WASA wages vs their overtime

Re: WASA wages vs their overtime

Postby The_Honourable » October 9th, 2018, 8:44 pm

WASA is projecting to spend more money than it's estimated to earn in fiscal 2019. And once again it is depending on the government for $1.8bn to fund the shortfall between income and expenditure.

Postby MaxPower » October 9th, 2018, 8:48 pm

Llow the people na

Postby The_Honourable » October 22nd, 2019, 11:13 am

PM: WASA ‘permanently’ bankrupt, blames Desalcott

A US$72 mil­lion con­tract with De­sal­cott, that has been in place since 1999, has caused the Wa­ter and Sew­er­age Au­thor­i­ty to go­ing in­to bank­rupt­cy.

That con­tract comes to an end in 2036, 17 years from now.

The rev­e­la­tion was made yes­ter­day by Prime Min­is­ter Dr Kei­th Row­ley who was speak­ing dur­ing the Stand­ing Fi­nance Com­mit­tee Meet­ing in Par­lia­ment as the de­bate on the 2020 Bud­get con­tin­ued yes­ter­day.

Mem­ber of Par­lia­ment (MP) for Tabaquite, Dr Su­ru­jrat­tan Ram­bachan, was ques­tion­ing Pub­lic Util­i­ties Min­is­ter Robert Le Hunte when Prime Min­is­ter Row­ley in­ter­ject­ed, say­ing he want­ed to set the record straight on the De­sal­cott/WASA con­tract.

Ram­bachan was ques­tion­ing why the gov­ern­ment was ne­go­ti­at­ing a loan to pay De­sal­cott in­stead of al­lo­cat­ing mon­ey for the sup­ply through WASA’s re­cur­rent ex­pen­di­ture.

WASA was giv­en a $1.6 Bil­lion al­lo­ca­tion in the 2020 bud­get.

Row­ley said be­fore the Bas­deo Pan­day ad­min­is­tra­tion en­tered in­to the con­tract, the is­sue of whether de­sali­nat­ed wa­ter would be used to sup­ply res­i­den­tial cus­tomers, as is be­ing done now, was raised.

In 1999, WASA first con­tract­ed De­sal­cott to pur­chase 24 mil­li­on gal­lons per day.

But by No­vem­ber 2012, the agree­ment with De­sal­cott was amend­ed and the new sale agree­ment in­creased its pro­duc­tion from 24 mil­li­on gal­lons per day to 40 mil­li­on gal­lons per day.

The prime min­ster ex­plained this ex­pan­sion was ex­pect­ed to be in­creased in­cre­men­tal­ly over a 13-month pe­ri­od, with the de­liv­ery of wa­ter in­creas­ing over this pe­ri­od up to 40 mil­li­on gal­lons per day by De­cem­ber 2013.

“When we went in­to de­sali­nat­ed wa­ter this prob­lem that we are now fac­ing was raised as a po­ten­tial and the ques­tion is on the Hansard as to whether this de­sali­nat­ed wa­ter will en­ter the do­mes­tic sup­ply and the an­swer was no,” Row­ley said.

The Prime Min­is­ter said when De­sal­cott was asked to sup­ply res­i­den­tial cus­tomers, the au­thor­i­ty paid and is con­tin­u­ing to pay the ul­ti­mate price.

“That project has bank­rupt­ed WASA per­ma­nent­ly and we now have to bor­row mon­ey be­cause where we were earn­ing mon­ey in Point Lisas we now have to find mon­ey to pay and that has put WASA in a per­ma­nent bank­rupt­cy,” Row­ley said.

But Op­po­si­tion MP Gan­ga Singh, a for­mer En­vi­ron­ment and Wa­ter Re­sources Min­is­ter, hit back at the gov­ern­ment, say­ing it was the PNM’s Patrick Man­ning-led ad­min­is­tra­tion that in­creased the amount of wa­ter from 24 mil­lion gal­lons to 45 mil­lion gal­lons a day, in the agree­ment with De­sal­cott.

Singh said Man­ning had an­nounced plans to build five de­sali­na­tion plants across T&T.

“When I hear these born-again, evan­gel­i­cal ap­proach that they de­ny the ex­is­tence of their de­ci­sion mak­ing, you would re­call that in 2010 Mr Prime Min­is­ter Man­ning had plans to build five de­sali­na­tion plants across this coun­try,” Singh said.

He added, “At that time it was af­ford­able, now cir­cum­stances have changed and like a lot of peo­ple who get in trou­ble with the #MeToo move­ment, the re­al­i­ty to­day is quite dif­fer­ent.”

Source: https://guardian.co.tt/news/pm-wasa-per ... 92b87e755a

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » October 22nd, 2019, 11:56 am

Hopefully we get an increase in water rates, as well as a decrease in our residential water supply, to counteract these issues.

Postby Ben_spanna » October 22nd, 2019, 12:19 pm

is this why wasa has been digging up and leaving big holes all over and their paving crew can never seem to reach to fix it?
Or do all the places with big holes left by wasa have to resort to sticking a sign into it telling wasa about its mudder??? :fist:

death365

Postby death365 » October 22nd, 2019, 12:43 pm

hear the catch 22 of these kinda organizations, no body want to pay for what u use, but to put in the infrastructure for it costing in both man hours (more overtime) and capital. then man go complain ... oh water costing 2000 ah year etc etc etc

Postby zoom rader » October 22nd, 2019, 2:34 pm

The_Honourable wrote:PM: WASA ‘permanently’ bankrupt, blames Desalcott

A US$72 mil­lion con­tract with De­sal­cott, that has been in place since 1999, has caused the Wa­ter and Sew­er­age Au­thor­i­ty to go­ing in­to bank­rupt­cy.

The rev­e­la­tion was made yes­ter­day by Prime Min­is­ter Dr Kei­th Row­ley who was speak­ing dur­ing the Stand­ing Fi­nance Com­mit­tee Meet­ing in Par­lia­ment as the de­bate on the 2020 Bud­get con­tin­ued yes­ter­day.

Mem­ber of Par­lia­ment (MP) for Tabaquite, Dr Su­ru­jrat­tan Ram­bachan, was ques­tion­ing Pub­lic Util­i­ties Min­is­ter Robert Le Hunte when Prime Min­is­ter Row­ley in­ter­ject­ed, say­ing he want­ed to set the record straight on the De­sal­cott/WASA con­tract.

Ram­bachan was ques­tion­ing why the gov­ern­ment was ne­go­ti­at­ing a loan to pay De­sal­cott in­stead of al­lo­cat­ing mon­ey for the sup­ply through WASA’s re­cur­rent ex­pen­di­ture.

Row­ley said be­fore the Bas­deo Pan­day ad­min­is­tra­tion en­tered in­to the con­tract, the is­sue of whether de­sali­nat­ed wa­ter would be used to sup­ply res­i­den­tial cus­tomers, as is be­ing done now, was raised.

In 1999, WASA first con­tract­ed De­sal­cott to pur­chase 24 mil­li­on gal­lons per day.

But by No­vem­ber 2012, the agree­ment with De­sal­cott was amend­ed and the new sale agree­ment in­creased its pro­duc­tion from 24 mil­li­on gal­lons per day to 40 mil­li­on gal­lons per day.

The prime min­ster ex­plained this ex­pan­sion was ex­pect­ed to be in­creased in­cre­men­tal­ly over a 13-month pe­ri­od, with the de­liv­ery of wa­ter in­creas­ing over this pe­ri­od up to 40 mil­li­on gal­lons per day by De­cem­ber 2013.

“When we went in­to de­sali­nat­ed wa­ter this prob­lem that we are now fac­ing was raised as a po­ten­tial and the ques­tion is on the Hansard as to whether this de­sali­nat­ed wa­ter will en­ter the do­mes­tic sup­ply and the an­swer was no,” Row­ley said.

The Prime Min­is­ter said when De­sal­cott was asked to sup­ply res­i­den­tial cus­tomers, the au­thor­i­ty paid and is con­tin­u­ing to pay the ul­ti­mate price.

“That project has bank­rupt­ed WASA per­ma­nent­ly and we now have to bor­row mon­ey be­cause where we were earn­ing mon­ey in Point Lisas we now have to find mon­ey to pay and that has put WASA in a per­ma­nent bank­rupt­cy,” Row­ley said.

But Op­po­si­tion MP Gan­ga Singh, a for­mer En­vi­ron­ment and Wa­ter Re­sources Min­is­ter, hit back at the gov­ern­ment, say­ing it was the PNM’s Patrick Man­ning-led ad­min­is­tra­tion that in­creased the amount of wa­ter from 24 mil­lion gal­lons to 45 mil­lion gal­lons a day, in the agree­ment with De­sal­cott.

Singh said Man­ning had an­nounced plans to build five de­sali­na­tion plants across T&T.

“When I hear these born-again, evan­gel­i­cal ap­proach that they de­ny the ex­is­tence of their de­ci­sion mak­ing, you would re­call that in 2010 Mr Prime Min­is­ter Man­ning had plans to build five de­sali­na­tion plants across this coun­try,” Singh said.

He added, “At that time it was af­ford­able, now cir­cum­stances have changed and like a lot of peo­ple who get in trou­ble with the #MeToo move­ment, the re­al­i­ty to­day is quite dif­fer­ent.”

Wasa buys water from desal and then sells that for a profit and they bankrupt?

Wasa sold this water at $7.5/m3 ,25% mark up to Pt Lisas.

