Ministry of Works new Pot Hole Repairing Machine

Re: Ministry of Works new Pot Hole Repairing Machine

Postby Dizzy28 » November 13th, 2018, 9:51 am

They need to send that machine around UWI. Jesus the roads surrounding it baaadd!!!

Postby Rovin » November 13th, 2018, 10:59 am

somebody shud supply wasa with d proper tools to cut d asphalt as needed & not jes backhow up d road mc in big uneven chunks creating more destruction than what is really needed ....

Postby toyolink » November 13th, 2018, 4:50 pm

Expectations that the referred to machine could even make a dent on our reality is certainly without merit.
The level of deterioration of all our roadways defies logic, except to create some justification for award of major contracts in 2020.
The impact of conditions of this major element of our economic infrastructure at this time is absolutely horrendous and has certainly contributed to the increased cost of doing business in the country.
…….We at best could be used to test the durability of vehicles at this time.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 13th, 2018, 9:09 pm

Agreed...

The truck comes with 1 load of asphalt, 1 tank of the bitumen and when that finished, truck done work.

By the time they fix 1km of potholes, truck empty

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » November 13th, 2018, 9:33 pm

More than 90% of the roads are pothole.

Wouldn't it be faster/more convenient to just re-pave the whole road?

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 13th, 2018, 10:44 pm

fouljuice wrote:More than 90% of the roads are pothole.

Wifey taught me about synergy, where the sum of the parts is greater than the whole. If you could get twenty $100,000 contracts to constantly patch holes (quite poorly, mind you) and I get one $1,000,000 contract to pave the whole road properly, one shot..do the math and I'll leave the rest to your imagination.

zorced

Postby zorced » November 13th, 2018, 10:57 pm

Look how old that video is.... Yet still before the current project in Piarco they had shoddy patch work done over a whole year after the damage caused by the 2015-2016 floods iirc. The work was so badly done that drivers had to avoid the repaired areas in the same way they avoided the holes. If this was the situation outside the airport, it speaks volumes for other areas.

Postby sMASH » November 13th, 2018, 11:15 pm

couva mainroad was patched last year or early this year. the holes turned to humps... now, some of them are eroded back to craters.

jason-x

Postby jason-x » November 14th, 2018, 5:33 am

Let's see how long the truck last before it breaks down like every thing in this country

Postby Ted_v2 » November 14th, 2018, 5:40 am

saw it in sando about a week ago, in the stretch by RIG, below the overpass.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 14th, 2018, 6:03 am

sMASH wrote:couva mainroad was patched last year or early this year. the holes turned to humps... now, some of them are eroded back to craters.

Yeah but other than for ole talk as is the forum's namesake, we're wasting time here complaining. Why? I'm sure some of us who are complaining are bigging up the PNM and by extension any political party in another thread or on Facebook behind a few fake profiles. This is a road thread so let's stay on the topic of roads. Look at the S.S. Erin Road between Quarry Village and Erin or the Southern Main Road between Point Fortin and San Fernando..they only recently paved the S.S. Erin Road in certain parts and still did shoddy work. Don't even get me started on that SMR. La Brea AND Point Fortin are PNM strongholds not so? You mentioned Couva Main Road..a UNC stronghold, not so? They wouldn't even say 'fire bun them swing constituencies now yes, I taking care ah my people who stand by me while I did nothing for 20 years..'?? Well that's provided they used to actually look after the swing constituencies in the first place.. :roll:

It all comes down to governance and what we demand as a people. It shouldn't take fiery protests to get decent roads. These MPs/parties don't even have enough respect for their constituents to at least properly maintain their constituencies for 3 out of the 5 years they're in power or to say ensure the best roads are found in their constituencies or something. They'll patch patch in between to keep us quiet and then mamaguy us with 100' of 'good road and box drain' for elections..and we take that, along with our roti and party jersey. They float through with their police escorts and Prados paid for by our tax dollars or their Euros, subsidized heavily by our tax dollars so they don't feel any holes or uneven road surfaces that we beat everyday and we still empathize with them, 24/7.

Lol, we really good in this country yes and it's unfortunate that the party diehards make it hard for the rest of us that actually care about good governance.

