USDM != JDM/Export

They seem pretty good down here.

Re: Scotty Kilmer on the Truth about Mitsubishi Cars

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 11th, 2019, 10:09 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:USDM != JDM/Export

From people I know locally the sentiments are the same as scotty kilmer, lancers specifically have horrible reliability, parts are expensive and hard to get.

Maybe its their cars that are bad? cause the Mitsubishi Fuso trucks are really top notch reliable and have tons of power, much more than DAF trucks when they get old. The DAF sucks dog sh!t when they get old while the Fuso keeps on pumping out huge amount of torque.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 11th, 2019, 10:21 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:USDM != JDM/Export

From people I know locally the sentiments are the same as scotty kilmer, lancers specifically have horrible reliability, parts are expensive and hard to get.

Maybe its their cars that are bad? cause the Mitsubishi Fuso trucks are really top notch reliable and have tons of power, much more than DAF trucks when they get old. The DAF sucks dog sh!t when they get old while the Fuso keeps on pumping out huge amount of torque.

The issue men had with local mitsus was when GDI was new and mango tree mechanics used to firetruck sheit up.
I have a sportero and it's reliable and well built.
Lancers are also very good cars, nothing major compared with the other Ansa brand in a blue oval.
Pajeros are almost bulletproof.

I think the issue ppl have with them is not following manufacturer spec/guidelines; cheaping out and then complaining when sheit breaks.

Eg. Running super if the car called for premium. It's all well and good until you firetruck something up.

Postby gastly369 » March 11th, 2019, 10:25 pm

Meh 2 lansah wokin good and parts easy to get

Postby rollingstock » March 11th, 2019, 11:33 pm

My cy doing about 270000km
Only ever changed oil.

What a piece of sheit

Postby eliteauto » March 12th, 2019, 12:57 am

Mitsubishi has a pretty decent rep locally especially Triton/Sportero and Lancer, some CS with gdi was a scene and CVT trannies sounded like blenders but otherwise I haven't heard any set of negatives. ED you making up stories again?

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 12th, 2019, 6:20 am

Essay time.

We had 5 Lancers over the years including a libero, cs and ck. All those 4G engines gave endless trouble especially 4g13, 4g15, 4g18 and 4g93. The 4g92 sohc was sheit but apparently owners got better luck with those than the 15s and 18s.

Our 2009 Lancer EX GLS 1.5 with the 4A91 engine and INVECS 11 torque converter 4AT transmission ran with 0 problems up until it was sold at 145,000kms! I personally know of another CY (2012) with the 4A92 engine and same transmission that runs great, absolutely no issues. 4B10, 4B11 and 4B12 engines are also superior to the 4G lineup but the INVECS 111 CVTs did not hold out as well as the 4ATs. I would have to say Mitsubishi improved a lot with the CY especially in crash safety. The RISE structure in the CY was actually superior to rivals from Toyota, Honda, espcially Nissan and the 2 Korean cousins of that era.

My cousin had a 1995 lancer with a 4g15 engine that ran out of oil due to an unattended oil leak and when it was time to service the car, the mechanic in his draining routine discovered that the car had no oil! I witnessed this myself. The seals were replaced and oil refilled and amazingly that 4g15 ran until it met its demise with the new owner.

As Lancers continue to age and with production ended, the test now would be the availability of parts. Since the CY had a long production run, critical parts outside of Diamond Motors should be relatively easy to procure.

But the positives end there, most Galants were toots and L200 pickups were unimpressive. The arrival of the Sporteros changed peoples perspective on L200s but they still lag behind. Yesterday in starlite shopping plaza, there was a guy driving a TDR current gen white sportero and I was hearing a squeak coming from the undercarriage as the vehicle was driven and parked up. Sounded like faulty leaf springs, how odd is that? Sporteros are leagues behind Hiluxes and Frontiers.

Rosa buses together with Canter/Fuso trucks are real impressive work horses. Only competitor here is really Isuzu on the commercial side. Look at the PBR for eg, most maxis are Rosas!

Even though, I dont think they sell anynore but the L300 panel vans, they were pretty solid as well compared to the Urvans and Hiaces and many businesses/companies/entrepreneurs still have L300s on the road reporting for duty faithfully.

Whatelse? Oh yes, Outlanders were mostly toots with the exception of the latest one but are still behind the class leading RAV4 and Pajeros feared generally ok over the years but they cannot and will not be anything close to a Prado.

The Eclipse, FTO and 3000GT VR4 were great sports cars but Nissan and Honda of that era still dominated them. FTO 2.0 MIVEC V6 still couldnt hold a candle against an ITR even for reliability. Eclipses morphed into real toots starting in the 2000s and the 3000GT turned out to be a masssive failure compared to the Skyline, NSX and Supra.

There is a forgotten car called the Mitsubishi Diamante. A car that competed against the Toyota Avalon and Nissan Maxima. Well even that turned out to be a pos.

