Venezuela Government thread

Redress10

Re: Breaking News: Venezuela 2019 new President Juan Guaido to be sworn in

Postby Redress10 » January 25th, 2019, 4:37 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Redress10 wrote:But the government hasn't publicly stated support for Maturo. Our position has always been one of neutrality. We recognise the office holder not the person.

US Aircraft are always all over the world at any point in time. It doesn't say that they hold us in anymore strategic importance than anywhere else. Remember the US has actual bases in Germany, Africa, Korea etc. We may not have the infrastructure to host any US forces and our known position of neutrality also means that we may not even be approached.

Why are you all so eager to get involved in a situation that seems to be heading into armed conflict? Trinis should be seeking to distance themselves as much as possible from any position that may risk Trinidadian lives or infrastructure. This whole debacle is confusing to me as to why Trinis want to become so involved in it. Even more involved than venezuela's south american partners.
Minister Moses said it himself last night on the evening news... The govt of Trinidad recognizes Maduro as the president.

Wham you doh watch orrrr?

Because he is the office holder. What so difficult to understand? Our policy is to recognise the office holder whoever that is. We deal with the administration as it appears in front of us. Our concern is not to figure out what Venezuela's constitution says about who is elected etc. That's for the venezuelan people to figure out.

Kamla recognising Guido. I wonder what would happen if she becomes PM and Maduro still there in the future? What would be our position then?
Last edited by Redress10 on January 25th, 2019, 4:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » January 25th, 2019, 4:41 pm

Redress10 wrote:But the government hasn't publicly stated support for Maturo. Our position has always been one of neutrality. We recognise the office holder not the person.

US Aircraft are always all over the world at any point in time. It doesn't say that they hold us in anymore strategic importance than anywhere else. Remember the US has actual bases in Germany, Africa, Korea etc. We may not have the infrastructure to host any US forces and our known position of neutrality also means that we may not even be approached.

Why are you all so eager to get involved in a situation that seems to be heading into armed conflict? Trinis should be seeking to distance themselves as much as possible from any position that may risk Trinidadian lives or infrastructure. This whole debacle is confusing to me as to why Trinis want to become so involved in it. Even more involved than venezuela's south american partners.

You’re the eager one based on your posts though lol.

I want nothing to do with any situation that involves USA, China, Russia. Let them sort that out themselves and leave us out of that mess. South America and regime change is a messy business. That is a whole different culture and history by itself. I find them could ignore us.

Anyone saw the venezuelan woman pressuring Moses on tv last night? How we get in this? Seriously

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 25th, 2019, 4:54 pm

Screenshot 2019-01-25 at 4.51.55 PM.jpg

Postby The_Honourable » January 25th, 2019, 5:15 pm

Rowley on Venezuela

Postby sMASH » January 25th, 2019, 5:27 pm

i agree with nuetrality, i think outside meddling into who gets power is wrong and dangerous. my post above was to show the pettiness of america, in that they may levy sanctions on us. so i DONT support the dragon gas deal. i think that will definitely incur sanctions, and, since u point out how much more powerful the fone comapany is to us, no one will bat an eye if we get sanctioned.

and what people are lumping together, is the recognition of maduro as the sitting president as a condoning of the humanitarian situation. one does not automatically equate the other. we can still help out even if we dont jump out and say, 'guaido es el presidente' . and taking the neutral position makes it better to try to persuade maduro to make some changes.

i support neutrality, but i dont support dragon gas. i support the attempt to address the humanitarian situation, but dont support no outside instigated coup.

if the people actually get guaido into power, we would deal with him... or whom ever sits in the office.

Postby sMASH » January 25th, 2019, 5:43 pm

Redress10 wrote:

You’re the eager one based on your posts though lol.

I want nothing to do with any situation that involves USA, China, Russia. Let them sort that out themselves and leave us out of that mess. South America and regime change is a messy business. That is a whole different culture and history by itself. I find them could ignore us.

