That's why I say trinis are more stupid than ever before.maj. tom wrote:From such observations one can only conclude that they're not really interested in this country or moving forward and healing the population. Only just 1 more chance to thief as much they can again before going out to a Panama vacation into the sunset. Just one more time.
Kamla spoke too soon
Vasant hits UNC-go-it-alone stance
Sean Douglas
VASANT BHARATH, former trade minister in the People’s Partnership (PP) government, said Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar spoke too soon in saying her party would go it alone to try and win the 2020 general election.
At the United National Congress (UNC) rally on Sunday at Couva, the UNC leader ruled out a coalition with smaller parties against the ruling People’s National Movement (PNM), in contrast to the five-party PP coalition she led to power in 2010.
That also included the Congress of the People (COP), the Movement for Social Justice (MSJ), the Tobago Organization of the People (TOP) and the National Joint Action Congress (NJAC).
Newsday wondered if she had widely consulted and/or read the ground to suggest smaller parties have little support, for evidence upon which to base her decision. Bharath couldn’t say on either issue, but affirmed the UNC had lost much ground along the East-West Corridor in 2015, even as it stood without its 2010 allies.
“I find it a little strange she would be discounting the role other parties have to play to beat the PNM. If elections are constitutionally due in about two years time, it is a bit early and premature to make hard-and-fast statements, since things in politics are very fluid.
“Who knows what’s around the corner? You don’t want to be caught having to eat your own words, if and when you have to backtrack.” He reiterated such strong statement from her was a little strange.
“You also have to remember that TT is a very diverse country, with people of many different racial, ethnic and religious backgrounds. Unless you can create one organisation that is representative of all of those perspectives, it is very difficult to win. Unless you can attract people from all those groups, you put yourself at a disadvantage.”
“Whether she has done a consultation and realises she doesn’t need anybody else outside of the current UNC, I can’t say. But on the surface it doesn’t look like a very astute statement.”
Bharath replied, “In 2006 the Congress of the People was formed and within a year or less they were able to muster 150,000 votes.
“We have two years before an election. Who knows what will happen between now and then?” This was more so given the widespread disenchantment across TT, he added. “To make a hard-and-fast statement at this early stage may be jumping the gun.”
Rovin wrote:imho unless u remove every single 1 of dem ole timers & replace ALL with fresh new faces unc cyar win chit
d public not gonna vote back a setta lazy tired accused same ol same ol ....
zoom rader wrote:. . . Just think if all new faces ran for PNM, what you think will be the outcome apart from the die hard voter €unts
There you go then these €unts need to stop making arsehole statements on bring in fresh facesRory Phoulorie wrote:zoom rader wrote:. . . Just think if all new faces ran for PNM, what you think will be the outcome apart from the die hard voter €unts
Well for one you will be a much happier person since the PNM will be voted out based on our immature voting attitude, and since you are anti-PNM everything.
ZR, you on a roll today in almost every thread with the anti-PNM comments.
agent007 wrote:Funny how the UNC is taking a pro US approach yet it have some of them who can't even fly to the US or else they will never see this backward country again.
agent007 wrote:ZR, like I mentioned to you previously, I dont have court clothes.
Melchizedek wrote:unc never won an elections on they own
Carolyn: No unity just for power
Sean Douglas
THE Congress of the People (COP) will not unite with any other party just for the sake of seeking political power, said COP leader Carolyn Seepersad-Bachan in reaction to UNC leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar’s recent statement that her party could win the 2020 general election by itself.
“From day one, we have maintained in the COP that unity for us is not about uniting for the sake of power,” Seepersad-Bachan told Newsday.
“Unity, for us, is about how to unite the people of TT around a common vision and a common future. That’s what we want to achieve unity for.” She said sometimes people get carried away by conversations about trying to remove an incumbent. “Uniting for the wrong reasons is not going to carry us anywhere.”
Seepersad-Bachan said the COP was concerned about making a meaningful change in TT. “We have to stop this view of voting ‘against’ someone but instead vote ‘for’ someone.” She wondered if uniting for the wrong reasons had led to some of the negatives in the former People’s Partnership (PP) government whose member parties had included the UNC and COP.
Seepersad-Bachan then said, “The only way to achieve a genuine coalition is by proportional representation.”