Postby hydroep » November 14th, 2018, 6:10 am

They should use it to full up Rowlee and dem cacahole...:|

Postby sMASH » November 14th, 2018, 6:46 am

joshie, where i used to work, they were getting accustomed to using the last half hour of the work period to inspect and evaluate the work when a permit to work had been issued, then the last half hour of the day, discuss the job that went on, anything that needed attention, then the prospect for the next permit to work period(the next day).
at the end of the day or job, the permits NEEDED to be signed off with comments indicating acceptable or not. eventually, the contractor doing the job will have their performance on a record so that in the evaluations for future jobs, it could be referenced on a points system

the same contractors used to get the jobs over and over, so at the money level, it was to hell with the evaluation and bidding system. but at the worker level, we used to try to do a good job of maintaining the high standards, correcting where we saw short falls, and putting people on blast, on the official manner in the evaluation, for not working according to standards. eventually we all did a good job.

i accustomed to a system that can work, work well, work on time and able to correct itself to improve. who ever signs off as acceptable on the government jobs and recomends for future work, is the person that eating a food.

i made a few facebook videos, none catch on. the others with plenty cussing, those got circulated. so that is the way to show the shoddy work that we are forced to take. hopefully they feel shame and do a better job.

linton

Postby linton » November 14th, 2018, 12:33 pm

No maintenance is being done anywhere in the country. Roads, cleaning, brush cutting nada.
Yet the powers that be boast that they are spending less than their predecessors.

Postby Les Bain » November 14th, 2018, 1:14 pm

linton wrote:

No maintenance is being done anywhere in the country. Roads, cleaning, brush cutting nada.
Yet the powers that be boast that they are spending less than their predecessors.

My wife's been calling regularly every week to get brush cutting in our area. Always a slick excuse. Apparently the people in charge of these things always "on training."

Anyway, along a roadway, roadside bush got so overgrown it crowned and began growing outward in the street. Pedestrians and drivers alike have to use the middle of the road.

So a crew show up on Sunday and gave definition to the term "lord knows what."

They cut the bush overhang, but the cut was more edging than anything. Then they collected the grass in piles at regular intervals in the road, so people still have to stick to the middle of the road. With the rainfall since then, the grass is growing back and should crown onto the road in a week or 2. I never understood why when CEPEP was around they used to cut the crass 3 feet from the curb; now I see.

I sure the crew that did this mediocre job got paid for it too.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 14th, 2018, 1:38 pm

To Les Bain and sMASH, these things will never fix, because the idiotic party fanatics and the people that benefit from party fanatics being party fanatics are in the majority. It's unfortunate.

It would be an interesting initiative to drive around the whole country (literally); back roads, main roads AND highways with a high-quality dash-cam or camera recording footage of the deplorable road conditions, overgrown vegetation, leaking WASA lines, etc. across the country and hold a fundraising campaign to finance the purchasing of airtime from the various media houses, to highlight on a national level how ineffective and inefficient the Gov't of the day is.

Play it throughout the year until they rectify the situation and if they don't, ramp up around election time, to counter their bs, while reminding them of their unkempt promises in their old manifesto when the unveil the 'new' one.

Postby sMASH » November 14th, 2018, 2:12 pm

i started a page on fb called tnt dilapidation, but i only got time to do a few vids with couva and california, and a traffic jam in sando. but, its meant for anyone to post something that needs to be remedied. from potholes, to bad traffic organization.

linton

Postby linton » November 14th, 2018, 2:15 pm

You should video the sides of the north south highway where wild tamarind plants have actually grown into large trees. I mean trees that could be harvested for wood

Postby aaron17 » November 14th, 2018, 2:28 pm

sMASH wrote:i started a page on fb called tnt dilapidation, but i only got time to do a few vids with couva and california, and a traffic jam in sando. but, its meant for anyone to post something that needs to be remedied. from potholes, to bad traffic organization.

Link?

Postby 88sins » November 14th, 2018, 2:41 pm

j.o.e wrote:They need like 15 of those mofos

& they must only wuk in the off peak hours too.

or better still, design roads better & tell the Workers Against Smooth Asphalt stop diggin up dey fadda stones & put dey lines on the side of the road, not d middle

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » November 14th, 2018, 3:02 pm

hydroep wrote:They should use it to full up Rowlee and dem cacahole...:|

Lmao!!

Postby sMASH » November 14th, 2018, 7:16 pm

aaron17 wrote:
sMASH wrote:i started a page on fb called tnt dilapidation, but i only got time to do a few vids with couva and california, and a traffic jam in sando. but, its meant for anyone to post something that needs to be remedied. from potholes, to bad traffic organization.

Link?
https://www.facebook.com/Tnt_dilapidation-401458353672120/?referrer=whatsapp

Postby aaron17 » November 14th, 2018, 7:23 pm

Thx

Postby *KRONIK* » December 2nd, 2018, 10:16 am

20181201_135434.jpeg

Truck spotted in sangre grande yesterday

ADONI

Postby ADONI » December 3rd, 2018, 8:44 am

*KRONIK* wrote:20181201_135434.jpg

Truck spotted in sangre grande yesterday

Weyy! I was now gonna say, this truck was gonna tie with the hide and seek champion of the world....Bigfoot...

Postby *KRONIK* » December 3rd, 2018, 8:45 am

Nah...
I tell allyuh

The truck the be in grande often