Anyone saw the venezuelan woman pressuring Moses on tv last night? How we get in this? Seriously

we already owe china a lot, our economy depends on amerca for the most part. we have no other choice than to be in that.
this is why i had said years ago, that we need to shift our business from being so heavily dependent on america, cause any thing they feel bad for, if we got sanctioned, we would fall apart. if we dealt with other currencies, like euro, or yuan, instead of solely USd, we might be able to push through an american sanction.

we have to scrap dragon gas, fire bun dat. but i it is a very good business deal to get.

so, shelve it. work on reducing our dependency on american markets, and then resume dragon gas.

Postby The_Honourable » January 25th, 2019, 5:45 pm

US Ambassador: T&T's recognition of Maduro 'deeply concerning'

United States ambassador to Trinidad and Tobago, Joseph Mondello says he is deeply concerned with the position of the government of Trinidad and Tobago to recognise Nicolas Maduro as the president of Venezuela.

Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister, Stuart Young has said that the government recognises Maduro as president but the government has not express support for either side in the conflict.

"I find the official statements from the Government of Trinidad and Tobago recognizing the undemocratic and illegitimate government of Nicholas Maduro to be deeply concerning," a statement issued by the US Embassy said Friday.

The statement was titled, "AMB Mondello on Venezuela".

It states: "Venezuelan Interim President Juan Guaido and the democratically elected National Assembly have the full recognition and resolute support of the United States of America and the majority of democracies in the Western Hemisphere. Democracy and prosperity require tough choices."

It adds: "I and the entire U.S. Embassy are committed to maintaining mutually beneficial bilateral relations with the government and people of Trinidad and Tobago."

Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley was asked to comment on the statement but said he had not seen the statement and he wasn't sure if it a fake document.

Source: http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/us- ... concerning

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 25th, 2019, 6:01 pm

Official page of the US Embassy in T&T
https://tt.usembassy.gov/democracy-and- ... h-choices/

Ambassador Joseph N. Mondello

January 25, 2019

Venezuelan Interim President Juan Guaido and the democratically elected National Assembly have the full recognition and resolute support of the United States of America and the majority of democracies in the Western Hemisphere. I find the official statements from the Government of Trinidad and Tobago recognizing the undemocratic and illegitimate government of Nicholas Maduro to be deeply concerning.

Democracy and prosperity require tough choices.

I and the entire U.S. Embassy are committed to maintaining mutually beneficial bilateral relations with the government and people of Trinidad and Tobago.

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » January 25th, 2019, 6:12 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Official page of the US Embassy in T&T
https://tt.usembassy.gov/democracy-and- ... h-choices/

Ambassador Joseph N. Mondello

January 25, 2019

Venezuelan Interim President Juan Guaido and the democratically elected National Assembly have the full recognition and resolute support of the United States of America and the majority of democracies in the Western Hemisphere. I find the official statements from the Government of Trinidad and Tobago recognizing the undemocratic and illegitimate government of Nicholas Maduro to be deeply concerning.

Democracy and prosperity require tough choices.

I and the entire U.S. Embassy are committed to maintaining mutually beneficial bilateral relations with the government and people of Trinidad and Tobago.

Once again we are the laughing stock of the world.

Postby Redman » January 25th, 2019, 6:47 pm

Laughing stock?
Exaggerate much?

Why? Because the US deeply concerned about our opinion......despite the US maintaining actual trade relations with Venezuela that make Dragon Gas look like a lizard fart.

Postby Gladiator » January 25th, 2019, 7:34 pm

Redman wrote:Laughing stock?
Exaggerate much?

Why? Because the US deeply concerned about our opinion......despite the US maintaining actual trade relations with Venezuela that make Dragon Gas look like a lizard fart.

Knowing your leader.... if things go south he would just say he had to support Maduro because we are only 7 miles away and he fraid we get bomb up...

Postby Ben_spanna » January 25th, 2019, 7:37 pm

Mind you, all of this criticism is coming from someone who is refusing to pay over 800,000 of his own people ove r a damn wall... so who Is America to talk about anyone ....he has peoples families with no money because he wants a wall. :roll:

Melchizedek

Postby Melchizedek » January 25th, 2019, 8:15 pm

Guaidó rejects talks with Maduro

Venezuelan opposition leader Juan Guaidó has rejected an offer of talks from President Nicolás Maduro amid an ongoing power struggle between the two.

