Why Buy when you can LEASE? Ah boy Massy Motors...

Re: Why Buy when you can LEASE? Ah boy Massy Motors...

Postby zoom rader » December 14th, 2018, 9:21 pm

Be warned that all maintenance and repair will have to be carried out at the dealer.

Postby paid_influencer » December 14th, 2018, 9:58 pm

their target consumer already services at the dealer, takes fully comp, and buys a new car every 5 years anyway.

this is just a way for massy to consolidate more of that pie to their organization.

i used to not like massy. but these days, i understand they know more about their customers than the customers know about themselves.

/re-usable bags made their customers more loyal
//keeps 2 re-usable bags in trunk, looks down on plastic bag users.

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 15th, 2018, 11:54 am

Pay monthly for the privilege of renting a car that I have to also pay them to maintain then give it back after 3ish years.

Seems legit.

Postby hydroep » December 15th, 2018, 12:37 pm

There are some people who do not have the time to be "fighting up behind car" so this type of arrangement will suit them just fine.

I've always thought it made more sense to purchase a good used vehicle, keep it for a few years, sell and repeat. That way you don't really take the massive hit on depreciation especially if you get it at a good price.

But that "sufferer" strategy is not very palatable to some, especially the "latest number plate" crew...:|

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » December 15th, 2018, 2:57 pm

hydroep wrote:There are some people who do not have the time to be "fighting up behind car" so this type of arrangement will suit them just fine.

I've always thought it made more sense to purchase a good used vehicle, keep it for a few years, sell and repeat. That way you don't really take the massive hit on depreciation especially if you get it at a good price.

But that "sufferer" strategy is not very palatable to some, especially the "latest number plate" crew...:|

Ent jed. You could get a 6-7 year old local used vehicle for 40% of the brand new dealership price, and if you stick to a corolla or civic you getting plenty good use out of that car still for years to come.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » December 15th, 2018, 3:10 pm

Cardboard bed, crix fuh dinner, jordans crisp and PD* series parked in the garage on the gov't road...they reach.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 15th, 2018, 4:10 pm

Eat little, drive long

Postby Monk BANzai » December 15th, 2018, 6:15 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Lol at maintenance on rentals from the firm. Is the cheapest replacement parts they use.
Half time oil change interval long gone and nothing done.
Shocks gone, bushings shot, sensors fail, ac have issues.
I know from a fact, first hand experience. Abs sensor faulty and they insist that how abs does wuck. I look like 17 so meem know nuttin bout van and car. I donno when a battery dying, tyre defective, tyre smooth etc. Told them next time tyre fail I leaving the damn vehicle where it is and take a taxi out of there.
They gave us vehicles and the jack cant fit under the pickup if it get a flat. Had to take my own stuff and change the damn tyre for dey mc.

you sound upset.

Postby nervewrecker » December 15th, 2018, 6:31 pm

Nope, more like amused.
Drive it just so and when it mash up be like "me, I izza ihyan termite"?

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » December 15th, 2018, 6:50 pm

Take care massy only leasing versa .......

Postby nervewrecker » December 15th, 2018, 7:14 pm

Now dont get me wrong, all companies not the same.
Take dumore for example. They take pride in what they do, have certified and competent guys working. They dont skimp on expenses and do thier R&D.
I purchased a former fleet vehicle from them. They gave it full clean up, full service, service history and what need to change, polish down, offered to link insurance and was very polite throughout the transaction.

Its not massy alone I was talking about before. Had another rental company as well. So I say f**k dem, when it crash I had multiple reports about faults that they refuse to fix.

skygod

Postby skygod » December 16th, 2018, 4:20 am

Thanks but no thanks
We as the working class poor or better known as

The remaining 99"%
Who depend on maintenance of the 1%

And their history of land ownership and always being the one" owing for every thing we own "

Should always live within our means

With all the liquidity in the system they should have a $ 50k one day car sale instead of a one day "ham $50 ham sale

They could afford it I am certain

Postby eliteauto » December 16th, 2018, 5:20 am

Leasing for businesses or commercial purposes makes more sense than for private personal use imo

Postby maj. tom » October 24th, 2022, 9:32 am

Idle this morning :scrambleup:
Some US Customs records are open and available to the public, did you know?
This is nothing illegal obviously, so don't get that impression.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » October 24th, 2022, 9:33 am

What site is that?

