Re: The official tropical weather thread 2018

Postby Mr President » October 22nd, 2018, 3:31 pm

Real Amazon type weather system

Postby The_Honourable » October 22nd, 2018, 3:34 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:And I eh even wanna say which radio station it is that team representing, u will see their Instagram full up later tho,

Call station nah... or give we d jingle

E/W Corridor after Morvart junction

Postby Redman » October 22nd, 2018, 3:36 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:
Redman wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Grenada got $100 million from us for the hurricane but Rowley only going to give us $25 million and we are citizens of this country?

You realise that more could be given ....maybe it's just an initial amount?

Please stop trying to defend this administration!

its even worse that the odpm made such a stupid statement about it going to coast a lot of money before even showing an ounce of compassion for victims!
just goes to show the type of idiotic fools in positions of power in our country right now.

Its a statement of fact.
If you see that as a defense...ok.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 22nd, 2018, 3:36 pm

Maritime Plaza, barataria Roundabout now

Postby bluefete » October 22nd, 2018, 3:57 pm

How are things looking in the previously flooded out areas?

Duane: Thanks for uplinking the video with the waterspout.

Postby maj. tom » October 22nd, 2018, 4:15 pm

So with all this extra rain and the water rising again, the government's official instruction yesterday was to go out to work today. I wonder how many more people going to be stuck tonight.

Postby rspann » October 22nd, 2018, 4:16 pm

nightyakasy wrote:
pete wrote:
kstt wrote:Does third party insurance policyholders have any coverage for flooding?

Unless specified on your insurance coverage, "acts of god" are not normally covered. So even fully comp people may not get anything.

I don’t think your 100% accurate here. Third party polices are just that... they cover the insured’s liability to people other than the insured. As for comprehensive polices the usually cover a range of named perils inclusive of “Flood”. Each policy will have its own criteria of what equates to flood (especially for household or property insurance). Each person should check their policy’s or speak with their insurance providers for more definitive answers.

The only way I could see a flood not being covered under a comprehensive policy is it if was specifically taken out of the insurance cover by the Insured or the agent to save on premium.

You are correct. It is covered under a full comp. Insurance policy. Beacon has already started collecting vehicles from owners and has given instructions to us to deal was any problems associated with the flood damage. We have already collected quite a few . Dealing with them quickly is important because further damage is possible if the water is left in certain components. There was a hotline set up all weekend for affected clients to call in and members of the team has been out in the field taking reports of damages. There are tow trucks on stand by to collect any damaged or flooded vehicles.

Postby pugboy » October 22nd, 2018, 4:32 pm

there gonna be need for a big parking lot to store all these flooded vehicles

Postby The_Honourable » October 22nd, 2018, 4:34 pm

CoP Gary Griffith: "I'm not here to make friends." Law and Order must be maintained. The CoP made these comments during his interview with Senior Investigative Multimedia Journalist Mark Bassant.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 22nd, 2018, 4:36 pm

Told you all...coming closer to full moon...rain is always there

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 22nd, 2018, 4:40 pm

Brace allyuh self...feeling like current gone in grande...if that buss down I suspect a lot more flooding along the east west

Postby toyolink » October 22nd, 2018, 4:52 pm

Mc Bean, Couva presently experiencing a significant down-pour and looks as if it will be with us for awhile.
Usual areas prone to flooding seem certain to take a hit.
Yes it doesn't look good since the skies are black/grey as far as the eye can see.
If you are on the roadways go easy and be alert.

Postby bluefete » October 22nd, 2018, 4:55 pm

1st possible flood related death - Natasha Sankar died from hypothermia. She was taken to Arima Hospital but did not make it.

Can anyone confirm?

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 22nd, 2018, 5:07 pm

How caroni looking?

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » October 22nd, 2018, 5:15 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Told you all...coming closer to full moon...rain is always there

omg u must be psychic
why did you not warn us about the floods....

Postby The_Honourable » October 22nd, 2018, 5:31 pm

Garcia have no shame, should have closed all schools.

Postby gastly369 » October 22nd, 2018, 5:51 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Garcia have no shame, should have closed all schools.

Nobody walk into that parliament and Leggo some plannaz behind them yet like every other country under bad governance

Postby 16 cycles » October 22nd, 2018, 6:03 pm

One get "planass" with water and person got charged....so better not go down that road...

Postby teems1 » October 22nd, 2018, 6:07 pm

Hindsight is 20/20 but life would have been easier for lots if schools and non essential ministries were closed today.

Postby The_Honourable » October 22nd, 2018, 6:07 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:How caroni looking?

Not good

Caroni river crosses highway…again

The Caroni river has begun flowing onto the Uriah Butler Highway again after receding earlier today.

An official from the Ministry of Works told Newsday at 5 pm, that the river near the highway was at capacity near the Caroni overpass and the water had reached the edge of the road.

Drivers are still on the Southbound lane but only two lanes are available as the third lane has been blocked by traffic cones to ensure the safety of drivers.

Source: https://newsday.co.tt/2018/10/22/caroni ... way-again/

Postby gastly369 » October 22nd, 2018, 6:09 pm

16 cycles wrote:One get "planass" with water and person got charged....so better not go down that road...
Nahhh cause he was able to walk away after...

Postby sMASH » October 22nd, 2018, 6:11 pm

teems1 wrote:Hindsight is 20/20 but life would have been easier for lots if schools and non essential ministries were closed today.

many on social media had that 20/20 FOREsight... since saturday.. so rock so with that hindsight crap.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 22nd, 2018, 6:15 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:How caroni looking?

Not good

Caroni river crosses highway…again

The Caroni river has begun flowing onto the Uriah Butler Highway again after receding earlier today.

An official from the Ministry of Works told Newsday at 5 pm, that the river near the highway was at capacity near the Caroni overpass and the water had reached the edge of the road.

Drivers are still on the Southbound lane but only two lanes are available as the third lane has been blocked by traffic cones to ensure the safety of drivers.

Source: https://newsday.co.tt/2018/10/22/caroni ... way-again/
The drain that passes close to the Caroni overpass is not the Caroni River though. Its that drain that is overflowing onto the highway.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 22nd, 2018, 6:16 pm

Postby bluefete » October 22nd, 2018, 6:34 pm

RBC donated $300,000.00 to the Red Cross.

I wonder how much of that would reach the people who need it after they deduct their 9% administrative costs?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 22nd, 2018, 7:06 pm

Shitkickers went to some natural disaster seminar last year....guess he din learn one mc

Postby redmanjp » October 22nd, 2018, 7:08 pm

Heard the PBR flooded today, anyone know how it looking now?

Postby X_Factor » October 22nd, 2018, 7:16 pm

ent the govt had some natural disaster insurance last time
I wonder if they hav for this time as well

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 22nd, 2018, 7:31 pm

Republic Bank boasting of making billions in profit every year, how much money did they donate to flood victims most of which are their customers btw?

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » October 22nd, 2018, 7:40 pm

^^^ Banks are about making money, not about helping or caring for anyone.
If they have so much contempt for their own customers, how much do you think they gonna have for people that they can't make any money from.