SAUCY IN HOT WATER - Furore over homophobic ‘dub plate’

Postby redmanjp » January 21st, 2019, 11:05 pm

SAUCY IN HOT WATER
Furore over Denise Belfon’s homophobic ‘dub plate’

THERE have been calls for a boycott and overwhelming condemnation on social media of a “dub plate” sung by soca artiste Denise “Saucy Wow” Belfon, in which she calls for the killing of a “b----r” and a “batty bwoy.”

The 20-second video of Belfon, known for songs like Wining Queen and Bicycle Wine, was posted on the Instagram page of Jamaican “selecta” DJ Dro who said in another video, Belfon sang the dub plate for him.

Belfon sang: “Hold a f---er and kill him. Kill him. Kill him. Kill him. Kill him. Kill him. Hold a b----r and kill him. Kill him. Kill him. Hold a batty boy kill him. Kill him. Kill him. Kill him. Kill him. Kill him. Hold a f---er and kill him (repeatedly).”

Caribbean feminist group Womantra in a Facebook post, described the video as hate speech, homophobic lyrical content and one which could incite violence.

“It seems we don’t need to go as far as Jamaica to find artistes spouting hateful lyrics, calling for the murder of gay men. Following in the legacy of Boom Bye Bye (by Jamaican artiste Buju Banton), our very own Denise “Saucy Wow”

“Despite the high levels of homophobia that still exist in TT, this display remains shocking, irresponsible and completely unacceptable. We are truly disappointed in Denise Belfon and demand a public apology for the harm she has caused by these offensive lyrics. Boycott hate speech now.”

Writer and activist Ian Royer, also in a facebook post, said he wanted to give Belfon a chance to explain her actions over two videos including one inciting violence to the LGBTQ community.

“She did not deny singing both versions (and) told me to check the selector for a lesson on dub plates, and offered no apology to the community who has welcomed her, booked her when her career was failing, and supported her. What a disgrace. I for one will be boycotting her, her music, and any other business or event she’s party to until such a time that she not only clarifies the intent of her use of hate speech, but apologises to the community. I urge all of you to do the same. I am angry, and deeply disappointed by her...”

There was a flood of posts on Facebook with comments criticising Belfon and the video.

“So Denise Belfon thinks it’s okay to promote hate and violence toward gay people. I was quite the Saucy fan but as of now, no thanks. Quite frankly, I’ll go so far as to boycott her establishment and encourage others to do similarly. It’s incredibly embarrassing that a public figure of TT, by way of soca music and Carnival, would choose to sing about murdering and committing violent acts toward gay persons in 2019! How backwards are you? Or are you content on dragging and embarrassing the rest of us?” one person asked.

Other person expressed disappointment and disbelief, and another said they were ashamed and disgusted.

When Newsday reached out to Belfon comment via Instagram, she responded: “You can go the selector’s page and get all the information on dub plate and on the dub plate culture.”

Asked how much she was paid for the dub plate, she responded: “Do you mind telling me how much you’re being paid to ask me what you are suppose to research about dub plate culture before approaching me? Because clearly you don’t know your job. Just saying.”

DJ Dro, in a video, confirmed the video was recent and a custom dub plate recorded for him to use in competitions. He said he wrote the lyrics, and the people criticising Belfon did not know anything about sound clashes. He explained that in a clash, people say the “baddest of words,” “nastiest of things” and it must be something “dissing” the other selecta.

“When you hear someone sing something about killing this and that (they are) speaking the voice for the selecta, which is me, to use against my competitor in the moment of a competition.”

He said after the video was posted “little people” chose to “turn and twist the story” into talking about promoting violence and murder and killing amongst a “group of people.”

“When she talking about killing this batty and b----r, she is not talking to nobody out there.”

He said the “killing” was about “lyrical killing” and said “dunce” people wanted to start something to get attention, likes and following.

The DJ said the dub plate will not be put out on YouTube or in public, but will stay in his “dub box” and he shared the video on Instagram to promote dub plates. In the video, he pointed to trophies of competitions he won in sound clashes using similar dub plates.

He claimed: “(People) wake up with dutty heart and just want to tarnish somebody’s name.”

CAISO Sex and Gender Justice also commented on Facebook.

“In the morning there was the video of Denise. In the evening there was the video explanation of the video of Denise. And neither one makes any sense. Denise used to be an artist who changed Trinbagonian culture and welcomed LGBTI fans, not one who chased the homophobic scraps of Jamaican culture to boost a waning career.”

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/01/20/saucy-in-hot-water/

Re: SAUCY IN HOT WATER - Furore over homophobic ‘dub plate’

Postby redmanjp » January 21st, 2019, 11:08 pm

anyone have a link to the video?

clone101

Postby clone101 » January 22nd, 2019, 2:59 am

Just now you will not be able to play Buju Boom bye bye in parties !

Postby SR » January 22nd, 2019, 6:23 am

Same womantra people still wining down to buju and go pay d 2000 ticket price

Postby Les Bain » January 22nd, 2019, 7:34 am

I thought was the superior Saucy, not Queen Fridge.

Disappointed.

Postby Ben_spanna » January 22nd, 2019, 7:52 am

Sings LOUDLY and doesn't give ah f..k………………..

"yuh never jink inna Chii Chii man barrrrr……
Fire haffi BUN demmmmmmmm……………………"

Postby timelapse » January 22nd, 2019, 5:59 pm

#dohcare #metalhead

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » January 22nd, 2019, 6:02 pm

Her relevance to carnival = 0 ....