Yesterday, St Augustine MP Prakash Ramadhar told Newsday he would work to do his job both in his constituency and in the House of Representatives, even as Persad-Bissessar’s remarks put a question mark over his political future. Ramadhar is the sole MP of the Congress of the People which had originally won six seats in 2010 to win government in coalition with the UNC, NJAC, Tobago Organisation of the People and Movement for Social Justice.
On Persad-Bissessar’s recent statement, Ramadhar told Newsday, “At this point in time, I’d rather hold my comment on this issue.” However, he expressed his support for democracy and for involvement in choosing the next government.
hydroep wrote:The UNC knows that the COP is a spent force which is probably why Kamla made her statement. As it stands there is no third party of significance for them to worry about...at least in Trinidad. Tobago is another story.
If Duke can broker a deal with opposition parties they have a good chance of ousting the PNM over there. But that still isn't enough for a coalition to retake the Government.
Unless something drastic happens within the next year or so, I believe this is what will happen: UNC remains with 18, Duke/coatliton takes the 2 Tobago seats, the PNM drops to 21, and we end up with King Sh!tkicker for another 5 years...
D Diesel Report wrote:hydroep wrote:The UNC knows that the COP is a spent force which is probably why Kamla made her statement. As it stands there is no third party of significance for them to worry about...at least in Trinidad. Tobago is another story.
If Duke can broker a deal with opposition parties they have a good chance of ousting the PNM over there. But that still isn't enough for a coalition to retake the Government.
Unless something drastic happens within the next year or so, I believe this is what will happen: UNC remains with 18, Duke/coatliton takes the 2 Tobago seats, the PNM drops to 21, and we end up with King Sh!tkicker for another 5 years...
Buh if no seats change in Trinidad, dat mean people like bawlhead. Because is how in a one on one fight, and people doh like PNM, how the hell they gonna win St. Joseph, Morgua, La Horquetta and Sande Grande. Two is borrowed light yellow seats and the other two is toss ups.
If Bawlhead really retain his Trinidad seats, then Jah bless the PNM, they doing right by the country and allyuh traitors need to comply or leave to minus 40 wedda. Haha.![]()
l33t2 wrote:D Diesel Report wrote:hydroep wrote:The UNC knows that the COP is a spent force which is probably why Kamla made her statement. As it stands there is no third party of significance for them to worry about...at least in Trinidad. Tobago is another story.
Buh if no seats change in Trinidad, dat mean people like bawlhead. Because is how in a one on one fight, and people doh like PNM, how the hell they gonna win St. Joseph, Morgua, La Horquetta and Sande Grande. Two is borrowed light yellow seats and the other two is toss ups.
If Bawlhead really retain his Trinidad seats, then Jah bless the PNM, they doing right by the country and allyuh traitors need to comply or leave to minus 40 wedda. Haha.![]()
Grande and st Joseph going back yellow, possibly Moruga Tableland too.
UNC opens election nominations, eyes Rowley’s, Imbert’s seats
THE United National Congress (UNC) opened nominations for both the local and general elections, with a focus on capturing two of the three Diego Martin seats, currently held by Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley and Finance Minister Colm Imbert, but was undecided about Tobago.
In spite of Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar’s bold stance that the UNC can win the next general election on its own, decisions are still to be made about the party contesting the two Tobago seats.
As it opened nominations for the two upcoming elections, local at the end of the year and general due in 2020, chairman Peter Kanhai said no decisions have been made about Tobago.
“The political leader did say there are special circumstances surrounding Tobago and a decision would be made as we get closer. The party can win an election alone in Trinidad, and right now we are focusing on Trinidad and the constituencies where we do not have control,” Kanhai said in an interview.
His comments come amidst speculation about Minority Leader of the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) Watson Duke hitching his party to the UNC to contest the next general election.
His colleagues on the other side of the political fence in Tobago have already called on Duke to declare his hand.
At the UNC’s recent National Assembly, Persad-Bissessar said her party’s had decided not to enter into a coalition arrangement as it did in 2010, but invited former members and those interested to form a united front.
Kanhai said interest peaked from among those attending the assembly when nominations were invited. He said on Monday a steady stream of people came to pick up nomination forms for both elections at the UNC’s headquarters at Southern Main Road, Couva.
