Ben_spanna wrote:interesting developments..... Guaido has already stated that he will NOT honor any deals/arrangements signed under MAduro, which INCLUDES the GAS agreement for Trinidad, once again US of Americah seeking to gain a strong hold into a country RICH in energy resources, but Russia AND China are in direct opposition......
Redman wrote:What's the impact of backing the wrong horse?
Weighed against that of a non aligned one?
I don't see us having any influence to be able to shift the balance....taking a position here will have little impact
Ben_spanna wrote:interesting developments..... Guaido has already stated that he will NOT honor any deals/arrangements signed under MAduro, which INCLUDES the GAS agreement for Trinidad, once again US of Americah seeking to gain a strong hold into a country RICH in energy resources, but Russia AND China are in direct opposition......
‘[Trump] can say whatever he wants!’ Live Wire buckles up as Young backs Maduro in Venezuela crisis
Mr. Live Wire
“[US president Donald Trump] can say whatever he wants,” said National Security Minister Stuart Young yesterday. “At the end of the day, as far as I am aware, Venezuela is a sovereign country.
“[…] I certainly would not wish for any country to have a coup. We stand ready to assist in whatever way we can, but we certainly don’t think that one government calling for another government to fall is the right thing.”
Tell Venezuela president Nicolás Maduro doh study the mighty United States Army. Eh, Trinidad and Tobago’s got your back!
It was a commendable show of loyalty by Young to a besieged neighbour that might have left Maduro teary-eyed. And possibly had the National Security Minister’s former step daughter, Christina Sankar, rolling her eyes.
So you mean Stuart ‘fraid Gary Griffith more than ‘The Donald’? That Dragon Gas Deal must be a damn sight sweeter than anything Butch Stewart’s Sandals was prepared to put on the table.
Whichever way you look at it, yesterday was freaking bizarre.
First, on a public street in Caracas, the 35 year old Juan Guaidó—the leader of Venezuela’s National Assembly—swore himself in as interim president of Venezuela without the inconvenience of ever actually running for president.
Guaidó, an engineer by trade, was only elected head of the National Assembly on 5 January. At this rate, he might annex Guyana before Machel Monday.
The young Venezuelan’s power-play, according to some partisan observers, was an act of bravado and patriotism in the face of electoral shenanigans by the fiendishly, dodgy Maduro.
Or, as ‘The Donald’ put it, Guaidó’s National Assembly is the “only legitimate branch of government duly elected by the Venezuelan people.”
And if there is one man who knows a suspicious electoral process when he sees it, surely it is ‘The Donald’. Not so Robert Mueller?
Right Putin?
“If the Maduro regime choose to respond with violence, if they choose to harm any of the national assembly members,” stated a US official, “all options are on the table for the United States to respond.
“[…] The US will not allow an individual, Nicolás Maduro, and his cronies to continue to loot the Venezuela state.”
It was big talk from a US government that could not even get chefs out to work—due to an ongoing Trump-inspired government shutdown—and had to offer fast food to their national football champions, the Clemson University, on their obligatory dinner at the White House.
Maybe ‘The Donald’ plans to give Maduro dangerously high cholesterol.
Seriously though, if Maduro was wondering what the ‘Yanks’ might do about the visit of two Russian strategic bombing aircraft—capable of carrying nuclear weapons—to Caracas last month. Well, now he knows.
Mr Live Wire hasn’t seen Americans this upset since Trinidad and Tobago right back Alvin Jones strung up Tim Howard to dash USA’s 2018 World Cup qualifying dreams at the last hurdle.
Maybe Young should send the Soca Warriors over to Caracas as a first line of defence. True, Venezuela—with an inflation rate recorded at 830,000% last November—is an economic basket case and the boys may struggle to get their wages on time.
But then that couldn’t be much worse than life under TTFA president David John-Williams.
Trinidad is looked on as Jurassic Park on the world scale....l33t2 wrote:^ Trinidad is looking so foolish here, there is no advantage of supporting Maduro. Maduro is gone, the USA wants Guidao and that will happen regardless. But here we are supporting the losing horse.
US does not need trini for any thing but LNG.Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Redman wrote:What's the impact of backing the wrong horse?
I don't see us having any influence to be able to shift the balance....taking a position here will have little impact
US Sanctions against T&T for supporting Maduro will severely impact us.
We are strategically positioned geographically.
Remember in World War II the Americans set up bases here. The missile tracking radar station in Chaguaramas, the US Navy submarine facility at Macqueripe, the massive air base at Fort Read and Waller Field and the Churchill-Roosevelt Highway.
