Re: Got a Malinois: What to Expect?

Postby SMc » March 7th, 2019, 2:45 pm

poor dog

rebound

Postby rebound » March 7th, 2019, 2:47 pm

If you have a lawn and planters, problems they like to dig...especially if you have underground drainage pipes, mine would actually dig to the pipes in the lawn..

Postby nervewrecker » March 7th, 2019, 2:47 pm

Training.
They not the average dog. Very smart and very energetic.
If you don't have time to be around them dont get one.

Postby Kenjo » March 7th, 2019, 3:13 pm

Return that unless you have real money to upkeep it . Not a Caribbean Shepard and needs full training and vaccines

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » March 7th, 2019, 3:19 pm

Loving intelligent dog, very high energy, will kill chickens.

Postby toyolink » March 7th, 2019, 3:36 pm

I understand, if properly trained , this dog is 'top of the heap' as far as security is concerned.
They just wont back-down and bring a lot of 'smarts' to the attack.

Cen-Serv Ltd

Postby Cen-Serv Ltd » March 7th, 2019, 3:40 pm

Nice dog...

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 7th, 2019, 3:42 pm

Training, training, training.
(not abuse)

rebound

Postby rebound » March 7th, 2019, 4:45 pm

Kenjo wrote:Return that unless you have real money to upkeep it . Not a Caribbean Shepard and needs full training and vaccines
Not my experience tho....Mines just had the first set of vaccine and none since then 10years later and strong as an Ox....they need alot of space for exercise, very high energy....they do need full training....

Ticks and ear mites are an issue for them as the ear mites cause infection and this cause their ears to drop...

But very human like and lovely dog to have.

Postby SR » March 9th, 2019, 8:08 am

This is not a house dog....needs a big yard with lots of space to run. 10x more intelligent than a shepherd and will test you and outsmart stupid people. Excellent security dog and skilled at jumping high fences so make sure your yard is secure. Takes training very easy but you must spend time with it daily

Not a good pet for kids

kripplerz

Postby kripplerz » March 9th, 2019, 8:13 am

U have to keep him/her busy otherwise trouble. Ours is very protective. But very vicious.

Postby De Dragon » March 9th, 2019, 9:15 am

Tends to be a bit gamey so make sure that you use lots of lime..........

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » March 9th, 2019, 4:40 pm

De Dragon wrote:Tends to be a bit gamey so make sure that you use lots of lime..........

Early idiot of the year nomination from Drag Queen. Grown up.

In big sensible people conversation, as most said it is a wonderful dog but need to invest in time and training.This is no Pothound.

Postby adnj » March 9th, 2019, 5:25 pm

SR wrote:This is not a house dog....needs a big yard with lots of space to run. 10x more intelligent than a shepherd and will test you and outsmart stupid people. Excellent security dog and skilled at jumping high fences so make sure your yard is secure. Takes training very easy but you must spend time with it daily

Not a good pet for kids

The Malinois is a subtype of the Belgian Shepherd, where the only difference is the color and texture of the coat. I have had Belgian Shepherd pairs (black coat) give birth to Malinoises and vice verse.

It my experience, and assuming that it is a full-blooded animal, the Belgian Malinois is likely more energetic than the Belgian Shepherd or Belgian Tervuren. They sometimes do not settle down and want to run constantly. They love to be in the house and be near people. They tend to need about 2 hours of work and training per day. They are very mischievous if left alone.
Last edited by adnj on March 9th, 2019, 5:25 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby De Dragon » March 9th, 2019, 5:40 pm

randolphinshan wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Tends to be a bit gamey so make sure that you use lots of lime..........

Early idiot of the year nomination from Drag Queen. Grown up.

In big sensible people conversation, as most said it is a wonderful dog but need to invest in time and training.This is no Pothound.

Tokesy, kindly use proper tense when trying to reply and chastise, because you're already lame and unwitty as it is. Secondly, your wish to be associated with "big" "sensible" or even "people" is foolhardy, as clearly you are neither. Lastly, FUAHYK!

Postby 88sins » March 9th, 2019, 6:26 pm

Trinispougla wrote:Wild already. is it a good family dog?

u eh see nuttn yet lol. Belgian Malinois = insomniac GSD on crack. brace yourself for about 2 years of that hyperactive run everywhere chewing on everything behavior. Only thing to help minimize it will be ob training starting a few days after reaching the new home and vigorous exercise.

the good with family including small children once taught what behaviors are acceptable, they very loyal, often smarter than their owners if the owner is inexperienced, loves and lives and needs to work and requires mental stimulation and training to develop into a well rounded family guardian.

I hope you know what you got yourself into. enjoy your new pup.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 9th, 2019, 7:13 pm

One like this??
IMG-20190223-WA0007.jpg

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 9th, 2019, 7:54 pm

wish I had one so I could give him the world's biggest hug and tell him he is a good boy the best boy

Postby nervewrecker » March 10th, 2019, 1:12 pm

Yea they very mischievous if left alone. My sister own burst down all her xmas decorations and rip up all the plastic home.
He sleeps in the bedroom and understands English pretty good from what I see. Very energetic, protective and very smart.
Has a girl next door that taunts him by the fence. Twice he get away and went straight for her. He was a pup then, chances are if he gets away this time she in real trouble.
Loves to play with a ball too. Real quick and real energetic. You ask me, I think he training the owners

Postby 88sins » March 10th, 2019, 2:20 pm

as nerve say dat & ah here
I looking for an agitator along the east-west corridor anywhere between d'go & curepe.

who allyuh kno bai?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 10th, 2019, 2:24 pm

nervewrecker wrote:You ask me, I think he training the owners

Yup, after the husky and all her babies.. it really is amazing how differently these dogs act if you take your time with them. I swear they literally understand your words and actions.

Once I was play fighting with my nephew and I kid u not, when he started to scream the dog went and dragged it's food bowl by him to eat thinking he was hungry..

Another time the phone rang and she brought it for the exact person due to its ringtone.

Postby RedVEVO » March 11th, 2019, 6:01 am

Used by the Dutch Police.

They are great dogs from Odin.

Better than any Cat .

All Cats are evil.

Postby timelapse » March 11th, 2019, 7:28 am