Mr Guaidó declared himself "acting president" on Wednesday, a position that has been recognised by several countries, including the US.

But Mr Maduro called the move a "coup" influenced by the US and cut off diplomatic ties in response.

A UN Security Council meeting on the crisis is due to be held on Saturday.

Mr Maduro began a second term earlier this month after polls marred by an opposition boycott and vote-rigging claims.

The international community is split on whether to recognise his government.

On Friday, he said he was ready to talk to his rival - but Mr Guaidó said he rejected "fake dialogue" and again said he would consider offering him amnesty.

Mr Maduro has so far retained the support of the country's military, but Mr Guaidó has asked them to "put themselves on the side of the Venezuelan people" and back him instead.

He has also called for major demonstrations demanding Mr Maduro's resignation to be held next week.
https://www.bbc.com/news/world-latin-america-47009301

Postby The_Honourable » January 25th, 2019, 8:29 pm

So Growley saying he neutral but criticizing those who anti-maduro while recognizing maduro.

#gaspain

Postby Gladiator » January 25th, 2019, 9:10 pm

The_Honourable wrote:So Growley saying he neutral but criticizing those who anti-maduro while recognizing maduro.

#gaspain

The usual donkey logic...

Postby paid_influencer » January 25th, 2019, 9:22 pm

lol @ trinis falling over them self to show support for trump's ambassador

Postby teems1 » January 25th, 2019, 9:24 pm

Exaggerate much?

Are you really so blinded by party loyalty you can't admit the government made a poor public statement with regards to Maduro/Guiado? He simply should have said he would remain as neutral as Switzerland and everything would have been hunky dory.

Your credibility goes down the drain if you can't even call a spade a spade when it's as crystal clear as this.

Postby gastly369 » January 25th, 2019, 9:28 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Exaggerate much?

Knowing your leader.... if things go south he would just say...
Izzzz kahhhmehlah fault!

Postby The_Honourable » January 25th, 2019, 9:50 pm

PM Responds to US Embassy: I take umbrage at the US Ambassador for making a public statement criticising the government of T&T as we take action in protecting the citizens of T&T.

Postby shogun » January 25th, 2019, 10:25 pm

teems1 wrote:
Exaggerate much?

Are you really so blinded by party loyalty you can't admit the government made a poor public statement with regards to Maduro/Guiado? He simply should have said he would remain as neutral as Switzerland and everything would have been hunky dory.

Your credibility goes down the drain if you can't even call a spade a spade when it's as crystal clear as this.

The_Honourable wrote:So Growley saying he neutral but criticizing those who anti-maduro while recognizing maduro.

#gaspain

These fellas can't grasp the simplest of concepts or what?

Showing support for "Maduro" has nothing to do with the person, but for his office. He's saying that someone merely declaring themselves "president" and not recognizing his office, may not be the right way to go. Other than that, they remain neutral. What's the problem? For example, MILLIONS might argue that the 2000 US election was "stolen" from Al Gore, by way of the Florida courts. Do you think Hillary or any other Democrat with widespread support could have declared himself/herself president citing "rigging?" Do you think they would give a rats hair about the opinion of the international community, much less the government of Trinidad and Tobago's opinion? No, Hillary would have been dragged out of the White House by her pant suit collar. Rowley is correct. Because if the US could push for removing an elected leader in this manner AND garner support of other influential nations just by having their president make public statements, what makes you think they won't be able in the future to interfere with ANY leader in our neck of the woods? Come nuh man, some of allyuh could do better than this.... especially teems1. Y'all letting unbridaled yet hilarious hate for Rowley cloud your judgment.

Postby teems1 » January 25th, 2019, 10:42 pm

shogun wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Exaggerate much?

#gaspain

Showing support for "Maduro" has nothing to do with the person, but for his office. He's saying that someone merely declaring themselves "president" and not recognizing his office, may not be the right way to go. Other than that, they remain neutral. What's the problem? For example, some might argue that the 2000 US election was "stolen" from Al Gore, by way of the Florida courts. Do you think Hillary or any other Democrat with widespread support could have declared himself/herself president citing "rigging?" Do you think they would give a rats hair about the opinion of the international community, much less the government of Trinidad and Tobago's opinion? Rowley is correct. Because if the US could push for removing an elected leader in this manner AND garner support of other influential nations just by having their president make public statements, what makes you think they won't be able in the future to interfere with ANY leader in our neck of the woods? Come nuh man, some of allyuh could do better than this.... especially teems1. Y'all letting unbridaled yet hilarious hate for Rowley cloud your judgment.