The highway was constructed during World War II by the Americans to connect the US Army base with Port of Spain, the highway was named for the two wartime leaders, Winston Churchill and Franklin D. Roosevelt.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Churchill ... lt_Highway
Tell Venezuela president Nicolás Maduro doh study the mighty United States Army. Eh, Trinidad and Tobago’s got your back!
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Redman wrote:What's the impact of backing the wrong horse?
US Sanctions against T&T for supporting Maduro will severely impact us.
We are strategically positioned geographically.
Remember in World War II the Americans set up bases here. The missile tracking radar station in Chaguaramas, the US Navy submarine facility at Macqueripe, the massive air base at Fort Read and Waller Field and the Churchill-Roosevelt Highway.
The highway was constructed during World War II by the Americans to connect the US Army base with Port of Spain, the highway was named for the two wartime leaders, Winston Churchill and Franklin D. Roosevelt.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Churchill ... lt_Highway
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Not saying they need us. Just pointing out that we were once used for US Army and Navy operations in the past.
The more pertinent point is sanctions.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Not saying they need us. Just pointing out that we were once used for US Army and Navy operations in the past.
pugboy wrote:If tstt or digicel using huawei backend equip it could be problems indeed
Ben_spanna wrote:All the US would have to say is " if you back Maduro then No one from Trinidad will be allowed to travel to the US of A, including All government officials.. and watch and se how quickly Growley and Little will back pedal their stories,,, ent Growl already had to do a backpedal about some story involving Mottley recently?
Redress10 wrote:Ben_spanna wrote:All the US would have to say is " if you back Maduro then No one from Trinidad will be allowed to travel to the US of A, including All government officials.. and watch and se how quickly Growley and Little will back pedal their stories,,, ent Growl already had to do a backpedal about some story involving Mottley recently?
No one is backing Maduro. Our position has always been neutrality and doing business with whoever holds the office at the time. For decades now Venezuela in confusion and instability. Is it really fair to expect an administration to support a side when the players constantly being reshuffled. Venezuela is too unstable to just "pick a side". Let them sort it out and when the dust clears we continue doing our business with whoever emerges as the leader.
Anyone in here ever read a diplomatic cable? Why are we still talking about things such as sanctions? Our official diplomatic position on Venezuela is one of neutrality. That is our stated official position. Jeeez
Redress10 wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Not saying they need us. Just pointing out that we were once used for US Army and Navy operations in the past.
Yes but that wasn't "us". That was Trinidad and Tobago under British rule. So in reality they used a british overseas territory and not an independent sovereign nation. You can't just walk into a country a set up a military base.
We provide no more strategic advantage to the US than say Grenada. Any intervention into Venezuela would require neighbouring countries such as Brazil and Colombia to play an active role. I expect that is where the staging points would be. It will be very quiet in POS.
Minister Moses said it himself last night on the evening news... The govt of Trinidad recognizes Maduro as the president.Redress10 wrote:But the government hasn't publicly stated support for Maturo. Our position has always been one of neutrality. We recognise the office holder not the person.
US Aircraft are always all over the world at any point in time. It doesn't say that they hold us in anymore strategic importance than anywhere else. Remember the US has actual bases in Germany, Africa, Korea etc. We may not have the infrastructure to host any US forces and our known position of neutrality also means that we may not even be approached.
Why are you all so eager to get involved in a situation that seems to be heading into armed conflict? Trinis should be seeking to distance themselves as much as possible from any position that may risk Trinidadian lives or infrastructure. This whole debacle is confusing to me as to why Trinis want to become so involved in it. Even more involved than venezuela's south american partners.
Redress10 wrote:But the government hasn't publicly stated support for Maturo. Our position has always been one of neutrality. We recognise the office holder not the person.
US Aircraft are always all over the world at any point in time. It doesn't say that they hold us in anymore strategic importance than anywhere else. Remember the US has actual bases in Germany, Africa, Korea etc. We may not have the infrastructure to host any US forces and our known position of neutrality also means that we may not even be approached.
Why are you all so eager to get involved in a situation that seems to be heading into armed conflict? Trinis should be seeking to distance themselves as much as possible from any position that may risk Trinidadian lives or infrastructure. This whole debacle is confusing to me as to why Trinis want to become so involved in it. Even more involved than venezuela's south american partners.
sMASH wrote:america is not on a live and let live vibes these days. they are in colonizing mode. not hard, but that's their direction. some action put forward in the UN, they didnt get much support at all, and nikkey haley came out after and chastised and threatened all that they will be taking note of all that did not support them. most of the other smaller nations depend of US aide, and it was a threat to pull back that aide.
after that, trump was saying that the UN is useless and they pay for most of it, and they could pull out becaause they dont get support.
ur also forgetting the recent arrest of the huawei execs, beacsue that company violated their sanctions. the threat of sanctions is real, but they will quietly discuss that to get public support first.