Is carnival about showing off your money now?

Re: Is carnival about showing off your money now?

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 1st, 2019, 11:20 pm

Showing off money is ALL what trini's are about though

Poor people love to flex what little wealth they have, whereas rich people like to keep their wealth a secret.

Postby eliteauto » March 1st, 2019, 11:42 pm

Wait nah! How OP consistently ducking questions about church members and clergy in the same folly that he's vehemently against?

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » March 2nd, 2019, 3:33 am

eliteauto wrote:Wait nah! How OP consistently ducking questions about church members and clergy in the same folly that he's vehemently against?

Cause he go fictiously burn if he say anything bad ... :drinking: :drinking:

Postby K74T » March 2nd, 2019, 5:22 am

OP sounds like a Faith Centre convert

Postby 88sins » March 2nd, 2019, 6:45 am

eliteauto wrote:Wait nah! How OP consistently ducking questions about church members and clergy in the same folly that he's vehemently against?

another painful symptom of fullofshititis

Postby tr1ad » March 2nd, 2019, 8:22 am

fyah fi wicked people....
fyah go bun demmmm
fyah go bun demmmmmmm

Postby rspann » March 2nd, 2019, 8:43 am

Study how much money you making by carrying all these sinners to these fetes,and all those thongs rubbing up on your seats. Hellfire for you for sure.

Postby gastly369 » March 2nd, 2019, 9:23 am

937903d0abdea7fabae8f343828ca8d6822691d80e39d8fa9ccffaaa8b40212c_1.jpg.jpeg

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 2nd, 2019, 9:48 am

brb

taking a loan to buy a nice car just to flex on my neighbors who travelling

rebound

Postby rebound » March 2nd, 2019, 9:52 am

K74T wrote:OP sounds like a Faith Centre convert
More Miracle Ministriesish.....

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 2nd, 2019, 12:11 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:brb

taking a loan to buy a nice car just to flex on my neighbors who travelling

get the trim with leather seats

Postby Monk BANzai » March 2nd, 2019, 1:01 pm

K74T wrote:OP sounds like a Faith Centre convert

dey does cut good eh.

#speaksfromexperience

Postby 88sins » March 2nd, 2019, 1:12 pm

church gyul is a bess beatout
d more rigid dey is in church, d more flexible dey does be inna bed :lol:

Postby matr1x » March 2nd, 2019, 2:48 pm

88sins wrote:church gyul is a bess beatout
d more rigid dey is in church, d more flexible dey does be inna bed :lol:

Absolutely!

Ever beat out an imam daughter? Me eh need no 72 virgins. Imam daughter had real skill

Postby De Dragon » March 2nd, 2019, 2:55 pm

It is also about showing your religious zealousness, and trying to sound holier than thou to people who wouldn't fart on you.

Postby The_Honourable » March 2nd, 2019, 6:00 pm

Allyuh guh make OP angry and watch church girl different now... shattering his paradigm.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » March 2nd, 2019, 6:57 pm

Carnival is about showing off your assssholee.

Hahahah

Postby 88sins » March 2nd, 2019, 7:16 pm

he could get as vex as he like, and watch dem however differently he want. he still eh go get no play cuz dem eh want no choir boy :lol:
but to be real and get back to the topic.

yes, plenty ppl does be spending plenty money and playing socialite as a status thing for Carnival. expensive everything and pics galore for evidence and memories. it's not a new development and it's not gonna stop any time soon. that's their choice. OP eh realize tho.
I believe that even though the pastor in OP church may look down on such people and decry their displays of opulence and Carnival revelry, and op might very well want to aspire to pastors level of religiousness, OP eh notice that even his pastor dare not lose the proper functions of his mind and try to tell anyone he hasn't personally brainwashed how to spend their money.

Postby rspann » March 2nd, 2019, 7:24 pm

Op, on a serious note, ever notice the hemlines and panty lines on some of the sistren ? The world creep into the church now.

Postby rspann » March 2nd, 2019, 7:30 pm

When you get rich as a church member it's called favour or blessing. You can live in the glory of the blessings you have received. You can be the head and not the tail. When other people are prosperous, it's showing off. Nowadays, most religious leaders preach the prosperity doctrine, but it's all about what they get in return. Cuffy as mansions, warehouses, restaurant shaped like ship etc, but his members still add to his coffers.

Postby The_Honourable » March 2nd, 2019, 9:55 pm

As you mention cuffie... aye OP lewwe go for the sure cure fella who allegedly does be paxing young boys inside and outside the pentecostal church. That more outrageous than what yuh coworker spending and what his wife wearing, you eh find so?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » March 2nd, 2019, 10:41 pm

One could argue that Carnival always had an element of class segregation and separation, now on account of our new found wealth more folks have to ability (if only temporarily) to "buy" into a class above. Let's remember class and money are closely related.

In the past typically class was on show, now with money you can use that to "buy up" and show off, you don't always play mas for the culture or the art form per se, but to prove that you were part of a a specific "class", by being part of a particular experience you prove something about yourself (what specifically is up to you I guess), to society.

With regards to money it isn't specifically about the money as a thing, it's more about showing that you have some of it and that I can spend it.

Ultimately if it's their money it's their choice, they can spend it how they want.

Postby 88sins » March 3rd, 2019, 6:42 am

Numb3r4 wrote:Let's remember class and money are closely related.

In the past typically class was on show, now with money you can use that to "buy up" and show off, you don't always play mas for the culture or the art form per se, but to prove that you were part of a a specific "class", by being part of a particular experience you prove something about yourself (what specifically is up to you I guess), to society.

not so much class as it is classification, ie a specific grouping society. So I believe you meant to say that money and elitism are closely related. True, that with enough money a person can gain the acceptance and alliances of others of similar wealth easier than they would if they were not wealthy.
But one thing we all should never forget...

the so-called elite know full well that without the average people who are outside their little circle, they can't call themselves the elite. and that if it weren't for the working class people they would never have amassed what they have. many of them in very subtle ways will try to make the average person think they the wealthy are superior and everyone else is inferior (& some will discard such subtlety entirely).
There was always a degree of elitism in Carnival that got displayed every year, even from the beginning. The only difference today is that more people of modest means are temporarily buying their way into it by means of savings or borrowings, even if they really could easily find better use for those resources.

Postby MaxPower » March 3rd, 2019, 7:22 am

it can be safely concluded that OP is a Jehovah witness

Postby eliteauto » March 3rd, 2019, 7:35 am

True stories of a tourist transport provider
1) took 4 American chicks to Pier 1 for a fete yesterday. The topic of discussion on the drive was the theological college they attend and the pastoral courses they have to do. All were wearing thong bikinis with wraps

2) took a couple to Vale fete 2 hours ago, they requested gospel music en route.

OP WWGD?

Postby Les Bain » March 3rd, 2019, 8:26 am

Gospel music does recharge your spiritual shield like is Master Chief armour or what?

Postby RedVEVO » March 3rd, 2019, 10:08 am

Carnival is about pride and country .

Or in other words Rum and Wine .

Postby zoom rader » March 3rd, 2019, 10:14 am

All who love carnival then go jump up in Harts band and feel welcome.

Carnival is racist as fvck.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 3rd, 2019, 10:24 am

Well this ched take ah turn

Grabs popcorn

Postby Kenjo » March 3rd, 2019, 10:54 am

zoom rader wrote:All who love carnival then go jump up in Harts band and feel welcome.

Carnival is racist as fvck.

In before ....