But he didn't say that did he.

All he had to say was that he was staying neutral on the matter and Venezuela will sort itself out. When questioned about the gas deals all he had to say was that trade deals are with the state, not a person, and whomever is in charge of Venezuela will honor it.

But he didn't. Instead he blatantly said Maduro is the leader.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/01/25/young- ... es-maduro/

He said with Venezuela being seven miles off the coast of Trinidad, what happened there “(is) bound to affect us in TT.”

Young said TT abstained in an Organisation of American States vote not to recognise the legitimacy of Maduro’s presidency. He said TT has been lobbied to participate in interventions against Venezuela but has retained the non-interference stance.

Young was asked whether the attendance of Minister of Foreign and Caricom Affairs Dennis Moses at Maduro’s inauguration was not a show of support for the Maduro government.

He responded: “I think his attendance was a show of support at his inauguration. I will not bury my head in the sand and pretend it is anything otherwise.”

Asked who the TT Government recognised as President of Venezuela, Young responded: “President Maduro.”

That isn't showing respect for the office, that is straight up saying he recognizes Maduro.

All he had to say was that he was staying neutral on the matter, and not going to name any names for the risk of it being misconstrued and the country being painted in an awkward light.

Postby shogun » January 25th, 2019, 10:45 pm

Dude, please tell me you're not serious?

That was the appropriate response because the guy HOLDING the office's name is Maduro. Again, how is this that complicated?

Am I being punked? *looks around for cameras*

Postby zoom rader » January 25th, 2019, 10:51 pm

Men inside here care more about Venezuela that Trini.

Such a long debate but little on how this present goverment turning this country in to a chithole

Postby sMASH » January 25th, 2019, 10:52 pm

teems1 wrote:
shogun wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Exaggerate much?

#gaspain

Showing support for "Maduro" has nothing to do with the person, but for his office. He's saying that someone merely declaring themselves "president" and not recognizing his office, may not be the right way to go. Other than that, they remain neutral. What's the problem? For example, some might argue that the 2000 US election was "stolen" from Al Gore, by way of the Florida courts. Do you think Hillary or any other Democrat with widespread support could have declared himself/herself president citing "rigging?" Do you think they would give a rats hair about the opinion of the international community, much less the government of Trinidad and Tobago's opinion? Rowley is correct. Because if the US could push for removing an elected leader in this manner AND garner support of other influential nations just by having their president make public statements, what makes you think they won't be able in the future to interfere with ANY leader in our neck of the woods? Come nuh man, some of allyuh could do better than this.... especially teems1. Y'all letting unbridaled yet hilarious hate for Rowley cloud your judgment.

All he had to say was that he was staying neutral on the matter and Venezuela will sort itself out. When questioned about the gas deals all he had to say was that trade deals are with the state, not a person, and whomever is in charge of Venezuela will honor it.

He said with Venezuela being seven miles off the coast of Trinidad, what happened there “(is) bound to affect us in TT.”

Young said TT abstained in an Organisation of American States vote not to recognise the legitimacy of Maduro’s presidency. He said TT has been lobbied to participate in interventions against Venezuela but has retained the non-interference stance.

Young was asked whether the attendance of Minister of Foreign and Caricom Affairs Dennis Moses at Maduro’s inauguration was not a show of support for the Maduro government.

He responded: “I think his attendance was a show of support at his inauguration. I will not bury my head in the sand and pretend it is anything otherwise.”

Asked who the TT Government recognised as President of Venezuela, Young responded: “President Maduro.”

That isn't showing respect for the office, that is straight up saying he recognizes Maduro.

