shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Man talking about other countries...I used to happily pay meh $4usd for diesel while in mia....but standard of living was way better...with $100usd I rolling outa publix with two trolley filled with groceries...I never drove on a road and felt my vehicle was going to fall apart...and the list goes on...
So doh be comparing trinidad to other places...how come yuh aint talk about all dem countries where people does bun down buildings for ah lil gas hike.
The_Honourable wrote:"If yuh cud buy ah carib and johnny walker, you cud pay fuh supa"
They were building the ultra low sulphur diesel plant, it was not finished, it was one of the big upgrades that were happeningmaj. tom wrote:I have always wondered... why didn't they use a better refinery process to achieve better quality diesel? After so many years, it was easier to close Petrotrin and import it than improve the process? Didn't we have the resources, engineers, scientists and international refining standards to do these things?
Anyone could share insight on why exactly our diesel was high sulphur?
maj. tom wrote:I have always wondered... why didn't they use a better refinery process to achieve better quality diesel? After so many years, it was easier to close Petrotrin and import it than improve the process? Didn't we have the resources, engineers, scientists and international refining standards to do these things?
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:The_Honourable wrote:"If yuh cud buy ah carib and johnny walker, you cud pay fuh supa"
ent....if yuh could go in ah club and call down ah bottle for the whole crew....$1 extra for gas is nothing
And what about the other >90% of the population that don't buy Hilux new or call a bottle when they go into a club? Or we not bothering to actually discuss facts anymore? I kind of tired seeing our local issues dumbed-down as much as you lot areThe_Honourable wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:The_Honourable wrote:"If yuh cud buy ah carib and johnny walker, you cud pay fuh supa"
ent....if yuh could go in ah club and call down ah bottle for the whole crew....$1 extra for gas is nothing
This is a good one...
"If you could buy $400,000 hilux, you can pay $1 more for gas"
Slartibartfast wrote:And what about the other >90% of the population that don't buy Hilux new or call a bottle when they go into a club? Or we not bothering to actually discuss facts anymore? I kind of tired seeing our local issues dumbed-down as much as you lot areThe_Honourable wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:The_Honourable wrote:"If yuh cud buy ah carib and johnny walker, you cud pay fuh supa"
This is a good one...
Kronik wrote:They were building the ultra low sulphur diesel plant, it was not finished, it was one of the big upgrades that were happeningmaj. tom wrote:I have always wondered... why didn't they use a better refinery process to achieve better quality diesel? After so many years, it was easier to close Petrotrin and import it than improve the process? Didn't we have the resources, engineers, scientists and international refining standards to do these things?
death365 wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:And what about the other >90% of the population that don't buy Hilux new or call a bottle when they go into a club? Or we not bothering to actually discuss facts anymore? I kind of tired seeing our local issues dumbed-down as much as you lot areThe_Honourable wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:The_Honourable wrote:"If yuh cud buy ah carib and johnny walker, you cud pay fuh supa"
This is a good one...
well said ... thank you.
35- 40 liters of gas = $ 35 - 40 / week * 52 weeks = 1820 - 2080 additionally per year that's no small change
Numb3r4 wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Man talking about other countries...I used to happily pay meh $4usd for diesel while in mia....but standard of living was way better...with $100usd I rolling outa publix with two trolley filled with groceries...I never drove on a road and felt my vehicle was going to fall apart...and the list goes on...
So doh be comparing trinidad to other places...how come yuh aint talk about all dem countries where people does bun down buildings for ah lil gas hike.
Never had to buy gas at all the public transport and taxi services were good enough, no need to rent a car.
Got no problem with a gas rate hike if the public transport system was better.
hydroep wrote:Imbutt said the money saved will be used to fund Social Programs including the food card system. By subsidizing the "most vulnerable in society", isn't the Government encouraging the dependency syndrome? If the State is taking care of these people what motivation do they have to improve their situation in life? I thought that is what Sh!tkicker and dem wanted to get away from?
No problem with the rationale for removing subsidies yunno, just be fair — remove all and done the story...
Redress10 wrote:Numb3r4 wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Man talking about other countries...I used to happily pay meh $4usd for diesel while in mia....but standard of living was way better...with $100usd I rolling outa publix with two trolley filled with groceries...I never drove on a road and felt my vehicle was going to fall apart...and the list goes on...
Never had to buy gas at all the public transport and taxi services were good enough, no need to rent a car.
Toots talk...No amount of improvements in public transport go ever change a culture where a car is viewed as a status symbol and not an economic tool for productivity. You playing like you eh know.
The first thing politicians go and do when they get in parliament is use tax breaks to purchase new vehicles. Politicians in Uk use public transportation. Culture is a major setback in these little islands.
Imagine what 29 billion could have done for a public transport system.
Redress10 wrote:Numb3r4 wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Man talking about other countries...I used to happily pay meh $4usd for diesel while in mia....but standard of living was way better...with $100usd I rolling outa publix with two trolley filled with groceries...I never drove on a road and felt my vehicle was going to fall apart...and the list goes on...
Toots talk...No amount of improvements in public transport go ever change a culture where a car is viewed as a status symbol and not an economic tool for productivity. You playing like you eh know.
The first thing politicians go and do when they get in parliament is use tax breaks to purchase new vehicles. Politicians in Uk use public transportation. Culture is a major setback in these little islands.
n that.is why the gov't does walk over us . as something raise ..we dont take a stand ..we jus give in n take shaftshake d livin wake d dead wrote:The_Honourable wrote:"If yuh cud buy ah carib and johnny walker, you cud pay fuh supa"
Or jordans, tiida, kfc, johnsons baby powder and brazilian horsehair.pugboy wrote:Well he didn't tax mas or boat rides
l33t2 wrote:Redress10 wrote:Numb3r4 wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Man talking about other countries...I used to happily pay meh $4usd for diesel while in mia....but standard of living was way better...with $100usd I rolling outa publix with two trolley filled with groceries...I never drove on a road and felt my vehicle was going to fall apart...and the list goes on...
I think I was the only UNC supporter who was a fan of the rapid rail. But even if we had a rapid rail, most car owners would never use it. Unless gas was selling at the international market rate.
INHUMAN wrote:Or jordans, tiida, kfc, johnsons baby powder and brazilian horsehair.pugboy wrote:Well he didn't tax mas or boat rides
Redress10 wrote:So we straight up refusing to pay the actual price for goods and services now.
Fuel prices didn't go "up". Some of the subsidy was removed.
Where the money suppose to come to pay for the subsidy?
The reason trinis can't riot for this is because this isn't a demand and supply situation. In other countries their prices are set my market forces so the "riot" is the market responding to the new price causing the price to decrease. Why that so hard for you all to understand.
You've been paying an artificially decreased price for all these years and have the nerve to talk about "rioting". Fork outta here with that logic.