toyota2nr wrote:So they refused to pay the people the price for their property saying that their price is too high. How much Rohan get for his?
Rory Phoulorie wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:Chinese company awarded a $400,000,000 contract at $180,000,000 below the initial estimate? Am I seeing that correctly? Why weren't they disqualified for their pricing being too far off from the estimate which normally indicates that the contractor is not fully aware of the extent of works required?
I must be missing something. Somebody please tell me why I'm wrong. One thing I know for sure is that if I am not wrong this interchange will not get built for $221,000,000.
Suppose the employer asked the contractor to re-confirm his tender and he did? The employer has the contractor's performance security and the contract has delay damages. Probably, the employer is comfortable that he is well protected in this instance.
Slartibartfast wrote:Rory Phoulorie wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:Chinese company awarded a $400,000,000 contract at $180,000,000 below the initial estimate? Am I seeing that correctly? Why weren't they disqualified for their pricing being too far off from the estimate which normally indicates that the contractor is not fully aware of the extent of works required?
I must be missing something. Somebody please tell me why I'm wrong. One thing I know for sure is that if I am not wrong this interchange will not get built for $221,000,000.
Suppose the employer asked the contractor to re-confirm his tender and he did? The employer has the contractor's performance security and the contract has delay damages. Probably, the employer is comfortable that he is well protected in this instance.
I expect the contractor was asked to confirm his tender. Not asking would be negligence given the large difference.
Once the expected losses are more than the performance security then the contractor will begin to think about termination. A performance security is normally like what? 10-15%? Thats like 22 to 30 million with a likely loss of 180 million. At that point a performance security won't do much. Delay damages is good but has delay damages ever been paid by a foreign contractor on a public project this size (or any project over like 25mil)? I've never seen it done in any significant way. I once saw the client and contractor agree to let the delay damages cancel out the overheads required for the extra time required to complete the project (don't remember if the EOT was formally granted or not)
If the employer has any sense then the last thing they will be is "comfortable". Best case scenario, they wasted money on an inaccurate engineer's estimate. More likely scenario (seeing that the contractor is chinese) they saw a severely underbid tender and decided to gamble on it to save money. I would like to see what the other tender prices were.
I've been personally involved in projects with financials just like this and they always end up overbudget and behind schedule because of the domino effects of all of the problems that the financial contraints cause. If this project does not run into financial problems then it would be an exception but I'm not holding my breath.
assassin wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:Rory Phoulorie wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:Chinese company awarded a $400,000,000 contract at $180,000,000 below the initial estimate? Am I seeing that correctly? Why weren't they disqualified for their pricing being too far off from the estimate which normally indicates that the contractor is not fully aware of the extent of works required?
I expect the contractor was asked to confirm his tender. Not asking would be negligence given the large difference.
Once the expected losses are more than the performance security then the contractor will begin to think about termination. A performance security is normally like what? 10-15%? Thats like 22 to 30 million with a likely loss of 180 million. At that point a performance security won't do much. Delay damages is good but has delay damages ever been paid by a foreign contractor on a public project this size (or any project over like 25mil)? I've never seen it done in any significant way. I once saw the client and contractor agree to let the delay damages cancel out the overheads required for the extra time required to complete the project (don't remember if the EOT was formally granted or not)
If the employer has any sense then the last thing they will be is "comfortable". Best case scenario, they wasted money on an inaccurate engineer's estimate. More likely scenario (seeing that the contractor is chinese) they saw a severely underbid tender and decided to gamble on it to save money. I would like to see what the other tender prices were.
I've been personally involved in projects with financials just like this and they always end up overbudget and behind schedule because of the domino effects of all of the problems that the financial contraints cause. If this project does not run into financial problems then it would be an exception but I'm not holding my breath.
The superstructure proposed was lighter and comprises steel girders and beams that would be manufactured and fabricated in China and shipped to Trinidad. No one anywhere else in the world can match that cost
The substructure is therefore correspondingly less extensive than the concept. I saw what looks to be a continuous flight piling rig on site when I was passing on the highway today
toyota2nr wrote:So they refused to pay the people the price for their property saying that their price is too high. How much Rohan get for his?
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Doh worry...when the mark busssss on the cumuto to manzan highway allyuh go bawl....the trailer: "a certain high official told a certain big businessman to start construction on his property and stop it at the same time, because the highway passing righ there, so time for $$$ to pass allyuh know the scene"..