Postby shogun » January 22nd, 2019, 6:25 pm

"News."

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 22nd, 2019, 9:14 pm

Goes back to the t.o.k chune

QuietGiant

Postby QuietGiant » January 23rd, 2019, 10:37 am

SJW culture spreading. As long as social media is alive it will never stop.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » January 23rd, 2019, 11:16 am

8-)
timelapse wrote:#dohcare #metalhead

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » January 23rd, 2019, 11:35 am

thought was kevin

Postby Chimera » January 23rd, 2019, 11:41 am

clone101 wrote:Just now you will not be able to play Buju Boom bye bye in parties !

lol the other day i looking for the song on youtube to realize they remove all trace of it

Postby timelapse » January 23rd, 2019, 12:05 pm

Sundar wrote:8-)

Johnny is that you?

Sundar

Postby Sundar » January 23rd, 2019, 12:21 pm

timelapse wrote:

Johnny is that you?

nope... :faint:

Postby hydroep » January 23rd, 2019, 12:24 pm

Well this raises the question of whether or not taking a job is representative of one's personal convicitons. I remember a few years ago when an Indian Dance Group performed at a PNM function some opposition supporters labelled them "traitors".

IMO they were simply hired to do a job and got paid for it, end of story.

Similarly, Marlene Jr. was hired to do a job. Just because you do not agree with the nature of it doesn't mean that she automatically subscribes to its tenets either. Like other artists, actors etc, she's just playing a role.

Anyways, flame on...:|

Postby teems1 » January 23rd, 2019, 12:33 pm

hydroep wrote:Well this raises the question of whether or not taking a job is representative of one's personal convicitons. I remember a few years ago when an Indian Dance Group performed at a PNM function, some opposition supporters labelled them "traitors".

Similarly, Marlene Jr. was hired to do a job. Just because you do not agree with the nature of it doesn't mean that she automatically subscribes to its tenets either. Like other artists, actors etc, she's just playing a role.

Chalk and cheese though.

You can be homophobic, but perform your normal jam and wine soca tunes. There are probably many soca stars who are homophobic but we have no idea.

From the moment you include the lyrics kill batty boy etc, then you remove all doubt and it becomes clear.

The onus should be on the person hiring the talent to ensure that they are not hiring anyone whose presence may mark a stain on the event.

Postby hydroep » January 23rd, 2019, 12:40 pm

teems1 wrote:
hydroep wrote:Well this raises the question of whether or not taking a job is representative of one's personal convicitons. I remember a few years ago when an Indian Dance Group performed at a PNM function, some opposition supporters labelled them "traitors".

Chalk and cheese though.

You can be homophobic, but perform your normal jam and wine soca tunes. There are probably many soca stars who are homophobic but we have no idea.

From the moment you include the lyrics kill batty boy etc, then you remove all doubt and it becomes clear.

The onus should be on the person hiring the talent to ensure that they are not hiring anyone whose presence may mark a stain on the event.

We will have to agree to disagree on that.

There are calypsonians who have sung on both sides of the political fence, Sugar Aloes and De Fosto are two that come to mind. They collected money and then voted where their hearts lay. Point being just because you sing for one side or the other doesn't mean you "are for" one side or the other.

Sure things like racism and homophobia are more "charged" issues, but I don't see how the principle is any different.

Postby teems1 » January 23rd, 2019, 12:56 pm

hydroep wrote:
teems1 wrote:

Chalk and cheese though.

We will have to agree to disagree on that.

There are calypsonians who have sung on both sides of the political fence, Sugar Aloes and De Fosto are two that come to mind. They collected money and then voted where their hearts lay. Point being just because you sing for one side or the other doesn't mean you "are for" one side or the other.

Sure things like racism and homophobia are more "charged" issues, but I don't see how the principle is any different.

The principle is clearly different.

Singing for a political party in Trinidad and Tobago is far easier as all parties have basically the same manifesto and the population votes on race.

It's not like the US where each side has drastically different views on how to approach the major issues like:

1) Abortion vs Pro life
2) LGBTQ+ rights vs Bible definition of marriage
3) Marijuana legislation vs anti drug crazies
4) Gun Control vs 2nd amendment stalwarts
5) Loosen immigration vs closed border
6) Climate change is normal vs humans are causing climate change
7) Social safety net spending vs pulling yourself up by the bootstrap
8) Overspending on defense vs budget cutbacks
9) Fossil fuel usage vs renewable
10) Privacy/spying laws vs PATRIOT act
11) Progressive brackets rates vs lower rates for rich
12) Health insurance spending vs single payer
13) For profit prisons vs government run prisons

etc etc.

Postby MG Man » January 23rd, 2019, 1:28 pm

I wonder what Calyppso Rose would have to say

Postby j.o.e » January 23rd, 2019, 2:11 pm

Saucy done eh making no money for carnival and now they wanna interfere with her lil dub plate food.

Postby Les Bain » January 23rd, 2019, 2:21 pm

Modern dancehall fashion looks like gay stereotypes from 2 or 3 decades ago though.
Are anti gay lyrics a harmless throwback or they serious?

Postby zoom rader » January 23rd, 2019, 4:11 pm

Dey only fighting down the black/red woman

Postby timelapse » January 24th, 2019, 3:38 pm

Sundar wrote:
timelapse wrote: