Pushed to leave Trinidad

Re: Pushed to leave Trinidad

Postby MaxPower » September 26th, 2018, 8:44 am

Numb3r4 wrote:I can attest for BOTH Canada and Orlando, you really do feel safer, in Orlando for instance they really know about tourism and security, by evening you can see a marked police presence, with cars parked in hotel parking lots and officers patrolling. Not to mention officers parked by traffic light intersections and outside the car observing the flow of traffic. Even during the day, in addition to mall security, you will see officers county sheriff or state walking around.
I was in Florida when the Casey Anthony debacle was unfolding and it was amazing to see the police canvasing the streets with flyers and manning desk in the mall for persons with information. Given how many persons have gone missing I don't think I've seen police in Trinidad conduct themselves in this manner. The only time I saw police patrolling was during the time of Panday and then with Gibbs and Ewatski...saw them actively patrolling the malls and stuff.....

In Orlando you can literally be coming to the hotel at 1:30pm after shopping and be fine, just call a taxi, hell the stores or the mall will gladly offer to call one for you....I don't think we have that service here.

With respect to Canada, I know folks who leave their doors unlocked with no fear....fact. Again you could be using public transport into the night and not be fearful.

It was so different such a wonderful eye opening experience, still enjoy it when I go up.

Bro, Disney World and hotels doesnt mean Orlando. Generally where the hotels and malls are there will be heightened security and first timers will be amazed and blown away with cheap Best Western Hotels, ihop, Red Lobster, outlet malls etc etc. Everything looks so different ent? So trinis especially does be speechless and come back and say they want to live Merica how it so nice lmao.
High tourist areas in most states are safe....but if you wonder off a bit....you can easily get harmed or go missing.

Put on the tv in the hotel, It always have crime going on.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 26th, 2018, 10:54 am

Numb3r4 wrote:I can attest for BOTH Canada and Orlando, you really do feel safer, in Orlando for instance they really know about tourism and security, by evening you can see a marked police presence, with cars parked in hotel parking lots and officers patrolling. Not to mention officers parked by traffic light intersections and outside the car observing the flow of traffic. Even during the day, in addition to mall security, you will see officers county sheriff or state walking around.
I was in Florida when the Casey Anthony debacle was unfolding and it was amazing to see the police canvasing the streets with flyers and manning desk in the mall for persons with information. Given how many persons have gone missing I don't think I've seen police in Trinidad conduct themselves in this manner. The only time I saw police patrolling was during the time of Panday and then with Gibbs and Ewatski...saw them actively patrolling the malls and stuff.....

In Orlando you can literally be coming to the hotel at 1:30pm after shopping and be fine, just call a taxi, hell the stores or the mall will gladly offer to call one for you....I don't think we have that service here.

With respect to Canada, I know folks who leave their doors unlocked with no fear....fact. Again you could be using public transport into the night and not be fearful.

It was so different such a wonderful eye opening experience, still enjoy it when I go up.

Bro, Disney World and hotels doesnt mean Orlando. Generally where the hotels and malls are there will be heightened security and first timers will be amazed and blown away with cheap Best Western Hotels, ihop, Red Lobster, outlet malls etc etc. Everything looks so different ent? So trinis especially does be speechless and come back and say they want to live Merica how it so nice lmao.
High tourist areas in most states are safe....but if you wonder off a bit....you can easily get harmed or go missing.

Put on the tv in the hotel, It always have crime going on.
Yeah with Orlando I mentioned them with respect to tourism, agreed the tourist areas are better policed, but still if you go downtown or venture out you still see the police presence, even outside the area. If you take the bus the Lynx service it is totally safe even at nights. I will admit the main stop in downtown Orlando the business centre did have a few questionable characters, but it didn't feel opressive or threatening.

Even with the crime reports it doesn't feel oppressive or threatening, you feel secure, unlike here. The reports themselves always have a little message from the police addressing the situation. I remember an incident think it was a smash and grab, police are continuing investigations, and in the same week police made a break through and a court date set.

So yeah there is crime but the service works so well it does not linger over you oppressively.

I've been going since I was a child and I am still amazed at the level of service they have maintained, from the 2000's boom to the 2008 bust they really tried, we had so many years of boom and didn't even bother. What gets me is the fact that we want to enter the tourism industry.....Ha.