I guess only PNM ppl will believe their PNM prime minister. How dumb are these PNM trini ppl
Last edited by zoom rader on October 22nd, 2019, 2:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » October 22nd, 2019, 2:45 pm

I guess only PNM ppl will believe their PNM prime minister.

X2 You hit the jackpot.... When they sell back the water the profit goes to wasa an desal gets payed there amount an thats how they supposed to be running. SELF SUSTAINED.. No rocket science there...if the economy changes adjust the sale price to the buying price..so ur still at a profit to run ur business an u can pay the manufacturer for there product.

Postby zoom rader » October 22nd, 2019, 2:59 pm

D.S.S wrote:

I guess only PNM ppl will believe their PNM prime minister.

X2 You hit the jackpot.... When they sell back the water the profit goes to wasa an desal gets payed there amount an thats how they supposed to be running. SELF SUSTAINED.. No rocket science there...if the economy changes adjust the sale price to the buying price..so ur still at a profit to run ur business an u can pay the manufacturer for there product.
I think wasa buys it $4 and sells at $7.5 per meter cube

That was pre 2012

Again PNM ppl are stupid

Postby Redman » October 22nd, 2019, 3:06 pm

WASA pays Desalcott $10 per cubic foot

Postby Dizzy28 » October 22nd, 2019, 3:17 pm

Redman wrote:WASA pays Desalcott $10 per cubic foot

The $1.8m per day le Hunte quotes doesn't work out if it is per cubic foot

Postby Redman » October 22nd, 2019, 3:36 pm

Yes, its probably cubic meter.
Invest TT has the cost to consumer of water at 3.5 per cubic METER.
http://www.investt.co.tt/publications/T ... Tobago.pdf

This recent article has WASA cost at $10 per cubic foot.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/wasas-mo ... a1a683bc02

Postby zoom rader » October 22nd, 2019, 8:28 pm

Redman wrote:Yes, its probably cubic meter.
Invest TT has the cost to consumer of water at 3.5 per cubic METER.
http://www.investt.co.tt/publications/T ... Tobago.pdf

This recent article has WASA cost at $10 per cubic foot.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/wasas-mo ... a1a683bc02

You can't add your total losses and put in on desal

They are making a killing on desal

Postby De Dragon » October 22nd, 2019, 9:06 pm

So essentially WASA's failure to improve domestic supply led them to have to buy desal water and sell it at a loss to residential consumers?

Postby zoom rader » October 22nd, 2019, 10:12 pm

De Dragon wrote:So essentially WASA's failure to improve domestic supply led them to have to buy desal water and sell it at a loss to residential consumers?
You buy water at $4 and sell it at $7.50 to PT Lisas and that's a loss?

Wasa does not sell Desal water to the public.

Wasa has no cost on desal water. Desal bares all their own cost . Desal even pumps the water on the Pt Lisas ring at their own expense.

When desal water leaves it's compound it is spurred off two main valves. One goes on to the Pt Lisas ring main and other which is always locked off supposed to go to south.

PNM fools again

Postby De Dragon » October 22nd, 2019, 11:54 pm

De Dragon wrote:So essentially WASA's failure to improve domestic supply led them to have to buy desal water and sell it at a loss to residential consumers?
You buy water at $4 and sell it at $7.50 to PT Lisas and that's a loss?

Wasa does not sell Desal water to the public.

Wasa has no cost on desal water. Desal bares all their own cost . Desal even pumps the water on the Pt Lisas ring at their own expense.

When desal water leaves it's compound it is spurred off two main valves. One goes on to the Pt Lisas ring main and other which is always locked off supposed to go to south.

PNM fools again

Just now the usual lemmings will come with the justification.

Postby Redman » October 23rd, 2019, 6:25 am

ZR- Invest TT has the cost of water at 3.5 per cubic meter, from where are you getting 7.5?

Hansard (being the only reference to Desalcott cost I could find) from 2014 has Desalcott water at 95 cents USD per cubic meter.

http://www.ttparliament.org/hansards/hh20140425.pdf

We want to avoid any lemmings running with unfounded info. :roll:
Hansard.png

nicholasfabulous

Postby nicholasfabulous » October 23rd, 2019, 6:46 am

goalpost wrote:
zoom rader wrote:It's the same with TTEC, they come in the night to do line repairs.

TTEC emergency crews are shift tho.

If a job takes place at night that does not involve emergency, its usually because, in terms of reliability to the electrical grid, it's the best time.

Fact

Postby Ben_spanna » October 23rd, 2019, 7:48 am

nicholasfabulous wrote:
goalpost wrote:
zoom rader wrote:It's the same with TTEC, they come in the night to do line repairs.

TTEC emergency crews are shift tho.

If a job takes place at night that does not involve emergency, its usually because, in terms of reliability to the electrical grid, it's the best time.

