Is carnival about showing off your money now?

FordeG

Re: Is carnival about showing off your money now?

Postby FordeG » March 1st, 2019, 10:07 am

Ok forget the thong talk, it seems you all like to gape.

My issue is with these wannabe socialites using carnival just to show off. I know to each his own, but something is very wrong when you spending 10k on costume, 2k on hair, makeup and tan, plus transport or accommodation in town. Not to mention the countless stush fetes where everyone good just to post for pics to put on social media.

Don't you see how wrong this is? It's a Pappy show! No one is having any real fun, it's all about bling.

Postby MG Man » March 1st, 2019, 10:38 am

FordeG wrote:Ok forget the thong talk, it seems you all like to gape.

My issue is with these wannabe socialites using carnival just to show off. I know to each his own, but something is very wrong when you spending 10k on costume, 2k on hair, makeup and tan, plus transport or accommodation in town. Not to mention the countless stush fetes where everyone good just to post for pics to put on social media.

Don't you see how wrong this is? It's a Pappy show! No one is having any real fun, it's all about bling.

you real judgmental jed
Just because you can't relate to the joy / thrill some people get from two days on the road in costume, or from parting for the season, you toting?
You mussy the kinda broke fcku that soaks in a basin of tap water and red sand because heck, why go to de beach to fool yuhself

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » March 1st, 2019, 10:40 am

how a person spends his or her money is their business.
I have seen someone buy over 50,000K in fireworks for Ole years night and have the fireworks loaded in 3 pickups vehicles. i was purchasing starlite and funsnaps work 20ttd

i can have an opinion about to best spend 50,000k but it is not up to me.
everyyear ask any HR department the period of the year where they issue the most job letters for bank loans. It is between Christmas to carnival. This spending may not be your way of life but is an accepted way for others.

Postby tr1ad » March 1st, 2019, 10:49 am

because you think its wrong doesn't mean it is.

who are you to determine they are wannabe socialites? why can't they be socialites...
who are you to pass judgement on how other people spend their money, watch zee tv, buy chrome rims, go to a fete ?

dunno why some people feel the forums are their own personal soapbox na... just me and my opinion

Postby teems1 » March 1st, 2019, 10:57 am

Since when are you the gatekeeper with respect to what constitutes as fun?

There are some guys who enjoy getting kicked in the nuts by a leather clad dominatrix.

What may cause your brain to release endorphins, dopamine and serotonin may be different to someone else.

Postby mero » March 1st, 2019, 10:57 am

OP is a troll. One man cant be so displeased with everything and everyone in life so.

Den again is 2nr

Postby Redman » March 1st, 2019, 10:59 am

They being more real than you are being.
They aint worried about you not having real fun.
They aint worried about how you spending or not spending.

They doing them....you do you.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » March 1st, 2019, 11:07 am

island finance deny your loan op ?

Postby The_Honourable » March 1st, 2019, 11:17 am

matix wrote:OP please don’t go on a killing spree eh

lol... he done have a list of tuners posting in the carnival ched.

OP are you angry that the peasants enjoying deyself with money and sex while you have become frustrated with being all holier than thou for so long so now you lashing out? Yuh vex life is so unfair? All them hot gyul showing off dey sexuality and giving away some kitty to men who you believe should not get any? You holier than thou sir should be the man girls suppose to run down? You're a good boy so things suppose to come easy like money, woman, success, etc?

Not saying to join them but you better fix yourself. Life will beat yuh down to size.

FordeG

Postby FordeG » March 1st, 2019, 11:20 am

tr1ad wrote:

who are you to determine they are wannabe socialites? why can't they be socialites...
who are you to pass judgement on how other people spend their money, watch zee tv, buy chrome rims, go to a fete ?

dunno why some people feel the forums are their own personal soapbox na... just me and my opinion

Because their fakeness is so obvious

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » March 1st, 2019, 11:23 am

FordeG wrote:
tr1ad wrote:

Seems to be bothering you more than it bothering them :|

Postby Slartibartfast » March 1st, 2019, 11:47 am

You know what OP, I'll throw you a bone. Below are the parts of your point of view I think I may agree with

1. This applies to some (a lot) of carnival patrons but not all.
2. This applies to those that need external gratification to be "happy".
3. This applies to people that are devoid of personality and only know how to attain #2 by boasting about what they have or how much money they spent on something.
4. If 1-3 applies to you then you live a sad unfulfilled life.

Now here are the things you seem to not agree with and the reason people may be making fun of you
1. This does not apply to all people. A lot of people love fetting and are still financially competant. I'm not that into fetting but I have a lot of friends and family that honestly enjoy it and suffer no ill financial effects from it.
2. All of us need a little external gratification sometimes. Kind of like needing to worship a religious being to maintain happiness. "Not that there's anything wrong with that." - Jerry Seinfeld
3. Again this is only a subset of people but you paint all carnival goers with one brush stroke. A lot of people genuinely enjoy it, even of you don't. Different strokes for different folks.
4. These problems have nothing to do with carnival. If your only means of happiness is through boasting to other people about how much money you spent then I agree that is pretty sad. Otherwise, what people do with themselves is their business once they not hurting anybody and everybody involved is constenting. Why should it matter whether they get drunk or who wear a thong, or who like to suck c@ck more than Sasha Grey. That's their business. You should be happy that this is takong place in designated areas so you know where to avoid. I not into carnival but I thouroughly enjoy this time of year because the places I want to go are less noisy and crowded. Try hitting maracas week after next week Tuesday and you will see what I mean.

