Looking for used power tools

Re: Looking for used power tools

Postby 88sins » March 13th, 2019, 7:43 pm

Defiant wrote:My lil 2cents on the topic, do you have a budget for the tools in question with a deadline to get them?. Reason being is the best brand tool is worthless with the cheapest consumables, a quality blade on a cheap saw will make short work of a task compared to high end tool with a shitty blade. So buy within reason and spend a little more on your blades and bits, also if you are drilling frequent concrete holes then buy a SDS drill with chipping function from a reputable brand(Bosch has a nice selection). Take a little time and get to understand the tools, their limitations and the blades/bits best suited for what. Save up and build that tool box with what you require and lastly make a LIST of your tools and write down who you lent your tools to.

What? Lend tools? Not me and dat.
Son, this is just me eh, but the people I dont really lend tools that easy. sort of ppl that tend to want to borrow tools are the same sort that will happily lose, damage or destroy them with misuse with zero hesitation or remorse, even conveniently 'forget' to return them. and they more likely than not will not be enthusiastic about replacing or repairing your tools when they damage or lose them. They tend to want the convenience, but not the responsibility or the expense. If is someone I know really well and I know for a fact they are responsible and reliable, I migh take a chance to lend them something. but in general I personally don't lend tools. Stopped years ago when a man borrowed a 4" long 1 inch socket extension. anyone that knows about tools kno, it eh a regular thing to break a 1" extension.

one time a fella on my side see I using my dewalt recip saw and come to ask me to borrow it. he didn't kno that I know he had one exactly like it, and that I personally see him literally tossing his own on concrete when he using it. notice I eh say drop eh, he used to actually fling the thing and is d cord used to stop it or it hitting something solid most times. I seeing dat, and go willingly lend he mine?
I laugh so hard when he asked I didn't even have to say no.

I doh like to tell ppl what to do with their property, but I don't advocate for lending tools at all. Bad idea.

Postby Gladiator » March 13th, 2019, 8:04 pm

I have the following used for sale. If you are interested PM me... everything works well and taken very good care of.

Postby X_Factor » March 13th, 2019, 11:10 pm

Just dont buy the cheapest, because that sunday evening when you are using it and it decides to stop working and you really need it to finish the job
you will say to your self " i should have bought the other brand"

buy something good once, regular brands ( porter cable, makita, dewalt, milwaukee, bosch) should be the brands you should look at) but for DIY, porter cable seems to have the best value for money

pay attention to the amperage of the tool you buy, dont buy the lowest amperage the brand offers, e.g) 6amp grinder vs 8-11
a paddle switch on a grinder should be a must have feature for safety purposes

routers are generally expensive, and you will have to decide what features you need, e.g variable speed, fixed based/plunge combo etc

Postby Rovin » March 14th, 2019, 12:30 pm

X_Factor wrote:Just dont buy the cheapest, because that sunday evening when you are using it and it decides to stop working and you really need it to finish the job
you will say to your self " i should have bought the other brand"

buy something good once, regular brands ( porter cable, makita, dewalt, milwaukee, bosch) should be the brands you should look at)
but for DIY, porter cable seems to have the best value for money

pay attention to the amperage of the tool you buy, dont buy the lowest amperage the brand offers, e.g) 6amp grinder vs 8-11
a paddle switch on a grinder should be a must have feature for safety purposes

routers are generally expensive, and you will have to decide what features you need, e.g variable speed, fixed based/plunge combo etc

same thing i said in d previous page but man saying wey u buying dem good brands when a cheaper 1 will do even if u using it occasionally

they will end up buying cheap & 1 day come in to a situation where better is needed then wonder boi i shud buy d better 1 inno

ppl who bought cheap & say to themselves well it working so whats d big deal - when u dont know\experience what d better is : how u will know

ever experience how smoother\safer a better saw cuts , or how quieter , how much nicer it feels in ur hands while operating , how much more faster or more efficient a better drill or grinder is , how nicer a better router or jigsaw cuts etc

of course any tool that requires a blade : buy d best u can afford

i eh beatin up about ah next man spending he $ inno but i guess only way some will learn is buy cheap then double spend on more advance to get d experience of what better is .... :| :| :|

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » March 14th, 2019, 12:52 pm

RedVEVO wrote:Order via Amazon ..

It's cheaper than Trini used .

Started off small as well recently used amazon for the following NEW:
1. Gas powered washer 2700 PSI Honda - 200 USD,
2. Dewalt Drill - with 2 lit batteries- 210 USD
3. Husqvarna gas powered blower. - 140 USD

Next will get hedge trimmer, and small air compressor.

Postby hydroep » March 14th, 2019, 1:02 pm

Agreed on buying something good and done the talk yes, but not everybody could afford good tools if you're starting out.

Got a McCulloch Hammer Drill at PriceSmart when they now opened...paid around $ 250.00 IIRC. Got my money's worth from that thing many times over and it's still going. The trigger is crapping out though...opened it up the other day and the brushes only about 1/2 way worn. The problem with those cheaper brands is you cannot easily get parts for them, you either have to work up a substitute or toss and buy a new one.

It all depends on the job and duty cycle. Things like impact driving and concrete chiseling are hard on tools, so don't cheap out. But if is soft wood yuh drilling a few hours every month most of those $ 300.00 drills could easily handle that... 8-)

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » March 14th, 2019, 1:19 pm

mitch1980 wrote:

2. Dewalt Drill - with 2 drills and an extra pair of lit batteries- 210 USD

Postby RedVEVO » March 14th, 2019, 4:14 pm

mitch1980 wrote:

2. Dewalt Drill - with 2 lit batteries- 210 USD

Good work Tuner.

Try Ebay - you will get excellent deals !

Use PayPal for payment .

matix

Postby matix » March 14th, 2019, 9:10 pm

Used combo kit and bar b que grill.
viewtopic.php?p=9890858#p9890858