Fact

Arent Tandtec and wasah unionized?
Always convenient how unions are always quick to down cry a company for not paying dues, but dont seem concerned that their members dotn work during normal working hours yet are happy to work overtime.
Time to change the rules of Essential services and pay them by the JOB and not for their time.
You either work and get paid or you dont work and find another job.
Time for the countrys lazy work ethic to change by force

Postby De Dragon » October 23rd, 2019, 8:06 am

Redman wrote:ZR- Invest TT has the cost of water at 3.5 per cubic meter, from where are you getting 7.5?

Hansard (being the only reference to Desalcott cost I could find) from 2014 has Desalcott water at 95 cents USD per cubic meter.

Yes, let us quote the Hansard, because if it is there, like the internet, then it must be true :roll: . Its truth is further reinforced because that absolute paragon of virtue and honesty, Colm Imbert, said so :roll:
A cubic meter of desalinated water to industrial users on the PLEA is $12 TT.

Postby zoom rader » October 23rd, 2019, 8:25 am

Redman wrote:ZR- Invest TT has the cost of water at 3.5 per cubic meter, from where are you getting 7.5?

the $7.5TT figure was published in the newspaper mid 2000 when the PNM government was taking Karamath to court. Desal had a full page add on the facts when they PNM government was telling untruths. I know all these stuff cause I was working a control project for them at that time.

PNM was giving the impression to the public that they built the plant with public money and the UNC gave away a contact to friends and family.

There was a new rate after 2012 when desal expanded , they government requested that desal expanded and it was something that desal did not want to do cause they have to bare the full cost of the expansion. Desal had to take out a new loan without any government input on their expansion.

Too many lies told by the PNM and the dumb arses lick this up.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 23rd, 2019, 9:29 am

Pt Lisas is a Water Improvement Area as designated under the Waterworks and Water Conservation Act. It has special rates different from WASA's existing tariffs.

Based on a 2011 amendment r.e. The Water Improvement Rate (Point Lisas Industrial Estate) (Variation) Order 2011 Pt Lisas rates were raised to $8.50/m3.

Capture.JPG

http://news.gov.tt/sites/default/files/ ... 202012.pdf

Postby Redman » October 23rd, 2019, 10:00 am

Cost to GORTT
ZR-3.5
2014-6-7- Hansard.

Cost to consumer
ZR 7.5-2000 vintage.
InvestTT 2018 Doc-3.5
Dumass-12-unsubstantiated.

Postby zoom rader » October 23rd, 2019, 11:27 am

Pt Lisas is a Water Improvement Area as designated under the Waterworks and Water Conservation Act. It has special rates different from WASA's existing tariffs.

Based on a 2011 amendment r.e. The Water Improvement Rate (Point Lisas Industrial Estate) (Variation) Order 2011 Pt Lisas rates were raised to $8.50/m3.

Capture.JPG

http://news.gov.tt/sites/default/files/ ... 202012.pdf

Redman and the rest of the PNM numbskulls need to take note of this.

Postby Rovin » October 23rd, 2019, 11:34 am

nah man allyuh lying we pm say wasa selling it back at a loss ...... :roll:

Postby Rovin » October 23rd, 2019, 11:34 am

Postby zoom rader » October 23rd, 2019, 11:40 am

Rovin wrote:nah man allyuh lying we pm say wasa selling it back at a loss ...... :roll:
You have understand Wasa just factored in their total losses on desal.

They make a killing on desal

But PNM ppl cah understand that so desal pull them down.

What if there was no desal plants?

Time to sell Wasa and get rid of lazy PNM appointed workers

Postby Redman » October 23rd, 2019, 11:48 am

Losses would be based on cost price vs selling.

Arent we trying to establish these in some credible way?

Postby sMASH » October 23rd, 2019, 12:15 pm

pumps, lines, current to run pumps, administration, shovel, backhoe, trucks, wasa has more costs than just mere water processing. annnnd the ministries that doesnt pay their wasa bill.

wasa could get more sympathy, while not singling out desal as their major cost center.

so if wasa running at a loss, ttec running at a loss, petrotrin ran at a loss(fiction, but we will go with it), health sector dont generate a profit, agriculture is at a net loss, the only source of income is increasing taxes. wtf goin on in this country?

and we want to build mega port and high way up toco? when we dont need it?
dem fellas on games, things not adding up or they not doing the maths right, or not giving out correct figures to work with.

plot twist: a ministry will not take over the statistics office, so that what ever figures will be under the purview of a minister, up the hierarchy

Postby zoom rader » October 23rd, 2019, 12:17 pm

Redman wrote:Losses would be based on cost price vs selling.

Arent we trying to establish these in some credible way?
You cannot lump all of wasa mis management and looses on to desal .