All he had to say was that he was staying neutral on the matter, and not going to name any names for the risk of it being misconstrued and the country being painted in an awkward light.

when u use the term 'recognize' it means that u acknowledge the office holder to be that person. it sounds like support, but it isnt support. the normal every day use, we use it to mean something more deep. but in this scenario, it is just the succinct term to say, 'we will address the president of venezuela, in the person of maduro'.

take the interpretation of that word down a couple notches from how it sounds.

attending the inauguration was a matter of diplomatic respect. u need to maintain relations. that what maintaining relations entails.

maduro is, for all intents, purposes, functions, the leader of venezuela. when they change that, and maduro not in the office, then we will recognize the other person as their head of state.

Postby teems1 » January 25th, 2019, 10:55 pm

shogun wrote:Dude, please tell me you're not serious?

That was the appropriate response because the guy HOLDING the office's name is Maduro. Again, how is this that complicated?

Am I being punked? *looks around for cameras*

Clearly you're oblivious to world news, as your head is in the earth like an ostrich.

Maduro is holding the office because of his rigged elections. You honestly believe that he won 67% of the vote last May?

Venezuela needs to sort itself out before Maduro becomes a Mugabe 2.0

Remember Mugabe used to get 90% of the vote every time? Was he a ruling Zimbabwe as a legitimate democracy?

Venezuela was not the sort of nation to be making deals with, but here we are.

Like I said, the best thing for Young to say was that he was remaining neutral on the matter.

Instead Young decided to open his mouth on the world stage. Go to twitter now and you'll see.

Postby teems1 » January 25th, 2019, 10:58 pm

sMASH wrote:
teems1 wrote:
shogun wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Exaggerate much?

#gaspain

when u use the term 'recognize' it means that u acknowledge the office holder to be that person. it sounds like support, but it isnt support. the normal every day use, we use it to mean something more deep. but in this scenario, it is just the succinct term to say, 'we will address the president of venezuela, in the person of maduro'.

take the interpretation of that word down a couple notches from how it sounds.

attending the inauguration was a matter of diplomatic respect. u need to maintain relations. that what maintaining relations entails.

maduro is, for all intents, purposes, functions, the leader of venezuela. when they change that, and maduro not in the office, then we will recognize the other person as their head of state.

If you know the wording in the question is ambiguous, or it can be misconstrued you do not answer. You deflect/redirect or as we call it beat around the bush. Even SHS did this with ease every week in the White House. Stuart Young just looked like a fool on the world stage.

In his case he gave a straight up answer, now he has to deal with the fall out. He may not have meant it, but here we are.

Postby sMASH » January 25th, 2019, 11:10 pm

correct, because it is a non issue. the president of venezuela is maduro, the head of state is maduro, the person the military acknowledges as the head of state is maduro, the citizens support the president in maduro.

so, according to alyuh, who think maduro is a curse, that must not be spoken, if u go to vene, to do some deal with the presindent, u will go to guaido. when u meet guaido, where u meeting? by the bar round the corner? the roti shop? by his house? or he renting an office in the city...

the man in the office of the president, wth secretary, and security, and riding in the official president car is maduro.

Postby teems1 » January 25th, 2019, 11:20 pm

sMASH wrote:correct, because it is a non issue. the president of venezuela is maduro, the head of state is maduro, the person the military acknowledges as the head of state is maduro, the citizens support the president in maduro.

so, according to alyuh, who think maduro is a curse, that must not be spoken, if u go to vene, to do some deal with the presindent, u will go to guaido. when u meet guaido, where u meeting? by the bar round the corner? the roti shop? by his house? or he renting an office in the city...

the man in the office of the president, wth secretary, and security, and riding in the official president car is maduro.

What you don't do is make critical deals with a volatile state.

The US is one of Venezuela's biggest trading partners, but they could end all trade tomorrow and it won't affect the US economy one bit.

T&T needs their fossil fuels to survive. Let's know Rowley knew what he was doing and has back up resources for when things get hairy.

Postby sMASH » January 25th, 2019, 11:27 pm

i agree that they need to shelve dragon gas...

Postby The_Honourable » January 26th, 2019, 12:08 am

I get the "recognition" argument put forward. Whoever is the office holder of President, that is who we are going to deal with as amicable as possible.

The problem is that Growlers is hiding behind that where in actuality he is pro-maduro. Pay attention to his language and demeanor once you speak about Juan Guaido and opposition forces.

#gaspains