Postby 88sins » March 1st, 2019, 11:51 am

& is not a pappyshow when pastor take the ppl tithes & offerings & buy a $750K sedan, & the next week begging for more tithes & offerings to maintain it instead of putting that money to much better use feeding the hungry & clothing those wearing rags or helping ppl develop skills to help themselves?
exactly who do you really feel you are to say people are wrong for spending their money how they see fit? Would you agree, that any random person would be well within their rights & justified to tell you to not buy a nice expensive gift for your wife or child, even though you could afford it & the cost is insignificant to you, simply because the gift you chose to give is expensive?

church does really twist up some ppl head oui

Postby rspann » March 1st, 2019, 12:51 pm

If your wife could only wear bingo bags and dragon drawers, you must get horrors to see a nice thing in a thong.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 1st, 2019, 1:02 pm

FordeG wrote:
tr1ad wrote:

So what do you do for leisure/hobby???

Postby tr1ad » March 1st, 2019, 1:03 pm

I does spen meh morney...
Travel... Buy fassup car... Play mas...

Postby j.o.e » March 1st, 2019, 1:12 pm

Postby maj. tom » March 1st, 2019, 1:15 pm

mero wrote:OP is a troll. One man cant be so displeased with everything and everyone in life so.

Den again is 2nr
He actually sounding like zr. And some things he being polar opposite about like the Zee TV neighbor. Intentional sidetrack.

Postby skylinechild » March 1st, 2019, 1:47 pm

rspann wrote:If your wife could only wear bingo bags and dragon drawers, you must get horrors to see a nice thing in a thong.

*runs to daddy spann...... daddy..... whats a dragon drawers.... :lol: :lol:

Postby Les Bain » March 1st, 2019, 2:15 pm

The more important question is why do these things bother people on such a deep level? The moral high ground has good views and free wifi?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 1st, 2019, 3:15 pm

Les Bain wrote:The more important question is why do these things bother people on such a deep level? The moral high ground has good views and free wifi?

My gripe with carnival is reckless spending on a personal level, although now i see how much cash it injects in the local economy to keep businesses running.

In this case is because OP wishes that he could have partaken in that lifestyle but he lost out on the time or the social ability. Sour grapes. Hence all the puritanism going on.

Postby eliteauto » March 1st, 2019, 6:57 pm

No gyal doh wha no owner

Postby rspann » March 1st, 2019, 7:05 pm

Op, you see anything wrong with church members giving their pastor money for a lavish lifestyle with nice cars, house etc. If you answer truthfully, you and your opinions might get some respect.

Postby matr1x » March 1st, 2019, 9:07 pm

The little blue pill not working on OP

Postby Les Bain » March 1st, 2019, 9:15 pm

He probably need something to aid the blue pill. If you girthy enough, a livestrong band could help constrict blood flow.

Postby 88sins » March 1st, 2019, 9:19 pm

rspann wrote:Op, you see anything wrong with church members giving their pastor money for a lavish lifestyle with nice cars, house etc. If you answer truthfully, you and your opinions might get some respect.

note

& is not a pappyshow when pastor take the ppl tithes & offerings & buy a $750K sedan, & the next week begging for more tithes & offerings to maintain it instead of putting that money to much better use feeding the hungry & clothing those wearing rags or helping ppl develop skills to help themselves?
exactly who do you really feel you are to say people are wrong for spending their money how they see fit? Would you agree, that any random person would be well within their rights & justified to tell you to not buy a nice expensive gift for your wife or child, even though you could afford it & the cost is insignificant to you, simply because the gift you chose to give is expensive?

church does really twist up some ppl head oui

and

88sins wrote:FordeG,
you coming across like a mentally unstable religious zealot with a seriously annoying holier than thou complex who's trying desperately to veil your envy of other people's lifestyles and possessions.
if a person decides to spend a cool million on Carnival, and have a bevy of 18 year old beauties in body painted thongs pleasure him, how exactly is that any of your business? and why do you so desperately feel the need to tell people that you don't like what they're doing & what they should or shouldn't do, particularly when what they're doing doesn't have anything to do with you?

if you feel like you really need a good cause to harp on, here's a suggestion.
go to church and tell priest/pastor/whatever that since you're one of the congregation that routinely pays your tithes and offerings, you want to see the church's financial records and current revenues and expenses and receipts to determine whether or not you should continue giving them your money, because you want to know where your tithes and offerings being spent. if they ask why you want to see that just say you want to see if it's being used to help the less fortunate, or if he using the money to finance his own lifestyle.
let us all know how it works out and your findings.

notice, he more quiet than a mouse in a corner behind a box in a room full of alley cats.
but I realize he problem. is a medical condition he have, so allyuh give the fella a lil break nah. poor fella struggling to control the symptoms of full blown case of fullofshititis, & failing bad

FordeG

Postby FordeG » March 1st, 2019, 10:33 pm

Obviously some people enjoy it, I didn't say it's a false spectacle.

I'm saying, carnival has become a medium to showcase your wealth. I bring it up because of how blatant it has become with some people, not all.

People going to the most expensive fetes just to stand up and take selfies. Paying thousands in outfits and preparations just to impress others. I have many issues with carnival, but this one is new and growing.

Postby MaxPower » March 1st, 2019, 10:58 pm

^ okay...so tell me,

How much do you think should someone spend on carnival? Give me a figure.

Postby The_Honourable » March 1st, 2019, 11:14 pm

FordeG wrote:Obviously some people enjoy it, I didn't say it's a false spectacle.

I'm saying, carnival has become a medium to showcase your wealth. I bring it up because of how blatant it has become with some people, not all.

People going to the most expensive fetes just to stand up and take selfies. Paying thousands in outfits and preparations just to impress others. I have many issues with carnival, but this one is new and growing.

You sound like you have issues period.

I'm not into carnival either, but this high degree of heartburn you on...

Postby rspann » March 1st, 2019, 11:17 pm

Issues period or Period issues?