I think the main thing is that the instances of random acts don't affect you as much, yes they have shootings but they are rare, as opposed to here where the crime is regular. Added to that is the fact that over there the crime has a resolution and the progress of the crime can be seen on the tv as opposed to here. We report crime but what about the follow up? As I mentioned before on the news you here about the crime but also here about the resolution of it within the same week or 2. When we report about the resolution of a crime its from 10yrs ago and is probably a rape case. I think the crime is there but the fact that it gets resolved in a timely manner lessens the overall societal impact.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 26th, 2018, 11:14 am

src1983 wrote:If you can leave, go

It will be hard at first but, gets better

My cus left here with TTD400k 10 years ago, Today he own 2 apartments in West palm by the sea and living far more comfortable that he was in Trinidad.

If he ever misses home he books a ticket and visit

He said many times if he stayed here he would still ketching tail here

what part of Tdad iz ur cuz fm?

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 26th, 2018, 11:19 am

Alotta ppl in here suffering from the grass iz greener syndrome.

Ppl have to be realistic. Migrating iza trade off. Some things in sweet T&T are better than forin. And some things are worse.

Not just that. But most of these forin countries are larger than sweet T&T. So the crime rates my be high but you dont feel it cuz the place so big.

I was in Miami a few years ago and a pardner call me to ask if i am OK cuz he hear on the news there was a drive by shooting in Liberty City and thought that I was near the incident. I tell him boy I far away from that.

That said if you or yours are in imminent danger MOVE now if you can.

With that caveat I would avoid Europe at thiz juncture. There are a lot of economic migrants fm Africa and the ME moving into the big urban cities in the EU that may make life and jobs more difficult.

But everything iz relative. If u don't have anything to lose take the chance and emigrate.

Daran

Postby Daran » September 26th, 2018, 2:35 pm

Miktay wrote:Alotta ppl in here suffering from the grass iz greener syndrome.

Ppl have to be realistic. Migrating iza trade off. Some things in sweet T&T are better than forin. And some things are worse.

Not just that. But most of these forin countries are larger than sweet T&T. So the crime rates my be high but you dont feel it cuz the place so big.

I was in Miami a few years ago and a pardner call me to ask if i am OK cuz he hear on the news there was a drive by shooting in Liberty City and thought that I was near the incident. I tell him boy I far away from that.

With that caveat I would avoid Europe at thiz juncture. There are a lot of economic migrants fm Africa and the ME moving into the big urban cities in the EU that may make life and jobs more difficult.

But everything iz relative. If u don't have anything to lose take the chance and emigrate.

It's called per capita rate, crime per 100,000 is almost all countries is significantly lower than Trinidad.

Europe is safe as ever breds, but migrating there ain't easy unless you're a refugee.

One thing others may have hinted at but not stated is that life is harder in most other countries because you're expected to work hard and give value for your time. The slacking off, ole talking, leaving early, coming late, half day when it rain thing ain't acceptable in any first world country.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 26th, 2018, 2:38 pm

Singapore is about the same size if not smaller than Trinidad. Independence around the same time as us. TOTALLY DIFFERENT NOW. Low crime. Excellent infrastructure. Health care and housing significantly better than here. It's only so much attempts at explaining away the negative things here before it just comes across as burying head in the sand.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 26th, 2018, 3:11 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

Singapore is about the same size if not smaller than Trinidad. Independence around the same time as us. TOTALLY DIFFERENT NOW. Low crime. Excellent infrastructure. Health care and housing significantly better than here. It's only so much attempts at explaining away the negative things here before it just comes across as burying head in the sand.

To go into a comparison b/t TT and Singapore will be to enter into an uncomfortable conversation about the inadequacy of Williams as a truly visionary leader.

Feelings will be toted.

supernedd

Postby supernedd » September 26th, 2018, 3:32 pm

shogun wrote:
ismithx wrote:trinidad too backwards because of visionless people at the top

LOL!