“But the persons collecting for local have so far outstripped those collecting for general," he pointed out. "This is to be expected because locals is expected this year. We expect this interest to continue over the next few days and weeks and until nominations are closed. “
In anticipation of the 2019 local government elections, the UNC opened nominations on Monday for all electoral districts. At the end of the nomination period, which will be announced by the party’s executive, screening will start.
Kanhai said nominations also opened on Monday for potential candidates interested in contesting the general election in 2020, but only for 21 constituencies which are not currently represented by the UNC.
These include the Diego Martin West and Diego Martin North East seats currently held by Rowley and Imbert respectively, as well as for Arima, Arouca/Maloney, D’Abadie/O’Meara, Diego Martin Central, La Brea, La Horquetta/Talparo, Laventille East/Morvant, Laventille West, Lopinot/Bon Air West, Moruga/Tableland, Point Fortin, Port of Spain North/St Ann’s West, Port of Spain South, San Fernando East and West, St Ann’s East, St Joseph, Toco/Sangre Grande and Tunapuna.
The party’s PRO Anita Haynes said as it prepares to become the next government, various committees have been set up to put plans and policies in place.
Just like there are no virgins in laventille over the age of 16yrs.hydroep wrote:I suspect they will stay out of Tobago this rounds and let the PNM and Watson "Duke it out"...UNC opens election nominations, eyes Rowley’s, Imbert’s seats
THE United National Congress (UNC) opened nominations for both the local and general elections, with a focus on capturing two of the three Diego Martin seats, currently held by Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley and Finance Minister Colm Imbert, but was undecided about Tobago.
In spite of Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar’s bold stance that the UNC can win the next general election on its own, decisions are still to be made about the party contesting the two Tobago seats.
As it opened nominations for the two upcoming elections, local at the end of the year and general due in 2020, chairman Peter Kanhai said no decisions have been made about Tobago.
“The political leader did say there are special circumstances surrounding Tobago and a decision would be made as we get closer. The party can win an election alone in Trinidad, and right now we are focusing on Trinidad and the constituencies where we do not have control,” Kanhai said in an interview.
His comments come amidst speculation about Minority Leader of the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) Watson Duke hitching his party to the UNC to contest the next general election.
His colleagues on the other side of the political fence in Tobago have already called on Duke to declare his hand.
At the UNC’s recent National Assembly, Persad-Bissessar said her party’s had decided not to enter into a coalition arrangement as it did in 2010, but invited former members and those interested to form a united front.
Kanhai said interest peaked from among those attending the assembly when nominations were invited. He said on Monday a steady stream of people came to pick up nomination forms for both elections at the UNC’s headquarters at Southern Main Road, Couva.
“But the persons collecting for local have so far outstripped those collecting for general," he pointed out. "This is to be expected because locals is expected this year. We expect this interest to continue over the next few days and weeks and until nominations are closed. “
In anticipation of the 2019 local government elections, the UNC opened nominations on Monday for all electoral districts. At the end of the nomination period, which will be announced by the party’s executive, screening will start.
Kanhai said nominations also opened on Monday for potential candidates interested in contesting the general election in 2020, but only for 21 constituencies which are not currently represented by the UNC.
These include the Diego Martin West and Diego Martin North East seats currently held by Rowley and Imbert respectively, as well as for Arima, Arouca/Maloney, D’Abadie/O’Meara, Diego Martin Central, La Brea, La Horquetta/Talparo, Laventille East/Morvant, Laventille West, Lopinot/Bon Air West, Moruga/Tableland, Point Fortin, Port of Spain North/St Ann’s West, Port of Spain South, San Fernando East and West, St Ann’s East, St Joseph, Toco/Sangre Grande and Tunapuna.
The party’s PRO Anita Haynes said as it prepares to become the next government, various committees have been set up to put plans and policies in place.
https://newsday.co.tt/2019/02/04/unc-opens-election-nominations-eyes-rowleys-imberts-seats/
Have to agree here.shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Unc not winning pnm strongholds...NOT...pos east & west, diego....staying red..
Unc not even winning the blasted election...kamla and she rum cork crew still deh..men like bhoe tewarie catching a hissy fit cuz deh wanna introduce new ppl in the party..egos and power I tell you
We will resemble one of those failed African states together with the mentally.D Diesel Report wrote:Ah taking predictions,
Meh Seh
PNM 30 seats
UNC 11 seats
PEP 0 seats
Mikela 0 seats
Everybody else 0 seats
Trinidad and Tobago -(negative) 100 hope