Topping up sim card for GPS tracker

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » February 22nd, 2016, 3:26 pm

It used to be that the first top up to a prepaid bmobile sim every month automatically gave you a free matching top up, up to $25 max. Presently this max has been reduced to $20 I believe.

Now, however, apart from the matching $20 top up you have a choice of free data, or free minutes. So when you top up, you get another message saying to select one of these options – the free matching top-up is no longer automatic.

On a phone it’s no problem to select it, but is there a way to get the matching top up on a prepaid sim being used in a GPS tracker (apart from dismantling the dash, removing the sim from the GPS device and putting it into a phone to do so everytime you top up)?

sweeks

Re: Topping up sim card for GPS tracker

Postby sweeks » February 22nd, 2016, 8:02 pm

Good question

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » February 23rd, 2016, 12:33 am

this does not answer the question

but why are you topping up with 20 dollars
top up with the minimum
10 dollars top up is good for 3 months.

I got bitten with this the hard way. I had over 800 dollars on my gps and went in to tstt to get it transferred to another number. They said I could not do it without the sim card and the sim card i want to transfer it has less than 10 dollars.
Guess i lapsed on my 3 months ( although i don't think i did ) and lost the money never realy fought it because of the time.
but since then i have benn putting in 10 dollars top up .

Shio

Postby Shio » February 23rd, 2016, 7:34 am

dont think its possible to do that
from gps
u could top up from a phone take whatever free credit
then transfer to gps

triniringo

Postby triniringo » February 23rd, 2016, 10:25 am

call 824-TSTT option 2 and the csr will give you the balance and expiry date
if you choose to transfer funds from your phone to the gps the amount would be credited however the expiry date would not change

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » February 23rd, 2016, 9:32 pm

Shio wrote:dont think its possible to do that
from gps
u could top up from a phone take whatever free credit
then transfer to gps

triniringo wrote:call 824-TSTT option 2 and the csr will give you the balance and expiry date
if you choose to transfer funds from your phone to the gps the amount would be credited however the expiry date would not change
Thanks - I didn't even realise you could transfer credit from 1 phone to another. I guess that's the only way.

Is calling 824-TSTT the only way to transfer credit to another phone? And can I top-up a postpaid phone with a phonecard and get the matching top-up (don't own a prepaid), and then request it be transferred from the postpaid to the prepaid sim (the GPS)?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 23rd, 2016, 6:36 am

1/4 mile king

Postby 1/4 mile king » September 7th, 2018, 7:37 pm

https://bonline.bmobile.co.tt/guest/prepaid/process
use this link to find the balance and the expiry date.

13 GHOST

Postby 13 GHOST » September 7th, 2018, 8:45 pm

8001234 is the other way I know of to remotely put a phone card on a prepaid

kstt

Postby kstt » September 7th, 2018, 9:38 pm

1/4 mile king wrote:https://bonline.bmobile.co.tt/guest/prepaid/process

Does digicel provide this service as well?

hassanvoyeau

Postby hassanvoyeau » September 8th, 2018, 7:25 pm

Interesting question. I contacted bmobile (media channel). Will let you know what they say.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 9th, 2018, 6:01 pm

1/4 mile king wrote:https://bonline.bmobile.co.tt/guest/prepaid/process

Thanks for that link!

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 5th, 2018, 1:32 pm

Guys I install a GPS recently and for some reason, the bmobile sim mysteriously drains credit when I check it online. Its not like I have been texting the sim for whereabouts.
Any ideas y?

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » October 5th, 2018, 2:17 pm

How many numbers are registered to it? Maybe it's texting messages / locations to another number?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 5th, 2018, 2:22 pm

Just two numbers setup and well my sis got no text from it.

jahs0ldi3r

Postby jahs0ldi3r » October 5th, 2018, 5:33 pm

Is it using data? Gprs
ADONI wrote:Guys I install a GPS recently and for some reason, the bmobile sim mysteriously drains credit when I check it online. Its not like I have been texting the sim for whereabouts.
Any ideas y?

Postby MaxPower » October 5th, 2018, 6:08 pm

She know about the tracker?

kstt

Postby kstt » October 5th, 2018, 9:52 pm

ADONI wrote:Guys I install a GPS recently and for some reason, the bmobile sim mysteriously drains credit when I check it online. Its not like I have been texting the sim for whereabouts.
Any ideas y?

It using data (if I remember correctly). This was happening to Digicel SIMS all of a sudden and I was advised to switch to bmobile SIM. I didn't switch and Digicel seem to have sorted it out.

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » October 6th, 2018, 7:06 pm

Digicel turned on data on all sims by default. Mostly likely your gps using data aka trying to go online. It will use up to $1 a day doing so and drain your credit. Digicel says they cannot disable this feature, you have to do it yourself.

Check your manual for gps usually there is a command to turn it off. If all efforts fail change sim to bmobile or port number to bmobile.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 8th, 2018, 8:10 am

jahs0ldi3r wrote:Is it using data? Gprs
Any ideas y?

GPRS off, but I saw a command to switch between GPRS and SMS. I texted to use SMS just in case if is anything.
Its about $1 a day really, checking it now....

Thanks all will monitor.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 8th, 2018, 8:44 am

Same issue i am having....and its a bmobile sim....it was happening with my digiplay sim so i swiched to bmobile...same issue....no one seems to know y this is happening.....

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 8th, 2018, 9:22 am

This bmobile sim is the latest GPS install I did about a month ago. We have three other GPS with bmobile sims and they hold the money. Electrician said he will call his bmobile contact and let me know later.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 8th, 2018, 10:26 pm

Thanks i would love to fix this....

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 12th, 2018, 1:23 pm

Soo went down to bmobile and they said the Play Whe option on. As in to text daily Play Whe results.... I have to take out the sim and place it in a phone and text a number to STOP PLAY WHE...

ary1

Postby ary1 » October 12th, 2018, 5:42 pm

ADONI wrote:Soo went down to bmobile and they said the Play Whe option on. As in to text daily Play Whe results.... I have to take out the sim and place it in a phone and text a number to STOP PLAY WHE...
Can also call 8248788 to get it removed. Takes a little longer. Maybe 1 working day.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 12th, 2018, 8:12 pm

ary1 wrote:
ADONI wrote:Soo went down to bmobile and they said the Play Whe option on. As in to text daily Play Whe results.... I have to take out the sim and place it in a phone and text a number to STOP PLAY WHE...
Can also call 8248788 to get it removed. Takes a little longer. Maybe 1 working day.

Great! I will try that, doh really wanna go interfere and take out d sim as d GPS already installed.... Less digging up, the better!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 12th, 2018, 11:01 pm

Oh wow...thanks lets see if this works...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 16th, 2018, 1:40 pm

Any update adoni

Postby maj. tom » February 28th, 2019, 7:16 am

An update for Digicel GPS sim.

You can only check the balance through a Digicel agent. The CSR said you have to call or use the Live Chat help feature on the website to ask for the balance on the number you want. The number has to be registered to your name of course. Monthly top up, the agent suggested a number of ways:

Buy a Digicel card and dial *125*1868digicelnumber# and follow instructions. You need a separate Digicel phone to do this.

Online Top Up with your digicel account and a credit card. You can set an automatic monthly payment here.

Yooz Top up feature that banks offer. https://www.digicelgroup.com/tt/en/mobi ... op-up.html

Digicel App.

Retail Location where the agent will do it directly.