Sadly, the new Eclipse Cross did not get impressive reviews thus far but lets hope it turns out to be reliable because, I real like it.

I think as long as Nissan, Honda and Toyota are in business and Mazda as of late, there is absolutely no chance Mitsu would be getting any where soon. I won't be surprised if the Mitsubishi Motors division might not exist by 2030 while Fuso may continue for long after that.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 12th, 2019, 6:40 am

^ see, that guy talking from experience he knows what he is saying. So long as you using Toyota and Honda as a benchmark you realize how horrible the reliability of so many other vehicles are.

But as I say, the bad rep stops with Mitsubishi CARS.

Rosa and Canter are both Fuso model vehicles.

But then again Mercedes Benz owns 90% of Fuso and Mitsubishi only owns 10% even tho amazingly its still called Mitsubishi.

One thing about Fuso their diesel engines are made extremely simple and durable, exactly how a Diesel is supposed to be made.

Postby tr1ad » March 12th, 2019, 8:19 am

oh firetruck boi… buy a FUSO truck na...

like you learn something new and every chance you get you dropping that

you can't look at USDM and the criticisms and apply to JDM

Postby Dizzy28 » March 12th, 2019, 8:58 am

Had a CS3 Lancer (1.6l) and CY Lancer (1.5l). I didn't really care for the CS3 however the CY was trouble free driving for the 4.5 years I owned it. Compared to like vehicles in its time that I also drove I must say it handled better than the rivals as well.

Nik

Postby Nik » March 12th, 2019, 10:22 am

I have personally owned 6 lancers (CD5A GSR, evo2, ck4 mivec, evo5, 02 & 04 cs lancer local) & with that variation I can honestly say I never had any major issues.

both cs lancers was nothing except regular service

evo5 was cradles

Mivec was engine seals

evo2 was a cv joint

gsr was engine. only mitsu i had with a major issue as those engines had a weak crank & strapping on a 20g td05 & pushing it at 20psi was fun... for the short while it lasted. after replacing it with a stock engine & turbo & keeping it at 15psi I had no issues.

Scotty boy there is complaining about USDM issues which imho can't really compare to JDM.

Mitsu is still good even though I personally don't like the cy lancers as I find their interior feels very cheap compared to the cs, suspension too bouncy & their engines noisy as hell.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 12th, 2019, 4:20 pm

agent007 wrote:Essay time.

We had 5 Lancers over the years including a libero, cs and ck. All those 4G engines gave endless trouble especially 4g13, 4g15, 4g18 and 4g93. The 4g92 sohc was sheit but apparently owners got better luck with those than the 15s and 18s.

Our 2009 Lancer EX GLS 1.5 with the 4A91 engine and INVECS 11 torque converter 4AT transmission ran with 0 problems up until it was sold at 145,000kms! I personally know of another CY (2012) with the 4A92 engine and same transmission that runs great, absolutely no issues. 4B10, 4B11 and 4B12 engines are also superior to the 4G lineup but the INVECS 111 CVTs did not hold out as well as the 4ATs. I would have to say Mitsubishi improved a lot with the CY especially in crash safety. The RISE structure in the CY was actually superior to rivals from Toyota, Honda, espcially Nissan and the 2 Korean cousins of that era.

My cousin had a 1995 lancer with a 4g15 engine that ran out of oil due to an unattended oil leak and when it was time to service the car, the mechanic in his draining routine discovered that the car had no oil! I witnessed this myself. The seals were replaced and oil refilled and amazingly that 4g15 ran until it met its demise with the new owner.

As Lancers continue to age and with production ended, the test now would be the availability of parts. Since the CY had a long production run, critical parts outside of Diamond Motors should be relatively easy to procure.

But the positives end there, most Galants were toots and L200 pickups were unimpressive. The arrival of the Sporteros changed peoples perspective on L200s but they still lag behind. Yesterday in starlite shopping plaza, there was a guy driving a TDR current gen white sportero and I was hearing a squeak coming from the undercarriage as the vehicle was driven and parked up. Sounded like faulty leaf springs, how odd is that? Sporteros are leagues behind Hiluxes and Frontiers.

Rosa buses together with Canter/Fuso trucks are real impressive work horses. Only competitor here is really Isuzu on the commercial side. Look at the PBR for eg, most maxis are Rosas!

Even though, I dont think they sell anynore but the L300 panel vans, they were pretty solid as well compared to the Urvans and Hiaces and many businesses/companies/entrepreneurs still have L300s on the road reporting for duty faithfully.

Whatelse? Oh yes, Outlanders were mostly toots with the exception of the latest one but are still behind the class leading RAV4 and Pajeros feared generally ok over the years but they cannot and will not be anything close to a Prado.

The Eclipse, FTO and 3000GT VR4 were great sports cars but Nissan and Honda of that era still dominated them. FTO 2.0 MIVEC V6 still couldnt hold a candle against an ITR even for reliability. Eclipses morphed into real toots starting in the 2000s and the 3000GT turned out to be a masssive failure compared to the Skyline, NSX and Supra.

There is a forgotten car called the Mitsubishi Diamante. A car that competed against the Toyota Avalon and Nissan Maxima. Well even that turned out to be a pos.

Sadly, the new Eclipse Cross did not get impressive reviews thus far but lets hope it turns out to be reliable because, I real like it.

I think as long as Nissan, Honda and Toyota are in business and Mazda as of late, there is absolutely no chance Mitsu would be getting any where soon. I won't be surprised if the Mitsubishi Motors division might not exist by 2030 while Fuso may continue for long after that.

Very nice read.
I have a 4a92/4AT @66000km, any preventative measures i need to keep in mind? So far 0 issues whatsoever, and i want to keep it that way.

Postby alfa » March 12th, 2019, 4:55 pm

CK4 lancer 4g92 engine, twenty years 220k miles and working normal :-D

Postby skylinechild » March 12th, 2019, 6:16 pm

mitsu owners... unite and defend !!!!!!!

Postby gastly369 » March 12th, 2019, 8:29 pm

Scotty caters for the retired ppl of YouTube who should just stop driving by now anyways

Postby 88sins » March 12th, 2019, 9:00 pm

ED, here's some food for thought

Scotty Kilmer, gives his opinion. & that's all it is, his opinion. It's not factual. It's not gospel. It's just his opinion.
Scotty Kilmer, tho entertaining, wasn't speaking about Mitsubishis in Trini. He was speaking about those sold & bought in the US, a place where most ppl generally do not care about their cars, & as a result abuse & neglect them, resulting in the failures he's speaking about.
Anyone that has watched more than a few of his vids can clearly notice Scotty Kilmer actually biased towards Toyotas. If you purport to give objective opinions, you can't be biased to any particular make or model. Thus his objective opinions on Mitsu sedans are useless.
Most of his vids these days are just useless opinions on questions asked by random ppl on the web. Back when he was younger & had his lil show he used to give some decent tips on basic maintenance & troubleshooting, keyword being basic.

Don't take everything you see on yootoob so seriously & think it applies to life here unless otherwise expressly indicated

Postby rollingstock » March 12th, 2019, 10:43 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:I have a 4a92/4AT @66000km, any preventative measures i need to keep in mind? So far 0 issues whatsoever, and i want to keep it that way.

Yeah buy abs sensors and put them down :lol:

Zetski

Postby Zetski » March 13th, 2019, 1:14 am

I had ah old galant, original carb engine and transmission.. only thing i ever changed was d clutch plate.. d only problem with it was when it rained cats and dogs it used to buck like b1tch.. it was my daily

Mitsus are reliable workhorses i can stand by that... at d end of d day is how yuh take car of yuh car.. if yuh going down in every pot hole in d road like monkeyman.. wah yuh expect??

Postby 88sins » March 13th, 2019, 7:06 am

If anyone wants to learn how to diagagnose/fix.modify cars, check out this youngster. He shows how easy most things are to do, & has a lot of step by step detailed tutorials on DIY projects, from mechanical to electrical to personalizing your tools.

I dare say, he's doing more for car owners with his uploads than Scotty ever did even with his little show

Postby maj. tom » March 13th, 2019, 7:18 am

Scotty has turned into a talk show with some useful advice at times. Not like when he was younger.
ChrisFix is the guy now. Subscribed to both and Chris is more current and applied; Scotty is just entertainment now.

Postby aaron17 » March 13th, 2019, 8:13 am

maj. tom wrote:Scotty has turned into a talk show with some useful advice at times. Not like when he was younger.
ChrisFix is the guy now. Subscribed to both and Chris is more current and applied; Scotty is just entertainment now.
Soapy wooder.

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » March 13th, 2019, 8:28 am

check out eric the car guy. he has some pretty good videos

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » March 13th, 2019, 11:21 am

alfa wrote:CK4 lancer 4g92 engine, twenty years 220k miles and working normal :-D

Got like 190k before any major issue , worked decent but he's right . He's a toyota nuthugger but that's justified . I like Scotty tho , very DIY , dude probably saved me in general maintenance. Any one know any other good DIY youtube mechanics? I know scotty, chris fix , ratchets and wrenches , eric the car guy.

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 13th, 2019, 1:00 pm

88sins wrote:If anyone wants to learn how to diagagnose/fix.modify cars, check out this youngster. He shows how easy most things are to do, & has a lot of step by step detailed tutorials on DIY projects, from mechanical to electrical to personalizing your tools.

I dare say, he's doing more for car owners with his uploads than Scotty ever did even with his little show

If it's not a Toyota, Scotty has nothing good to say. I unsubscribed to his channel when he started attacking ChrisFix.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 13th, 2019, 3:43 pm

If is not a Lexus, Toyota or Honda with a manual trans, then hard luck.