Postby maj. tom » October 24th, 2022, 9:49 am

so the Nissan that Massy selling isn't JDM, it's the scrap down Mexican model not full USA spec.
However I'm seeing that Toyota Trinidad imports from the Japan, Thailand and Indonesia factories (most from the latter two), again most are going to be scrap down models to fit our lawless unregulated market that are not full spec JDM.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » October 24th, 2022, 9:55 am

maj. tom wrote:so the Nissan that Massy selling isn't JDM, it's the scrap down Mexican model not full USA spec.
However I'm seeing that Toyota Trinidad imports from the Japan, Thailand and Indonesia factories (most from the latter two), again most are going to be scrap down models to fit our lawless unregulated market that are not full spec JDM.

dawg why you hiding the site so

Postby maj. tom » October 24th, 2022, 10:00 am

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » October 24th, 2022, 10:00 am

I already did that and got importyeti.com. It has the same format but not exactly what you're getting. This is why I'm asking. Liberal stingyness I assume :roll:

Postby maj. tom » October 24th, 2022, 10:03 am

looking the same to me. Good work on the Googling something for yourself. Good boy. :D

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » October 24th, 2022, 10:34 am

maj. tom wrote:looking the same to me. Good work on the Googling something for yourself. Good boy. :D

My gosh! How bad of you to assume one's gender! :lol:

Postby adnj » October 24th, 2022, 10:35 am

maj. tom wrote:so the Nissan that Massy selling isn't JDM, it's the scrap down Mexican model not full USA spec.

Japanese factories do not necessarily manufacture only Japanese Domestic Market vehicles. OEMs build export market vehicles on some of the same final assembly lines as export-only and dealer special order (fleet sales) vehicles. Many US OEMs build vehicles in Mexico for sale to the US and Canada, also.

Postby Dave » October 24th, 2022, 11:30 am

Your certified copy has where the vehicle originated.
It's not a secret that many of the local Japanese dealers are selling non Japanese made vehicles.

Postby eliteauto » October 24th, 2022, 12:32 pm

When Toyota went to their IMV platform for trucks and vans most of the manufacture went to Thailand and Indonesia so I dunno where you get the impression that these are "scrap down" models. Toyota hasn't made a Hilux in Japan since 2004

Postby maj. tom » October 24th, 2022, 2:07 pm

"Scrap down" is the wrong phrase, and I said some, not for all models. All Hilux should be the same for all markets since its only made in Thailand. The vehicles I refer to are going to be the same chassis and engine but the finished features can be cut for costs depending on the market. An example from experience I mentioned before is the Toyota Trinidad 2014 RAV4 vs the same RORO JDM model from Toyota City.

There are no consumer safety laws like the FMVSS for markets outside the USA/CAN/JP/AU/EU, and cost cutting measures like that can be taken by the manufacturer depending on the dealer region. Many cars are sold here with only basic 2 front airbags and no side curtain or side impact protection at all It's also law in those places to have tire pressure monitors.

I highlighted those foreign plants because it's likely that they are manufacturing finishes not to the above countries required specs. Many persons buying new vehicles locally from the dealer are not aware that they're not always getting the same specs as those sold in USA/JP/EU etc.

Postby adnj » October 24th, 2022, 3:58 pm

maj. tom wrote:"Scrap down" is the wrong phrase, and I said some, not for all models. All Hilux should be the same for all markets since its only made in Thailand. The vehicles I refer to are going to be the same chassis and engine but the finished features can be cut for costs depending on the market. An example from experience I mentioned before is the Toyota Trinidad 2014 RAV4 vs the same RORO JDM model from Toyota City.

There are no consumer safety laws like the FMVSS for markets outside the USA/CAN/JP/AU/EU, and cost cutting measures like that can be taken by the manufacturer depending on the dealer region. Many cars are sold here with only basic 2 front airbags and no side curtain or side impact protection at all It's also law in those places to have tire pressure monitors.

I highlighted those foreign plants because it's likely that they are manufacturing finishes not to the above countries required specs. Many persons buying new vehicles locally from the dealer are not aware that they're not always getting the same specs as those sold in USA/JP/EU etc.

Decontented is the phrase that is used.

Chinese and Indian manufactured vehicles that don't meet ECE or FMVSS standards are sold to rest-of-world makets (ROWM).

Japanese vehicles that don't meet age requirements are exported ROWM.

Vehicles that no longer meet emissions, features or updated safety standards features will be balanced out and sold to ROWM, if the are already built or nearly built.

Some consortiums will order fleets of decontented vehicles to sell to ROWM. These middlemen will sell the vehicles to other dealers at a profit.

It is ridiculously expensive to build a vehicle with content variations that do not result in a market share increase. Some decontented vehicles are builtt because they are not in demand in the intended market and are then sold to ROWM to prevent resale depreciation in the intended market.

The short answer is: Yes. The lack of a common market and regulation harmony makes the Caribbean market an excellent choice for dumping vehicles that are not profitable in the major markets, but it's not worth the trouble to do it on purpose.