Precautionary message Hybrid Vehicles.

Postby toyolink » October 21st, 2018, 3:19 pm

I have elected to post this as a separate thread in order to inform all owners of hybrids and MODS can move if they wish.
If you are the owner of a hybrid where your HV power pack is housed in your 'undercarriage' or lower body compartment please avoid all flood waters.
Moisture getting into these areas could destroy or shorten the useful life of the HV battery and such items as smart switches etc.
Damage could occur immediately or moisture can destroy the items referred to in the following months.
The compartments housing the HV battery and associated equipment are sealed but the reality is vapor does find its way past the seals in most instances.
Inverters which are normally in the 'engine compartment' should also be kept dry.

Re: Precaustionary message Hybrid Vehicles.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 21st, 2018, 5:15 pm

I feel the best vehicle to buy in this country seems to be those extended height 4x4 Diesel pickups and jeeps with a snorkel.

Postby toyolink » October 21st, 2018, 6:13 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I feel the best vehicle to buy in this country seems to be those extended height 4x4 Diesel pickups and jeeps with a snorkel.

Given experiences of late you may be right.

Postby 88sins » October 21st, 2018, 11:25 pm

monster truck>hybrid

Postby sMASH » October 22nd, 2018, 12:03 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I feel the best vehicle to buy in this country seems to be those extended height 4x4 Diesel pickups and jeeps with a snorkel.
U will work taxi with that?

Re: Precautionary message Hybrid Vehicles.

Postby sMASH » October 22nd, 2018, 12:04 am

These floods happening year after year. So the selling point of how the batteries giving u 10 years is somewhat irrelevant.

Mr President

Postby Mr President » October 22nd, 2018, 12:23 am

Insurance

Postby Ben_spanna » October 22nd, 2018, 7:53 am

Yeah, but not when L.O. :roll: and P.O. looking to charge yuh for lift kit, tires extending beyond your fenders, and snorkels...………..

Postby toyolink » October 24th, 2018, 12:32 pm

Well the clean-up begins, I really hope owners of hybrids didn't suffer much damage with respect to the subject items.
Please note in cases of possible moisture intrusion move quickly to address oxidation and possible terminal breakdown. A critical piece of simple equipment may be a hair dryer.

Postby MaxPower » October 24th, 2018, 2:32 pm

Trinis cant handle hybrid vehicles yet...

Cant afford to maintain, incompetent to service and repair.

Take a step back

venum

Postby venum » October 24th, 2018, 3:20 pm

He is right.

The HV battery pack on the Toyota hybrids are not sealed. Aqua, Fielder and Axio hybrid, Prius, Sienta. Not sure about C-HR

This battery pack though is inside the vehicle, for Aqua and Fielder/Axio hybrids it is underneath the back seat so traversing flood waters is not a risk unless the water is high enough to enter the vehicle thru the door seals etc.

The HV power lines between the battery pack and rhe inverter though is under the vehicle and waterproof unless damaged.

Postby toyolink » October 24th, 2018, 6:11 pm

Mr President wrote:Insurance

I have always wondered about how local insurance companies would treat or even entertain claims for HV battery failure.
This may be very important if the item fails outside an immediate event such like flooding etc.
Imagine we start to see HV battery failure 8 months after a flood.
Maybe Hybrid vehicle owners should enquire directly into the what their insurance policies accommodate and if possible seek specific cover of the HV system and its components (much like windscreen cover).

venum

Postby venum » October 24th, 2018, 8:17 pm

To what gain? Insurance companies are all frauds
Idgafk who that offends
They always find a way to screw you
My full comp insurance on my car has no special provisions for anything different for a hybrid car

Asking for hv coverage is like asking for transmission coverage

Postby Ben_spanna » October 24th, 2018, 8:31 pm

Insurance is the oldest form of theft.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 25th, 2018, 9:31 am

HV battery is an extension of the motor (drive system), innit.
Can you claim insurance if you mash up your engine/trans?

Postby toyolink » October 25th, 2018, 12:14 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:HV battery is an extension of the motor (drive system), innit.

The windscreen of a vehicle can therefore also be viewed as an extension of the body (using the same thinking).

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 25th, 2018, 1:14 pm

toyolink wrote:

The windscreen of a vehicle can therefore also be viewed as an extension of the body (using the same thinking).

ihu
insurance companies offer windscreen coverage as an add-on tho.
do they offer engine/trans as add-ons?

Postby 88sins » October 26th, 2018, 5:59 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
toyolink wrote:

ihu
insurance companies offer windscreen coverage as an add-on tho.
do they offer engine/trans as add-ons?

not in Trinidad they don't.

rebound

Postby rebound » October 26th, 2018, 6:34 pm

But if you have flood coverage, anything damaged due to it should be repaired ar replaced?

Postby rspann » October 26th, 2018, 7:17 pm

sMASH wrote:
U will work taxi with that?

Yesterday I saw a Prius hybrid taxi up by ED.