MaxPower wrote:Hmmm its sad that these Curepe people have to move from their homes or face eviction.
But jeez man, at least offer them a little more than the market value for their property. I mean, whats a measly few million more for the govt to pay? But unfortunately, the govt calling the price and the people have no say.
Pay the people, and onwards with the project.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Doh worry...when the mark busssss on the cumuto to manzan highway allyuh go bawl....the trailer: "a certain high official told a certain big businessman to start construction on his property and stop it at the same time, because the highway passing righ there, so time for $$$ to pass allyuh know the scene"..
Traffic changes at Curepe/CR Highway intersection
For next 6 months
THE Ministry of Works and Transport has announced changes to the traffic flow to facilitate ongoing construction on the Churchill Roosevelt Highway overpass in Curepe. The change will be in effect for the next six months.
The ministry, in a press release, said the existing highway and southern main road intersection will be shifted approximately 150 m east.
Drivers heading east on the highway who want to turn south to the southern main road (SMR) will have to merge right, on to the turning lane, and follow traffic signals until they reach the SMR via Ramp G.
Drivers heading west on the highway who want to turn south to get to the SMR will take the new deceleration lane and proceed to the SMR via Ramp G.
Those going west on the highway, wanting to turn north to Curepe will merge right on to the turning lane and proceed north to Ramp D.
Drivers heading north on the SMR who want to proceed east or to continue north across the highway intersection, will need to turn right on to access ramp G and continue either north towards Curepe or turn east on to the highway.
South-bound drivers on the SMR North (from Curepe) who want to proceed east on to the highway must turn left on to Ramp D.
Drivers on the SMR from Curepe who want to cross the highway to continue south on the SMR must turn left on to Ramp D, proceed to the new intersection and continue until they cross the highway and get back onto the SMR.
Drivers heading south on the SMR from Curepe who want to head west on the highway shall turn left on to Ramp D, to the new intersection then right as directed by the traffic signal to access the westbound lane of the highway.
Drivers heading north on the SMR on the southern side of the highway intersection or on the westbound lane of the highway who want to access Valsayn Branch Road/KFC must proceed west along the highway and make a U-turn at the Prince Charles Intersection and proceed east to northern side of the SMR.
Drivers proceeding south along SMR from Curepe will have to proceed along Ramp D to the CR Highway to the new intersection and turn right as directed by the traffic signal and continue as above to make the U-turn at Prince Charles Intersection.
All drivers exiting the Valsayn Branch Road must proceed north. Those who want to proceed to Curepe will continue north along the SMR. Those who want to proceed to the highway or cross it to get to the southern section of the SMR will turn right on to Ramp D and continue as directed by the traffic signal.
https://newsday.co.tt/2019/06/22/traffi ... ersection/
New traffic flow for Curepe
Sat Jun 22 2019
The new traffic plan for the Curepe interchange.
Come Monday, the new traffic flow of the Southern Main Road in the vicinity of the Curepe Intersection will be in effect.
But, there seemed to be a lot of work to be done this weekend.
A visit to the site right yesterday showed that the deceleration or filter lanes are yet to be paved, Ramp G which is located to the southern side of the Southern Main Road (near to where Kay Donna Drive-In used to be) is still to be completed and the new traffic lights are not in place.
The new traffic signals are to replace the existing ones at the intersection and will be placed 100 metres or so near to the entrance to ramps G and D (located on the northern side of the Southern Main Road).
What this essentially means is that the new traffic plan which will come into effect on June 24, will not remove the need for any traffic lights but rather the signals will be placed at a different location and the ramps will be used to access both sides of the Southern Main Road.
Minister of Works and Transport Rohan Sinanan said everything is going according to schedule and insisted that the entire project will be completed by the end of the year.
“If you pass there you’ll see the roads are about 75 to 80 percent completed, the steel structure is coming in from China, so while we put in all the ancillary work, one day you’ll pass there and see all the steel on the ground and within a week you’ll see the steel up. What you’re seeing there is the foundation and then the bridge will be installed in a short space of time.”
The Minister said Monday’s traffic changes are necessary because it is an active project.
He said once an area is completed the traffic must be shifted so that there is a free flow.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/new-traf ... 9f703ab0f6