Those at the top are nothing but a reflection of the backwardness that exists up and down the totem pole.
yup

Mr President

Postby Mr President » September 26th, 2018, 3:34 pm

Interesting article and a shared perspective by a strata of society, highlighting very real circumstances.
yet one must question the choices made by said individuals.
parents need to be more observant with the quality of associates that their children keep and what activities they engage in.
with regards to following your dreams, there is nothing wrong with that but our society is not populous enough to support niche industries until they have become mainstream. Considering a job opportunity in another third world country such as Sudan seems very desperate , a poor reflection of the local labour market

supernedd

Postby supernedd » September 26th, 2018, 3:37 pm

well they stop corporal punishment .. them criminals ain't scared of nothing . jail is jus a vacation offshore for them

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » September 26th, 2018, 4:15 pm

All I could say about this is dat I seeing my threads getting VERY populous come next year and past 2020.

Mods, have the foresight now unlike we leaders and pin the thing to the top nah. Let everybodi get a chance to bounce from here. :drinking: :drinking:

Postby Gem_in_i » September 26th, 2018, 5:21 pm

In some of the major cities in Europe now it is getting very ghetto-ish. People sleeping all over, people begging, pickpockets and all kinda con artist.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 26th, 2018, 5:46 pm

Miktay wrote:
Daran wrote:Numb3r4,

Miktay has never left Trinidad, he has no clue how much safer other countries are.

Son... u have no idea what ur talking about....

Was in Paris last year. While there two women had their throats slit at the metro stadium and they found an unexploded bomb in a backpack outside a football stadium.

Large European cities are not as safe as they once were. London police for example are the subject of running jokes.

Anyone who travels would know that...

That's terrorism bro...You can't place terrorism in the same bracket as crime. Today, two persons were shot in their heads whilst having a driving lesson in Port of Spain. That is crime based on gang warfare where stray bullets picked up innocent persons. I don't think I have ever read of a person being shot by a stray bullet in London and definitely not two at the same time.

Who tell you that London Police is a laughing stock? London police don't even carry guns and the only police that carry guns there are specialist firearms units that are most times trained to the level of special forces. You could get accidentally shot by your work colleague in a police station working for TTPS.

Get your facts straight bro. You have no clue what you are talking about. All those unexploded explosives you talking about were still identified and the persons successfully prosecuted. You remember back in 06 when explosions were going off in Port of Spain? Anyone ever faced the court for that? Who is "Mr Big?"?

Jokers

Philippa

Postby Philippa » September 26th, 2018, 6:04 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Miktay wrote:
Daran wrote:Numb3r4,

Miktay has never left Trinidad, he has no clue how much safer other countries are.

Son... u have no idea what ur talking about....

Was in Paris last year. While there two women had their throats slit at the metro stadium and they found an unexploded bomb in a backpack outside a football stadium.

Large European cities are not as safe as they once were. London police for example are the subject of running jokes.

Anyone who travels would know that...

That's terrorism bro...You can't place terrorism in the same bracket as crime. Today, two persons were shot in their heads whilst having a driving lesson in Port of Spain. That is crime based on gang warfare where stray bullets picked up innocent persons. I don't think I have ever read of a person being shot by a stray bullet in London and definitely not two at the same time.

Who tell you that London Police is a laughing stock? London police don't even carry guns and the only police that carry guns there are specialist firearms units that are most times trained to the level of special forces. You could get accidentally shot by your work colleague in a police station working for TTPS.

Get your facts straight bro. You have no clue what you are talking about. All those unexploded explosives you talking about were still identified and the persons successfully prosecuted. You remember back in 06 when explosions were going off in Port of Spain? Anyone ever faced the court for that? Who is "Mr Big?"?

Jokers

This Miktay guy has never been in Europe or London. I was all over Europe a few months ago, from high end places like London, Oslo, Amsterdam, Paris, to so called lesser developed places like Porto, Istanbul, Budapest, Bucharest and Zagreb.

Beggers are present, but not everywhere. They mainly focus on tourist spots for sympathetic travelers. Harmless and polite people in most cases. Aside from pickpockets, there were no warnings about staying out late. In fact in almost every city we limed late till 3am sometimes and walked back, or took buses, it was 100% safe.

What surprised me the most was seeing how some of those cites (Porto, Istanbul, Budapest, Bucharest and Zagreb) were so much safer, prettier, cleaner and with far better infrastructure including reliable safe public transport, than Trinidad.

I felt so sad upon my return, not because I missed Europe (Trinidad will always be home), but because I'm seeing how far behind we are, how unsafe, expensive, poorly developed, nasty and lazy our country and it's people are.