Masqueraders fork out $5,000 - $15,000 to play Mas

Re: Masqueraders fork out $5,000 - $15,000 to play Mas

Postby zoom rader » January 29th, 2019, 5:16 pm

mero wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:If is one thing, i rate how bold the island finance ad campaigns are. They take the things that trinis would be most vocally against borrowing for, where people shame to admit they borrow, and plaster the ads in your face.

People hadda catch, it keeps the economy alive i guess.
On a real doe, what wrong taking a loan to do something for your satisfaction? Why a loan has to be for car and house only?

If kwame or harrilal take a 10k to play mas from when they 18 yrs old, pay it back in a year or so, and repeat. By the time they 25-30 wouldn't they have a really good standing with the bank?

More so over someone who now coming to try and buy a car or land?

Realise trinis and 2nrs especially have this skin up nose, watch dem nah mentality
Kwame and Harrylal shoud never seek a loan for buying anything. Save , invest and be cheap.

Use cash to but your house. Carnival is wasted money if you don't own your house

Postby Chimera » January 29th, 2019, 5:21 pm

Hear na......
My 20 year old cousin gone scotia the other day to take a loan to build his credit. He working sunshine snacks. Like 4500 or 5k salary

They tell him they could lend him 20k....but they not giving him the cash....they will hold it as collateral ...but he still hadda pay the loan payments.....and that will build his credit.

Postby zoom rader » January 29th, 2019, 5:54 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Hear na......
My 20 year old cousin gone scotia the other day to take a loan to build his credit. He working sunshine snacks. Like 4500 or 5k salary

They tell him they could lend him 20k....but they not giving him the cash....they will hold it as collateral ...but he still hadda pay the loan payments.....and that will build his credit.
There you go, total bullchit from the banks. They tried that when I was 22 so I told them go fuvk themselves and I closed my account.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » January 29th, 2019, 6:15 pm

mero wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:If is one thing, i rate how bold the island finance ad campaigns are. They take the things that trinis would be most vocally against borrowing for, where people shame to admit they borrow, and plaster the ads in your face.

On a real doe, what wrong taking a loan to do something for your satisfaction? Why a loan has to be for car and house only?

If kwame or harrilal take a 10k to play mas from when they 18 yrs old, pay it back in a year or so, and repeat. By the time they 25-30 wouldn't they have a really good standing with the bank?

Realise trinis and 2nrs especially have this skin up nose, watch dem nah mentality

I think mixed in there is some genuine concern particularly for those who can't afford it, or that it be spent on some type of investment.

bingo

Postby mero » January 29th, 2019, 6:18 pm

mero wrote:

I think mixed in there is some genuine concern particularly for those who can't afford it, or that it be spent on some type of investment.

mero wrote:

Money can always be used to do better things, whether investment or not.

Ppl does bad spend and take loan for all kinda sheit. So whyy the extra skin up nose for Carnival partakers?

Taking a loan from a bank not much different from borrowing from yuh parents. And not everyone has the ability or discipline to just save lump sums, that's why financial institutions exist in the first place..

Lol@ genuine concern though, dis 2nr bro..

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » January 29th, 2019, 6:22 pm

mero wrote:

How about this:
Skip the mas for one single year and stick the payment equivalent in your savings or under the mattress. The next year, splurge it all on mas. Then start afresh and save for next year again from this year march or april.

The problem with that is? You saving interest payments and have peace of mind.

Postby De Dragon » January 29th, 2019, 6:26 pm

mero wrote:
mero wrote:

mero wrote:

Money can always be used to do better things, whether investment or not.

Ppl does bad spend and take loan for all kinda sheit. So whyy the extra skin up nose for Carnival partakers?

Taking a loan from a bank not much different from borrowing from yuh parents. And not everyone has the ability or discipline to just save lump sums, that's why financial institutions exist in the first place..

Lol@ genuine concern though, dis 2nr bro..

Hence why I said some :lol: