marcop2487 wrote:Hey guys. Do you'll have any links on persons selling used power tools in a good condition?
I have some DIY work coming up and want to start stocking up my tool shed for weekend projects.
Any decent references would be appreciated.
Won't the customs duties jack up the price?RedVEVO wrote:Order via Amazon ..
It's cheaper than Trini used .
Rovin wrote:i dont like to buy anything used , too much uncertainties
imho do it right d 1st time get some good reputable brands like milwaukee , bosch , makita , dewalt , porter cable , even hitachi etc .... nowadays majority of tools coming cordless
stay away from black & decker , skil , stanley & any off key sounding names , they not well built\durable , under powered & not so accurate
youtube has more info than any of us can type here ....
88sins wrote:Rovin wrote:i dont like to buy anything used , too much uncertainties
imho do it right d 1st time get some good reputable brands like milwaukee , bosch , makita , dewalt , porter cable , even hitachi etc .... nowadays majority of tools coming cordless
stay away from black & decker , skil , stanley & any off key sounding names , they not well built\durable , under powered & not so accurate
youtube has more info than any of us can type here ....
I'm a tad curious where you got this idea, because my B&D drill, saws, grinder & other tools would disagree with you.
I have quite a few Milwaukee & Dewalt pieces as well, but I primarily put the B&D tools thru more work over the years than the other brands & they have not failed to perform so far, & the corded B&D drill is primarily used for mixing thinset btw. Never burnt, never repaired, & still going like strong, & is not only home it taking work, when i have tile work it's outside what I take to use. The trick is to know how to use the tool in question, and to know how much abuse it can handle safely & not take it past that point.
op,
as u now starting out & you not planning on building a bridge to London, you don't really need ultra heavy duty name brand tools. as a DIYer, simple mid priced tools will suffice for your projects. It's not like you renting them out so it's not like you trying to ensure that it'll withstand the abuse a random mook that rent it from you would give it. & unless you catering to totally abuse or neglect your tools, intentionally or otherwise, even cheaper tools will last a good long time.
The only reasons I could see for buying the brands Rovin mentioned is if you collecting tools that will see heavy use & a degree of abuse/neglect & you need a work horse of a tool, or as a DIYer if yuh really eh have nuttn better to spend yuh money on so then yuh buy the most expensive whatever.
Notice, I say mid-priced eh. you don't have to buy the most expensive saw/drill/recip saw/grinder/whatever, but for the love of common sense, stay away from the dirt cheap stuff unless you like tools that give up on you within a few uses.
If you see something that's relatively cheap, nothing wrong with going home & researching the brand make & model to see if to you you'd find it's worth the money they asking for it.
Hi, my dad got a Stanley grinder 400.00 at SWS last weekend.marcop2487 wrote:Circular saw, jigsaw, router saw and angle grinder
Thanks for the list buildmaj. tom wrote:Check Pricesmart. Have ok minor stuff; you're not a professional contractor, so no need to pay those prices for high end tools u will hardly use. In time, if u realize u need better, check Tool Store. I bought a Skil circular saw in Pricesmart and it's quite decent.
I advise against buying used power tools because u really have no idea what condition they are in on the inside. No warranty, no guarantee. Lose all your money tmrw if it stops working.
Some basic stuff and still collecting:
Skil Saw.
A good balanced hammer.
Framing square.
Cordless Power screwdriver set.
A good measuring tape. Stanley brand is good.
A few general purpose Clamps.
Hammer drill with some drill bits.
A socket set + wrench set including an adjustable wrench.
Basic 3 pliers set - needle nose, cutting, slip joint.
Allen key set.
A jigsaw is always nice.
1 manual multi-head ratchet screwdriver. And other cheap screwdrivers.
1 trowel + shovel.
Vise-grip.
Crowbar. Get a large one and a small pry-bar for nails.
Eye protection+hearing protection.
And many other miscellaneous items that you will eventually buy for specific jobs.
First thing is build a tool box to store all that.
marcop2487 wrote:Won't the customs duties jack up the price?RedVEVO wrote:Order via Amazon ..
It's cheaper than Trini used .
88sins wrote:doh study RedVAGINA
http://www.customs.gov.tt/importing/duties-and-payment
Tools, whether power or manual, are classified under Misc. iirc