable. At all times be respectable, yes sir, no sir.
- Another tactic is sometimes you may get through immigration but flagged for a 'secondary baggage inspection' which in my limited experience seems to be the same background check just a little less stringent, not in a special room. This happened to me a time flying through Orlando, they were very crafty in how it was done. After immigration they informed me of the secondary baggage screening and sent me to collect the luggage while an officer 'kept my wife company'. When I had all the bags, I was sent to a special line and up to a counter (again everybody on the flight seeing this) where an officer asked me to open my bags, he didnt really seem to be interested in the contents but asked me some friendly questions all the while I guess trying to pick me. I was travelling with some of my camera gear at the time and he seemed interested in that! After I was discharged and my wife who was on the next side of the counter joined me back; she said the other officer asked her a bunch of questions about how we met, what do we do etc.... the officers I guess would have compared our stories.
I'm sure some other might have some good advice/ experiences to share. I have heard of persons being escorted off the plane itself. Generally I dislike MIA the most when traveling.
Good luck to you both, remember.... just be calm